Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for As Seen On Tv As Seen on TV Butterfly Garden by Insect Lore

As Seen On Tv As Seen on TV Butterfly Garden by Insect Lore

Raise 5 Painted Lady butterflies while learning all about metamorphosis with this award-winning Butterfly Garden! See each caterpillar transition as it matures, change into a chrysalis, and finally emerge as a Painted Lady butterfly. After observing your butterflies, experience the joy of releasing them into your backyard!
Average Customer Rating:
4.098 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation85%35 out of 41reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 23 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for As Seen on TV Butterfly Garden by Insect Lore

Butterfly garden

12/19/2012
By ,
Orange County
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this for my 4 year old, the first pack with just the butterfly net, and coupon for Larve order arrived within days. then I had to place an order for the Larve and pay $5.00 shipping charge. Total Cost 18.99 for the net and $5.00 for the larve, Not worth it for 4 butterflies.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for As Seen on TV Butterfly Garden by Insect Lore

Great for all child care providers

11/14/2013
By ,
Calvert County
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every year at Peace of Mind Child Care & Early Learning Place, we hatch butterflies. The children love watching the process and then releasing their butterflies into the sky. We do this every year but the certificate to get the butterflies after the first time you have purchased the net, cost around $16.00. Buying it from WalMart on line cost me $10.00 and I have a whole new set instead of just getting the butterflies. Great, great deal!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for As Seen on TV Butterfly Garden by Insect Lore
05/25/2012
By ,
Rochester, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am more than a little upset that I purchased this product for my son's birthday over one month ago and we still have yet to get our caterpillars. I have not heard anything from RibbitsGalore even though they state that they will notify me if any delays are incurred with shipping. Not only that but this product was somewhere around $16 plus you have to pay for the caterpillars which is another $6.50 (although you do get free shipping and save $6)
I just think it is very poor advertising that there is nothing on the box indicative of the extra fee for the caterpillars but on top of it all there is nothing stating that it will take a minimum of two to three weeks to get the caterpillars. If they said that on the box I would have ordered the caterpillars at least one week before my son's birthday.
As it stands, until RibbitsGalore satisfies me by somehow rectifying the situation they are only getting one star. If anything changes I will update this review as needed. The ball is in your court Ribbits.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Beverly Hills
You are redeeming from the wrong company
Posted 07/11/2012
Geoff, the Butterfly Garden caterpillars come from California from the grower Insect Lore.
I too made the mistake of trying to order from Ribbets and my caterpillars never came.
When I finally contacted Insect Lore my caterpillars were delivered right away. I thought that you might like to know.
+1point
Customer Avatar
FL
I am very upset
Posted 06/28/2012
I also was understanding that I was going to be able to mail off and get our first set of caterpillars for free but after getting online to order them and then also food i spent just over $20 we are on 4 1/2 weeks and we are still waiting. I can not find a phone number for them and i have sent 3 emails and have not heard anything back. I am a very upset costumer...
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for As Seen on TV Butterfly Garden by Insect Lore

Wonderful way to see nature up-close!

06/13/2011
By ,
Madison Heights, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW! I always look forward to the arrival of spring because it means it is time to harvest butterflies! The larvae arrive in a small plastic cup--with air holes on the lid. The food for the larvae is right in the cup and it is in the clear cup you can watch the larvae grow into caterpillars! Once the caterpillars are ready for the transformation into butterflies, they attatch themselves to the inner paper lid (below the plastic lid). From this point, all you need to do is attach the "lid" with cocoons attatched and gently transfer them into the inside of the canopy where the walls are mesh! This canopy is very well made; so easy to store , too as it "collapses" into itself and can be stored in the original box. It is fun to track to growth of the butterflies from the very beginning; each stage is unique and amazing to observe from start to finish!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for As Seen on TV Butterfly Garden by Insect Lore

Extra Cost Involved

05/06/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted to get some catterpillars for my daughter's school project. We got this because it was a little less than getting the catterpillars alone and said it included a certificate for catterpillars. However, when it came, I found out that you have to pay $5 shipping for them to send you the catterpillars. Nothing was mentioned about this additional cost online. Otherwise, I have been pleased with this purchase so far. I have not received the catterpillars yet, or used the "habitat".
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for As Seen on TV Butterfly Garden by Insect Lore
06/10/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 7 year old which loves to explore everything especially how one animal transforms into another animal. She was amazed the whole time. I bought it for $15 & then I went online & ordered the caterpillars & paid $5. So just $20 & I get 5 butterfly's. Not bad at all. The caterpillars come from California. They arrived fast on regular delivery. My daughter is waiting for the cacoon to hatch as of today. I will order more caterpillars as soon as we release the butterflies.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for As Seen on TV Butterfly Garden by Insect Lore

Bummer

07/14/2012
By ,
AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased the butterfly garden at walmart and when I went to purchase the caterpillars on their website I was told they will not ship to AZ because its too hot. Awesome, now I've got a 3 year old super excited to grow butterflies and no way to do it. Awesome......
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for As Seen on TV Butterfly Garden by Insect Lore

Neat idea, but lacking the butterflies

05/09/2012
By ,
Ozark, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product for my nieces ages 5 and 7. They loved the idea, but could hardly wait to get the caterpillars which you have to send off for separately. I was not aware of this when I ordered the Butterly Garden. They are, however, anxiously awaiting the arrival of their caterpillars.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for As Seen on TV Butterfly Garden by Insect Lore

Good price for all-in-one set

04/01/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price is good for the whole set. I was not excited to see that I would have to pay the $5 S&H for the actual insects, as I assumed that it was included in the total price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for As Seen on TV Butterfly Garden by Insect Lore

The caterpillars arrived quickly.

06/09/2012
By ,
Queen Creek, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this as a present last weekend and this weekend the recipient said they already received the caterpillars! They looked like they came in good condition. Excited to hear what happens.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for As Seen on TV Butterfly Garden by Insect Lore

A great gift

12/27/2013
By ,
Atlanta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. Fun and educational!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for As Seen on TV Butterfly Garden by Insect Lore

Love this product!

07/21/2012
By ,
Reseda, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 3 year old daughter because she loves butterflies. Even though it was explained in preschool how the life cycle works I wanted her to understand through her own visualization. It is a great learning activity and at the end of the journey she watched her butterflies fly away to make their own families. Hard to say goodbye, but still a great activity to do together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for As Seen on TV Butterfly Garden by Insect Lore

Nature Up close and personal

08/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 3 1/2 yr old loved this. We watched the catepillars get big, then cocoon and then turn into gorgeous butterflies. We got 5 out of 5 and then let them go. Great gift for kids of all ages.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for As Seen on TV Butterfly Garden by Insect Lore

Fun experience

03/25/2014
By ,
Silver Spring, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good. Baby caterpillars were very still upon arrival and I was afraid they had frozen. I arrived home to find them next to the front door; it was snowing and I had been out for almost an hour. I tried warming them up by holding the cup in my hands and sloooowly, one by one, the caterpillars began to move. Either they were cold or thought it was nighttime in the dark box, or both. Now they are all active and my 6 year old and especially my 4 year old are very captivated by them. I am very satisfied. Both the kit from Walmart and the caterpillars from Insect Lore arrived very fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for As Seen on TV Butterfly Garden by Insect Lore

Don't buy this one

07/18/2012
By ,
Rio Rancho, NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this and ordered the "free" caterpillars which cost over $6 for shipping. The caterpillars did not arrive because "Ribbits Galore", which is where you order the caterpillars, didn't have any. When they finally did ship 2 months later, the caterpillars were so tiny you could hardly see them and they were dead. I contacted them via email, no phone number available, saying I wanted my shipping $$ back and would order from another vendor that I had used before and they did not respond to my email nor refund my money. Buy your Butterfly Garden elsewhere and order caterpillars from Insect Lore.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for As Seen on TV Butterfly Garden by Insect Lore

great product to help kids learn

07/24/2011
By ,
Bristol, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son absolutely loves this product :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Noblesville, IN
Skeptical at first, but fun & educational!
Posted 08/03/2011
This was a great hands-on learning "toy" for my 6 year old. It was super easy to transfer the caterpillars. First thing in the morning, my daughter would check to see if they had turned into butterflies. The process takes about 10 days but that did not lose my daughter's curiousity and interest. The day we let the butterflies free was exciting and now whenever my daughter sees a butterfly she talks about our earlier experience together. We will be buying more larva when Spring rolls around next year.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for As Seen on TV Butterfly Garden by Insect Lore

Great for curious children

08/04/2012
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my friend's 6 year old daughter and she was very excited to do it. She took it out of the box immediately and began setting everything up and I get an update on they do everyday. She is a very hands on child and loves to be involved in everything.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for As Seen on TV Butterfly Garden by Insect Lore

Great class science project!

09/27/2012
By ,
Abilene, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my 4th graders & they are loving it! We are enjoying watching the caterpillars make their cocoons. The kids can't wait to see what the butterflies will look like.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for As Seen on TV Butterfly Garden by Insect Lore
10/28/2012
By ,
McKinney, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You have to send away for the catapillars, but got it for my daughter's science project. It's fun watching them grow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for As Seen on TV Butterfly Garden by Insect Lore

butterfly

02/24/2014
By ,
San Francisco
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A little disappointed it does not include larva
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next