Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Fixed-Blade Knife

Coleman Coleman Fixed-Blade Knife

This all-purpose Coleman Fixed-Blade Knife is handy for use when camping, hunting or fishing. Constructed from stainless steel, it provides superior strength and durability. Featuring a contoured rosewood handle and a grooved thumb grip, this all-purpose knife is easy to hold and control. It includes a nylon sheath with belt loop and a snap closure for convenient carrying.
Average Customer Rating:
4.525 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation92%37 out of 40reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Fixed-Blade Knife

Great Knife, Surprised at blade quality

12/19/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought several of these when they were branded Ozark trail. The handles were a little nicer on those but the blade is the same on these as it was on the Ozark Trail brand Wal-Mart used to sell. I use this knife for field dressing and processing large game at home. This is an extremely good knife because of the characteristics of the blade. It has a full tang, a semi-hard blade that has a very nice curve (perfect for skinning/processing), if you sharpen your own knives like I do with a whetstone this is critical to getting a very razorsharp edge that will last longer than one use (you do have to put a good "edge" on the knife, the factory one is good, just hard to sharpen when it gets dull). I have had my Ozark Trail knife for almost 6 years and I have only sharpened it three times (and I have used it considerably for deer, turkey, and other tasks). The blade holds the edge great and I can get it razor sharp, really razor sharp, like I can shave with it sharp. the handle is not wide like most hunting knives. While others may like the thick handle on most knives (and I do for some purposes), this knife being thin makes it really nice to carry as it sets very close to the body to were it does not catch on anything or get in the way. The nylon sheath is decent quality, this is the only thing I would change, they should have angled this sheath counter clockwise about 45 degrees so it set on the waist perfect.
All in all, this is an excellent buy especially for $10. I have bought other expensive knives (Gerber, Buck, and even some Schrade) and other stores that do not perform like this knife does.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Fixed-Blade Knife

Surprised!

02/23/2011
By ,
Nor Cal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this knife and I'm extremely impressed so far. I picked it up because the price was reasonable and I liked the design. I wasn't expecting much when I opened it, but I was pleasantly surprised. Not only is the design minimal and very elegant, but the knife is well-balanced and quite comfortable in my hands. Knife-making was once a hobby for me so I rarely buy or use stainless knives. I've found carbon steel to be much more dependable, especially in terms of edge-retention and sharpening. I can't testify to how this knife holds up yet, but it came with a very nice edge (and I love the brushed steel look of this blade.) Other reviewers have said the stainless blade sharpens well, so I'm hopeful. I also subjected this knife to an immediate testing of lateral stability. The knife had slight give under a considerable amount of pressure, but the blade did NOT bend or snap, meaning whatever steel they've used is quite tough.
The minimalistic design of this blade is not only pleasant to look at and hold, but will also make it easier to maintain. It would be quite simple to make new handle slabs for this knife, or do similar customizations- Not that you need to, because the rosewood handle is very appealing in appearance.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Fixed-Blade Knife

10 bucks goes a long way!

02/10/2011
By ,
Williamsburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would agree with most all favorable reviews here. This is not the hardiest, most sturdy knife in the world but it is impressive and surprisingly useful for the money.
I've batoned with it quite easily with excellent results. I can't believe it hasn't snapped in half yet because it is a thin blade... about 3mm thick. Maybe this is its secret in getting through small logs for fire making. The handle is smallish but shaped well and feels fine in my hand. The thumb jimping has sharp edges and I had to put the rotory tool grinder to it and smooth it out a bit... ahhhh...that feels better!
It sharpens to a good edge easily and I love the belly on this blade... great for skinning. It must be some series of 400 steel I'm sure. Easy carry for a hike since it weighs next to nothing. This isn't a serious survival tool but it is remarkably handy.
The nylon sheath is nothing to write home to mom about but it does the job it needs to. Quick - run to Walmart and pick one up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman Fixed-Blade Knife

A Big Surprise in a Cheap, Great Knife

08/16/2010
By ,
Northeast Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This knife has surpassed every expectation I had when I bought it. A $10 knife is just that, a cheap knife; however this one is much different. Overall I would recommend this knife to anyone for a great camping, hiking, hunting, fishing, etc. knife.
The blade is a full tang and so far has proven to be very tough. I have used it several times now for cutting down trees in the 2"-4" range by batoning it with another stick. The blade has not broken or chipped in any way and has held a very good edge. The thickness of the blade is my main concern with side loads when prying so because of it's thinness I've strayed away from these actions.
The handle is a bit small for my hands (6'3") but is still very comfortable for everyday use. Overall I would recommend this knife to anyone and plan to buy another or two before they disappear. I am using this knife as my main knife except on multi-day treks where my RAT3 is what I trust with my life.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Fixed-Blade Knife

Decent cheap knife!

10/23/2011
By ,
NW Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I spend a lot of time on the water and in the woods here in NW Florida and like to keep a few knives with me. I was in the market for a new fixed blade one that wasn't very expensive so I wouldn't care if I lost it! I saw this one in the local walmart and thought it looked good for the price, I have to say I didn't have much luck with the first one. The blade began to chip on the first time out in the woods with it. I did some shopping around for a month or so and decided that I'd give this another try. Having a better knowlege of what the blade being so thin can and can't handle I think it will last me a nice while of abuse for the price. I wouldn't advise you try to do prying type of actions with it and use a machette to clear your path or over growth of limbs, but you can shave kindling and baton 3" logs for a fire and make stakes for your tarp. It's alright as a camp knife, but have a backup and I have to agree with the others the sheath is cheap and will not wear well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Fixed-Blade Knife

Hundred Dollar Knife for 10 Bucks!

09/29/2010
By ,
Brevard,NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I saw this knife in the camping section @ my local store. I bought it because it looked cool, and I needed a beater camp knife. Boy was I pleased when I opened the package. It is a really, really good knife for the money. It comes with a decent edge, but i can get it scary sharp in minutes. Well balanced. Perfect handle and thumb grip. The blade is thin and the sheath is not holding up well to every day carry, but for ten bucks you can't go wrong. This is serious knife.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Fixed-Blade Knife

Great Knife

01/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great for a camp knife. It's about 9.3 inches long with a 5 inch blade. The blade steel runs through the tang for strength. It's very sharp. It has some ridges on top where you can put your thumb so it won't slip.
If I was given the job of improving it I might change the snap on the sheath to Velcro or something similar. The wood on the handle could be made a bit thicker and or knurled for a better grip. Maybe the handle could be a half inch longer. That's all being nit picky. It's not supposed to be a combat knife so it's fine the way it is. Any changes like that would probably drive up the price. Maybe they could sell a deluxe version for 5 bucks more.
As it is, it's a very good knife at a very good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Fixed-Blade Knife

OK for the price.

08/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a decent utility knife for how much it costs. I think it's only fair not to expect to get a whole lot of quality for $15. With that said, this knife is decent. Cuts rather poorly but will cut things when there's no other knife available. The steel is mediocre but it's stainless so it doesn't rust that quickly. Handle is alright but not too comfortable due to the rear curve. The spine gimping so aggressive that it's useless unless you're wearing gloves. It's a knife and will get the job done if it's the only one you can afford. I know Wal-Mart doesn't carry many fixed blade knives so this might be the only choice if you need a knife to cut things at a campsite. With that said, there's much better knives out there for just a little bit more money and they come with better sheath too.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Fixed-Blade Knife

good for value

04/20/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great product for the value. I bought it at the store because I saw the cheap price. It far exceeded my expectations. Right out of the package this knife was sharp. great value for the price. Can't wait to see how it preforms when I take it camping next week.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Fixed-Blade Knife

Great knife

07/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very suprised to see how well this knife worked straight from the package. Needed minimal sharpening but when I did sharpen it, it was flawless. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Fixed-Blade Knife

Great backup knife for bob

06/25/2012
By ,
Wichita, ks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cheap, durable, full tang, and light weight makes this a great secondary knife. The knocks against it are the sheath, the scales are offset on the tang (will cause hand fatigue with prolonged usage), short blade length (limits it for wood processing), thinness of the blade (be careful removing it when it gets stuck in wood), uneven grind (heel of the blade common on cheap knives, straightened out with my diamond life sharpening block), and unfinished edge which I fixed on my leather strop with compound. This can be sharpened to a hair shaving edge that holds very well for stainless steel. Great first knife for the novice, the casual outdoors person, or anyone really concerned about weight. Won't hold an edge like a Mora/Opinel but due to full tang I feel it's more durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Fixed-Blade Knife

Can't be beat

05/24/2011
By ,
Gainesville,GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great knife for the money. So far this knife has help up to all kinds of use. chopping, carving, wood splitting up 3". all this after some time spent getting the edge the way i like it & it stills shaves hair. my only complaint is the sheath, all though well made bad design. it is designed to keep the knife out of the way behind your front paints pocket opening. the belt loop wears more than the rest of it. i have had this knife for about a year. the knife is going to be good for years to come, the sheath time will tell. the sheath is the ONLY reason i gave this knife 4 stars & not 5.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Fixed-Blade Knife

Great knife for the price

08/31/2011
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this knife a couple of days ago and it came out of the package sharp. Not as sharp as i personally like so i sharpened it to what i like. But, the is a really good fixed blade knife for the price that it is. The end of the blade gets a little thin but im fine with that. The sheath is pretty cheap though. Nothings wrong with it but you can tell its cheap. Other than that though you can't beat this knife for the price its at
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Fixed-Blade Knife

Excellent, but...

03/30/2011
By ,
Anderson, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because I figured I wanted a fixed blade knife to beat the living daylights out of. I bought my second one because this knife is AMAZING! I have but one minor issue, the knife itself is merely a punched out piece of steel, and it has very sharp edges on the entire outside of the knife. Very sharp, easy to resharpen, and pretty much perfectly balanced as a throwing knife. I would suggest to Plasti-dip the handle or wrap it in paracord or duct tape, etc., etc. For buying and a beat up and trash knife, best $10 I have ever spent. Already have recommended it to multiple people.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Fixed-Blade Knife

Great Buy!!!

08/16/2010
By ,
Memphis, Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being in the BoyScouts of America, I have definately seen my share of knives over the last several years. This is by far the best for the value knife that I have bought. Coleman has a long reputation of making outstanding camping gear, which I can attest to, having used many of their products on camping trips. Although BSA policy does not permit sheath knives on BSA campouts, I will still find plenty of uses for this knife.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Fixed-Blade Knife

Best $11 I ever spent

01/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Much better quality than I figured. I had to sharpen it but once I did it was great. I recomend highly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Fixed-Blade Knife

Great Knife Even better Price

02/06/2011
By ,
Harlingen, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great knife for the money, i would easily pay $30 bucks for it. Great for any application, and it works great as a defensive knife for carry. Don't pass it up!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Fixed-Blade Knife

Coleman Fixed Blade Knife

09/05/2010
By ,
Crestline, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the most important tools any outdoorsman needs is a good knife. The Coleman Fixed Blade Knife is more than just a tool. It is one of the best all-round knives I've used. The first time you grab this knife, you'll notice how well it fits your hand. The grooves on the top of the blade provide a non-slip surface for your thumb. This knife also comes with a very good edge that should keep it good and sharp for a long time. The Rosewood handle adds a nice finishing touch. This knife is one that I'll wear and use on a daily basis.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Fixed-Blade Knife

Great 15$ knife!!

04/21/2014
By ,
Indianapolis, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a beater and thought it'd be in the trash in two or three months. Came with decent edge capable of most tasks. And the sheath althoughv not the best it does hold up for about 7-8 months then seams start to tear away. But the knife for 15 is crazy. I've batoned with it, chopped small branches, made feather sticks and whittled with this knife. If your looking for a good beater, a knife to throw in the go bag, or a woods knife this is the one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman Fixed-Blade Knife

Great for the price

01/26/2012
By ,
Sebring Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First thing I did after opening was to put this knife in my sharpening jig and put a 20% edge on it with diamond plates. Knife is razor sharp and seems to stay that way. I would put this knife in a class with several I own that were in the 60.00$ and more range. Nice thing about it is if it gets lost, stolen, or falls overboard, Ill just buy another one. This is a knife you can use and not worry about. I might add it was sharp right out of the package, I just like them to be as sharp as I can get them.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next