Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bowflex Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Bowflex Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

The Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym is an economical and versatile piece of equipment that provides 30 different strength-training exercises. The Bowflex rowing machine is a space-saving machine designed to combine all the strength-building equipment found at your local gym. Its patented technology provides smooth, consistent resistance through the entire range of motion, a principal ingredient in developing lean, strong muscles. With Bowflex's patented Power Rods that can provide a resistance of up to 210 pounds, this space-saving home gym gives your abs, chest, arms, back, lower body, and shoulders a great workout. The presence of power rods makes your equipment ideal for cardiovascular workouts and strengthening muscle groups. Bowflex's SpiraFlex resistance technology is used by astronauts at the International Space Station, but it also makes working out fun and productive on Earth.
Average Customer Rating:
4.632 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
73
4 stars
30
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation98%104 out of 106reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 86 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
73
4 stars
30
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Exactly What I Needed

12/05/2012
By ,
luverne, mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lets you work with pretty light resistance, which for me is excellent as I have a pinched nerve
I'm working on.
210lbs may not seem a great deal, but you have only to slow each rep to continue to gain.
It's handy to use, quiet, solid, can can even be folded up for a little extra space.
The setup time is a couple to three hours. I did mine alone. I'm 63.
Manuals are all good. Good workout info, etc.
It may not come close to a fully outfitted commercial gym, of course, but between this and my treadmill I think I have enough covered to continue a healthy active existence. And pretty cheap considering the quality of the unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Bad reviews make no sense...

03/15/2014
By ,
New England
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was somewhat skeptical when buying this product, as I had read reviews of individuals saying it is 'loud' or 'difficult to construct' or 'not enough weight'. Luckily I had read enough good reviews to purchase anyways and I am so pleased with it. It took about an hour to put together, but I am somewhat mechanically inclined. That said - an adult with two wrenches and a phillips head screwdriver that knows how to read can do it in 2 hours if they REALLY struggle. The only way I could see this being noisy is if the individual doesn't tighten the bolts enough and doesn't level it. If you do - it makes virtually no noise. As to the issue of weight - make no mistake - this is NOT for Mr or Mrs Universe. I played football in college and am now more interested in tone, strong, flexible and healthy muscles and joints. This machine (if your understand a proper repetition) is ALL you ever need. Thanks all and I hope this helps people on the cusp...
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Great Price. Really fast shipping.

11/23/2012
By ,
Melbourne, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wavered on buying something this serious online and it was my first major Walmart online purchase. I was promised 5-7 days shipping, but it was here on the third day.
I am a female with some mechanical inclination, and I assembled this in about an hour and a half.
The boyfriend and I both have old joint injuries and really wanted something with resistance training and something where a spotter wasn't needed. For strength building and safe solo workouts this fits the bill.
The ability to transition the resistance for different excercises is the real winning feature here... takes minimal effort to switch the hand grips and bows for upper and lower body workouts.
Only con was the bench length was slightly longer than I anticipated so measure your space before ordering. I have a small apartment and this still worked out fine.
I like this system a lot and have already gotten more out of it than I'd initially planned, and the walmart purchase and shipping process was fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Good product for people without a lot of time

01/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great for me and my husband we are constantly gone for 12-14hrs/day with work and it makes it extremely hard to go to gym classes. With the Bowflex it makes it so we can enjoy some of the benefits of a gym in our own home on our own time.
It was very easy to assemble, probably taking us 1-2 hours from opening the box to testing the machine. It works great and is easy to switch from one function to another quickly keeping your workout moving. In the user manual there's a number of workout choices with a decent amount of variety that can easily be fit into anyone's schedule.
When your done for the day the bench quickly folds up so it will easily fit in a corner and for the most part is out of the way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Great piece of home equipment.

06/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am now 59 years old. From age 23 to 55 I was a gym rat. Due to family health issues, I've fallen away from the gym. This piece of equipment will get me back on track. I'm 6'3" and now 250. I know at my age that I will never put up the kind of weight I did in the past, but with the Bowflex, I will be able to get back into good shape.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Better than expected

07/02/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this to keep at the house (obviously). Since I work so much when I come home I dont really feel like getting ready and heading out to the gym (even if I head straight to the gym from work it is a 40-60 minute drive round trip depending on traffic) and would much rather stay home and spend time with my fiancee. Now I can still get a decent workout in without all the hassle and can head straight home after work. I really love it. I have always wanted a BowFlex too since I was a little kid and saw the infomercials haha. It really is much better than I expected and I am able to get VERY good workouts on it. Dont expect to blast your legs very well though if you are used to heavy squats or leg-presses.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Great Buy !

05/10/2014
By ,
Roseburg,OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was very easy to assemble , just separate the bolts according to their size and follow the easy to understand instructions (a tape measure is needed to sort the bolts ,as the sizes are very close on some , also you need a couple of 3/4" wrenches or equivalent items ) The machine is very easy to use and smooth flowing exercises make it fun to work out. I bought an extra pair of handles and clips so i didnt have to keep switching them on to the different pulleys (upper and lower), now i can just can just connect the different pulleys with the clips and continue my workout with less change overs........ I shopped and compared other machines (watched some videos on Youtube) this is the best overall for ease of use and i am very glad i choose the BowFlex over the other home gyms....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

excellent machine

07/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent machine. Takes about 1 hour to set it up. Only drawback is you have to switch cables around alot to do different exercises. For the money I'm very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Very happy with this purchase

02/23/2014
By ,
Johnson City Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Bowflex PR1000 Home gym for my son's 16th birthday. He did research and tried some other things, and decided this one was the one he wanted. I was skeptical but ordered it anyway. When I saw all the pieces in the box, I was SCARED!! The assembly instructions were very accurate and easy to follow. Then I was surprised to find the whole thing is very easy to use. We have both been using it and getting results. If a 16 year old boy and a 50 year old woman are both happy with the same thing, it's gotta be good!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Very good product for the price.

03/10/2013
By ,
Las Vegas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My friend showed me his PR1000 and I was pretty impressed with how many exercises you can do with this product. I owned a standard bench-press for 10+ years and I like this much better. With the PR1000 I don't need a spotter and I feel I can really push myself without fear of dropping a weight or injuring myself. Adding/removing weight is much easier then standard plates. One negative is I can max out the machine on the leg press exercise. But I just do more reps so it's not a huge negative. The manufacture also says you can't add more rods but actually you can buy modified rod-blocks of Ebay that will allow you to add more rods if needed. It would probably void your warranty it is possible. Overall I think this machine is great value for the price (I paid $459+tax) so it's equal to about a 2 year gym membership. Like any machine you have to use it and I find this machine enjoyable to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Excellent product

05/01/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took us about 2 hours to put it together but we are very satisfied with its performance. The instructions were very easy to follow. We have not had any problems with it. It works smoothly and perfectly. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone and the price was great. I shopped around and Walmart was the only place that sold it cheaper than the rest. The only thing I noticed was that there were not a lot of exercises listed in the manual. So I downloaded the manual for the Bowflex Sport which lists a lot more exercises that can be done. The Bowflex Sport and the PR1000 are similar models.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Exceeds my Expectations for Home Gym

05/04/2014
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a busy schedule, so I bought the PR1000 to help me keep tone/shape. If you're wanting to get 'buffed' this is not for you, but if you are wanting to keep toned, while at home, this this will be a great product for you. Instructions were great, which made assembling easy. It took me (53 yrs old female) 2 hours to assemble it by myself (son was working), so if I can assemble it without problems, then any female can assemble it too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Great home gym

05/12/2010
By ,
Upstate NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gym is built very well. There are a couple items that could be improved. One is the through bolt for the leg extension. Instead of a long bolt with a rubber cap a pair of round headed screws into a threaded insert would be easier on the knees. The other is the bolt used for holding it in the folded position. It is awkward to use, a spring latch on top would be easier and safer.
Other than that it seems to work fine. We both use it and are seeing results. I would say it is not a unit if your looking for a machine to build large muscles with. It is a good unit if you're looking for a machine to get back into shape and in general burn calories and tone up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym
10/15/2013
By ,
Sacramento CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm 65 years old and wanted something to keep my muscles toned. This PR 1000 is a good product for the money and easy to use. I wish it came with more detailed exercises but overall I'm happy with it. It was actually very easy to assemble contrary to some reviews I read.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

great product

04/09/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a great machine. I have been using it for 3 weeks now and have lost 20 lbs with a better diet of course. i feel better and my wife says i look great. . I will buy another bowflex product again. the only bad thing is it only has 210 lbs of resitance so for a big man 270lbs in my case you cant work your legs that well like the leg press and calf raise. my wife has no problems with that she is 145lbs. I also recomend the book a bow flex body plan. it will tell all kinds of routines and diets you can go by
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Bowflex Almost Got It Perfect

06/03/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this after reading lots of reviews and checking out the product display at my local department store. With a newborn in the house, I gave up on trying to make it to the gym and decided to go the home gym route. My goal was to purchase something compact, stable, sturdy, with full range of motion and a variety of workouts. After 2 weeks, I can say that I am pleased with my purchase. Assembly was a piece of cake (2 hours). The workouts are easy to setup (I cannot understand why some say it is cumbersome). The vast majority of exercises feel close to a workout at the gym. You can do more exercises than what the standard manual indicates. The main flaw I encountered is the height of the top pulley bar - I am 6' tall and I am not able to get the full range of motion when I want to work on a trap pull-down. If Bowflex would have made the length approx. 6" taller, this would have solved my issue. Another minor flaw is the seat and back support are slightly wobbly. Otherwise, the exercises are excellent. When compared to other weight systems, I found out that Bowflex has a better range of motion (important for a quality workout), is quieter, is not as bulky, and offers more exercises. The powerbars are not free weights, but they can be challenging as long as you select the right combinations. Overall, you do pay more, but you get a quality product that is distinct from the competition and offers a comparable workout to the gym. Good job Bowflex.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Makes life easier

04/12/2014
By ,
Compton, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No excuses with this machine. It's literally in my home so no excuses if I don't make it to the gym. Assembly took about an hr. And I love the workout schedules that come with it! You won't feel lost on what to do since they have a plan to suit your needs!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Cancel your gym membership

05/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very impressed with this machine so far. I liked going to the gym but with work and family, only having the time to go 2 days a week wasn't cutting it. So me and my wife decided to get the Boflex. It's great and will pay for itself in a year from canceling our 2 gym memberships!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Good Machine for People Just Beginning to Exercise

09/30/2011
By ,
Brandon, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to set up, easy to use. I was afraid I wouldn't stick with the exercise program but I've been going strong for almost a month now and haven't missed an exercise day. The machine is smooth and quiet. The Walmart ship to store option cannot be beat. Everyone else wanted $125.00 plus to ship it to my house. Walmart shipped it to a local store for free and I was able to fit the box in my trunk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

OMG!!!!!!

06/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fast shipping by Walmart, easy installation, began working out that night it is truly a great device
advertised 30 exercises but you can do more with imagination. A great product sold by a great retailer, YOU GO WALMART !!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 83 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next