Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman 40 Lumen LED Camp 4D Battery Lantern

Coleman Coleman 40 Lumen LED Camp 4D Battery Lantern

The Coleman LED Camp Lantern is an ideal companion for long camping trips. It features a rugged ABS housing that is resistant to just about any weather condition you may encounter. This portable outdoor LED lantern comes with a krypton bulb that provides bright long-lasting light. Powered by 4-D size batteries, this lighting device provides 60 hours of runtime. The D-cells also provide additional weight to the base, making it more stable for hands-free operation. Despite the added weight, it is still light enough for even the youngest family camper to use. Equipped with five highly efficient 5mm LED bulbs inside, this Coleman 4D LED camp lantern provides an output power of 40 lumens, bright enough to light up even the darkest corners.
Average Customer Rating:
4.147 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation88%30 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman 40 Lumen LED Camp 4D Battery Lantern

Not up to Coleman standards. Very poor design.

12/06/2013
By ,
Owens Valley, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This lantern is not well designed. The lamp is in the base and points upward. Light reflects off a silvered cone that is attached to the inside of the top. The resultant light is diffuse and is not directed downward, so this is a very poor choice for anyone walking at night. It actually lights the path better when held upside down. It lights a camping tent but is not practical for reading when resting on its base.
The handle is plastic and is attached by two plastic shafts that fit into holes at the sides of the top. These shafts or pins are too short, so the handle easily pulls loose.
Overall, this is a product that fails to reach the standards that Coleman is famous for. It's almost as though they went looking for a cheap lantern, found one, and then had it manufactured with their name on it. A very disappointing product. There are much better LED lanterns available.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman 40 Lumen LED Camp 4D Battery Lantern

Great lamp

04/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lamp worked alot better than I thought it would11i live were there are alot of power outages and used in my house, lights up the whole room. Plan on buying 4 more, two for camping and two more for the house. Thanks again!
Steve
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman 40 Lumen LED Camp 4D Battery Lantern

Great Value

05/23/2011
By ,
Gainesville, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little lamp emits a bright light with in about 6 inches of the latern, but not farther. Was great for card games, read and inside the tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman 40 Lumen LED Camp 4D Battery Lantern

Great emergency light for indoors

03/18/2012
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Living in Texas we often have storms that knock out our electricity so I decided to buy the LED camp lantern from Walmart. I keep it on top of our refrigerator or on the fireplace, and it provides nice lighting for the entire room. It uses 4 D cell batteries which produces a nice strong 360 degree light. I am well pleased with the purchase, the price was fair and the ship to store time was only a few days. Would recommend this lantern to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman 40 Lumen LED Camp 4D Battery Lantern

Good purchase

02/01/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got these for camping but had to use them at home when the power went out. When I first took them out of the box I was little surprised by how small they were. However, the light is good and did a basic job. I didn't notice any fading over the few hours we had them on, which is nice. I was raised with Coleman products and have grown up trusting the name, but I'm afraid these days the rep is not holding up as well. I would reccomend these, but not for a big lighting source. They are light weight and I worry about them being a little flimsy? Camping equipment has got to be tough.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman 40 Lumen LED Camp 4D Battery Lantern

bright white light

05/30/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
only bummer is the inability to adjust the light. that feature would make it just like the old fuel lanterns
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman 40 Lumen LED Camp 4D Battery Lantern

Good purchase

05/19/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The light is bright and it has survived the abuse of a 3 year old.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman 40 Lumen LED Camp 4D Battery Lantern

Not impressed

03/22/2011
By ,
NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is not a terrible lantern so to be fair I did 3 stars it IS lightweight and manageable for our kids to use in their tent or to walk to the bathroom HOWEVER IT IS NOT a good lantern choice for any distance walking or even a decent radius of vision.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman 40 Lumen LED Camp 4D Battery Lantern

Great camping light!

07/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this lantern! Batteries lasted for a lot longer than what I anticipated. It gave off enough light that I could see in our tent in spite of it being pitch black out. Definitely a keeper!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman 40 Lumen LED Camp 4D Battery Lantern

CAMPING LIGHTS

08/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THESE LIGHTS WERE MUCH BETTER THAN I EXPECTED AND I'M GLAD I ORDERED THEM. WE'RE TAKING OUR FIFTH WHEEL OUT FOR THE FIRST TIME THIS WEEKEND AND THEY WILL WORK OUT GREAT!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman 40 Lumen LED Camp 4D Battery Lantern

What a glow!!!

07/12/2011
By ,
Southern Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To be battery powered we were surprised of the light this latern beamed. We could see as well as in the daylight. I was more than pleased with this. The bulbs are REAL bright.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman 40 Lumen LED Camp 4D Battery Lantern
06/12/2011
By ,
rhode island
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well, lit up the whole tent. Better then a flashlight
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman 40 Lumen LED Camp 4D Battery Lantern

Great.

12/25/2011
By ,
Highland Park, CA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased 5 of these lamps after our recent wind storm and electrical outage. Very light in weight and illuminating.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman 40 Lumen LED Camp 4D Battery Lantern
04/13/2012
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
simply awesome! I have several friends/relatives
with birthdays in the near future, and these will
make perfect gifts. I had won the small one at
a function meeting, and use it every single day!
I'm especially thankful to have it with storm
season in the future- at least I know I'll have
good light when the power goes out!
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman 40 Lumen LED Camp 4D Battery Lantern
06/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very bright.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman 40 Lumen LED Camp 4D Battery Lantern

Does it's job

06/02/2013
By ,
SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We recently had our first time camping trip ever. We went tent camping memorail weekend 2013. We needed 2 Lanterns for our tents. One Lantern Lamp was for my mothers tent which is an ozark trail 14x8 for 8 people. The other Lantern for my ozark 17x8 which is 8-9 person tent. I bought the LED Classic Lantern ( the red one) for my tent listed for $19 and bought this green Coleman for moms tent , price I believe was $13 or $16. Bought everything online.
The red one Classic LED Camp lantern lighted up my whole tent in the inside it was awesome and even used it to light the outside area of my camping site. This green one is very good also for its purpose. It gives enough light for my moms tent too although not as bright as the red one. But that is why I bought this cheaper version for my mom because she would be alone in her tent and does not need so much square footage iluminated. In my case we were 6 staying in my tent and needed all the areas of my tent iluminated.
I think this lantern is great for tent camping or for electricity power off. The way i tried it once I got it was to go inside my bathroom ( which is pretty big) and light up the lantern. It iluminated the bathroom well so I knew it was going to do its purpose for the tent. Now if comparing with the red one of course the red is much more brighter , lights up more area and is better. But it all depends in each ones needs. What i would of liked is that the part where the bulb goes in and reflects to the outide would have been more clear. The Red Lantern you could see through it because its like a crystal ball so the light comes out very bright. In this one it is a milky plastic so the light is not as bright as the red one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman 40 Lumen LED Camp 4D Battery Lantern

Very bright LED's! Nice lantern for the price.

08/11/2011
By ,
Wilson, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great little lantern, I use it inside my screened gazebo. It's bright enough so that I can read with it suspended on a hook from the top of the gazebo.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman 40 Lumen LED Camp 4D Battery Lantern

Good Lantern for Camping

08/01/2012
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, this is a good lantern for camping. The light is bright and it helps you see a lot better whether your in the tent, walking outside etc. Even though the light is bright, this lantern is mostly helpful in trying to find your way around if you're trying to go somewhere. Because it is a lantern, you cannot point the light in a specific spot, it just lights up the area that you are in, in general. This is not beneficial for finding something(example:your shoes). However, the first night we used this, the handle of the lantern fell off and after that it kept falling off, so we had to hold it on the side.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman 40 Lumen LED Camp 4D Battery Lantern

It's OK

01/30/2013
By ,
TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The ones they had before these I liked better. I have one of the older ones like it better because it has a knob on it that you can adjust from a dim light like a night light to a bright light. The dim light works great in the kids room for a night light when electricity goes out. And when you turn light up it's bright enough to light a room. So I gave it 3 stars gave the older one 5 stars. Would have gave this one 5 stars if it had a knob or switch on it to make it dim or bright.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman 40 Lumen LED Camp 4D Battery Lantern

Very durable, bright...except the handle

08/20/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It feels very durable, and the light was very bright. But the handle is so weak and it broke off first day (handled by 5 yo). I'll just put some string around it to use, but overall, it's a nice lamp.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1 2 Next