Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Max 2-Person Backpacking Tent, 6.6' x 4.6'

Coleman Coleman Max 2-Person Backpacking Tent, 6.6' x 4.6'

Now enjoy the outdoors thoroughly with the Coleman Max 2-Person Backpacking Tent 6.6' X 4.6'. The tent features a pin-and-ring design that allows easy set up in a matter of minutes. InstaClip attachments are also provided with the tent to make it more stable and easy to manage. Welded floor seams provide better movement inside the tent. The pin and ring tent features a height of 43 inches in the center. It can easily accommodate two people. The Coleman camping tent has a dry-entry vestibule that allows convenient access and adjustable airflow within the tent. A carry bag is included with the tent for easy carriage and transportation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation85%17 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 47 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Max 2-Person Backpacking Tent, 6.6' x 4.6'

Tent exceeds expectations at price

01/06/2012
By ,
Western Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the tent at Walmart by online sale $70 price [[only $70 when purchased online]. Pick-up at the local store was fast and easy. The price on sale was a deciding factor; but I was seriously considering the tent at the regular $85 price. Lightweight, just over 5 lbs, am going to use for backpacking & car camping. Tent has rings (clips) and seams with aluminum shock cord poles (3 poles). Aluminum poles can be lighter and do not break as fiberglass may; a returning popularity in these tents. Fly completely covers the tent and has two adjustable vents - front over the door, and a rear vent with stiff stay connected by velcro. Instructions for setup & re-packing & care are printed on a two-sided fabric inside the stuff sack. It can be free standing, an easy tent to set-up the first time in a bedroom, about 10 to 15 minutes; comes with 12 stakes. The tent's double vents were a material consideration due to condensation concerns -the vents reduce condensation Tent has one "D" double mesh/solid door, with a pair of two way zippers. Nylon zippers, good grommets for the poles. Guidelnes are attached by looping /tying through sewn loop attachments on the tent bottom and on tent sides. Poles cross without clip through half sleeve seams at the tent top. Without the fly, the tent is a full tight mesh -great 360 & overhead view. Fly creates a vestibule; loop stays tie up the doors when opened; strap-buckle-clips attach the rainfly to the tent bottom at straps sewn to pole grommet straps. Rainfly pole in gold has gold-yellow straps with clips & easily attaches at tent front; more than an adquate number of guidelines.
It features comparable to those seen in $100 to $140 tents. Floor is bathtub style with tarp like heavy nylon finish. Aluminum poles are color coded, gold pole for rain-fly. Door has double zipper; rainfly has velcro attached stay on rear and velcro with zipper on front vent. Rain fly has full zipper (one way top to bottom) with velcro closures on seam.
Tent is extremely light and airy without fly; vents well with fly through roof vents and fly door. Height is comfortable, higher than expected and a medium height man or woman can step out through door just by ducking. Packs well about 24 " wide. A mesh gear basket with clip for hanging is included in the tent bag, and one inside pocket. Tent is comfortably tight with ventilation as described when fly is fully attached.
Only improvements in its class might be an optional ground vent; and roll-up inside panels for privacy (dressing) when fly is not attached; and an inside adjustability for the rear fly vent.
Have just purchased this tent, and set it up; will follow this review with more after use. WalMart sells a low-cost ground cloth (footprint) 5 x 7 ft which is at $6-9, a good additional investment.
A terrific value for the lightweight tent class.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Western Massachusetts
SlideShow at YouTube for this Coleman Tent
Posted 01/28/2012
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGSypw_D6ls&list=UUapqDW7oq-XasE-aS2mGmsA&index=1&feature=plcp
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Coleman Max 2-Person Backpacking Tent, 6.6' x 4.6'

Nice little tent

05/21/2012
By ,
Upstate, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tent as a replacement tent to take on an upcoming multi-week section hike of the Appalachian Trail. While pack sniffers usually scoff at using anything from Walmart or made by Coleman, after reading the reviews on it from multiple sources I decided why not try it. It fits my limited budget and fits just within my basic specs as far as wants and needs. After a few test setup and take downs over the past week, I set up "camp" in my backyard (after being cautious and waterproofing it all up. I hope to do a test in the rain as soon as it decides to rain here ;-) .).
This tent exceeds my expectations. It is easy setup, can be used freestanding, no hassles, light enough and an overall great value for Walmarts $70 pricetag. I didn't experience any condensation in it. I had several types of bugs and insects trying to get in but the mesh is fine enough that their efforts were unsuccessful. I only wished there was a way to close the back vent up without having to get out of the tent, but unless it's downpouring out, not a huge deal. Just a minor inconvenience. As with any tent with a primarily mesh construction, take it easy on the mesh as a precaution against holes.
I am 5' 2" and had plenty of room to bring my Z-Lite pad, sleeping bag and pack in. I intend on using it as a solo instead of a 2-person. While it will fit 2 people, it would be a tighter squeeze than I like. When packed up, it fits in my pack perfectly. The poles did not come with a sleeve for easy carrying, so I made one out of a ripstop material with a drawstring to strap to my pack.
For backpacking, I would recommend the Outdoor Products 5'x7' backpackers tarp that is in the camping section of your local Walmart (I have not seen it online here yet), or the old hiker standby of a piece of tyvek as a ground cloth. The backpackers tarp isn't bad at all for $10. It definitely did it's job last night in protecting the bottom of my tent.
I would definitely, without a doubt, recommend this tent as a spring/summer tent. Having not tested it in the fall, I can't speak for that yet. But I bet with the proper layering and sleeping bag, it's possible for use as a good 3 season tent.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Upstate, NY
Update
Posted 07/18/2012
After spending over a month backyard camping in this tent (yes I love it that much), I packed up shop and went on a shortened version of my hike on the AT. I have now spent several nights in rain and thunderstorms with no issues. It stood up very well to the rigors of trail life. Although I still see others on my AT forums bash this tent (and sadly the Coleman line), it stands up to the other more expensive tents in its class well so far in my experience. I still recommend this tent as a good inexpensive tent for backpacking. I also used my 5x7 tarp on the trail as well as the Coleman Max 30d mummy sleeping bag and my now 2 year old Elate 65L pack. For less than $250, you can get all 3 of your big 3 backpacking items in this Coleman Max line and be well outfitted with around a 13 pound big 3. I did make one change to the stakes before heading out as I bought the 3 sided stakes like the MSR Ground Hog stakes. They held the ground much better and didn't bend as easily. Plus they were easier to see with their orange color.
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Coleman Max 2-Person Backpacking Tent, 6.6' x 4.6'

Coleman Max 2-Person tent

05/21/2012
By ,
Armington, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this tent for motorcycle camping. It replaced a 3 man Coleman dome tent. The Coleman Max 2-Person tent is smaller and lighter than the tent it replaced, saving space and weight in the saddle bags. I used the tent on a 4 day dualsport ride in Mississippi this past week. It was easy and quick to erect after inital setup. There is plenty of room for all my gear along one side of the air mattress. I can not comment on its ability to keep you dry during a rain as it never rained on the trip. But I can only assume it will be fine, as it is a Coleman! I am very happy with the purchase!! Delivery from Walmart.com was lightning fast.
Brad
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman Max 2-Person Backpacking Tent, 6.6' x 4.6'
12/03/2011
By ,
ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Max 2-Person Backpacking Tent, 6.6' x 4.6'
08/24/2011
By ,
Indianapolis In
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this tent today every thing was ok all items where in package . Took less then 30min to set this tent up in my hose. And fits in my pack with plenty of room for all the rest of my gear. Can't wait to take this tent out and try it out.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Max 2-Person Backpacking Tent, 6.6' x 4.6'

Excellent little tent

08/08/2011
By ,
Scottsdale, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this tent for my 15 yr old daughter to use on a wilderness hike in Northeastern Arizona in July. I helped her set it up the first time in the yard, then had her take it down and put it back up alone. She had no problem rolling it up and then setting it up again. It fit into a mid-sized internal frame backpack along with her sleeping bag, clothing, food, etc. All weighed in at 28lbs-- largely due to the light tent. This is a small two-man that may be tight for two adult men, but would work fine for anyone smaller. While in the mountains it rained hard one whole day, but the tent stayed dry inside via the rainfly. It is well made and we are very pleased with its performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ny
Great tent!
Posted 12/03/2011
Im on my 3rd season with this tent with no problems. Love it! Very light. As long as you have all the ties on proper there are NO leaks.
Stakes needed to be upgraded. They're very light aluminum and bend easy. but overall a great tent for the money. Comp tents this construction and weight sell for $300. Also , in the pic they don't show that there is screen on all four sides.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Coleman Max 2-Person Backpacking Tent, 6.6' x 4.6'

Good Hiker Tent

07/07/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I Like this tent. It weighs about 4lb 10oz if you cut off all the extraneous stuff like labels and shed the extra poles and stake sacks.
It has only been in light rain with no problem. The rainfly is seamsealed, so I don't expect leaks.
For the price to weight ratio, this tent cannot be beat. Sure, there are lighter tents, but for $70? I can't buy all the material for that price. This is a great compromise between price and weight. Plenty of room inside for two, nice vestibule area, and for $70 the value can't be beat. I've looked at alot of hiker tents and most comparables in this weight category are $120-$200.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Max 2-Person Backpacking Tent, 6.6' x 4.6'

Great value for the price!

09/06/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tent is great for the value. It's about $60-90 less than a comparable tent from REI. I'm not a huge camper, but I go camping 1-3 times a year with friends. This tent is perfect for that. I just used it for the first time on Lake Conasauga in Georgia, elevation 3,150 ft. It was pretty windy at night, and the rain fly gave us good protection, and wasn't even that noisy. My boyfriend and I (who are both about 6' tall) fit comfortably in it with room to spare. Easy set up, only took about 5 minutes for two people. I'm not sure how it does in the rain though, it didn't rain on us on this trip.
Overall, this tent is a great buy for someone who isn't a crazy camper, but likes to take a short camping trip every now and then.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Max 2-Person Backpacking Tent, 6.6' x 4.6'

Suprising value for the price.

12/23/2011
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently bought two of these Coleman Max 2 person backpacking tents for my family from Walmart.com. I must admit that I was quite shocked at the excellent value this tent represents for the extremely reasonable price of only $70. I have researched many similar backpacking tents from other companies and vendors, and I have found that you cannot buy a (new) nice tent with such quality components for this small price anywhere else. This tent has aluminum poles, aluminum stakes, a nylon floor, a vestibule, and an included gear loft. The tent is light weight and compacts into a very reasonable size for backpacking.
In terms of comparison, I also have a Coleman Hooligan 2 tent and a Slumberjack Trail Tent 2 which are both in the similar price range as the Coleman Max 2 tent. This Coleman Max 2 Tent (although quite smaller than the Coleman Hooligan 2 Tent and slightly smaller that the Slumberjack Trail Tent 2) is much lighter and of much higher quality than these two other tents. The Coleman Hooligan 2 Tent and the Slumberjack Trail Tent 2 both have heavier and cheaper fiberglass poles, unlike the Coleman Max 2 Tent with its high quality aluminum poles. The Coleman Hooligan 2 Tent and the Slumberjack Trail Tent 2 both come with heavy, cheap steel stakes. The Coleman Max 2 Tent comes with light weight, strong aluminum stakes. The Coleman Hooligan 2 Tent comes with a heavy, cheap polyethylene floor, whereas the Coleman Max 2 Tent (and the Slumberjack Trail Tent 2) has a nice quality nylon floor. The Coleman Max 2 Tent comes with an included overhead net gear loft that is very useful. Neither the Coleman Hooligan 2 Tent or the Slumberjack Trail Tent 2 offer this handy feature. The Coleman Max 2 Tent (like the Coleman Hooligan 2 Tent and the Slumberjack Trail Tent 2) has a nice, practical vestibule.
In conclusion, I will repeat that the Coleman Max 2 Tent is a wonderful small tent that is offered through Walmart.com as an incredible deal at this low price. I truly do not believe it is possible to find another backpacking tent with such similar quality components at this great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Max 2-Person Backpacking Tent, 6.6' x 4.6'

Decent tent for the price

08/13/2010
By ,
Pawleys Island, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall this is a good little tent for one person. You can fit a twin air mattress in it with a little space on the side to fit accessories. The trouble with it is the rain fly is kind of a strange design. It doesn't zip up the full length of the actual door to the tent so it's a little hard to get in and out. I have never seen a tent with the rainfly poles on the outside either which is a little awkward. In any case, it's easy to put up and a decent tent for the price. Be careful though...the screen material on the walls of the tent pull and rip very easily if something slightly grazes it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Max 2-Person Backpacking Tent, 6.6' x 4.6'

You can't beat it, from Alaska to Florida

07/13/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a great product. The first time I took it was on my trip to Alaska, for 7 days it rained twice, first time was a downpour, the tent was dry. Had it for 3 years now and had no problems, wind rain, sun, you name it. Buy it, you will love it. Oh yeah, ultra light too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Max 2-Person Backpacking Tent, 6.6' x 4.6'

Good, light backpacking tent

08/20/2012
By ,
Phila, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first night got a great test. Six hours of outrageous rain. I only had some drops, while others in the campsite (with more expensive tents) where screaming because they had two inches of water in their tent. Typical of most “two person” tents, it’s really only big enough for one person, if you’re going to keep your gear inside. The upper part is total screen and lets the sun in. The rain cover only has the door and two small vents, so the Max can get very hot if pitched in direct sunlight. Overall great, light-weight backpacking tent
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Max 2-Person Backpacking Tent, 6.6' x 4.6'

Almost perfect except...

04/16/2012
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tent is almost perfect except... it's not long enough. I am a backpacker and I am always looking for a good deal on a decent light weight tent. This Coleman Max almost delivers., It's light weight, sealed/ taped seams, nice aluminum poles, full cover fly. I am 6'2" and when I lay in this tent both my head and feet touch the sides, in fact when I roll out my standard size sleeping bags they too touch both sides. If it were another 6-8" longer in would be an incredible value at $70.00, equal to my $250.00 REI tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Max 2-Person Backpacking Tent, 6.6' x 4.6'

good design for $ but heavy

09/14/2012
By ,
Brewster, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I like the fly design and construction but I'm concerned about the bottom of the tent resisting moisture. I think you either need a tent tarp or waterproof. It's also on the heavy side for backpacking tents but I guess that's to be expected for a fraction of the price. Haven't used it in the rain yet. This would probably be a good tent for someone like me who wants to start backpacking but doesn't want to invest hundreds.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Max 2-Person Backpacking Tent, 6.6' x 4.6'
11/20/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
NO INSTRUCTIONS CAME WITH TENT.
BOOOOOO1 BAD
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Max 2-Person Backpacking Tent, 6.6' x 4.6'

A Great Tent for the Money

02/06/2012
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm going to go camping with our Boy Scout troop in a couple of weeks so I'll know better by then. However, I can tell you from the price, packaging, delivery, & pickup that it was as good of an experience as any other item I've purchased from site to store with Wal-Mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Max 2-Person Backpacking Tent, 6.6' x 4.6'

Works well!

11/03/2012
By ,
Lebanon, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My only problem is that I' am 5ft 11in and when I'm lying down, my feet or head will touch the side fabric. Buyer will need to buy straps if they plan to strap the carring bag to a hiking pack. Solid and well built tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Max 2-Person Backpacking Tent, 6.6' x 4.6'
01/05/2013
By ,
30533
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have not used yet, but know we can depend on this equipment to perform as we need it to in the field.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Max 2-Person Backpacking Tent, 6.6' x 4.6'

stands up to heavy rain and wind

08/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
also good without the rain flap for stargazing on hot summer nights
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Coleman Max 2-Person Backpacking Tent, 6.6' x 4.6'
Based on 1 ratings-only review
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5