Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Focus Lantern

Coleman Coleman Focus Lantern

Pack the Coleman Focus Lantern for your next camping trip. This Coleman battery-powered lantern has an adjustable beam pattern. It has a large handle for hanging that doubles as a stand to project a hands-free beam of light. This Coleman 4D lantern measures over five inches in diameter. Its wide beam works well as a camp light, or for emergency situations.
Average Customer Rating:
3.826 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation74%17 out of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Focus Lantern

Very nice

01/12/2011
By ,
Fortuna, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these after our power kept going out and we couldn't find any flashlights that worked... These are very nice lanterns. We havn't used them long or for really long periods so I can't say how long they last but for power outages and camping they work great. The light is very bright and you can 'aim' it with the switch. The handle has 2 parts so it can free stand at an angle to assist when you don't have extra hands. They are somewhat smaller not too big not too small but good size for travel and packing... I really like these.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Focus Lantern

Great for the money

09/17/2010
By ,
Laconia, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do have mixed reviews on this. I read reviews that said this item stopped working after a very short time. We went camping, and it worked the few days we were there. We came home and my daughter tried to turn it on, but it would not. I was ready to return it to the store, but before I did, I unscrewed the top and made sure the light bulb was screwed in all the way. It worked after that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Focus Lantern

A must have item for every camper and homeowner

07/02/2010
By ,
SanAntonio, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hard to find so I had to order four. I have two for the camper and now for the house for Electrical outages. They are are great for illuminating a room or for use to and from the cam[ground facilities at night. Especially like the focusing feature that adapts to room use or trail. Great battery life too!
Buy some from the online store as the stores are usually out of stock!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman Focus Lantern

Better than Expected

08/13/2010
By ,
Thousand Oaks, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Because the lantern was priced so low, I had lower expectations about performance; however, this lantern worked better than many others 3x's its price. Excellent value and very good performance. I bought 40 of them at once for our 2010 National Boy Scout Jamboree troop, and only a couple of them failed to perform adequately, despite withstanding significant rain, winds, flooding & lightening storms. Better than anticipated battery life, too, given constant use. I will definitely purchase this brand again if necessary.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Focus Lantern

Well made bright lamp

08/10/2010
By ,
Boston, Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this lamp for camping. It proved very usefull. The light is bright and the fact that you can adjust the beam makes the lamp good for lighting my 12X9 tent or the picinic table. We also used it as a flashlight. It is compact and feels like quality. I'm buying two more next trip to our local Wal-mart. I would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Focus Lantern

not worth it

11/21/2010
By ,
Katy,Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was turned on and off aprox. four times after I bought it and the blub burned out. Now I cannot find a replancment bulb so the light is useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
replacement bulbs
Posted 06/21/2012
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Rayovac-K13-2-Krypton-Light-Bulbs-2pk/17776747
Rayovac K13-2 Krypton Light Bulbs, 2pk
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Coleman Focus Lantern

Unfortunately got my moneys worth

04/09/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for my sons who are getting into camping. I wanted something a little cheap so if they broke it I wouldn't worry too much. The light works and is very bright. The problem is even turning it off doesn't work. I had to take the batteries out to shut it off. Unfortunately I got my moneys worth.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Focus Lantern

Heavy duty LED Light

02/26/2014
By ,
pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was brought because of the electrical outages in my area. The coleman lantern is heavy duty, very well made. It take 4 "D" cell batteries. It has different settings of light output. Great light to have in an emergency.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Focus Lantern
08/13/2013
By ,
Thompson, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compact design and brighter than expected. Stores easy in a car or camping bin. Ended up buying a second one to have when needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Focus Lantern
10/29/2012
By ,
Mass.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have four of these and they work weh we have a bad power failure. I use them all year round and batrry life is for two years .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Focus Lantern

Good product

09/10/2010
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great and seems to be a good value--I wish it had a hook like other ones I've seen, but not a big deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Focus Lantern

sturdy

01/24/2013
By ,
Laughlin, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good solid construction. I've dropped it several times. It still works.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Focus Lantern

Not Worth the Money

04/24/2012
By ,
Washington
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of these lanterns for a camping trip. The lantern isn't very bright. We had both lit at night but still had to walk around with flashlights because we couldn't see anything. The biggest frustration is that they wouldn't turn on when we turned them on. We had to shake them and turn them on and off till they worked. I would have thought it was just a faulty lantern but we had two and it was the same with both. Definitely not worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Focus Lantern

Not worth the small amount you pay

06/28/2010
By ,
Newfoundland, Canada
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As with a previous review, I bought this cheap lantern for my young son so that he could turn it on if he felt he needed to while in the tent. Turning it on wasn't a problem but turning it off was a problem. The beam works well but it would be nice if a product with an off switch actually turned off. I'll be returning it today and spending the extra $10 to get a more standard lantern. I obviously don't recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Focus Lantern

barely good enough to use as a flashlight

01/16/2013
By ,
Fairfield CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have a Coleman lantern that is 190 lumens and is amazing for camping and power outages. I was looking for a cheaper alternative. This was not the answer. The other Coleman lantern lights a whole room. Rest it on a table and all is visible in the whole room with a bright white light. This Coleman lantern has that faint yellow glow that a flashlight provides and is barely visible. I highly recommend the Coleman classic lantern product listed below in Related Products instead. Well worth the simple $20 for a much better product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Focus Lantern

Had two, broke in less than a year

05/26/2013
By ,
USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought two of these for power outages for children to use. They did not drop them, however, in less than a year (probably less than half a year) both no longer worked. They are lightweight, however, after inserting the big batteries they are heavy. Worked good for trips to the bathroom when power went out but can't read by it well.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Focus Lantern

Good lantern though it uses D cells quickly.

07/26/2012
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is conveniently portable. I've found the D cells need replaced after a full night's use.
It hangs or sits well and illuminates a small room like a bathroom if there is a power outage and can be quickly used.
Inserting or changing the batteries is slightly troublesome as the dome must be inserted aligning with the slots plus having the batteries polarity correct.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Focus Lantern

Great flashlight!

07/13/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was able to use it not only as a lantern, but also as flashlight! Very well made product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Focus Lantern
04/06/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Light focusing is the useful function of this lantern
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Coleman Focus Lantern
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5