Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Coleman Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Average Customer Rating:
3.63 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
20
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation71%52 out of 73reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 29 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
20
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Solar Shower

08/07/2010
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Coleman solar shower was pretty much as expected. Its a thick plastic 5 gallon bag with a short hose and tiny shower head. The bag is supported by a short length of plastic pipe in the handle. Due to weight of 5 gallons of water, a lot of stress is placed on this pipe. The first thing I did was replace the short pipe with a full length section of PVC 1/2" pipe to spread the weight over a longer length. Next I removed the provided shower head and attached a 20' length of 3/8" black vinyl tubing I purchased at Lowes for a couple of bucks. To this hose I attached a cheap garden hose pistol sprayer. Now I have a shower that can be hung high in the sun and allows me to run the hose into a shower tent for easy clean ups. The higher the bag is hung the more water pressure on the sprayer. It works great..!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Hose comes kinked

08/14/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered three of these. The hose are kinked on all of them. You have to pinch the kink to get the water to flow. But it works well for heating the water. I was surprised how hot the water got and how fast. I am replacing the hose on all of them for a better Quality hose.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Surprising

08/29/2013
By ,
Placerville CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this on a whim thinking for the price I would give it a try. It got the water nice and warm even though the day was overcast. It is amazing how clean you can get with this little amount of water. Both my wife and I took showers and had water left. She didn't wash her hair so that probably would have used more...I don't have much hair to wash so it was no problem. I was pleasantly surprised.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

LEAKED

07/18/2012
By ,
Falmouth MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tried this out for a few days in backyard before going camping.
Seemed that the fill valve started to leak as it got hot and more flexible, so no big deal.
When camping on the 2nd fill the bottom of the bag on the seam came apart and completely drained overnight.
Called Coleman and got a new one on the mail, will need to bring a backup next time just in case the same thing happens again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Great investment

07/20/2011
By ,
Savannah, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this for camping so I would not have to go to the hot bath house in the afternoons. I love it. I would fill it up and set it out around noon and leave it until the sun went down. The chart on the bag will tell you how long to leave it for the temperature of the day and your desired temperature of water. I was impressed with the flow of the water out of the nozzle. I would turn the water on only when I needed to rinse off or prepare to wash my hair. This used as little water as possible and I was able to wash myself and my two year old twice out of one bag of water. The only complaint I would have is that once you have soap on your hands it is hard to turn the nozzle to get the water back on. This is easily done though using a washcloth to get a grip on the nozzle. I purchased a camping shower to use with this but it would not hold the bag when it was full so I had to hang it from a pole at the campsite. The hole in the bag is plenty big enough to hang it from most anything. For the money and convenience, this is a great investment. I will be purchasing more for my family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Not Burning Man approved.

10/21/2014
By ,
Redlands
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchase this shower for the express purpose to use it at the 2014 Burning Man. The bag holds a large amount of water, so hang the bag at sturdy location. It heated the water to comfortable temperature when expose to the sun in the mid - nineties.
In the picture the tube has a folded, almost a kink, but this is due to packaging in the box. I found the showerhead, in closed position, would constantly drip if left hanging downward. I had to position the showerhead in upwards direction to stop the dripping. Also, read the instruction on washing the bag before using it, or the water will have a strong plastic odor!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Too flimsy.

07/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just bought a replacement Coleman shower and it is flimsy and light-weight compared to the one we had been using for 15 years. The new one seems to have a thinner bag and the hose is so thin that it kinks. The water filing cap is so soft that it can pop open just moving it around or setting it down and the shower head pulled out of the hose every time you tried to pull open the shower nozzle. Used it once and its going back. Looks like Coleman has lowered their standards and this product (made in China) will not last. Our old Coleman shower was sturdy and rugged. Only problem it had was with the cap that was hard to open or close.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Awesome

07/08/2010
By ,
Maui, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This solar shower is great! Used it this past weekend while camping and freediving and it was almost too hot! Seems pretty durable and the PVC handle and on/off nozzle are awesome features. The water got hot quickly and you can't beat the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Works Great

08/23/2010
By ,
Fortuna, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of these and just used them out camping for the first time and loved it! They work really good, the water was perfect. Only down fall is it is hard to open the shower head when you get soap on your hands so I had to modifiy it alittle. Other than that they are worth the investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Worked perfectly

05/31/2014
By ,
East Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought two of these to use after clean up work in our forest. Carried out the recommended cleaning first and filled both. 4 hours in mostly direct sun and we had comfortably hot water. Used some rope over a branch to haul one up high enough to have the shower above head height but in easy reach. In one bag there was enough water for the two of us to clean up and still a bit left.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Good short term system for light rinse

09/09/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the price it's about what to expect. Hose tends to kink up and nozzle on the end is small. No way to turn it off except to kink the hose. Need a sunny camp spot
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

BARELY COULD USE ONCE!

08/04/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Normally, Coleman makes great products, but we bought one of these showers recently, went to lay it in the sun to get water warm. The Fill Valve leaked - tried opening and shutting several times, still leaked. So, we had to prop that part of the bag upright and we were still able to use for a shower, took back to store when we returned home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Not what expected!

08/07/2014
By ,
Dayton, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Item is junk in my opinion. I love Coleman but consider this a flop. First you have to hang it high enough where gravity works in your favor. It weighs 40 lbs. and me being old I couldn't get i high enough. I used one tree limb and tried to hoist it to no availability. Struggling I finally got the top about 7 feet. That still leaves the shower head 3 feet off the ground. Try to use it standing up and the hose crimps.I had to squat down to use it. Shower head is hard to open. Soapy hands and it's even harder The water trickles at best. Next time I'll try and use a pulley system.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Works great!

08/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This portable shower works perfectly for my needs. Set in the sun and the water gets very warm. We use it for showers and just washing hands.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

junk

06/17/2012
By ,
wadsworth,ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the first one i purchased worked great and lasted 2 years and had a shower head that you pushed and pulled for on and off the second one i bought i had to twist the shower head for off and on(real tough with soapy hands) it started leaking where it comes out of the bag after just 2 uses so i bought a 3rd one that i didn't even get to use it leaked where i comes out of the bag when i first filled it. coleman changed their supplier i will not buy another
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Not what I was expecting. Item is a big problem.

09/12/2013
By ,
Thomaston GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This item is a lot of trouble. The tubing tends to bend & kink up therefore reducing water flow. The item has to hang much higher than you would think in order for the water to flow. The nozzle on the end of the shower hose is very difficult to open & comes completely out easily when trying to open it. And the cap on the bag pops open easily also therefore making it impossible for water to be transported because it will spill. I am not really happy with this item. When I purchased it I was going to buy 5 at once. I am so glad I did not & only bought 1. I will not be buying the other 4 as planned. Not a well thought plan for this item. Too many "Cons" & not enough "Pros".
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

easy to use great to have anytime anywhere

06/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
easy to use anytime anywhere great for kids to stay clean
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Absolute junk!

06/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not only did this leak all over the place straight out of the bag, it didn't even warm the water as claimed. Great idea, poor execution.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Great for the price

07/15/2012
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gets the job done. It is heavy when full and you do have to put it high so that it is over your head. Good shower head, no problem with flow and it is actually adjustable. Heating up in the sun is no issue and you can even lay it on rocks that retain heat or heat it up. Can also be used as a drinking water source. I actually took a ver,very long shower and then just hung out underneath it until it was empty. Strong plastic and a strong handle that is necessary for the weight, remember a gallon of water weighs 8 lbs., so if it is full that's 40lbs....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

very nice portable shower!

08/18/2013
By ,
Upland CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very durable little shower!! We read another review that a guy bought the shower and replaced the pvc pipe with a longer one and the tubing so we did too and it works a thousand times better! My husband replaced the 18 in 3/8in plastic tubing with a longer 5 ft one so we can hang it from a tree instead of in the shower tent so it could be in constant sun to worm it up. The pvc pipe was replaced just to enhance the weight support, its a lot of weight on that little pipe. The shower head works AWESOME, you can pull it on and push it off. Very nice little shower for the price, it worked well before the modifications and can be used just as that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next