Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Folding Shovel

Coleman Coleman Folding Shovel

The Coleman Folding Shovel folds down to 10" for easy storage or carrying. For added safety, the Coleman Shovel has a positive-fit locking collar. This safety shovel also includes a serrated edge for sawing. Be prepared for digging tasks at home or on the trail with the Coleman Folding Shovel.
Average Customer Rating:
3.542 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation62%15 out of 24reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Folding Shovel

Handy to have in your trunk

12/14/2012
By ,
Charlotte NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item to have in your vehicle emergency bag. Ice, snow, dirt, mud are quickly moved away from tires if you're stuck. The serrated edge helps cut through small branches/compacted earth clods. Handy for camping and/or gardening around the home. Lightweight, and pretty compact for backpacks. I prefer the triangular handle because it gives you a better hold on the shovel. For the price, I have one in the car and one for camping/bug out bag. I don't expect more than the very basics out of this little shovel. If I wanted more, I'd buy one twice or 3 times the price with a few more bells & whistles, even though that is no guarantee that it will work better. It's all about what you need/expect/afford. I plan on getting a few more for myself and for some friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Folding Shovel

Waste of money.

10/10/2011
By ,
Clearwater, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was planning on buying the G.I. Folding shovel but saw this at walmart and was hoping I could save a couple of bucks. But boy was I wrong. You really get what you pay for. As soon as i got home i went to the backyard to test this little baby out. As soon as i put it in the ground it gone and bent back a little bit. I was like ok maybe i need to twist the top a bit more to lock it in place. But when i looked at it a bit more I notice it looked a bit broke. And it was. It still works but now if i was to get it a bit wet like trying to clean it, water would get inside and rust the whole thing out. So just pay a few more bucks for the better stuff and dont waste your money on this.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Folding Shovel

Pretty Much Worthless

11/14/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros - None
Cons - Everything
I could point out that this shovel is inexpensive, folds nicely, isn't very heavy and is a nice color.
Unfortunately, I can't give any of these good points to it because it completely and utterly FAILS to do the one thing it's designed to do.
That's right. This shovel does not shovel. Plant your foot on it and start to push down and the blade will fold upwards. Worthless.
Perhaps if you were trying to dig about an inch down in loose dry sand, this shovel might work, but on any kind of soil, you're fighting a loosing battle. I really REALLY wish I'd have kept the receipt for this buy.
PLEASE DO NOT BUY THIS "SHOVEL"
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Coleman Folding Shovel
Posted 06/06/2013
Yes, pretty much worthless. Best suited for a child's sandbox. During first use, the handle bent and the locking nut folded in on itself making it useless. I threw it away and spent the money to get the real thing.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Coleman Folding Shovel
12/13/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is pretty much the worst shovel ever. I've only used it about 3 times, and the handle is bent at the joint. It's heavy like a chunk of solid steel, but it bends like it's made of cheap aluminum. Don't buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Folding Shovel

Great size

07/04/2014
By ,
amarillo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Folds nice and small
Tightens to be sturdy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Folding Shovel

Great when storage is minimal.

06/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this to clean out the fire pits and grill pits at the lake. It is perfect for this and does not require alot of storage space.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Folding Shovel

great shovel to put in car

06/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this shovel was everything I expected. it's compact,and easy to use
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Folding Shovel

Great for what I bought it for

04/11/2014
By ,
Galveston, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband recently bought a simple metal detector just for fun as we live on the beach. The first day he used just a simple garden trowel to dig with and the constant bending over to the ground to dig when the thing pinged had him realizing leg muscles he never knew he had. Ha! He was really uncomfortable for a few days. We bought this shovel at Walmart.com and he does not have to bend down quite as low, just is more of an enjoyable experience for him. The reviews made it sound as if it is flimsy and bends but they seemed to be talking about digging in hard dirt. This will be used for sand only and seems very sturdy and a good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Folding Shovel

Weak shovel

08/02/2013
By ,
Fairfield, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This shovel is way too fragile to handle dry earth. Upon my very first use on summertime California chaparral soil, the tightening nut at the top of the blade kept loosening every one or two digging strokes, collapsing the shovel and requiring re-tightening of the nut. After a couple dozen strokes, the cap on the steel nut became deformed to the point of no longer being able to hold a straight shape of the tool, even when tightened, rendering the shovel completely useless. I believe it's a combination of poor quality of the steel, and a bad design of how the tightening nut contacts the shovel blade.
This shovel is okay for playing on the beach and digging sand. I wouldn't trust it for anything else, especially not camping. Don't be mislead by the heavy steel weight and the "tough" look of this shovel. It's much weaker than it looks.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Folding Shovel

Surprisingly Sturdy

04/30/2010
By ,
DFW
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for our first camping trip. We were shocked at how sturdy this was. It folded down 3 ways so it can fit in a backpack.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Folding Shovel

A Great Tool

09/25/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a GREAT entrenching tool as it collapses to 10" for placing in a back pack for hiking and or as a shovel for the beach. We are looking forward to taking to the beach with us because we always need a tool to dig a hole to stick the umbrella in or clearing off a spot to settle on. A GREAT tool for $10 & made by Coleman, a respected name for camping equipment. Thanks Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Folding Shovel

Not exactly what i wanted.

02/09/2013
By ,
Ravenna,OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This shovel ''looked'' great but the serrations are just for display this shovel is pretty sturdy but sometimes hard to unscrew the large bolt that keeps the shovel extended. Mine did not bend like others said theirs did. Yet again i only had this for for a week or two Its compact enough to fit in a coat pocket. Hope this helps
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Folding Shovel

Wont match expectations

02/09/2013
By ,
NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you dont have higher expectations from a few dollars folding shovel... Dont wait get one...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Folding Shovel

expectations

02/08/2014
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's exactly what I expected. An entrenching tool in good working order.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Folding Shovel

survival shovel

04/20/2010
By ,
ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love this item bought it took home dug a basement 10 feet by 12 14 ft deep no kidding took me nearly a yr but used this one shovel to do almost entire job became lose where screw tightens to keep from folding i just welded it thick metal welded great dosent fold but great small shovel still in operation well made. i got a new one in pack wrapped shovel edge in cameo duct tape to protect pack and add the benefit of having some tape for handle in a digging/chopping situation
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
-12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Folding Shovel

perfect

01/01/2011
By ,
Bellaire, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for gardening, perfect for me to use and keep in my gardening tote.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Folding Shovel

Portability and price

07/03/2012
By ,
fresno, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The reason why I purchased this was to have a shovel for the kids to have at the beach. So all of our digging was done in sand. The shovel folded nicely to fit into a backpack. It was a little heavy but that wasn't an issue for us as we were not trekking very far. It sounded a bit like a pepper grinder with the sand but it held up to 4 days worth of digging, folding and unfolding, and is ready for the next trip.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Folding Shovel
12/10/2012
By ,
SW Indiana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is not the folding shovel that I remember as a kid in the Boy Scouts. It is twice as small. When I get stuck in the snow and ice, I hope I will be able to dig out enough to get going again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Folding Shovel

Broke after 1 use!

05/05/2013
By ,
Manchester, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I know it was cheap, but it broke after the 1st use ...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman Folding Shovel

sturdy shovel

01/20/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had my doubts, but after getting the shovel home and working with it, it's sturdier than I expected. Coleman is a reputable company.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next