Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Water Carrier 5 GL

Coleman Coleman Water Carrier 5 GL

Going on a picnic, planning a camping trip, or any other outdoor venture you plan, a water carrier will be one of the top must-haves. The Coleman Water Carrier 5 GL is made from hardy, impact resistant, and scratch proof polyethylene to suit any camp kitchen. This easy water carrier comes with a molded handle to carry it with proper grip. Carrying 5 gallons of water becomes easy with this super-grip handle. This portable water carrier comes in dimensions of 12.7 x 10.3 x 10.2 inches.
Average Customer Rating:
3.816 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
8
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation73%36 out of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
8
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Water Carrier 5 GL

Water Storage Container

09/29/2011
By ,
Boise, Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are great! They are much thicker, and sturdier than pictured. I have 6 of them filled, and lying in my storage room. No leaks. Easily transported, and ease of use. A complete steal at $6.00!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Water Carrier 5 GL

Worthless Junk

03/11/2014
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought 2 of these, the same day I got home I put water in them and one had a hole in it on the corner where the fold is. I realized then that the corners are made of a far thinner plastic and are prone to puncture. I took it back and got another. I brought it home filled it up, took it to the woods. the second I got out of the truck there was water all over my trunk cause apparently these can not handle any form of bumping or slight movement while in your vehicle or they pop. Its about as useful as taking a $10 fragile water balloon camping with you. I did sadly get the other one to work only because after going through 6 in a weeks time I wrapped the other one in about 4 layers of duct tape... looks terrible but its the only way to get this horrible product to actually work. Save yourself the time and headache just buy the Jerry can.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Water Carrier 5 GL

Great for Camping

04/01/2014
By ,
Eastover,south carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for camping or when power outage is expected.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman Water Carrier 5 GL

Not worth it

03/17/2014
By ,
San francisco ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comes folded. Very thin plastic is wobbly and does not hold its shape when filled. Spigot on top makes it that much harder to tighten. I bought 3 of these and 2 don't tighten correctly. Spend a little extra on the blue one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Water Carrier 5 GL

This product was very useful

08/03/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am glad we bought this product. It was great to have a source of water available at the twist of the spout and the fact that it collapses as you use it is very space saving when packing up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Water Carrier 5 GL

Basic 5 gallon water carrier

09/09/2010
By ,
Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a basic 5-gallon potable water carrier. The two handles are convenient for holding it as it can get quite heavy when full. It comes with a string for hanging it from a tree or other elevated surface.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Water Carrier 5 GL

Unfortunately Other Brands Work Better

07/20/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a Coleman fan. I like their tents, their camp stoves, as well as other camping related products. Unfortunately I am NOT a fan of this product. It held the water well enough. I also do like the molded handle - it is easy to carry. The problem is the spigot - it LEAKS constantly. The hole on the spigot is also TOO SMALL. The water flows way too slow for my taste. There are other brands out there that do a better job. I would NOT recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Water Carrier 5 GL

Great Product

07/04/2010
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The water carrier did it's job. I did not use the hanging rope. We placed ours on a table in our camp kitchen. But had to use a wood plank to support and keep the nozzle stationed up-right to pour. You have to turn it up-side-down to get air into the jug to get a good pour. Once it was empty I hung it out to dry. it was easy to flatted out to store in our camper for next time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Water Carrier 5 GL

Sturdy & Functional

02/18/2014
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great portable emergency water source. Very happy with purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Water Carrier 5 GL

I do not like the spout on the bottom.

07/11/2010
By ,
Maywood, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Every time it is set down, the spout will be in the dirt. Great only if you can keep the spout clean. I bought two different ones at the same time from Walmart.com, and I like the Ozark Trails one much better. Spout is on the top near the handle. You can tip it forward to get a drink the same as the Coleman.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Terrell, TX
put it on a shelf
Posted 07/16/2011
We put ours on the edge of a shelf in our camper with the spout hanging over the edge. Works great. If tent camping use the edge of the camp table.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Coleman Water Carrier 5 GL

Don't waste your money

04/12/2012
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This water container is a piece of junk. The spigot never fit properly so water trickles out constantly unless you sit it up so the spigot is on top. Makes for a hassle when trying to rinse dishes. You waste a lot of water this way. We used it on one camping trip and tossed it. We would have gotten more pleasure from tossing that $9 out the window. At least someone might have found it and bought something worth while. Spend a few extra $$ and get the blue Reliant Water Jug. It doesn't colapse but it does hold water as advertised. Good spigot too.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Water Carrier 5 GL

Really ordinary quality, took ages to ship 2 store

11/06/2013
By ,
Anaheim, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Seems like cheap plastic. Folds, for convenience I suppose but clearly shows the creases indicating it will tear soon.
Site to store was supposed to get it the next day but it arrived a good 8 days later.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Water Carrier 5 GL

Compact and practal

11/28/2013
By ,
Washington DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought 3 more for my preping
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Water Carrier 5 GL

For me, it leaked.

07/17/2011
By ,
Delaware
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The same plastic that makes this collapsible also makes the neck thread too weak to grab the lid firmly. For me, it leaked. Also, too flexible for my needs, the spout tends to fold under the bottle when left on an edge. (I wanted to use it on a boat and would have had to build supporting structure).
I gave it two stars because the size and price are right, if yours doesn't leak.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Water Carrier 5 GL
03/12/2012
By ,
Cedar, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The service and shipping was great. The product was less than satisfactory. The problem being the
cap. Due to the tweaked threads on the jug from packaging, the cap will not screw on. Even after a few days it still didn't return to its intended, useful shape. In fact, it leaks like a sieve. Using it to catch sap for maple syrup...best use I could find for it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Water Carrier 5 GL
09/29/2013
By ,
Bloomington Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At first we thought the water jug was leaking at the nozzle but the white cork needs to be pushed all the way down to keep the water from dripping. It's ok and holds lots of water. I probably would shop around for a better style first.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Water Carrier 5 GL

Very convenient water carrier

09/27/2013
By ,
Monterey, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This water carrier is perfect for camping, very sturdy and weather resistant. We forgot to put it away one night and the raccoons tried to chew on it but could not tear it. Overall, very satisfied. So much that we bought another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Water Carrier 5 GL
09/25/2013
By ,
DOWNEY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT PRODUCT. FILLED CONTAINER WITH WATER HUNG IT ON MY TREE AND LET IT SIT FOR HOURS AND HAD NO LEAKS. DRAINED WATER AND IT COLLAPSED JUST LIKE I EXPECTED IT TO GREAT FOR MY KAYAK.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Water Carrier 5 GL

Poor lid design

10/19/2011
By ,
Dover, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The lid does not seal tight and leaks, purchased two of these units to take fresh water out to our cabin. I have been unable to close the cabs so they don't leak.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman Water Carrier 5 GL

Water jug

08/08/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great space saver. Works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next