Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Sundome 3-Person Tent

Coleman Coleman Sundome 3-Person Tent

The Coleman 7' x 7' Sundome Tent is a well-ventilated, heavy-duty tent that will make the perfect accessory for your next camping expedition. The Coleman Sundome Tent is enabled with shock-corded poles that allow for easy assembly of the tent. The Coleman Sundome Tent can house up to 3 persons and it is created with one door. A rainfly that covers the door and windows of the tent for optimum protection against harsh climates. The exclusive Weather Tec System helps keep you dry, for a fun camping experience. The Coleman 7' x 7' Sundome Tent features a mesh vent that you can adjust to increase the ventilation capacity. Insta clip hooks aid in the easy set up of the tent. The 3-person tent also comes with a heavy-duty welcome mat to keep out dirt and mud.
Average Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation95%60 out of 63reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 79 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Sundome 3-Person Tent

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY1

12/13/2012
By ,
chula vista CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tent only lasted six months because the materials and workmanship are shoddy. The front of the polyethylene floor disintegrated and shredded (this is cheap plastic tarp material like you see at the auto parts store). The nylon at the door ripped in several places and when it rains water gets in the front and sides of the tent. Coleman does NOT stand by their warranty and says it does not cover UV damage to the tent. This tent is only good for the once-a-year camper; our "serious" tent is going strong and the Coleman tent is trash. I will never buy a cheap tent again. You get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Calera, Al
¿Question?
Posted 05/13/2013
Did u have a footprint underneath the tent?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Coleman Sundome 3-Person Tent

Coleman Dome Tent

09/08/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quick set up, nicely made, screens front & back and compartments in front & back. Best bang for your buck. Last tent I purchased was Ozark Trail for $22.00 I used it 4 times, poles broke... you get what you pay for... Queen size mattress fits nicely with room for some gear on either side, I would say this is a two person (we slept two adults and one black lab)....
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Sundome 3-Person Tent
08/31/2013
By ,
st.louis
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
used 3 times at Sturgis. stayed dry. ok for one person with twin air bed and gear. easy to assemble.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman Sundome 3-Person Tent

Great 1 person tent

08/23/2010
By ,
Charleston, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product. Very easy to set up, very well made. I bought this to use when camping alone, which I do frequently. It is really small. I knew it would be, but it is even smaller than I imagined, because of the inward/upward narrowing of the walls. This was a problem with my twin air mattress, because I use an elevated mattress. I did squeeze it in there but it was bulging the sides out, which would have caused the tent to leak if it had rained. I could not have inflated it inside the tent, so thank goodness it fit through the door. So now I am going to have to buy a regular thin air mattress to make this tent work for me. I'm not thrilled about that 'cause I love my high mattress, but it will definitely not work with this tent. Just a heads-up to those who have tall mattresses. If I had a do-over I would get the same tent but the next size up. Unfortunately, I don't think WM carries that size.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Sundome 3-Person Tent

Awesome

05/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i like all coleman tents because they are alll very water proof and i will atach a video of a storm while people are camping in a coleman tent and they dont not get wet and the tent didnt not leak one bit
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Sundome 3-Person Tent

Great buy

07/05/2012
By ,
Lebanon, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Short and sweet- this is a good buy! You can fit three people on a queen air mattress in it with no problem. Very easy to put together and very light. My only suggestion is that you bring a fan with you. The vents work great, but in 104 degree weather, even they can't do enough.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Sundome 3-Person Tent

great combination of features, quality, and price

01/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replaced a tent we have had for over 20 years because it had lived a full life. Looking for something that would sleep three with easy setup. This tent has it all. I was able to set it up by myself at night with a flashlight in around 10 minutes. First the features. Single wide door for easy access. Size is just right for a queen air mattress if you use them with some space on one size for clothes, cooler, etc. Has a small port in the back that you can use to access a cooler or in our case use as a doggie door for our two medium size 65 pound mixes. Also has an electrical pass thru so it doesn't obstruct one of the other openings. Quality is better then the price suggests and should be judged on that basis. If you want better then you will need to spend two to three times this amount. Sleeps three easily of average size. Several nice little features such as two small item bags, hold back ties for the windows and doors, and a place in center to hang your lantern. As you can see very happy with purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Sundome 3-Person Tent

Great Buy

10/10/2010
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this tent for a weekend campout with family. It sets up in 5 to 10 minutes. A queen size air mattress fits perfectly with a little extra room for gear. It is rated for 3 persons but I would say 2 with some gear would be the limit. There was a thunderstorm during the first night with 3 inches of HEAVY rain and 30 mph sustained winds and gust up to 40. The tent preformed fantastically. Everything stayed in place and there was not a drop of water inside the tent after the storm. I was there for another two days and no moisture came through anywhere though the ground around was still soggy. The only thing that I was a little disappointed in was that the mesh vent in the door is only the upper half and not the full door. Other than that I have no complaints. Definitely the Coleman quality I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Sundome 3-Person Tent

Good basic tent

12/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rain fly is big enough to prevent water intrusion except in a big blow. Good basic construction and easy set up. Decent air flow. A good 3 season tent, will have to see how it does on durability, but think it will be fine. A good 3 person tent for the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Sundome 3-Person Tent

Stayed Completely Dry

06/26/2012
By ,
Albany, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, I ordered this item on a Wednesday and it arrived on Friday with standard shipping which I thought was pretty quick. Set up was super easy. The first time took me about 12 minutes. After i was familiar with it, it took me 7 minutes. My son and i went on a 3 day hike last weekend. We hiked over 15 miles total and i never felt the tent was too heavy. On the second day we had a tremendous thunderstorm with heavy rain and strong winds. Only then did I realize I had forgot to apply my seam sealer. Well, it didn't matter because the tent stayed completely dry. My son pointed out that there was about 2 inches of water under the tent because he could make waves with his had. No water seeped in from underneath or seeped in from the top. I could not have been more pleased and the price is great to say the least.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Sundome 3-Person Tent

Just what I needed

09/13/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not a big camper, just needed something to get me through a weekend. This was perfect. Just big enough for a double air mattress, but it must be inflated in the tent. Had a horrible rain storm and with the rain cover nothing got in except from a small zipper opening in a corner, which was user error, not product deficiency. Easy to put together and take apart. Great for the newbie camper or just a small couple, perhaps kids sharing a tent. I strongly recommend this tent. Make sure to get a tarp for under the tent in case of rain!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Sundome 3-Person Tent

Great value

04/19/2011
By ,
Southwest Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for smaller tent for camping when just myself or one child. Great quality, setup VERY easy, zippers and opening well done. Light enough for backbacking, would recommend better stakes if rough weather is predicted.
Should be a great tent for years.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Sundome 3-Person Tent

Go With The "Hooligan 2."

06/18/2011
By ,
Mercer, Pa.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I own this tent and the "Hooligan 2" which is also made by Coleman. In my opinion the "Hooligan 2" is superior in every way. While this tent is one square foot bigger the " Hooligan 2" is laid out better. With a higher roof line. It also has a bigger door so it is easier to enter and exit it. The tent itself on the "Hooligan 2" is made entirely of mesh. This provides great ventilation. During wet weather the "Hooligan 2" has a full coverage rain fly which you attach to the tent. Making it very waterproof. Of course always seam seal a new tent! The rain fly also gives you a small vestibule at the door. A good place to keep your shoes or other small items you don't want to have inside the tent. Unlike this tent the "Hooligan 2" is not a free standing tent. So buy better tent stakes. Both my "Coleman" tents came with the same kind of stakes. Which I could best describe as paperclips on steroids. They will bend on you! Even though this tent is rated for 3 people I wouldn't want to try and fit more than 2 in either one. Most people will find it strange that I have spent more time reviewing the "Hooligan 2" tent than this "Sundome" tent. That's because I feel that 99% of people will like the "Hooligan 2" tent better. One last thing. If you shop around online you will find that both these tents are about the same price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Sundome 3-Person Tent

coleman 7x7 sundome tent

07/11/2010
By ,
lafayette tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used it for the first time and it was a great buy. It was well ventilated and sturdy. Nothing broke and easily setup and took down. great Buy for 49.00.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Sundome 3-Person Tent

Great tent for the price

07/03/2012
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I purchased this tent for a weekend camping trip at the beach. If you plan on camping on the beach also, I would recommend you buy some bigger tent stakes like we did. The ones that come with the tent are pretty small and thin and will not work well in sand. It was pretty easy to set up, even for our very first time setting up a tent. The product description claims this is a '3-person tent', but I wouldn't recommend it be used for 3 adults. More like 2 and maybe a small child, and if you bring an inflatable mattress, then forget about the small child it will be too crowded. If you have 3 adults, then maybe a 4-person tent would be better suited.
It rained a little that night, and was somewhat breezy on that beach, but the tent held fast and kept us dry. Use the guy lines, it will fortify the tent. The tent has ventilation flaps in both the front and the back of the tent, so it didn't get too muggy as tents tend to get when you have people zipped up inside. The only major complaint is we couldn't get the tent back into the carrying bag afterwards, but it doesn't deserve any less stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Sundome 3-Person Tent

Excellent Tent

04/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this tent for a camping trip with just me and my dog. Before I took it out I tested it in my backyard during a thunderstorm. Without seam sealing it stayed dry in heavy rains and moderate to heavy winds. It is well ventilated and better quality than the cheaper store brand tents. I really like that the seams are all sewn inside and that it can be set up in 5 minutes (even for the inexperienced.)
This is an excellent tent for the price. Naturally there are going to be better tents for the lightweight backpackers or harsh weather campers, but those people know they will pay more for those specific needs. But if you just want to get away for a few weekends a year I would recommend this tent for 2 adults and a small child or a dog.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Sundome 3-Person Tent

Camping Experience

07/31/2010
By ,
WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1st experience camping. The tent was smaller than anticipated. A queen size air mattress did fit, but little room elsewhere. Did have a great camping experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Sundome 3-Person Tent

Great starter tent

09/10/2012
By ,
Chicago,IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We just had our first weekend using this Coleman tent and it rained the second night. No leaking! The only slight condensation we had was due to an air mattress touching the side of the tent. After we moved it away from the side there was no more problems. Overall, we are really happy with this tent. It is just big enough for two people and luggage despite it being 3 person tent. I guess a small child could fit in too though. Make sure to buy and apply a seam sealer before using which we found to be really helpful in maintaining water proof quality. Also the top two side panels are all mesh, so it doesn't retain heat as well as other tents, so make sure you have enough blankets if you are camping when nights get cool.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Sundome 3-Person Tent

Love my Coleman Sundome

08/30/2014
By ,
Bremerton, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tent is pretty roomy, durable, and easy enough to set up by myself in just a few minutes. I like that you can have the rainfly on or off to watch stars. Plus a hook at the top where you can hang a lantern, etc. Great value....I went to REI first and I'm so happy I wound up at Walmart with this Coleman. Love my tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman Sundome 3-Person Tent

Good for the money

08/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tent worked perfectly for a three day camping trip. It is super easy to set up and take down. It fit two people very comfortably. I thought it had good ventilation but the weather was also on our side all weekend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1 2 3 Next