Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Cyber-shot H55 Black 14MP Digital Camera, 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, Active SteadyShot, Sweep Panorama

Sony Sony Cyber-shot H55 Black 14MP Digital Camera, 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, Active SteadyShot, Sweep Panorama

The DSC-H55's 10x wide (25mm equivalent) lens takes great shots from greater distances and wider landscapes in a compact body. Create breathtaking panoramic shots in one sweeping motion with Sweep Panorama mode and review them on the 3.0? LCD screen. Plus, take clearer images with Optical SteadyShot image technology.
Average Customer Rating:
4.218 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(174 Reviews) 152
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
100
4 stars
44
3 stars
9
2 stars
10
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation82%142 out of 174reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
61 Questions | 136 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
100
4 stars
44
3 stars
9
2 stars
10
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony Cyber-shot H55 Black 14MP Digital Camera, 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, Active SteadyShot, Sweep Panorama

takes some work

08/22/2010
By ,
Dallas, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was really impressed by the optical zoom on this camera. As anyone knows that's ever read up on cameras, it's all in the optical zoom. Digital means nothing. Anyway, took to Seattle for GW8. I'm thinking I should either read the manual or spend more time getting to know this camera as half my pictures came out blurry. Granted I had only had it about a week at this time. I find I need to hit the shutter button half way a few times to get it to focus right. All in all I enjoy the use I've gotten out of it. Bought several batteries and a charger elsewhere but didn't even need to change the battery for my whole weekend up in Seattle even took a great pic from my window seat in the plane and one from a moving car.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony Cyber-shot H55 Black 14MP Digital Camera, 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, Active SteadyShot, Sweep Panorama

Happy Cruiser

06/04/2010
By ,
Belton, Mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product after consulting several of my friends. I wanted to know what camera had the best quality and would not cost me an arm and a leg! I was told the Sony Cyber-shot over and over. There were few others listed.
I was buying this camera because I was going on my first cruise ever and it was to Alaska! I knew the scenery would be beautiful and I needed a camera that could capture that. I was not disappointed at all. I caught some amazing shots of whales, eagles, bears, mountains, etc. Even when cropping a picture, I was able to zoom in pretty far before the picture started to distort. I also love the burst mode!!!
I am very, very pleased with this camera and will recommend it to everyone!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony Cyber-shot H55 Black 14MP Digital Camera, 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, Active SteadyShot, Sweep Panorama

Not Worth it

05/19/2010
By ,
Amsterdam NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
OK i gave this camera a week using all settings to be fair before exchanging it.First u can zoom in and out while recording movie mode which was good.That was it nothing else is good about the pics when you zoom in for pics half come out OK and half blurry.The burst mode as well half pics are blurry. Also when you take pics they are to dark and way over saturated with color to see peoples faces or pets eyes clearly they are extremely dark, no matter which ISO setting you use.This camera leaves dark shadows on subjects making the pics very hard to see the subject well.I tried every setting on camera and you have to edit half your pics on camera who wants to edit 200 outta 300 pics for hrs. on computer.Very dissatisfied with half the pics not coming out weather in house or outside or with flash on or without.It should have been half the price!!! Good bye Sony back to store you go! I have a 8mp Canon that takes better pics, don't be fooled by this 14mp like i was!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony Cyber-shot H55 Black 14MP Digital Camera, 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, Active SteadyShot, Sweep Panorama

Excellent Camera

12/21/2010
By ,
Hampton, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use to own Canon and a Nikon and they were both good camera but since they broke I wanted something different. I love taking pictures because my hobby is making scrapbooks and I needed a good quality camera that was going to produce excellent pictures. I searched, searched, searched, and searched for a good camera. I went to Best Buy several times because there you can test out the cameras and play with them. I went on-line to get reviews on different cameras. Then I saw this Sony camera that had tremendous amount of reviews with a rating of 4 out of 5. At first I was very skeptical of purchasing a Sony camera. I am glad I did. It is a very excellent camera. Picture quality is out of this world, very crisp pictures. It is easy to use, has a lot of picture functions to choose from. The videos are very clear. I love the take panoramic shots. The only two problems I have with this camera is the battery life and very blurring pictures when taking action possess. But other then that I love my camera.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony Cyber-shot H55 Black 14MP Digital Camera, 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, Active SteadyShot, Sweep Panorama

SUPER WORTH IT

08/25/2010
By ,
Knoxville,Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this camera is the best. i would recommend it to experienced people with cameras or just beginners.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony Cyber-shot H55 Black 14MP Digital Camera, 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, Active SteadyShot, Sweep Panorama

Excellent wide angle shots from small camera

06/08/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had three Sonys. First one spent two years in China and gave excellent movies and photos. Wore it out. Second one still works fine but was 43-430 zoom. This one has the 25-250 zoom so we can get wide angle photos. It's slightly thinner and the lens has a retractable cap, which the second one did not have. The old batteries and memory card work with the new one so we didn't need to purchase anything new. I had the flip up mirror back which protects the screen, so I removed it from the old one and it fits fine on this new one. Overall we are very pleased with the quality of the photos, and the smaller lighter size. And the price is about half of what our first one cost 6 years ago.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony Cyber-shot H55 Black 14MP Digital Camera, 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, Active SteadyShot, Sweep Panorama

*~ Big Wow In A Box~*

09/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this camera and received it yesterday. I love it!! Its a really good camera. I think that before anyone that rates this camera should really read the instructions from the book and CD that they offer. This camera takes really good crisp and clear photos. I have a 5 year old and a almost 2 year old. My littlest never can sit still and take a picture she is always on the move!! There is a setting just for that and she can run, jump and roll around and I still can snap a shot of her in action and it is not blurred. People that talked about the display and the colors and stuff that shows up on the display it does not show up on your photos. I uploaded my pictures really fast and they look great, no flaws. This is a really good starter camera. I have had a sony before and that took great pictures also. My sister takes professional senior pictures and has done a few weddings, with her almost $600 camera. That camera has an 18x zoom and 10mg. This camera has 10x zoom 14mg. This camera takes pictures just as great as her camera and the zoom is really nice :) In the picture I posted my daughter is rocking back and forth! NO BLUR!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony Cyber-shot H55 Black 14MP Digital Camera, 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, Active SteadyShot, Sweep Panorama

Great Product

01/22/2011
By ,
Leesburg, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's all and more of what I expected !!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony Cyber-shot H55 Black 14MP Digital Camera, 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, Active SteadyShot, Sweep Panorama

Pretty decent camera

09/15/2010
By ,
Ft Worth, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been very pleased with the performance of this camera so far. Takes beautiful outdoor pictures. I haven't yet figured out all the features of the camera, but that doesn't keep me from being able to take good pictures. It offers the option of easy picture taking or choices to adjust and refine. My only complaint so far is that I still haven't been able to take good low-light pictures. I need to continue to learn the features of the camera to see if that is possible.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Sony DSC-H55 Camera
Posted 06/27/2011
I love the camera and all the features, however, I am very unsatissfied w/the battery life. I was getting irritated w/the life of my old camera, this one will need to be charged every night. Unless I got a bad battery with my new camera...this is the biggest issue I have. Now, I feel like I will need to get a spare battery. Otherwise, everything else is great!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Sony Cyber-shot H55 Black 14MP Digital Camera, 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, Active SteadyShot, Sweep Panorama

Great camera

01/30/2011
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great camera for taking pictures of any scenery, wedding, children, pets, moving vehicles, but the macro mode is difficult to use.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony Cyber-shot H55 Black 14MP Digital Camera, 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, Active SteadyShot, Sweep Panorama

Educated Point and Shoot

12/02/2010
By ,
Alexdandria, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a smart point and shoot camera. This one more than fills the bill. I am learning what can do with it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony Cyber-shot H55 Black 14MP Digital Camera, 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, Active SteadyShot, Sweep Panorama

Sony Cyber-shot H55

10/21/2012
By ,
Sarasota, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We travel and like to have pictures and videos. Our favorite camera for this is our Sony Cyber-shot (extremely easy to use and carry). We decided after 2 years to purchase a second one so we could each carry a camera and everything would be compatible when downloaded, plus batteries and chips would be exchangable during trips. An additional function we found with this camera is using the zoom feature as binoculars, especially from a high point to "scout" terrain as we look for our next adventure.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony Cyber-shot H55 Black 14MP Digital Camera, 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, Active SteadyShot, Sweep Panorama
06/04/2012
By ,
Friedens, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera was a Mother's Day gift from my daughters and my husband, and I absolutely love it. The pictures are great and the zoom is amazing. It does good videos. I was recently using a camera that recorded videos but no sound so this Sony camera definitely makes it all so much better. The bigger screen makes it easier to see the subject. The settings are easy to use..well overall the camera is easy to use. Landscape pictures come out really wonderful.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony Cyber-shot H55 Black 14MP Digital Camera, 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, Active SteadyShot, Sweep Panorama

Sony H55

08/15/2010
By ,
Upper Peninsula of Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice camera---easy to use---quality pictures---easy to recharge----easy to download---buy it and you'll like it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony Cyber-shot H55 Black 14MP Digital Camera, 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, Active SteadyShot, Sweep Panorama

Excellent Camera

08/22/2010
By ,
Bethlehem, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would give this camera a 5, but there are a couple of minor things I didn't like.
First, the manual is a PDF. That's fine, but it would have been nice if they could send a normal manual in addition.
The software that comes with it is not as good as some others I've used. The AutoCorrect has been of no use so far.
I haven't used the Burst feature yet, but why isn't it selected on the rotary button at the top of the camera, where you can select Scene shooting or Panorama? You have to select it using the menu, which takes longer. I'll use Burst much more than Panorama.
The camera takes excellent shots. Don't know why some people that did reviews thought otherwise.
Use a good SDHC card, one that is Class 6 (not 2 or 4).
At the time I bought the camera, Amazon had the same one for $5 cheaper. Fortunately after reading carefully, I saw that one didn't include a rechargeable battery or charger as the one from Walmart does.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony Cyber-shot H55 Black 14MP Digital Camera, 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, Active SteadyShot, Sweep Panorama

DO NOT Purchase This Camera

06/20/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have a digital SLR camera and wanted a point and shoot camera to take out when I meet up with friends or just don't feel like lugging my D-SLR around. I wanted to get a high quality point and shoot, so I did a lot of research. This camera was rated rather high, with a few dissatisfied customers. I can now add myself to the list of highly dissatisfied customers. Within 5 minutes I knew that I would be returning this camera. The picture quality was awful, the flash is overpowering and every person had beety red eyes. I was not impressed in the slightest. Again, I have a very high quality D-SLR and now how to use the various features within the camera, so it's not like I didn't know how to make appropriate adjustments to take good quality pictures. I did more research and decided to go with the Canon Powershot 1400IS and this is by far the best point and shoot camera I have EVER owned! Therefore, I DO NOT recommend the Sony CyberShot H55. It is not at all worth your money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony Cyber-shot H55 Black 14MP Digital Camera, 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, Active SteadyShot, Sweep Panorama

Little compact does pretty good job

03/19/2014
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned this camera for about 8 month's I wanted to wait before writing a review on it. It's battery life is ok but it could be better. For ex I recently took it on a trip and got about 4 hours use out of it before it went dead, I was switching between photo and mostly video taping my kids skiing and snowboarding for the 1st time and I did turned it off a few times in between, so may of been closer to 3hrs use. Recommend back-up battery to switch out. Picture quality for photo and video is very good, sharp and crisp. I had owned a more expensive Cybershot the bigger kind with lots of features and this camera honestly has the features I used most on the bigger camera and the picture quality is about the same, a little less zoom capacity than the old camera but less than half the size, not bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony Cyber-shot H55 Black 14MP Digital Camera, 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, Active SteadyShot, Sweep Panorama

A MUST BUY CAMERA

04/14/2010
By ,
Alexandria, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was worried about buying a product not yet rated, and I am very happy that I decided to go for it . This camera is fantastic. It is easy to use , and the pictures are very sharp. The anti shake feature really does work , my hands were shaking and I thought the pictures were going to be a big blur. I was very happy and impressed when I reviewed the shots and found NO BLURING at all. The auto function is great and makes taking pictures easy right out of the box. The Panaroma feature is amazing, but can be a bit of a headache to get it to work at times, that aside the outcome is great. If you know your way around a camera the several options will serve you will. If you are new to cameras , the auto function/s will give you the best options and crisp photos with a push of a button. The software is quite user friendly even if you are new to digital cameras. The colors are so crisp you will be amazed . I tried still , action , close-ups, and zooming at a good distance and every picture looked great. My hands were shaking while taking many of the pictures, yet as mentioned above, came out just fine. This camera is well built , has a nice size screen, and is easy to navigate. With so many options available, this camera has something for every type of user. I bought another brand of digital camera that is a 12 mp , and while this one is a 14mp, I compared several auto function shots between the two cameras and this one is hands down so much better. I have average knowledge of digital cameras and find this camera easy to use all the way around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+192points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony Cyber-shot H55 Black 14MP Digital Camera, 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, Active SteadyShot, Sweep Panorama

Love this camera!

02/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of reseach on a good "point and shoot" camera. I have a Canon S30, which was getting kinda old. I needed an updated one with a larger viewing screen and higher zoom. This Sony DSC-H55 is great! It has 14.1 mp, 10x zoom, and 3'' screen. Easy to use, sharp pictures, great color, and I haven't even used all the features yet.....still reading the manual (which you need to down load...138 pages) Only thing I didn't like was the CD/DVD they provided in the box for software installation was old (2007) All info had to be updated online - which took more time. It's a great small camera that takes great pic's. I would recommend it to anyone - no experience needed. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony Cyber-shot H55 Black 14MP Digital Camera, 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, Active SteadyShot, Sweep Panorama

Definitely worth it

06/25/2010
By ,
Muskego, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research before settling on this camera. I wanted something that wasn't expensive like a DSLR, but that had very solid features and picture quality. I had originally been looking at Canon and Nikon cameras, and while a couple caught my eye, none had all the features I was looking for at a decent price (good optical zoom, image stabilization, great image quality, good indoor performance, and solid build were my top concerns).
Then I came across this camera and saw what it offered for the price, and I almost knew right at that point that it would be mine. I tried it out at my store, and it seemed exactly what it sounded like online. And now that I've had it for a few weeks, I must say that I'm very impressed by it. I tend to avoid the "Easy" shooting mode because the pictures came out only so-so, but using the Intelligent Auto mode for simple point-and-shoot is quite amazing. And for when I want the perfect shot, the manual settings provide more than enough customization to get it.
The image stabilization works amazingly. Shooting free-hand with 10x zoom, as soon as you go to take the shot, it manages to eliminate pretty much all natural shake involved with free-handing a 10x zoom shot.
And the pictures come out beautifully. Keeping in mind this *isn't* a DSLR, it still manages to provide amazing quality. Some cameras with high megapixel counts still manage to look a bit grainy when you view them, but this camera is not one of them.
Overall, after playing with all the features on the camera, and testing it in various conditions, I feel that this is definitely the best camera I could've bought for the money I paid. And the fact that Sony added support for SDHC cards last year (which includes this camera) made it so much nicer (and cheaper) to get a good memory card to go with it. You will be hard-pressed to find a better camera under $250, and I'd recommend this camera to anybody who wants a great quality camera with great features, but doesn't want to drop the extra money on a DSLR.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 93 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next