Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Match Holder

Coleman Coleman Match Holder

Protect your matches throughout the seasons with the Coleman Match Holder. It features molded plastic construction for superior grip and durability. A soft seal safeguards against moisture and striker paper lets you ignite matchsticks with ease. The threaded cap keeps contents secure, but also provides easy access. You can locate it quickly in a pack or duffel because of its bright color. Refill the Coleman plastic match holder with similar-sized matches as needed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.062 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation88%14 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Match Holder

If only it was green...

10/26/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm sure Walmart can't figure out why they sell so many of these. They are only $0.97 in stores, and they are used a lot in the game of geocaching. Since they are bright orange they must be painted or otherwise camoflaged. There is an army green version of this exact item that is only available in hunting/survival stores, Walmart could sell even more if they stocked the army green and maybe a brown or black version of this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Match Holder

Great Item for the price, tips for future buyer

01/02/2013
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great little water tight case, the matchers are not strike anywhere but for a buck I can't complain. I will replace them with strike anywhere ones before taking hiking. The piece of steel on the bottom is not a striking surface, there is an included small sheet of striking material in the cannister. The striking material has an adhesive backing to it. I cut a piece small enough to adheir to the inside of the cap, then placed the rest into the included bag and placed it back into the container. To keep the matches from coming into contact with the piece of striking material on the cap I put a cotton ball inside to keep the matches from moving. It can also serve as a piece of tender if need be. Overall a very useful item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Match Holder

Watertight and Durable, great value.

09/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are usually around $6 in the sporting goods stores and this is the exact same product. The Walmart ad does not mention that it includes waterproof matches and a striker paper, that would be nice to mention further increasing the value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman Match Holder

Great product, somewhat overlooked!

01/26/2013
By ,
Oak Grove, KY.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all, the product is really cheap, inexpensive and has a great use. The product doesn't have strike anywhere matches, as many are complaining.
This item however comes with a Ferrocerium steel bar on the bottom, with which you can start a fire as well if the matches failed. Holding a blade of a knife perpendicular to the steel and flicking the knife across will result in a spark that can in fact catch a tinder on fire.
When I pack for a trip I always take a few cotton balls, soaked in alcohol, placed in an airtight, water tight container, the Ferrocerium will ignite these and the flame will be nearly invisible, but hot enough to make a leaf pile or another form of tinder catch fire.
The scratch paper that is inside, it has a sticky backing. I read comments about this, one said to place a circle in the lid, and reserve the remainder. The reason it is so big, is to be placed as a lining inside the bottle, giving 360 degrees of striking ability. I would however reserve 50% of the paper and line only half just in case.
The water tight seal, it is very cool, a ring of rubber around the cap. I first opened mine and the ring came flying off, I suggest firmly pressing the seal onto the threads of the bottle when you first open it, and then it is smooth sailing.
TIP: If you happen to hate the matches that much, buy a tea light candle, a box of strike anywhere matches, and empty the container. Light the candle, and then allow wax to melt, once melted, dip each tip into the well of wax up to 1/4 inch depth. Then holding the match allow the excess to drip off. Now you have waterproof matches that strike anywhere.
Great camping and survival means always being prepared.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Match Holder

Great product for a buck.

05/20/2013
By ,
early texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally bought this case not realizing there was matches inside. I saw it and quickly thought to myself that my newly purchased rechargeable BRC 18650 Li-Ion batteries just might fit in here. So I purchased a few and sure enough they keep them safe from all the elements. Even being fully submerged in ice chest water over night the batteries came out dry and safe. Since buying these I have purchased more and use them for many other things as well. I like the color as I can find them easily. I paint the lids in order to tell which one I need, so a few different colors might be useful. Possibly some larger ones as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Match Holder

Does what it says it'll do.

01/26/2014
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
To be honest, I purchased this Coleman Match Holder as a "filler" to get free shipping from Wal-Mart on a multi-item order. I was pleasantly surprised at the way this item seals and holds the contents water-tight. It's more of an "emergency" item, as far as I'm concerned, but for that purpose it'll do well to have in a coat pocket or glove box of a vehicle, etc.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Match Holder

Good price... no really, great price!

10/09/2013
By ,
Las Vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't believe they're going for $2 up to $4.50 on Ebay?!?! Really? Don't people shop?
I tell you, after geocaching in the desert (A LOT!) these little guys hold up better than ANY plastic container out there, and they're more water proof than any metal container out there.
I found a cache the other day (one of these) and it was the original container hidden back in 2006. At 110° + every summer, that is saying something. I buy some and carry them as spares when I'm out, they come in so handy for replacements for some of those cheap plastic things.
I agree... w/ previous poster... Hey WalMart? Get them in dark green. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Match Holder

good little product

02/01/2014
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good little match container.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Match Holder

check yours right away - do not wait...

11/25/2013
By ,
St Petersburg, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am thankful that I checked out this product before I actually needed it...
The striker on the bottom was covered with excess glue and the matches would not light. After scraping off the excess glue (lots of sparks because it is flint or magnesium) the matches still would not light. I think they are the wrong kind of matches for the striker provided.
Eventually I discovered I could light the supplied matches using a book of matches that I had on hand. So, I folded up the book of matches and stored it inside the container. Hope this solution works if/when I need it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Deltona, FL
striker paper is INSIDE
Posted 02/02/2014
thats right on the bottom is a flint not the striker the match striker is inside the canister in a plastic bag you have to take all the matches out to get it
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Coleman Match Holder

Coleman Match Holder

05/24/2014
By ,
Central Point, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice product for $1 I was suprised to see the holder was full of strike anywhere match as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Match Holder

Good Value

12/19/2013
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only way to improve this item is to put the sticker material on the outside of the box. How ever that would also increase the price. So it's a great value with a little effort from you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Match Holder

EVERYTHING IT SAYS IT IS.

11/15/2013
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I TRIED THIS PRODUCT UNDER WET CONDITIONS AND I WAS VERY SATISFIED.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Match Holder

Can't strike the match

10/14/2013
By ,
TEXAS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a TERRIBLE product. The thin strip of flint on the bottom is covered with hot glue/adhesive preventing the match from igniting when struck. I am glad I picked up a book of matches from my favorite Mexican restaurant in Fort Worth, Tx. (Thank you Joe T. Garcia's for saving us in the wilderness!) Do not buy this and depend up this for starting your campfires!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Broward County, FL
Educate yourself!
Posted 05/30/2014
You're not supposed to light the matches with the bar on the bottom of the case, there is striker paper in the case for the matches.
The ferrocerium bar on the bottom of the case, when struck with steel, will produce sparks to
light tinder to start a fire.
The ferrocerium bar is a man-made, less brittle replacement for flint/chert.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Coleman Match Holder

Useful but not for emergencies

02/27/2011
By ,
Clovis, NM
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This comes with a few matches that are NOT strike-anywhere. Included in the case is a small piece of very thin and flimsy sandpaper, which completely disintegrated when I tried to light one match. The metal piece on the bottom of the container is just a piece of metal glued on it, not a striker. Too bad that would have been handy. It's watertight though, so it works as a match holder, anyways.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Utah
Metal strip on bottom
Posted 07/09/2012
The "metal" strip on the bottom is a piece of flint that can be used to create sparks in an emergency.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Coleman Match Holder

Good little match holder

08/01/2013
By ,
Burleson, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You get some matches with it, I did not know that (bonus!!!). It is what it is a match holder and it does that great. You will need another way to light the matches, but I had already planned on that. It is what it is and nothing more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Coleman Match Holder
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5