Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Relion ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Relion ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

&nbsp
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation83%34 out of 41reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 76 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Very inaccurate

04/24/2013
By ,
Princeton, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THe numbers I receive are about 100 points higher than what I get with the Lite Touch. Mine MUST be junk from the factory.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

RELY ON CAN NOT BE RELIED ON

11/19/2013
By ,
Brooklyn,NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HAVE BEEN USING FOR A WHILE..GETTING LOW READINGS (50'S AND 60'S) AND LOW PRINT....RESULTS ..BUT I FELT OK.
SO FINALLY I GOT MYSELF ONE TOUCH AND FREE STYLE...WITH THE SAME BLOOD SAMPLE FROM THE SAME FINGER, I TESTED NORMAL 82...
I HAVE GOTTEN READINGS ON RELY ON OVER 230 AND IMMEDIATELY RECHECKED SAME RELY ON METER SECONDS AFTER AND IT TESTED 98...THE READINGS ARE UNRELIABLE...I HAVE TWO RELY ON METERS..SO IT IS NOT THAT ONE METER IS INACCURATE..THEY BOTH ARE..
SO I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS METER
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Do not use this device

10/28/2013
By ,
Delaware
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Despite the attractive price point for this product, this meter is very unreliable. After purchasing this meter, I conducted two tests. First, I executed two test readings on a bollod sample from the same site, 30 seconds apart. The test results revealed a variance of 55 points. In the second test I tested another sample using this device and another, more expensive, device that has proved to be reliable over a number of years. The test used the same blood sample five seconds apart. This device delivered a reading 55 points higher than my older device. Three similar tests produced similar results.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

info

01/24/2013
By ,
Hejmville MT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No sufficient info to get the right products to go with this product
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Inconsistent Readings...

03/04/2013
By ,
Nevada
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The kit itself is nice in what it contains. I bought it mainly because the test strips were so much cheaper than most other BG meters. However, I end up using 3 strips to get an 'average' reading, as this meter is so very inconsistent. Example being AM readings such as this: 116/137/107. For this reason I can't suggest or recommend the ReliOn Confirm Meter. Maybe other meters with triple the price test strips are more accurate in readings.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue
05/09/2012
By ,
Trenton, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
this one runs high numbers to other meters , i used my daughters meter and the doctors office meter and this one gave me a much higher read
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

I wish these were more consistent

11/22/2011
By ,
Washington State
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've been using a Bayer Contour meter which Consumer Reports rated as "average" in accuracy. Since the Relion strips are cheaper, I switched to them with a Confirm meter, which was rated as 'above average' in accuracy. But, it measured 15 points higher than the Contour meter from the same blood drop! So I bought a Relion Micro, which was rated "excellent" in accuracy. Since both the Confirm and Micro use the same strips I didn't see how there could be a difference in accuracy, but there was. If, for example, the Contour measured 100 and the Confirm measured 115, the Micro measured 108 - again all from the same blood drop!
The FDA requires accuracy within 20%, which all these meters meet, but that's potentially 40-point difference!.
My advice? Get the Micro.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue
05/02/2012
By ,
Clay, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Okay meter. Not as easy to insert test strips in it as other meters. Not pretty but seems to do the job accurately.
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Seems to be consistent

02/11/2014
By ,
TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This system seems to work okay. However, its carrying case is very poorly designed, compared to a couple of others I've had, so I swapped it out for one of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Good procuct

10/17/2011
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The meter works fine. Great for anyone on a budjet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Basic But Works Well And Affordable

03/03/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using the Relion Confirm for one week now, testing about four times a day, and I feel confident in recommending it to others who are not sure of which blood glucose meter to get.
It seems to be:
1) Accurate
2) Consistent
3) Easy to use
4) Requires only a small (3 ML) blood sample (some other meters require a blood sample two or three times as large)
5) Affordable
6) Automatic coding of test strips
The negatives of this meter are that:
1) Less memory than some other meters (350 tests compared to 450 or more tests)
2) No control solution included with it (have to send away for it from relion - but it is apparently free)
3) No included cable or software to download results (to be fair, most other meters require you to buy the cable and software separately, too, and if they HAD included it, the price would be significantly higher).
4) The carrying case is a little bit on the small side. Some people might think of that as a plus, since it will be more convenient to carry. However, I like to carry my glucose tabs and logbook in my case, and putting both those in there makes it too difficult to close the case.
All in all, an affordable meter with affordable test strips that gets the job done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

ReliOn Confirm Blood sugar meter

01/19/2013
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I feel a bit cheated - this meter is being advertised all over for $9.98, but the price I paid was $14.98. Seems like the advertised price should be available. Other than that, the meter is a good value - easy to read the display. I had problems pressing the buttons, as they are mushy and do not offer any tactile or auditory feedback when one has successfully pressed one. Pressing both at the same time was very difficult for me and I do not have any problems with hands or fingers.
I like the small sample required and while the results do not show as quickly as my One Touch meter, it's a lot faster than the meters 20 yrs ago when I was first Dxed. Over all, I like this meter, but I had problems getting everything to fit in the case. Either the lancing device or the bottle of strips wanted to be left out so everything else would fit. Bad planning there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Nice meter, great value

01/26/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was happy with my old glucose meter, but my insurance company raised the co-pay on the strips, and they were too expensive for me to afford. I decided to buy the Relion solely for its cheaper strips. I wasn't expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised. The meter is accurate, the lancing device much better than my old one, and the strips require much less blood. My only quibble is the non-intuitive interface. I'm very happy with the Relion meter. (And it's cuter than my old one, too.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Houston, TX
Reliable and cost effective.
Posted 08/26/2012
I've tried other meters after using the at work lab machine to compare and this unit is the most reliable at it's price. I was told the ultima strisp were recalled due to issues (suposible fixed and that the confirm is the most reliable readings so far). I am possibly pre-diabetic because of at times spiking high. I no longer have Hypoglycemia like before but it going the other direction. HAving a glucometer even to check levels can help you make that decision to discuss it with your doctor and catch diabetis early.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Great product but...

04/16/2011
By ,
Germantown, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this meter because I had inadvertently purchased the test strips for it thinking they were for the old Reli On meter I've had for several years. After I opened the box I realized I had the wrong strips. Since I couldn't return them I decided to upgrade to the new meter (it was only $9.00). It's a great meter, but so was the old one. I only gave it 4 stars for the overall & features ratings because of a couple of fairly minor things. 1st, there are not as many pockets to hold everything as the old meter (only two). At first, it was difficult to tell when enough blood had been absorbed, but that's a matter of learning how to use it. Also, I think it may be more difficult to tell when you are running out of strips because of the container - it would help if it were transparent. It reads as quickly as my previous Reli On. My suggestion for those who have the older Reli On meter is to keep the old one until it stops working. But for those who don't have a Reli On, buy it! It is a great buy compared to the major brands.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Am very pleased with this meter.

09/07/2012
By ,
Just a guy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had two other meters and this is the best. The last one was the Bayer Breeze 2 and it was clunky and the test strips very expensive compared to the ReliOn. This meter is easy to handle, compact, and very easy to read. Stores plenty of data so I can track my historical readings for the Doctor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Excellent Value!

09/01/2011
By ,
Lampasas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a meter and strips that is cost effective. Have had Diabetes 2 for 2 years now and quit testing myself 8 months ago. My sugar was up and I measured into the 300's. I am now using this meter 3 times a day and have had only good results. The device and strips certainly are value for money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Perfect for testing a diabetic cat

12/16/2012
By ,
Sarastota, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the meter to test the blood glucose levels of my cat. For this purpose, my number one requirement was a meter which required as small a quantity of blood as possible. This meter requires 0.3 microliters, which ties with the lowest amounts required by any other commercially available meters I could find.
I have used the meter for about three weeks now, and so far, I have no complaints whatsoever. It was easy to learn to use, the capillary action of the test strips is capable of sucking up a tiny drop of blood even when I can barely see it, and the results seem consistent and reliable (the first result was very close to that produced by a recent laboratory test). The meter stores the most recent results-- I forget how many, but at least a hundred-- which is a convenient aid in keeping records. (I think having the results transmitted to a computer via wireless is overkill, but this model doesn't have that feature, if that's what you want.) The test strips are not the least expensive ones on the market, but they are fairly low in price.
Three weeks is a short time for reviewing any device, but if it continues to function as well as it has so far, I would say that it is an excellent purchase. I tested it on my own blood, too, so it is not only useful for cats. :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

FAST

08/19/2011
By ,
Adrian, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tried others but after you set this up you need little blood and it is faster than others
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Simple and inexpensive

08/29/2012
By ,
Granbury
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 10th meter in the past 15 years and is probably the best value for the money that I have found.
Its compact and easy to use, my only complaint might be that the lcd screen does not offer back-light option but thats not really all that important to me.
So far its been just as accurate as the other meters that I have used and yes for the computer geeks out there it does have the option of downloading readings to a windows base application (you have to order it from the manufacturer as a separate item).
Don't be put off be cause its not one of the name brands, it works very well and when you factor in the cost of test strips you can't beat the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Great little upload able meter

11/10/2013
By ,
New York State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because it syncs to the Glooko cable/app that works on iPad/iPhone to make recording your readings a snap.
Plus the blood collection strips for this meter are the cheapest I could find. This is where the real expense lies in being Diabetic.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next