Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman XPS Rechargeable Battery Pack

Coleman Coleman XPS Rechargeable Battery Pack

You can now upgrade any Coleman XPS product to rechargeable with the Coleman XPS Rechargeable Battery Pack. This camping Coleman Battery Pack, XPS has a color changing LED indicator that lets you know when the product is fully charged. The LED color changes when the batteries are fully charged. This 6V Coleman Rechargeable Battery Pack works with both 12V and 120V adapters. Both these adapters are included in this rechargeable battery pack. The run time of the battery varies depending on the product. This Coleman rechargeable battery pack is made from high-quality materials to enable durable use. The pins have a perfect finish that ensures safety while charging. The Coleman Battery Pack, XPS is compact in size and can be stored anywhere. It does not occupy much space in your travel bag too, making it ideal for recharging your lanterns and other products during your outdoor trips.
Average Customer Rating:
2.636 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation41%9 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman XPS Rechargeable Battery Pack

Don't drop it in the lake more than a few times

09/27/2011
By ,
Huntsville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This battery and the LED lantern worked for about 2 years, ending up in the lake more than a few times. I use the lantern for about 5-8 hrs a night without fail, until recently. I can not blame the battery for going out considering how much I have used it and how bad it has been treated, I am buying a new one right now and hope to get at-least another 2 yrs out of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman XPS Rechargeable Battery Pack

Beware!

02/23/2014
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This battery pack is 6 volts and about 4.5 amps, but beware the charger is rated at 12 volts. A 6 volt battery should be charged at a constant 7.2 volts and 1.65 amps max.
When you charge it with 12 volts it burns out the battery (by the way its a led acid sealed battery).
I do not recommend this product unless you have a 6 v charger laying around.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman XPS Rechargeable Battery Pack

XPS rechargeable battery pack not worth it

02/16/2014
By ,
Boston, MA.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Like everyone else, I bought this to save money on battery and be good for the environment by not throwing away batteries. I bought a Colman led lantern, that included a XPS rechargeable battery pack and also a 4 D size battery holder for the lantern, for camping back in spring of 2013. The lantern was used for a total of 1 week that summer. We lost power at my home in Feb 14 of 2014 and thought to use the lantern. Of course the XPS was dead. After the power came back on, I thought I'd recharge the XPS just in case of another power outage. I charge it for 6 hours but it did not work even though the green light indicator said other wise. How could something that was barely used not work already?
I broke open the XPS to see if the rechargeable battery leaked. I did not see any leakage but the XPS useS a circuit board. Best guess is that the circuit board broke. Not too rugged overall. Thank goodness our lantern also came with a 4 D size battery holder. I used 4 rechargeable D size battery which I already had and that worked just fine. Don't buy another XPS pack, instead buy the Colman 4 D Cell Battery Holder (Batteries Sold Separately) Part Number: 5010000712 and use rechargeable D size battery where you don't have to worry about a circuit board not working and rechargeable D size battery are cheaper to replace, but of course you'll need to buy a D size battery recharger. At least D size rechargeable batteries are more useful for a variety of things compared to the XPS battery pack where it could only be used for special products that only use the XPS pack.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Philadelphia, PA
Rechargeable not good when having a power failure
Posted 03/05/2014
I purchased several of the Coleman Lanterns that came with the rechargeable battery pack. Unfortunately in the recent ice storm I didn't have time to charge the battery pack and thought that I'd use the 4 D Cell batteries instead. I didn't realize that this pack did not come with the lantern and had to be ordered. No one has this part. I contacted Coleman and they advised that not even THEY had the part and it was on back order until June, 2014. Hard to believe.
I agree that using the rechargeable D cell batteries would be the best thing for the lantern and also an accompanying flashlight too.
Now I'm waiting to purchase two of the D-cell battery packs once they become available.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Coleman XPS Rechargeable Battery Pack

Terrible product

06/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this lantern and battery for two years. It failed to charge out of the box.
It would work only when the recharger was on. I bought another battery and it failed to work also. Don't buy this product.
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman XPS Rechargeable Battery Pack

50% Failure Rate

06/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought 6 lanterns and 6 rechargeable battery packs. 3 of the batteries performed well and recharged as advertised. The other 3 failed after one use, with the green "fully charged" light coming on immediately when attempting to recharge. Of course these batteries are not charged and will not take a charge.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman XPS Rechargeable Battery Pack

Piece of junk

08/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don' waste your time. Works good initially, but does not last. You are wasting your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman XPS Rechargeable Battery Pack

ok

07/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i have to return it,it doesnt hold a charge.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman XPS Rechargeable Battery Pack

didn't hold charge

05/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Initially charged the band new battery for 16hrs like the instructions said. The battery didn't hold a charge and the light got dim soon after. Had to return it. This is the second battery neither of them worked.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman XPS Rechargeable Battery Pack
10/03/2013
By ,
scottsboro al.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great battery holds a charge for a very long time then when you use lantern it will burn from11 hr on bright must be at least 2-3 days on low i never run mine down on low kids turned it on while camping was on at least 2 1/2 days before i found it. i have 3 of these lantern an chargeable battery 1 is 2.5 years old workes like new one. telling you these batterys last an last if they didnt i would not have 3 lanterns an batterys .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman XPS Rechargeable Battery Pack

do not buy

09/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this is the second battery pack from Coleman that i have purchased. this first one failed after two uses and next one didnt even hold a charge right out of the box. i did some research and found that these rechargable packs have a 50% failure rate. save your money and buy from a different manufacture.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman XPS Rechargeable Battery Pack

does not last

10/18/2013
By ,
slidell, LA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is my second battery for this lantern. The first one lasted about a year. Then it wouldn't keep a charge. This one is not much better.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman XPS Rechargeable Battery Pack

Great to have

08/01/2013
By ,
Burleson, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these when I bought two Coleman battery power lanterns and these work great. I only use these when the power goes out. I have had these over a year and they are still on the first charge. I feel that if you buy the lantern you need to buy this product or you will be going through D cells like crazy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman XPS Rechargeable Battery Pack

defective

06/01/2013
By ,
Lake oconee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought the first one and instructions read ( paraphrasing) charge for 18 hours and when fully charged the little light will turn green. well, when I plugged it in the light turned green immediately so I put it in the lantern-- No luck.. So I charged it for the required 18 hours and put it in the lantern. No luck Returned the first one and got another with the exact same results. 0 for 2 I bought the one that you put 4 D batteries and it works... About $25 for the rechargeable and $7 for the battery one I would prefer the rechargeable if I could find one that actually worked
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman XPS Rechargeable Battery Pack

not great

11/06/2013
By ,
OR.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very disapointed at elk camp that the battery only held charge for two nights then I had to put the other batteries in then the lantern worked well
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman XPS Rechargeable Battery Pack

great product

10/26/2013
By ,
yorktown
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cant find a better deal on this product,not even on the coleman site
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman XPS Rechargeable Battery Pack

Great Rechargeable Pack

08/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this for any Coleman product that requires four D batteries. Comes with electrical & car charger. Awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman XPS Rechargeable Battery Pack

Perfect battery

01/07/2014
By ,
Lehighton, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this as a Christmas gift for my dad to go with the lantern I got him. It came with a charge in it already and worked perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman XPS Rechargeable Battery Pack

how cool!

12/10/2013
By ,
roswell, nm
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i just got this, but tried it out and it works great...no more buying batteries!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman XPS Rechargeable Battery Pack

Returning item

08/10/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Charged battery for 24 hours, only lasted for two hours in fan. Item will be retruned
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Coleman XPS Rechargeable Battery Pack
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5