Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman 190 Lumen LED Classic 4D Battery Latern

Coleman Coleman 190 Lumen LED Classic 4D Battery Latern

Be ready for emergencies and other situations with the Coleman LED Classic Lantern. It is a wonderful choice for keeping you out of the dark during power outages, natural disasters and diverse weather conditions. This outdoor LED lantern can provide you with up to 60 hours of runtime on low and 25 hours on high, so the area stays lit as long as you need it to. It is a weather-resistant item making it excellent for use outside, especially on camping trips, hiking adventures and boating expeditions. This Coleman LED lantern uses 190 lumens when it is set on high and 100 lumens when it is on low, so you can decide how much light you have at all times. It requires four D batteries for operation, allowing you to use it even when electricity or power is not available. A diffuser tube for an outstanding beam pattern is also provided with the Coleman LED Classic Lantern for added versatility. It can be used with a compatible 6V XPS rechargeable battery pack as needed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.271 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation88%94 out of 107reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 43 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman 190 Lumen LED Classic 4D Battery Latern

Lantern is sturdy,well made, has good light output

12/01/2012
By ,
Stratford, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am pleased with the light output of the lantern. Brightness rating is 190 lumens on "high". It has two settings - turn the switch to the right for "high", and left for "low". Lantern seems to be well made. Coleman products are known to last. The lantern handle, switch, and battery holder appear to be sturdy and not likely to break. The model that we have takes four "D" batteries. (A rechargeable battery pack is optional.) Lantern uses LED's so it is cool to the touch and will have longer battery life. The lantern body is plastic and lightweight, so after you put the batteries in, the lantern becomes more weighted at the bottom and is not likely to tip over. The lantern bottom is smooth, so it will slide if the object that it rests on is tilted. This did not bother me. You will need to add some adhesive rubber feet to the base if you want the bottom to be grippy. The lantern’s appearance is very nice and the looks are a reminder of the vintage Coleman lanterns.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman 190 Lumen LED Classic 4D Battery Latern

Handy little lantern

07/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for temporary use when I had to have power shut off to the stable for some electrical work. Liked it so much, ended up using for a "night light" in the stable ( I don't like anything electrical turned on over night if I don't have to). Throws illumination about 19 feet, so it shines about half way down our aisle. I was using four D batteries, but then I bought the optional power pack charger. Don't waste your money on the charger, I couldn't get more than 18 hours use off one charge (chatted with Coleman after the fact and they told me up to 25 hours was average depending on what it's being used in)... which for me, wasn't worth it since leaving it on all night wouldn't get me even two nights use. I still have the charger, but I have to remember to plug it in and recharge after each night's use. Instead I would buy the Tenergy rechargeable Premium D batteries.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman 190 Lumen LED Classic 4D Battery Latern

Great lantern of power outage

11/21/2012
By ,
Jersey City, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of many lessons I learned from Hurricane Sandy is during a power outage you need a good lantern to light an area of your house, like your kitchen when you are cooking food, or taking a shower in the bathroom early in the morning. A flash light wether it be and LED one--just doesnt cut it. You need a lantern. I ordered the the Coleman LED Classic Lantern as soon as I got my power back. Did my research first on what lanterns are good. My best info came from youtube, with many ordinary people just reviewing stuff. When I finally got my lantern I tested it. Turned off all the light in the kitchen and in the bathroom. It works great. I could see what I am cooking and can see where the soap and shampoo is. The features I like about it is that it gives off no heat and fire compared to traditional lanterns so safety factor great. I plan to buy 2 more. Thank you Coleman for a great product. And thank you Walmart for selling this item. For $19.99 not including tax and shipping. You can't go wrong---not unless you find it for a cheaper price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman 190 Lumen LED Classic 4D Battery Latern

batteries lasted only one night

01/17/2012
By ,
south florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This lantern does put out a pretty decent amount of light, allthough it is nowhere even close to the propane lanterns. One thing I think everyone likes about it is it does not get hot, so it is safe for the kids to carry around and to have inside the tent. The thing I do not like about it is the batteries did not even last me though a weekend. It says on the box 122 hours on lowest setting, yet i did not even get 15 hours even when mostly only used on low! I used duracell batteries which cost about $6 at walmart, so you can see how this lantern may get a little costly compared to the propane lanterns. ...... I will still use this lantern for the purpose of using inside the tent only, and maybe for power outages but will defiantely be investing in a propane lantern for the next caming trip.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NY
bad unit
Posted 09/02/2012
sounds like you got a bad unit, I have 3 and the batteries seem to last forever.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Coleman 190 Lumen LED Classic 4D Battery Latern

Great Lantern

10/26/2014
By ,
Mableton, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased one of these a year ago and recently got another one to supplement it. The lantern is well constructed, easy to clean and operate and very bright. I will probably get a third one for emergencies. There is a rechargeable battery pack for this lantern but it is really expensive. Overall a very good piece of gear for camping or emergencies.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman 190 Lumen LED Classic 4D Battery Latern

A Great Lantern

08/01/2013
By ,
Burleson, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use these in case the power goes out and they work great. I also purchased the rechargeable battery pack with these (I bought two lanterns and battery packs). I have only charged the packs once in a year and they are still working. I would recommend you buy the battery packs and some D batteries for that just in case moment. The lantern puts out enough light and has two settings (high and low), I have not had to use the high setting. Also, I love this thing because it does not use fuel making it better to use inside. If you camp a lot you might just want to buy one that uses fuel (since you might be taking some with you anyway) meaning you would not have to carry batteries. Finally, buy this item online because it is about $4.00 or more cheaper than what they sell it in the store for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman 190 Lumen LED Classic 4D Battery Latern

A little light weight but a good product

09/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Light output is adequate. I am buying another (three total) for camping).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman 190 Lumen LED Classic 4D Battery Latern

short lived light

09/11/2014
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For the price and brand name I thought it would be a good light, however after only using it four times camping the light started to not stay lite. I removed the batteries after each use so the springs we not crushed to much. the only way to keep the light working was to hold the battery pack and push it up in the light. it appears that the lite and battery holder doesnt fit tight enough to keep a good connection. dont waste your money.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman 190 Lumen LED Classic 4D Battery Latern

don't by family size

07/19/2011
By ,
johnstown pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has the same amount of lums as the family lantern but 11.00 less. I bought this for camping
in a cabin that has no electric and was pleasently suprised that it is nice and bright,used off and on for 6 nights inside the cabin and still using the same batteries. It doesn't look like much but it gives off a good amount of light.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman 190 Lumen LED Classic 4D Battery Latern

Cute Lantern that gives off lots of light

11/09/2012
By ,
Grand Ledge, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Coleman LED Classic Lantern is just what I was looking for. I bought it in case we lose electricity at our house this winter. I like everything about the lantern except the installation of the batteries was difficult and tedious. Specifically, step 2 "press snap feature to open the 4D battery pack top cover" was the difficult to do. Also, in step 3 "install 4 batteries in correct orientation" it was difficult to see and it was not obvious which end to install first. It took me about 10 minutes to install 4 batteries. It shouldn't take that long. I wouldn't want to have to install the battries in the dark for the first time. I would have rated the lantern a "5" if it wasn't for the battery installation. The lantern is less than 12 inches tall and is perfect for one person to use. I'm going to buy one for each person in my family.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman 190 Lumen LED Classic 4D Battery Latern

TERRIFIC LANTERN

05/16/2014
By ,
AUGUSTA, GEORGIA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GIVES OFF VERY GOOD LIGHT, BUT REALLY NEVER HAD TO USE IN EMERGENCY. TESTED LANTERN WITH HOUSE DARK AND PERFORMED VERY WELL. I ALWAYS BELIEVED IF ITS COLEMAN ITS GOT TO BE GOOD.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman 190 Lumen LED Classic 4D Battery Latern

Great for Storm Shelter

06/16/2014
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this to use in our storm shelter. Lights up the whole area real good. Much better than a flashlight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman 190 Lumen LED Classic 4D Battery Latern

Great Lantern w/6V XPS rechargeable battery pack

04/23/2012
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great lantern serves its purpose well. I opted to get the 6V XPS rechargeable battery pack since it is only $4.97 at my store. Gives off plenty of light for our needs but will purchase a second later on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman 190 Lumen LED Classic 4D Battery Latern

Loved it

05/31/2013
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was my 1st time camping ever and I started to buy all the necessary tools. I was not sure if to buy a propane lantern or a LED lantern. But thanks to these reviews I went for the LED Lantern. I was tent camping so my concern of a fire hazard or my two little girls touching the propane lamp had me woried. This is an excellent Lamp Lantern. My tent was an 8-10 person tent and it was enough to have all the inside of the tent iluminated. It does not warm up and it is safe to use inside a tent and near the kids. I also read a review of someone saying this LED Classic lantern would give almost the same amount of light of the coleman family size lantern which is more expensive and this person also said there was no need to buy the family size because this was enough.
There is also a video in youtube of a guy that shows how much this lantern gives light and helped to decide to go for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman 190 Lumen LED Classic 4D Battery Latern

Great product for the price

07/07/2012
By ,
Orrville, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this lantern for camping and it works great! Used it all weekend without having to change the batteries. Very bright and lightweight.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman 190 Lumen LED Classic 4D Battery Latern

A Nice Lantern.

05/11/2012
By ,
fargo, nd.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this lantern for an emergency light when the power go's out, it lights up the whole room and is bright
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman 190 Lumen LED Classic 4D Battery Latern

Puts out a lot more light than expected.

10/16/2012
By ,
Bristol, Ct.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We lost power for six days. Thank god for this lantern. Every night for 6 hours with one set of batteries, and they still were working when we got our power back. It lights up an entire room.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman 190 Lumen LED Classic 4D Battery Latern

Works

09/10/2014
By ,
Chico, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought for power outages around the house. Works well but I see no difference between the high and low settings when I turned it on though. =(
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman 190 Lumen LED Classic 4D Battery Latern

Not metal

09/19/2010
By ,
Houston, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a plastic replica of the original metal and glass lanterns. It worked great! Hung it from the inside top of the tent and was able to read at night. Used it for 8 nights and never needed to change the batteries.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman 190 Lumen LED Classic 4D Battery Latern

Great Lamp

11/03/2012
By ,
Akransas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So much better than the older fluorescent lanterns! Way brighter & the lED's light will outlast the rest of the latern. I use alkaline batteries, last a long time. Will use mainly for power outages,,, with my flourescent lamps. Coleman does make some nice products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 92 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next