Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Coleman Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Average Customer Rating:
3.737 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation74%42 out of 57reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Solar Shower

08/07/2010
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Coleman solar shower was pretty much as expected. Its a thick plastic 5 gallon bag with a short hose and tiny shower head. The bag is supported by a short length of plastic pipe in the handle. Due to weight of 5 gallons of water, a lot of stress is placed on this pipe. The first thing I did was replace the short pipe with a full length section of PVC 1/2" pipe to spread the weight over a longer length. Next I removed the provided shower head and attached a 20' length of 3/8" black vinyl tubing I purchased at Lowes for a couple of bucks. To this hose I attached a cheap garden hose pistol sprayer. Now I have a shower that can be hung high in the sun and allows me to run the hose into a shower tent for easy clean ups. The higher the bag is hung the more water pressure on the sprayer. It works great..!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Surprising

08/29/2013
By ,
Placerville CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this on a whim thinking for the price I would give it a try. It got the water nice and warm even though the day was overcast. It is amazing how clean you can get with this little amount of water. Both my wife and I took showers and had water left. She didn't wash her hair so that probably would have used more...I don't have much hair to wash so it was no problem. I was pleasantly surprised.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

LEAKED

07/18/2012
By ,
Falmouth MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tried this out for a few days in backyard before going camping.
Seemed that the fill valve started to leak as it got hot and more flexible, so no big deal.
When camping on the 2nd fill the bottom of the bag on the seam came apart and completely drained overnight.
Called Coleman and got a new one on the mail, will need to bring a backup next time just in case the same thing happens again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Great investment

07/20/2011
By ,
Savannah, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this for camping so I would not have to go to the hot bath house in the afternoons. I love it. I would fill it up and set it out around noon and leave it until the sun went down. The chart on the bag will tell you how long to leave it for the temperature of the day and your desired temperature of water. I was impressed with the flow of the water out of the nozzle. I would turn the water on only when I needed to rinse off or prepare to wash my hair. This used as little water as possible and I was able to wash myself and my two year old twice out of one bag of water. The only complaint I would have is that once you have soap on your hands it is hard to turn the nozzle to get the water back on. This is easily done though using a washcloth to get a grip on the nozzle. I purchased a camping shower to use with this but it would not hold the bag when it was full so I had to hang it from a pole at the campsite. The hole in the bag is plenty big enough to hang it from most anything. For the money and convenience, this is a great investment. I will be purchasing more for my family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Awesome

07/08/2010
By ,
Maui, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This solar shower is great! Used it this past weekend while camping and freediving and it was almost too hot! Seems pretty durable and the PVC handle and on/off nozzle are awesome features. The water got hot quickly and you can't beat the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Works Great

08/23/2010
By ,
Fortuna, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of these and just used them out camping for the first time and loved it! They work really good, the water was perfect. Only down fall is it is hard to open the shower head when you get soap on your hands so I had to modifiy it alittle. Other than that they are worth the investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

very nice portable shower!

08/18/2013
By ,
Upland CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very durable little shower!! We read another review that a guy bought the shower and replaced the pvc pipe with a longer one and the tubing so we did too and it works a thousand times better! My husband replaced the 18 in 3/8in plastic tubing with a longer 5 ft one so we can hang it from a tree instead of in the shower tent so it could be in constant sun to worm it up. The pvc pipe was replaced just to enhance the weight support, its a lot of weight on that little pipe. The shower head works AWESOME, you can pull it on and push it off. Very nice little shower for the price, it worked well before the modifications and can be used just as that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

BARELY COULD USE ONCE!

08/04/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Normally, Coleman makes great products, but we bought one of these showers recently, went to lay it in the sun to get water warm. The Fill Valve leaked - tried opening and shutting several times, still leaked. So, we had to prop that part of the bag upright and we were still able to use for a shower, took back to store when we returned home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

junk

06/17/2012
By ,
wadsworth,ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the first one i purchased worked great and lasted 2 years and had a shower head that you pushed and pulled for on and off the second one i bought i had to twist the shower head for off and on(real tough with soapy hands) it started leaking where it comes out of the bag after just 2 uses so i bought a 3rd one that i didn't even get to use it leaked where i comes out of the bag when i first filled it. coleman changed their supplier i will not buy another
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

helpful

02/02/2014
By ,
Charleston West Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered due to water crisis. Works for giving my son a shower
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Eastern Kentucky
Unrelated to product but live close
Posted 02/15/2014
I live in KY and am so sorry for all the trouble the area is having. I am sure it is beyond difficult and I hope they can get things fixed quickly to where people trust the water, if that is possible! I was just looking for something like this in case of emergency and was reading the reviews and stumbled upon yours.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Not what I was expecting. Item is a big problem.

09/12/2013
By ,
Thomaston GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This item is a lot of trouble. The tubing tends to bend & kink up therefore reducing water flow. The item has to hang much higher than you would think in order for the water to flow. The nozzle on the end of the shower hose is very difficult to open & comes completely out easily when trying to open it. And the cap on the bag pops open easily also therefore making it impossible for water to be transported because it will spill. I am not really happy with this item. When I purchased it I was going to buy 5 at once. I am so glad I did not & only bought 1. I will not be buying the other 4 as planned. Not a well thought plan for this item. Too many "Cons" & not enough "Pros".
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Great for the price

07/15/2012
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gets the job done. It is heavy when full and you do have to put it high so that it is over your head. Good shower head, no problem with flow and it is actually adjustable. Heating up in the sun is no issue and you can even lay it on rocks that retain heat or heat it up. Can also be used as a drinking water source. I actually took a ver,very long shower and then just hung out underneath it until it was empty. Strong plastic and a strong handle that is necessary for the weight, remember a gallon of water weighs 8 lbs., so if it is full that's 40lbs....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Works, but better with a 5-gallon bucket

08/09/2010
By ,
Rosemead, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this and a privacy tent to shower outdoors.. The bag did heat up and the nozzle worked better than expected.. However, after hooking the bag onto the ceiling of the privacy tent, the bag became too low for the hose to work properly - you basically cannot rinse your upper body w/o kneeling.. Every time you pick up the hose, it's too high for the water to come out of the bag.. Fortunately, I got a 5-gallon bucket to do the job; and moved this one to the tree where we used it to rinse our feet instead..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Worked Well

09/20/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We let these lay out all day in the sun. We showered at night and they were the perfect temp. My only complaint is when used inside the shower tent they are too big. They have to hang in the center and is constantly smacking into you like a punching bag. If you are planning to use it in a privacy shelter or camp shower tent - get a couple of the small bags instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp
07/20/2010
By ,
Hemet, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Watch what you buy, it was leaking were the hose is attached to the bag, not made very well, like some of the other solar showers on the market. I know these solar showers work nicely, if you get one that's decent. I'm not thrilled with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

My second camp shower and it is impoved

05/16/2013
By ,
chelmsford, ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The nozzle is easier to use than the old style that was a clamp. Gets plenty hot and holds plenty water. For the money is it a great porduct. I wash my dogs with it!!
One issue I had in the past and it still remains is the bag has to hung up very high for the water to flow down and shower upon me. the bag itself is long from top to bottom and the hose is long also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

I have even a better use for it!

11/18/2010
By ,
Antelope Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought one to do the dishes with. Getting them clean with hot water works better!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New England
Save $6.88 & .....
Posted 08/22/2013
Take your largest pot, heat the water on your fire, grill, coleman stove, add dish soap, & dishes to soak til' warm to scrub & have a gallon water job next to you to rinse.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp
05/13/2013
By ,
Calif.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I previously owned one of these shower bags and loved it.
This time I was very disappointed in this product it leaked,
I exchanged it and the second one leaks also. Coleman needs
to work on the cap design so bag does not have to stay in upright
position.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Good Portable Shower

07/27/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The shower worked good although the head could use a few more holes for better flow. Pulling on the shower head to release the flow is a little hard if your hands are soapy. I also have an Ozark Trail shower bag and the valve mechanism works better that pulling down on the shower head for flow. The water heated up great in about 3 hours in the sun on days where the temp was about 75 degrees. For the price it is a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Good price poor design

09/22/2012
By ,
Denver co
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Water shut off is accomplished by screwing the head into the hose. Very difficult to do with soapy hands. If you tighten it enough to keep it from leaking while the water is heating it is nearly impossible to loosen when ready for a shower. Both ends of hose connections tend to leak
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1 2 3 Next