Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Relion ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Relion ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

&nbsp
Average Customer Rating:
4.021 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation79%37 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 91 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Great product

01/28/2011
By ,
bozo, US
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does everything I wanted in a blood glucose monitor. I notice some people are concerned about the accuracy of these home blood glucose monitors. One thing to consider is that consistency is more important than absolute accuracy, and this monitor is quite consistent. That is, you want several samples taken right after one another to give close results, even if all those results are somewhat high or low, since you can later calibrate the monitor by comparing with lab results. Or you can use the control solution, which I've sent off for (free from Relion) but haven't yet received. I have no reason to think the monitor isn't accurate in an absolute sense, I should note. In any case, the monitor definitely does do what I wanted. Namely, show me which foods tend to cause blood sugar spikes and allow me to do home glucose tolerance testing to see how my insulin sensitivity is coming back now that I've lost weight.
This device is much cheaper than the other monitors (only 40 cents per test strip versus a dollar for the others) and the fingerprick device is fairly painless.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pahrump NV
Accuracy
Posted 12/27/2011
One thing to remember when using any Blood Glucose Meter is that they can vary over 20% between meters. The FDA allows this type of inaccuracy. For example one meter 166 verses 206 which is a difference of 40 but checking with both meter manufacturers the numbers ARE acceptable.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Great product but...

04/16/2011
By ,
Germantown, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this meter because I had inadvertently purchased the test strips for it thinking they were for the old Reli On meter I've had for several years. After I opened the box I realized I had the wrong strips. Since I couldn't return them I decided to upgrade to the new meter (it was only $9.00). It's a great meter, but so was the old one. I only gave it 4 stars for the overall & features ratings because of a couple of fairly minor things. 1st, there are not as many pockets to hold everything as the old meter (only two). At first, it was difficult to tell when enough blood had been absorbed, but that's a matter of learning how to use it. Also, I think it may be more difficult to tell when you are running out of strips because of the container - it would help if it were transparent. It reads as quickly as my previous Reli On. My suggestion for those who have the older Reli On meter is to keep the old one until it stops working. But for those who don't have a Reli On, buy it! It is a great buy compared to the major brands.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

New to All This!

08/12/2010
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently turned 50 and during a routine physical was told my blood sugar was 229mg. I have been on medication for 2 weeks now, and have changed my diet. My Dr. said to test at least 3-4 times a day for the first month, so I was definately looking for value.
I chose the Confirm Blue because the strips were only $20 for 50ct. It works great and very quick and easy to do, no codes to enter and very little blood is necessary for strips to work. I also called and got the control solution (no charge) just to be sure everything was working right, and it was accurate.
I like being able to just scroll back and see how my numbers have continued to drop over the last 2 weeks since starting my program.
I'm very happy with the product and the price can't be beat!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Victorville, CA
Posted 07/28/2013
Wow, this review said it all! I, too, just turned 50 and my doctor wanted me to check my blood sugar twice a day so, the hunt was on for a meter that was accurate and affordable.
I, too, chose the Confirm Blue simply for the price of the test strips - and a meter without the need for large amounts of blood. Other meters, I had error messages telling me to retest, not enough blood.
I also use Confirm's ability to upload my results to keep track of it all - and to show the doc I am keeping track and telling the truth!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

extremely inaccurate meter

10/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I usually use a One Touch Ultra Mini that I really like, but the strips are very expensive and my insurance company will not give me as many as I need per month. I bought this meter to use as a backup when I run out of strips for my other meter because of the low cost of strips. The results that I get when comparing the two meters vary by as much as 80 points. I understand that the fda only requires that meters be 20% accurate, but this is unacceptable. I don't recommend this meter to anyone who actually cares what his/her blood glucose is.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Nice meter, great value

01/26/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was happy with my old glucose meter, but my insurance company raised the co-pay on the strips, and they were too expensive for me to afford. I decided to buy the Relion solely for its cheaper strips. I wasn't expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised. The meter is accurate, the lancing device much better than my old one, and the strips require much less blood. My only quibble is the non-intuitive interface. I'm very happy with the Relion meter. (And it's cuter than my old one, too.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Houston, TX
Reliable and cost effective.
Posted 08/26/2012
I've tried other meters after using the at work lab machine to compare and this unit is the most reliable at it's price. I was told the ultima strisp were recalled due to issues (suposible fixed and that the confirm is the most reliable readings so far). I am possibly pre-diabetic because of at times spiking high. I no longer have Hypoglycemia like before but it going the other direction. HAving a glucometer even to check levels can help you make that decision to discuss it with your doctor and catch diabetis early.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Can't beat this

06/08/2010
By ,
Orlando
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great and the test strips are the best price there is!
No reason not to use this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
East Texas
Works well for me!
Posted 05/17/2013
My doctor wasn't trying to sell anything for anyone and told me to get the cheapest one I could find. Found this one at Walmart, was skeptical but thought if it didn't work I wasn't out too much. Turns out it works well, has all the features of the higher priced meters, and I don't have to take out a loan for the test strips!!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Great little meter

02/11/2014
By ,
Athens, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn't sure what to expect but I am very pleased with this little meter. It is replacing a OneTouch Ultra (which I loved) and I have found they come up with the same reading when testing!!! n And this one is a LOT more affordable!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Basic But Works Well And Affordable

03/03/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using the Relion Confirm for one week now, testing about four times a day, and I feel confident in recommending it to others who are not sure of which blood glucose meter to get.
It seems to be:
1) Accurate
2) Consistent
3) Easy to use
4) Requires only a small (3 ML) blood sample (some other meters require a blood sample two or three times as large)
5) Affordable
6) Automatic coding of test strips
The negatives of this meter are that:
1) Less memory than some other meters (350 tests compared to 450 or more tests)
2) No control solution included with it (have to send away for it from relion - but it is apparently free)
3) No included cable or software to download results (to be fair, most other meters require you to buy the cable and software separately, too, and if they HAD included it, the price would be significantly higher).
4) The carrying case is a little bit on the small side. Some people might think of that as a plus, since it will be more convenient to carry. However, I like to carry my glucose tabs and logbook in my case, and putting both those in there makes it too difficult to close the case.
All in all, an affordable meter with affordable test strips that gets the job done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Worst meter I've used

08/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was initially turned on by the thought of saving some cash but my meter turned out to be a dud. Took way too long to turn on and when it finally did the readings were higher by 30 points! You get what you pay for so....another lesson learned.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Asheboro, NC
How to correct high meter readings.
Posted 09/09/2014
I found that if you will test your blood sample in the first 20 seconds as the directions advise, the readings will be correct. I was having the same problem until I reread the directions. If you take longer than 20 seconds to apply the blood to the test strip, it will read 25-30 points higher every time. So I already have my finger pricked before I put the test strip into the meter. That gives me the full 20 seconds to apply the blood. Try this and see if that doesn't correct your readings.
I tested this meter against my Accu-Chek Aviva meter and they matched within 2-3 points every time except when I took more than 20 seconds to apply the blood to the Confirm test strip. Sometimes it would read a point or two higher than the Accu-Chek and sometimes lower. I loved Accu-Chek, but it cost me so much to buy their test strips I had to change. It saves me at least $1200/year.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

A great value!!

02/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am an insulin-dependent diabetic. One of the most important factors in maintaining control of diabetes is frequent blood glucose testing. Unfortunately, maintaining a supply of glucose test strips is one of the greatest expenses for diabetes. I have used Relion blood glucose testing equipment for several years now, and have recently switched to the Relion Confirm model. The Relion Confirm meter has worked great thus far -- I have had absolutely no problems with it. The test strips are extremely cost-effective, and require a much smaller drop of blood for each test.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Great basic meter

11/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This model doesn't have a lot of bells and whistles, but it does what I need it to, and the test strips are much less expensive than the ones I was originally given. Very easy to use! I think it might be nice if it could be charged, but I'm guessing that the battery it came with will last quite a while given that it has a basic screen display. Overall I'm very happy with the purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Not fancy, but does the job well

07/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't think you can beat the price on this. $9 for the meter
and then you buy 100 strips for $39. That's amazing
compared to other systems. Under $50 for the whole shebang.
(the lancets are additional $3 for 100.) Not all the features as on
costlier machines, but you can buy TWO of these and still be
money ahead. Very happy with the purchase. It's very
accurate most importantly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

I wish these were more consistent

11/22/2011
By ,
Washington State
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've been using a Bayer Contour meter which Consumer Reports rated as "average" in accuracy. Since the Relion strips are cheaper, I switched to them with a Confirm meter, which was rated as 'above average' in accuracy. But, it measured 15 points higher than the Contour meter from the same blood drop! So I bought a Relion Micro, which was rated "excellent" in accuracy. Since both the Confirm and Micro use the same strips I didn't see how there could be a difference in accuracy, but there was. If, for example, the Contour measured 100 and the Confirm measured 115, the Micro measured 108 - again all from the same blood drop!
The FDA requires accuracy within 20%, which all these meters meet, but that's potentially 40-point difference!.
My advice? Get the Micro.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Do not use this device

10/28/2013
By ,
Delaware
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Despite the attractive price point for this product, this meter is very unreliable. After purchasing this meter, I conducted two tests. First, I executed two test readings on a bollod sample from the same site, 30 seconds apart. The test results revealed a variance of 55 points. In the second test I tested another sample using this device and another, more expensive, device that has proved to be reliable over a number of years. The test used the same blood sample five seconds apart. This device delivered a reading 55 points higher than my older device. Three similar tests produced similar results.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Easy to use

04/27/2011
By ,
Ocean Shores, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did have to read the instructions-lol. I am new to doing this procedure, however I had a very short learning curve with this meter. It has memory storage, which is helpful. It came with a case, lancet holder, sample lancets. I was pleasantly surprised with that. I like this product line and would recommend it. The test strips are not as pricey as other meters I researched.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Great product

02/01/2014
By ,
Seattle, Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. This meter is much more accurate than my previous meter by another manufacture. Easy to use and much much less expensive to operate and maintain. Very happy and pleased with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Great little meter.

09/26/2011
By ,
Alliance,Nebraska.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this meter because of price and because i don't have insurance.I compaired it with my freestyle meter and the relion meter was 4 points lower.I took it with me on my last visit to see my doctor and checked it with his test at the lab and it was right on the mark. my freestyle was 3 points higher.my doc was impressed because it was so cheap and worked that good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Perfect for testing a diabetic cat

12/16/2012
By ,
Sarastota, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the meter to test the blood glucose levels of my cat. For this purpose, my number one requirement was a meter which required as small a quantity of blood as possible. This meter requires 0.3 microliters, which ties with the lowest amounts required by any other commercially available meters I could find.
I have used the meter for about three weeks now, and so far, I have no complaints whatsoever. It was easy to learn to use, the capillary action of the test strips is capable of sucking up a tiny drop of blood even when I can barely see it, and the results seem consistent and reliable (the first result was very close to that produced by a recent laboratory test). The meter stores the most recent results-- I forget how many, but at least a hundred-- which is a convenient aid in keeping records. (I think having the results transmitted to a computer via wireless is overkill, but this model doesn't have that feature, if that's what you want.) The test strips are not the least expensive ones on the market, but they are fairly low in price.
Three weeks is a short time for reviewing any device, but if it continues to function as well as it has so far, I would say that it is an excellent purchase. I tested it on my own blood, too, so it is not only useful for cats. :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

RELY ON CAN NOT BE RELIED ON

11/19/2013
By ,
Brooklyn,NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HAVE BEEN USING FOR A WHILE..GETTING LOW READINGS (50'S AND 60'S) AND LOW PRINT....RESULTS ..BUT I FELT OK.
SO FINALLY I GOT MYSELF ONE TOUCH AND FREE STYLE...WITH THE SAME BLOOD SAMPLE FROM THE SAME FINGER, I TESTED NORMAL 82...
I HAVE GOTTEN READINGS ON RELY ON OVER 230 AND IMMEDIATELY RECHECKED SAME RELY ON METER SECONDS AFTER AND IT TESTED 98...THE READINGS ARE UNRELIABLE...I HAVE TWO RELY ON METERS..SO IT IS NOT THAT ONE METER IS INACCURATE..THEY BOTH ARE..
SO I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS METER
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ReliOn Confirm Blood Glucose Meter, Blue

Excellent Value!

09/01/2011
By ,
Lampasas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a meter and strips that is cost effective. Have had Diabetes 2 for 2 years now and quit testing myself 8 months ago. My sugar was up and I measured into the 300's. I am now using this meter 3 times a day and have had only good results. The device and strips certainly are value for money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next