Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman 28-Quart Premium Cooler

Coleman Coleman 28-Quart Premium Cooler

If you like to go on road trips or picnics too often, then you will find the USA-made Coleman Premium 28QT to be extremely handy. This cooler lets you keep food and beverages fresh for a long time when compared to other similar products. It can hold as many as 36 cans and can store ice for 3 days even at a temperature of 90 degrees. The hinged lid is easy to open and the convenient handle makes it ideal for travels. The Coleman ice chest is tall enough to hold a 2 liter bottle upright. Made from environmentally friendly Thermozone insulation with absolutely no ozone depleting materials, this cooler will be the choice of nature enthusiasts. So, next time when you are planning a road trip, this cooler should be on top of the list of things to take.
Average Customer Rating:
3.878 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation71%29 out of 41reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 23 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman 28-Quart Premium Cooler

a good value but ice melts!!!

06/28/2010
By ,
Caldwell, NJ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this cooler and this weekend it was around 90 on my boat. I had to add a bag of ice each day. The claim that ice keeps for 3 days is not true. This is a great cooler for undr 20 bucks and will hold alot and also has two cup holders on top. I like the fact that it doesn't take up much space. Every day I had extremely cold ice water with floating small cubes of ice. I did have very cold drinks but like I mentioned before, I had to add a bag of ice each day. hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman 28-Quart Premium Cooler

Must be operator error

08/09/2014
By ,
Fort Worth, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't know how the other reviewer's that have a problem keeping ice are using this cooler but I kept one bag of ice for almost 48 hours in the middle of summer in Texas. 107° days sitting in the bed of my truck and I still kept ice that long. Perhaps coolers aren't as idiot proof as previously thought
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman 28-Quart Premium Cooler

Great Cooler!!

04/20/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can't beat this cooler for the price. It has a large capacity for its size and it has kept things cool much longer than many other coolers that I have had that cost several dollars more. It is tough, yet lightweight. The insulation does what it is advertised to do and that is keeping things cold even when it's hot outside. I would highly recommend this cooler for anyone looking for a great value for their dollar.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman 28-Quart Premium Cooler

Best cooler I ever bought

11/08/2013
By ,
Malone, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this cooler for many years now and I think it's design and quality are excellent. It's just the right size to serve one or two persons. The lid is hinged and removable, and it's handle allows you to CARRY IT WITH ONE HAND, leaving your other hand free to open doors or carry other stuff.
The handle is sturdy enough when the cooler is fully loaded. I travelled across the country in a sports car (where space is at a premium) with this cooler, where it's compact size and ease of lifting in and out of the car really showed it's benefits.
Know what else is great about it?
You can buy a nice sturdy plastic tray that fits inside perfectly where you can put things like sandwiches, deserts, eggs, zip-locked or packaged meats, cheeses, etc. to keep them uncrushed and dry from the melted ice and bottles below. Ingenious!! Highly recommended!
I found my tray on Ebay, but you may be able to find it at other retailers. Just do searches for "Tray for Coleman 28 Qt. Cooler", or maybe this link still works:
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/141097182583ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Malone, NY
Corrected link
Posted 11/09/2013
This is the correct Ebay link to the tray listing:
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/Tray-for-28-Quart-Coleman-Cooler-Shelf-Ice-Chest-6277-6278-camping-fishing-/141097182583?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_2&hash=item20da0c2577
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Coleman 28-Quart Premium Cooler

Less than impressive to say the least...

07/19/2010
By ,
Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought 2 of these coolers based on other reviewers stating they had good luck with them.
(On another site)
Used these during the 4th of July weekend. Sadly, 7Lbs. of ice and 12 cans of pop and 88 degree temps with this cooler in the shade 100% of the time equals no ice after 8 hours.
Again, bought 2 and neither keep ice.
Added another 14Lbs of ice, drained the water out and had ice for about 20 hours.
Another problem is the terrible hinges. These are binding the lid so the lid can not stay closed.
The lid will 'pop' back open a tad unless you fix this (as I did prior to use).
No lid latch which I knew prior to the purchase but all coolers should have one for just this reason.
I have been using Coleman coolers for 30 years and I can sadly say that this is the most poorly made and useless model I have ever purchased.
Dusted off my big 10 year old plastic Igloo cooler that I just used for the past 3 days... held its ice for 3 days straight in 94 degree heat (shaded).
15 glass bottles, 33 cans, 12 plastic water bottles, 4 steaks, 3.5Lbs of ground beef plus a whole watermellon. All stayed cold, still had ice left and with 21Lbs of ice initially.
Now thats a REAL cooler. Unfortunately this model from Coleman has failed miserably to say the least.
Not sure what Colemen has for outside temps to get 3 days with ice?? Maybe 32 degrees??
Its defiantly NOT 90 degrees as stated.... unless the coolers inside and the outside is 90??
Bottom line, do NOT buy this cooler if you want ice for 3 days. Its simply not going to happen.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Kentucky
Posted 10/10/2012
I agree these coolers are USELESS! Bought based on the display sticker "keeps ice for 3 days at 90 degrees" - cooler failed. Bought cooler as a backup for drinks. It was kept in the air conditioned rv and the ice didn't last overnight. I called Coleman to see if there was a warranty and they said only if there was damage due to failed workmanship. It was only $20 bucks but still money wasted. Disappointed in Coleman
+1point
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Never Empty the Water....
Posted 08/06/2012
If you want the ice to last longer - NEVER empty the water. Misconception that the water melts the ice. The water is already extremely cold, and is mass rather than air - once you open the cooler all the cold air escapes and it must restart - by keeping the water in the cooler it stays cold even after opening.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Coleman 28-Quart Premium Cooler

Very happy with this cooler.

07/24/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I originally wanted the larger size of this cooler but I was unable to find it in the store. We just took this cooler on a 2 day camping trip with 90+ degree temperatures all day. We added a bit more ice each morning but this cooler did a great job of keeping everything nice and cold even in the heat. I really like the way the lid for this cooler seems to snap shut, but I don't like that the lid doesn't want to stay open, which makes it difficult to load.
Overall this is a great cooler, and the size is actually going to be much better for storage than the larger one anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman 28-Quart Premium Cooler

Less than impressive, but still a good value.

07/03/2013
By ,
AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was looking for a cooler to go with me on my camping trips. I wanted a cooler that didn't have wheels, that wasn't too big, and that would be easy enough for me to carry by myself when it was full. I saw this cooler and it fit the bill perfectly. I was even more impressed that it said it would hold ice for 3 days in 90*F weather. Of course I took that with a grain of salt. I didn't expect it to be 3 days at 90 degrees, but I expected it to be at least a day to day and a half with a decent amount of ice water left.
I took this with me on a two week trip to several national parks in Arizona and Utah. It handled very well, but it held ice for approximately 12 hours at 90 degrees. It held ice for approximately 1 day and a half at 70 degrees. This was after I made sure the lid was properly closed with a large rock laying on top of it for safe measure.
All in all it meets my needs, but if you're looking at this cooler solely because of the insulation factor then you need to look at a better cooler. You will be buying a large amount of ice for such a small cooler.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman 28-Quart Premium Cooler

Come on People, use common sense

07/17/2012
By ,
Discovery Bay, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I almost made the mistake of passing up this great deal due to some of the bad reviews posted by people with no common sense. Luckily I bought it because I would have missed out on the great value this product offers. Its great quality, especially for the price and it fits perfect in the Sevylor Cooler Float so you can float all day with tasty beverages.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman 28-Quart Premium Cooler

LOVE IT!!!

07/16/2010
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cooler has met all my expectations. Needed something smaller than our "big" cooler for weekend trips, but bigger than our large insulated "lunch bag" cooler, and this fits the bill. Very sturdy construction, and does keep things cold for a long time, though have not tested the guarantee on how long it keeps things cold. Will be testing that in a couple of weeks, and am sure it will live up to it's guarantee.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman 28-Quart Premium Cooler

dont buy

07/19/2010
By ,
arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This cooler does not keep ice for 3 days as stated. A bag of ice lasts for about 6 hours on a warm day. Would not recomend this cooler if you wish to keep products cool for a full day or even overnight.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman 28-Quart Premium Cooler

They should carry these in stores

07/08/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cooler is just what we wanted. We looked at many stores and they were either too bulky or the hinge was cheaply made. So we ordered this one online. It was a GREAT PRICE and is made very well. We are so glad we bought it.;i9
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman 28-Quart Premium Cooler

GREAT VALUE

08/15/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good cooler for your money.In 95 degree FL. weather,10 hours a day in back of a black truck and not shaded it keeps ice more than 24 hours.I have an ice machine that makes better quality ice than you buy at most stores,which could be the prob for some.So consider the ice quality it does matter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman 28-Quart Premium Cooler

Keeps ice for only a few hours...

07/07/2010
By ,
Baton Rouge, Louisiana... The food is always good!
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I set this cooler in my house with the air conditioner running because it is hot down here in the deep south! I put in a 2 quart bowl of solid ice that I had frozen just for this test. I checked the cooler 14 hours later. The water in the bowl was cold but not one bit of solid ice did I find! Very disappointing. Taking this cooler back to the store today! While it is inexpensive there is no point in my paying for another ice chest when I already have 3 regular ice chests that keep ice just as long, if not longer, than this one. I suppose I will try one of the larger "5 day" coolers and see if I can get at least 3 days of ice out of it. I have avoided getting the larger one because of space constraints in my truck. It is a shame that this one doesn't work as advertised by Coleman.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman 28-Quart Premium Cooler

Excellent Cooler

11/08/2011
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cooler is big enough for your needs yet small enough to carry. Ice held well in this cooler. Good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman 28-Quart Premium Cooler

Ice chest for the Fire Engine.

11/20/2011
By ,
Madera, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ice chest works great for 1-2 people.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman 28-Quart Premium Cooler

Disapointed by this considering it is Coleman

06/20/2012
By ,
Highland, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Typically Coleman products are amazing, this one is not. I use this in the office, I keep soda iced down. I figured 3 days would be great because I would rarely have to ice it down. It stays about 72 degrees in the office year round. I ice the cooler down daily at 7am, all the ice is melted by noon. I am going to research and buy a different performance cooler. If you just need something for a picnic, this will work. But it is not a 3 day cooler, it is a 5 hr cooler.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman 28-Quart Premium Cooler

Not so much Ice chest

02/03/2013
By ,
Manhattan, Mt.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
THIS CAME FAST. lOOKS GREAT. But keeps ice for three days, NOT SO MUCH. Ifilled itwithice, andwas melting In an hour or so. Liquid in around three hrs. I figured it was because it had a case of warm water bottles. But the more ice I put in it, the more water I got. Not what I expected. But I still like thesize and will not complain. but if you buy it get lots of ice.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman 28-Quart Premium Cooler

Coleman 28-Quart Premium Cooler

07/17/2012
By ,
Plum, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AWESOME cooler, I use it at work during outdoors days, I freeze my water bottles over night then in morning, pre-chill the cooler with something else to just make it cool inside then put whatever things u want to bring. this was like 8am, that day was 85-90 degrees, by 7pm all my water bottles were thawed but still cold!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman 28-Quart Premium Cooler

poor handle design

08/04/2012
By ,
carlisle, pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After about a year and only 12-15 outings & the flanges holding the handle came apart making the handle useless. Bought different make with side mounted flip handles hopefully last longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman 28-Quart Premium Cooler

Didn't hold ice for even 24 hours

06/29/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This cooler is good for day trips only. 24 hours before my camping trip, I pre-chilled the cooler and all my food and beverages. I ended up purchasing ice every day for three days. The cooler was kept in the shade at all times. The average temperature ranged from 80-85 degrees. I am returning this useless item. I am very disappointed in this Coleman product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next