Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Coleman Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Average Customer Rating:
3.703 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation72%46 out of 64reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Solar Shower

08/07/2010
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Coleman solar shower was pretty much as expected. Its a thick plastic 5 gallon bag with a short hose and tiny shower head. The bag is supported by a short length of plastic pipe in the handle. Due to weight of 5 gallons of water, a lot of stress is placed on this pipe. The first thing I did was replace the short pipe with a full length section of PVC 1/2" pipe to spread the weight over a longer length. Next I removed the provided shower head and attached a 20' length of 3/8" black vinyl tubing I purchased at Lowes for a couple of bucks. To this hose I attached a cheap garden hose pistol sprayer. Now I have a shower that can be hung high in the sun and allows me to run the hose into a shower tent for easy clean ups. The higher the bag is hung the more water pressure on the sprayer. It works great..!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Surprising

08/29/2013
By ,
Placerville CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this on a whim thinking for the price I would give it a try. It got the water nice and warm even though the day was overcast. It is amazing how clean you can get with this little amount of water. Both my wife and I took showers and had water left. She didn't wash her hair so that probably would have used more...I don't have much hair to wash so it was no problem. I was pleasantly surprised.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

LEAKED

07/18/2012
By ,
Falmouth MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tried this out for a few days in backyard before going camping.
Seemed that the fill valve started to leak as it got hot and more flexible, so no big deal.
When camping on the 2nd fill the bottom of the bag on the seam came apart and completely drained overnight.
Called Coleman and got a new one on the mail, will need to bring a backup next time just in case the same thing happens again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Great investment

07/20/2011
By ,
Savannah, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this for camping so I would not have to go to the hot bath house in the afternoons. I love it. I would fill it up and set it out around noon and leave it until the sun went down. The chart on the bag will tell you how long to leave it for the temperature of the day and your desired temperature of water. I was impressed with the flow of the water out of the nozzle. I would turn the water on only when I needed to rinse off or prepare to wash my hair. This used as little water as possible and I was able to wash myself and my two year old twice out of one bag of water. The only complaint I would have is that once you have soap on your hands it is hard to turn the nozzle to get the water back on. This is easily done though using a washcloth to get a grip on the nozzle. I purchased a camping shower to use with this but it would not hold the bag when it was full so I had to hang it from a pole at the campsite. The hole in the bag is plenty big enough to hang it from most anything. For the money and convenience, this is a great investment. I will be purchasing more for my family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Serves the Purpose

06/30/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased the Shower so that I could have Hot water as my vacation home was in the process of being upgraded. I filled the Shower and placed it outside as state in the instructions. The temperature outside was in the 70's - left it outside the a few hours - when I was ready to use the hot water - it was only warm -which was OK - but I was disappointed in the shower output - it was no more than a drizzle - would not have rinsed off much of anything. Ended up opening the side I filled the Shower with and dumping the water out that way.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Worked perfectly

05/31/2014
By ,
East Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought two of these to use after clean up work in our forest. Carried out the recommended cleaning first and filled both. 4 hours in mostly direct sun and we had comfortably hot water. Used some rope over a branch to haul one up high enough to have the shower above head height but in easy reach. In one bag there was enough water for the two of us to clean up and still a bit left.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

easy to use great to have anytime anywhere

06/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
easy to use anytime anywhere great for kids to stay clean
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Awesome

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price and does it's job
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Awesome

07/08/2010
By ,
Maui, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This solar shower is great! Used it this past weekend while camping and freediving and it was almost too hot! Seems pretty durable and the PVC handle and on/off nozzle are awesome features. The water got hot quickly and you can't beat the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Absolute junk!

06/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not only did this leak all over the place straight out of the bag, it didn't even warm the water as claimed. Great idea, poor execution.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Works Great

08/23/2010
By ,
Fortuna, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of these and just used them out camping for the first time and loved it! They work really good, the water was perfect. Only down fall is it is hard to open the shower head when you get soap on your hands so I had to modifiy it alittle. Other than that they are worth the investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

BARELY COULD USE ONCE!

08/04/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Normally, Coleman makes great products, but we bought one of these showers recently, went to lay it in the sun to get water warm. The Fill Valve leaked - tried opening and shutting several times, still leaked. So, we had to prop that part of the bag upright and we were still able to use for a shower, took back to store when we returned home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Does what it says!

06/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is really a neat way to have a shower when camping. The bag served it's purpose and is very sturdy. For the price its a great deal. The only issue worth mentioning: the nozzle to have shower does not work as easy as you might think. To get the shower, you have to use both hands to open or you will pull the entire piece out of the tube. Otherwise worked well. Has Coleman quality you expect.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Not what I was expecting. Item is a big problem.

09/12/2013
By ,
Thomaston GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This item is a lot of trouble. The tubing tends to bend & kink up therefore reducing water flow. The item has to hang much higher than you would think in order for the water to flow. The nozzle on the end of the shower hose is very difficult to open & comes completely out easily when trying to open it. And the cap on the bag pops open easily also therefore making it impossible for water to be transported because it will spill. I am not really happy with this item. When I purchased it I was going to buy 5 at once. I am so glad I did not & only bought 1. I will not be buying the other 4 as planned. Not a well thought plan for this item. Too many "Cons" & not enough "Pros".
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

very nice portable shower!

08/18/2013
By ,
Upland CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very durable little shower!! We read another review that a guy bought the shower and replaced the pvc pipe with a longer one and the tubing so we did too and it works a thousand times better! My husband replaced the 18 in 3/8in plastic tubing with a longer 5 ft one so we can hang it from a tree instead of in the shower tent so it could be in constant sun to worm it up. The pvc pipe was replaced just to enhance the weight support, its a lot of weight on that little pipe. The shower head works AWESOME, you can pull it on and push it off. Very nice little shower for the price, it worked well before the modifications and can be used just as that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

junk

06/17/2012
By ,
wadsworth,ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the first one i purchased worked great and lasted 2 years and had a shower head that you pushed and pulled for on and off the second one i bought i had to twist the shower head for off and on(real tough with soapy hands) it started leaking where it comes out of the bag after just 2 uses so i bought a 3rd one that i didn't even get to use it leaked where i comes out of the bag when i first filled it. coleman changed their supplier i will not buy another
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Great for the price

07/15/2012
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gets the job done. It is heavy when full and you do have to put it high so that it is over your head. Good shower head, no problem with flow and it is actually adjustable. Heating up in the sun is no issue and you can even lay it on rocks that retain heat or heat it up. Can also be used as a drinking water source. I actually took a ver,very long shower and then just hung out underneath it until it was empty. Strong plastic and a strong handle that is necessary for the weight, remember a gallon of water weighs 8 lbs., so if it is full that's 40lbs....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp
07/20/2010
By ,
Hemet, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Watch what you buy, it was leaking were the hose is attached to the bag, not made very well, like some of the other solar showers on the market. I know these solar showers work nicely, if you get one that's decent. I'm not thrilled with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

Love the idea of the product, have used one years.

05/16/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It leaked first time we used it, and the spout is very small.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman 5-Gallon Shower Camp

My second camp shower and it is impoved

05/16/2013
By ,
chelmsford, ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The nozzle is easier to use than the old style that was a clamp. Gets plenty hot and holds plenty water. For the money is it a great porduct. I wash my dogs with it!!
One issue I had in the past and it still remains is the bag has to hung up very high for the water to flow down and shower upon me. the bag itself is long from top to bottom and the hose is long also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1 2 3 Next