Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman 810 Lumen 2-Mantle Quickpack Fuel Lantern With Case

Coleman Coleman 810 Lumen 2-Mantle Quickpack Fuel Lantern With Case

Bright outdoor lighting is an essential need while camping. The Coleman Quickpack Lantern with Case is a protective and eco-friendly option for instant lighting. The lantern comes with a two mantle design allowing use of the InstaStart ignition as well as the match-light option. With a uniquely designed footed base, this camping lantern has enhanced stability to be used anywhere. You can adjust the brightness from high to low and can be used for up to seven hours on high and 13 hours on the low setting. Simply fold up the Coleman InstaStart Lantern for easy storage and carry it wherever you want with its quick and easy storage design.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation92%56 out of 61reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 65 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman 810 Lumen 2-Mantle Quickpack Fuel Lantern With Case

Really Bright and Easy to Use

11/25/2011
By ,
Macon, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never used a propane lantern before. This is the first one for me. It says you should burn the mantle first. I didn't know what a mantle was. But afte reading the manual that came with it and visiting www.coleman.com, I was able to figure out what they were. I pre-burn the mantle and waited 5 minutes to ignite it. and it works. It is bright. Love it.
http://neteraat.blogspot.com/2011/11/how-to-use-coleman-propane-lantern.html
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman 810 Lumen 2-Mantle Quickpack Fuel Lantern With Case

Coleman Lantern

09/10/2011
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great COMPACT Lantern - and Priced great when you look at the Original Full size Coleman Lantern
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman 810 Lumen 2-Mantle Quickpack Fuel Lantern With Case

Just like the one Dad used

05/07/2011
By ,
west coast and midwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I remember Dad used a dual filament Coleman when we camped as kids. His was a liquid gas pump lantern, but this is the same thing only with propane which is cleaner and more convenient.
I remember the night woods seemed pretty spooky until Dad fired up the old Coleman lantern. Then, it was bright as day. You can do anything with this much light including cleaning fish, reading comic books, or writing postcards to your friends.
This is a time-tested, reliable, excellent quality lantern. I am just delighted that they are so affordable. I bet Dad paid about this much when he bought his in 1959.
A canister of propane lasts forever and you can even keep the lantern burning all night if you have to (although if you are in a public campground, you won't be popular burning this torch all night long! No need for batteries and the brilliance is consistent and predictable. In my opinion, this dual filament Coleman lantern beats battery powered lights hands down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman 810 Lumen 2-Mantle Quickpack Fuel Lantern With Case

good lantern

08/21/2010
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got this lantern and have not used camping yet, but tried it out first, i had it connected to a tree that comes off a 20lb propane tank. It lit up great on the porch, and i have no worries it will work great camping, The package rated its lumens at 810, which is different than the ad, and the plastic cover that came with it looks better than the one pictured, also the base looks different with the instastart! I knew nothing about lanterns prior to this and learned the hard way that you have to burn the mantles before using, had one rip, got replacements, and burned a pack of those as well, when u connect mantles, you then have to take a match and wave it under the mantles, and it does give off odor so do out doors, it will actually seem like they are burning up, but that is what is meant to happen, and they are very brittle once burned, they will crumble to dust when touched, once you do that this thing is good to go, when i replaced mantles it was in daytime, and made sure they worked outside, and even in daylight this thing had me seeing spots for awhile, also this gets extremely hot, and needs cooldown before putting away.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman 810 Lumen 2-Mantle Quickpack Fuel Lantern With Case

Great deal for InstaStart lantern

02/07/2014
By ,
Huntsville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
$29.97 for lantern AND case, who could complain! The first trick is opening the case, the clamshell case snap must be pressed in on one side to release so look for the embossed "press here" near the snap. 810 lumens is more than enough light and I would think the Northstar model would be blinding. Push button start works great but you need about 3 seconds of gas flow to ignite, expect a small "poof" at ignition. Instruction sheet does not mention pre-burning mantles so research Youtube if you need instructions regarding this. The base does not fit the Coleman bottle snugly so I wiped 3 spots of black silicone on the inside of the base stand where the bottle fits. This keeps the base on when you carry it or hang it and is still easy to remove the bottle. If your bottles have a plastic shell base then it should fit snug without the silicone. I opted for propane because I remember as a kid how messy and stinky filling the lantern was thru the tiny filler hole. My only concern for the propane is how well it will perform on a sub-freezing night, I will buy a dual-fuel lantern if it becomes an issue. Note the picture on Walmart.com shows a skinny neck, this is not the InstaStart model.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chula Vista, CA
Propane and liquid gas lanterns.
Posted 02/23/2014
I have two lanterns and one stove. I was camping in the sierra in February long time ago, and tried to make coffee in a propane stove around 6:00 in the morning, but the propane canister was frozen, one of my friends had a liquid gas stove and it start right away, so we brew coffee on his. It was not snowing but yes, it was below zero. Lesson learned, propane can frozen on subzero temperature. I then bought a used coleman liquid gas stove and a lantern at the flea market. Now if I go camping in winter time I use liquid gas stove and a liquid gas lantern, never fail. For the rest of the year I use propane lantern and a propane converter for the liquid gas stove, works like a charm. Propane is easier and more practical, but for below zero temperature, liquid gas is the way to go. Just my two cents.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Coleman 810 Lumen 2-Mantle Quickpack Fuel Lantern With Case

Easy travel lantern

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved that when I opened this box the Mantels were already on and it was ready to go. This is an easy to travel with lantern and gives great light. Did it end up storming? Yes! We were in a hail storm and this lantern not only provided light for our games inside the tent but it also gave us warmth. We were freezing! We lit the lantern and within a couple of minutes the tent was warming up. We hung it from the middle of the tent ceiling. It is well worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman 810 Lumen 2-Mantle Quickpack Fuel Lantern With Case

Great Lantern

09/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great lantern for a great price. No complaints here.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman 810 Lumen 2-Mantle Quickpack Fuel Lantern With Case

Best lantern ever!

09/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best item to buy if your going camping or even if the lights go out!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman 810 Lumen 2-Mantle Quickpack Fuel Lantern With Case

It's that great, we bought another!

03/20/2011
By ,
Crosby, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are avid campers, so all our stuff getting constantly shifted around has caused the glass to break on several occassions. Now we don't worry about that happening any longer. The case keeps the glass safe and secure. We love this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman 810 Lumen 2-Mantle Quickpack Fuel Lantern With Case

No Case

08/06/2014
By ,
Dayton, TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Paid for case, purchase history says with case. All I got was a plain old lantern. Item numbers don't even match the invoice. Be careful, buy in store. Now it will take another two weeks to replace. A lot of good that does as I type from the campground.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman 810 Lumen 2-Mantle Quickpack Fuel Lantern With Case

Great Product!

07/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product at a great price...nice design and started first push everyrime (so far).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman 810 Lumen 2-Mantle Quickpack Fuel Lantern With Case

Decent Price for a Decent Latern

05/10/2011
By ,
Pineville WV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Took this lantern home and set it up right away. Pre-Burnt the Mantles as instructed. Lantern fired on the first attempt. Good Bright Light and Good Heat. The only problem I had with it was the Bail (The Handle). It doesn't stay in properly. After a little bit of wiggling and pushing I finally got the bail to stay in. It's still a little lose making transport a bit difficult. Makes the glass a bit shaky as well. Overall It was a good price to play for a decent quality lantern.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman 810 Lumen 2-Mantle Quickpack Fuel Lantern With Case

Decent!

04/15/2011
By ,
MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Two tips:
1) Don't try to unscrew the nut on the top of the lantern while the case is attached. The nut is permantly attached to the cover and you will strip it out if the case is wrapped around it.
2) I buy Worthington 1 lb propane bottles from Walmart and they are not snug in the base; hence, when you lift the lantern to walk with it, the base stays where it sat. I'm not sure if Coleman bottles stay snug and "attach" to the base.
Overall, it'll meet my needs. It'll be on a propane tree mostly anyways.
This model does have the InstaStart...the picture is wrong on this page and Coleman's webpage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman 810 Lumen 2-Mantle Quickpack Fuel Lantern With Case

happy

06/28/2014
By ,
Kingsport
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we love these. we go 2 for camping
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman 810 Lumen 2-Mantle Quickpack Fuel Lantern With Case

great item, great buy

06/13/2010
By ,
Malibu, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its coleman and its great! Walmart, as usual, has the best price on this. We have found the exact item for 5-10 dollars higher at competitors stores and retail stores. Thank you Walmart for your price saving buys!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman 810 Lumen 2-Mantle Quickpack Fuel Lantern With Case

Very bright

06/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for fishing trips very bright makes it alot easier 2 see
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman 810 Lumen 2-Mantle Quickpack Fuel Lantern With Case
10/31/2011
By ,
Mohave Valley, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just used this lantern on an 8 day trip in the mountains, worked great. Comes with its own storage case, and has an electric starter, no matches needed. If your looking for a very good lantern this is the one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman 810 Lumen 2-Mantle Quickpack Fuel Lantern With Case

Coleman Quick Pack Lantern w/case

03/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for a hurricane box, self contained and came complete, just add propane.
The stores no longer stock this item, I purchased one before the eastern snow storms in the local store, and attempted to get a second one to no avail, so I decided to order it online with store pickup. Arrived at the store to pick the item up, and it was a different model with the same UPC. refund was given, ended up ordering it again... this time I had it sent to my home.... actually got the right unit this time but it ended up costing me more money.
My advice is this, if your local stores do not have the item, don't do a online order with store pick up, you'll get whatever they throw in the box.
Besides the three week ordeal of locating what I wanted, the product is exactly what I wanted.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman 810 Lumen 2-Mantle Quickpack Fuel Lantern With Case

tuff rod for the price

06/03/2014
By ,
alexandria va.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
have used it 2 times has a good feel and very well balanced
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman 810 Lumen 2-Mantle Quickpack Fuel Lantern With Case

Works every time, does what it says it will do

03/30/2013
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Provides light for the camp site, and back yard after dark barbecues. Easy to light with the push button ignition. Uses standard quickclip or tie on mantles found virtually anywhere. Much superior to the Coleman Northstar which broke its mantle in two weeks and then failed to flow gas after 3 months. Simple to use, does the job, inexpensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1 2 3 Next