Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bowflex Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Bowflex Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

The Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym is an economical and versatile piece of equipment that provides 30 different strength-training exercises. The Bowflex rowing machine is a space-saving machine designed to combine all the strength-building equipment found at your local gym. Its patented technology provides smooth, consistent resistance through the entire range of motion, a principal ingredient in developing lean, strong muscles. With Bowflex's patented Power Rods that can provide a resistance of up to 210 pounds, this space-saving home gym gives your abs, chest, arms, back, lower body, and shoulders a great workout. The presence of power rods makes your equipment ideal for cardiovascular workouts and strengthening muscle groups. Bowflex's SpiraFlex resistance technology is used by astronauts at the International Space Station, but it also makes working out fun and productive on Earth.
Average Customer Rating:
4.669 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(133 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
95
4 stars
35
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation98%131 out of 133reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 88 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
95
4 stars
35
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Bad reviews make no sense...

03/15/2014
By ,
New England
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was somewhat skeptical when buying this product, as I had read reviews of individuals saying it is 'loud' or 'difficult to construct' or 'not enough weight'. Luckily I had read enough good reviews to purchase anyways and I am so pleased with it. It took about an hour to put together, but I am somewhat mechanically inclined. That said - an adult with two wrenches and a phillips head screwdriver that knows how to read can do it in 2 hours if they REALLY struggle. The only way I could see this being noisy is if the individual doesn't tighten the bolts enough and doesn't level it. If you do - it makes virtually no noise. As to the issue of weight - make no mistake - this is NOT for Mr or Mrs Universe. I played football in college and am now more interested in tone, strong, flexible and healthy muscles and joints. This machine (if your understand a proper repetition) is ALL you ever need. Thanks all and I hope this helps people on the cusp...
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Great Price. Really fast shipping.

11/23/2012
By ,
Melbourne, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wavered on buying something this serious online and it was my first major Walmart online purchase. I was promised 5-7 days shipping, but it was here on the third day.
I am a female with some mechanical inclination, and I assembled this in about an hour and a half.
The boyfriend and I both have old joint injuries and really wanted something with resistance training and something where a spotter wasn't needed. For strength building and safe solo workouts this fits the bill.
The ability to transition the resistance for different excercises is the real winning feature here... takes minimal effort to switch the hand grips and bows for upper and lower body workouts.
Only con was the bench length was slightly longer than I anticipated so measure your space before ordering. I have a small apartment and this still worked out fine.
I like this system a lot and have already gotten more out of it than I'd initially planned, and the walmart purchase and shipping process was fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Very good product for the price.

03/10/2013
By ,
Las Vegas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My friend showed me his PR1000 and I was pretty impressed with how many exercises you can do with this product. I owned a standard bench-press for 10+ years and I like this much better. With the PR1000 I don't need a spotter and I feel I can really push myself without fear of dropping a weight or injuring myself. Adding/removing weight is much easier then standard plates. One negative is I can max out the machine on the leg press exercise. But I just do more reps so it's not a huge negative. The manufacture also says you can't add more rods but actually you can buy modified rod-blocks of Ebay that will allow you to add more rods if needed. It would probably void your warranty it is possible. Overall I think this machine is great value for the price (I paid $459+tax) so it's equal to about a 2 year gym membership. Like any machine you have to use it and I find this machine enjoyable to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Perfect for my Needs.

06/28/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this so I can get back into the gym, and to introduce my 14 year old to lifting. I thought that the power rods would be better to start with, than free weights. So far I am very happy with the product and the extra time it gets me, with my son. If you're getting back into working out, or just starting, I would recommend this machine, but t is definitely not for the serious lifter. With only 210 lbs of resistance, it can be limiting. If I had to do it again, I would absolutely buy a bowflex, but would spend a little more on an higher model, which allows to upgrade the weights.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

bow flex PR1000

07/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent machine for the price
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Bowflex Pr1000 is great

06/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The machine is great, but Bowflex customer support isn't. Missing part took two weeks to arrive because they only ship fedex ground. Part was smaller than my hand.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Good product for people without a lot of time

01/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great for me and my husband we are constantly gone for 12-14hrs/day with work and it makes it extremely hard to go to gym classes. With the Bowflex it makes it so we can enjoy some of the benefits of a gym in our own home on our own time.
It was very easy to assemble, probably taking us 1-2 hours from opening the box to testing the machine. It works great and is easy to switch from one function to another quickly keeping your workout moving. In the user manual there's a number of workout choices with a decent amount of variety that can easily be fit into anyone's schedule.
When your done for the day the bench quickly folds up so it will easily fit in a corner and for the most part is out of the way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Solid machine for the price!

06/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm really enjoying the Bowflex PR 1000. At this price I was surprised at how good the quality is. The frame is solid and looks good.
Exercising is easy and changing the power rods is no problem. The only feedback I have is that I would like the lower pulleys to be located lower on the rack so I can get a bit more range of motion. I know they are located at the current spot to make it easier to grab the handles for chest presses.
This machine has rods that add up to 210#, which is enough for starting off. I believe you can upgrade the rods to heavier weights as well.
What a great purchase for the price!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Great Buy !

05/10/2014
By ,
Roseburg,OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was very easy to assemble , just separate the bolts according to their size and follow the easy to understand instructions (a tape measure is needed to sort the bolts ,as the sizes are very close on some , also you need a couple of 3/4" wrenches or equivalent items ) The machine is very easy to use and smooth flowing exercises make it fun to work out. I bought an extra pair of handles and clips so i didnt have to keep switching them on to the different pulleys (upper and lower), now i can just can just connect the different pulleys with the clips and continue my workout with less change overs........ I shopped and compared other machines (watched some videos on Youtube) this is the best overall for ease of use and i am very glad i choose the BowFlex over the other home gyms....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Good piece of equipment

06/11/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have to say I was a little sceptical when I purchased. However this is a nice piece of equipment that does a very nice job for workouts. Unless you are a serious lifter this will more than do the job.
Pros:
Equipment arrived nicely packaged
It was easy to assemble
Looks good
Most of the exercises do a nice job
Cons:
Nothing major that I can find. Would say not to buy if you are a serious athlete or bodybuilder.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Great home gym

05/12/2010
By ,
Upstate NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gym is built very well. There are a couple items that could be improved. One is the through bolt for the leg extension. Instead of a long bolt with a rubber cap a pair of round headed screws into a threaded insert would be easier on the knees. The other is the bolt used for holding it in the folded position. It is awkward to use, a spring latch on top would be easier and safer.
Other than that it seems to work fine. We both use it and are seeing results. I would say it is not a unit if your looking for a machine to build large muscles with. It is a good unit if you're looking for a machine to get back into shape and in general burn calories and tone up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Great Product!!!

06/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bowflex is an excellent product! It was easy to put together an we have enjoyed using it daily.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Well worth the money.

06/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While it took a few hours to assemble, it went together well. It provides an easily changed platform for a variety of exercises for toning the skeletal muscles. The manual that is provided lists a number of exercises with illustrations and a list of which muscles are used for each.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

great product

04/09/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a great machine. I have been using it for 3 weeks now and have lost 20 lbs with a better diet of course. i feel better and my wife says i look great. . I will buy another bowflex product again. the only bad thing is it only has 210 lbs of resitance so for a big man 270lbs in my case you cant work your legs that well like the leg press and calf raise. my wife has no problems with that she is 145lbs. I also recomend the book a bow flex body plan. it will tell all kinds of routines and diets you can go by
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

first time using bowflex

06/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amazing machine. at first I thought it would not live up to its promise BUT after 2 weeks I can already tell the difference. gives u more of a workout than u expected due to ease of use and resistance design. very good machine for anyone who wants to lose some fat and get a nice shape back.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Fun to exercise

06/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Set up was also easy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Bowflex Almost Got It Perfect

06/03/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this after reading lots of reviews and checking out the product display at my local department store. With a newborn in the house, I gave up on trying to make it to the gym and decided to go the home gym route. My goal was to purchase something compact, stable, sturdy, with full range of motion and a variety of workouts. After 2 weeks, I can say that I am pleased with my purchase. Assembly was a piece of cake (2 hours). The workouts are easy to setup (I cannot understand why some say it is cumbersome). The vast majority of exercises feel close to a workout at the gym. You can do more exercises than what the standard manual indicates. The main flaw I encountered is the height of the top pulley bar - I am 6' tall and I am not able to get the full range of motion when I want to work on a trap pull-down. If Bowflex would have made the length approx. 6" taller, this would have solved my issue. Another minor flaw is the seat and back support are slightly wobbly. Otherwise, the exercises are excellent. When compared to other weight systems, I found out that Bowflex has a better range of motion (important for a quality workout), is quieter, is not as bulky, and offers more exercises. The powerbars are not free weights, but they can be challenging as long as you select the right combinations. Overall, you do pay more, but you get a quality product that is distinct from the competition and offers a comparable workout to the gym. Good job Bowflex.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

good machine

06/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Husband loves it, was easy to assemble.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym
10/15/2013
By ,
Sacramento CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm 65 years old and wanted something to keep my muscles toned. This PR 1000 is a good product for the money and easy to use. I wish it came with more detailed exercises but overall I'm happy with it. It was actually very easy to assemble contrary to some reviews I read.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bowflex PR1000 Home Gym

Excellent product

05/01/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took us about 2 hours to put it together but we are very satisfied with its performance. The instructions were very easy to follow. We have not had any problems with it. It works smoothly and perfectly. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone and the price was great. I shopped around and Walmart was the only place that sold it cheaper than the rest. The only thing I noticed was that there were not a lot of exercises listed in the manual. So I downloaded the manual for the Bowflex Sport which lists a lot more exercises that can be done. The Bowflex Sport and the PR1000 are similar models.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 109 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next