Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Hoover Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

The Hoover SteamVac with Clean Surge F5914900 is designed to help you keep your carpets and upholstery clean. It features Hoover SpinScrub technology with multi-directional brushes that surround carpet fibers and remove dirt at every angle. This Hoover carpet cleaner has a powerful 12-amp motor that allows it to effortlessly deliver a thoroughly clean carpet with minimal drying time. Clean Surge technology applies extra detergent to stains and heavy traffic areas. The high-velocity suction of this steam vacuum carpet cleaner effectively removes dirt plus water and detergent residue, and forced heat speeds the drying process. Even hard-to-clean stains and odors can be removed. The Hoover SteamVac with Clean Surge F5914900 would make an impressive addition to just about any collection of cleaning tools. It has a 3-speed brushroll control with settings for normal cleaning, gentle cleaning and spill pickup, plus a powered hand tool for stairs and upholstery.
Average Customer Rating:
4.136 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(835 Reviews) 748
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
481
4 stars
202
3 stars
30
2 stars
29
1 star
93
Customer Recommendation85%707 out of 827reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
96 Questions | 572 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
481
4 stars
202
3 stars
30
2 stars
29
1 star
93
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Look elsewhere!

08/03/2012
By ,
McKinney, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I researched carpet cleaners and bought this one after reading Consumer Reports ratings on it. My carpet was absolutely filthy after dog sitting two large dogs for 2 months. The carpet was cleaned beautifully but the machine brush broke after the 3rd room! I love the performance and ease of use of this machine but the quality of construction is awful! I'm so sad that I will have to return it. I've used a Bissell before and the Hoover outperformed it but the Bissell was more durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

cheap plastic

12/29/2012
By ,
Williamsburg,VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wasn't sure to buy after reading reviews, but I did anyway, big mistake. After assembly, I noticed it would wobble in upright position. Looked closely, and noticed the handle near the base was cracked. I disassembled and returned it. Just made cheaply which reflects the cheap price.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Not Satisfied

05/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought machine just over a year ago, only used machine twice. The machine will no longer suction the water into the tank. Do not recommend
Recommends this product? No
From HooverUSA06/18/2014
Hi tkjeremiah! The Steam Vac with Clean Surge should not lose suction after only 2 uses even though it is1 yr old. The issue could be the dirty water tank lid is not positioned properly. Here is a video that I find very helpful:http://bit.ly/1n7Y3ep

-Giselle
Hoover Customer CareHoover
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Poor Quality

02/16/2013
By ,
Buffalo, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked once and then stopped sucking up the water. Both water reservoirs are too small, so you will be constantly adding and emptying water (if it sucks up the water). The only good thing that I can say is that it was easy to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Returning this product

08/08/2013
By ,
Granbury, texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm having to return as the water tank was leaking profusely when you click into place in the unit. I found the overall unit made of cheap plastic compared to the last Hoover unit I owned. I will upgrade and hope the next model will be of higher quality than this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

best i've ever used

06/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this is the third carpet cleaner that i've owned and it is by far the best and less expensive than others Ilve bought. brushs work well to loosen dirt.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

POOR QUALITY

06/22/2013
By ,
Outer Banks, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the older version of this steamvac which worked fabulously for 14 years and then started leaking. Got 14 years of hard use out of which I thought was pretty darned great. So, I bought this newer model which is almost exactly like the old one. The trigger to release the cleaning solution stopped working the third time I used it, so I just used the clean surge button instead. Thought I could deal with that. Then, I went to clean the next room and neither the clean surge button or the trigger release would work! VERY disgusted with HOOVER at this point. Should have bought a BISSELL, their cleaning solution cleans better too.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

It was a returned item. Dirty.

09/14/2013
By ,
New York
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was disappointed with the item because I was sent a used item. The Steam
Vac was dusty. They should't have sent me a dirty vac. I am very allergic to dust.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Bummed!!

05/19/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I did my research & this product was the #1 consumer steam cleaner on several web sites. I was so excited to receive it in the mail & try it out. The steam cleaner went together fairly easy. The first time we tried to use it the brushes wouldn't spin, no matter what setting it was on or what we tried. With the vacuum running we manually spun the brushes & they stayed spinning for that cleaning. We were pretty impressed with how much dirt it picked up & how dry it left the carpets. The next day we tried to use it again & the brushes wouldn't work, even with manual manipulation. I don't want a steam cleaner that only works part of the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NY, NY
small but annoying issue; fixable
Posted 08/22/2013
if you have a DIYer somewhere in the 'hood. In one of the Amazon reviews, the process is described in some detail but essentially one has to disassemble the unit -- easier than it sounds having read the Amazon reviewer's procedure -- and wiggle some part of the spinner drive mechanism; after which all seems fine.
Another prime example of why DESIGN is so important. Get the design right and these kinds of issues will not happen. Here we have a good idea but some weak spot in the design (which is easily fixed or at least bypassed) results in poor performance. Advice to engineering managers everywhere: hire the kids but have them doing routine work until they have the experience needed to understand that good design is more important that the photos of their junk will ever be. ;-)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Don't waste your money.

08/08/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Hoover SteamVac lasted two tankfuls of water and then quit. Thankfully, our local Walmart accepted the return.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Did not even make it through one room

02/20/2014
By ,
florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just bought this machine I emptied the tank once and now the brushes won't spin. Back to Wmart it goes.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Arrived defective

12/27/2012
By ,
Dyersburg, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit would not work unless clean surge was engaged. Contacted Hoover, their customer service response time was poor. Service center is 50 miles away. Repair time could take as long as 6 weeks
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900
01/25/2013
By ,
Hagerstown, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Piece of junk! never got to use it, had to rent one, don't worry! it's coming back to you. water with solution comes out....will not suck back up, nice mess.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Leaked

12/20/2012
By ,
Jefferson City, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The cleaner leaked as soon as the water/soap container was installed. Assembled 3 times and still could not stop the leaks. Call factory and was told to return it. Also looked like it had been repackaged. There was no cardboard under the cleaning head that was to be removed before used as the other Hoover I pick up at the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Arrived broken

06/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Arrived broken, I returned it
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Lasted only 6 months

11/05/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very happy with this product, I have kids and it helps a lot to clean the carpet mess; however this machine stopped sucking the water with no evidence that something was going wrong. Will try another steam vac but for sure it won't be Hoover.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Very disappointed!

10/16/2012
By ,
Winslow, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I agree with other reviewers for this steam vac. The constructon of this machine is made out of cheap plastic. It's a pain to attach/unattach the hose. I do have to say that it has great suction. It removed so much of the water that my chair I used it on was dried the next morning. Unfortunetly it leaked from the bottom of the carpet cleaner the whole time it was in use (I didn't use the carpet cleaning part) even when the machine was turned off. I returned it to Walmart the next day. If Hoover would redesign this product and use better quality material they would have a hit instead of a miss.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

43btu42

10/26/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Before buying a carpet steam cleaner I did some online research. This product had generally good reviews with most of the complaints very similar - the product would stop working. The cleaner would stop working because the tanks were not tight or the door was not all the way down, whatever. I just assumed these users were feeble minded and did not read the directions. I did. And it still doesn't work. I called the service center and they said that everyone who calls has the same problem and it involves the tanks not being tight or the door not all the way down. Guwess what? if everyone has the same problem it is a product problem and not a user problem. Fix the darn thing. The first time we used it the product was doing fine and then stopped sucking. We removed the tanks and re-installed. No luck. It is going back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Assembly Required

12/07/2010
By ,
Boston, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very hard to put together. Bought it over a month ago and all the men in my family still haven't been able to put it together. The instructions even tell you to call them so they can help you walk through it before you return the product so they know.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

didnt suck the water back up

02/22/2013
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
took apart and put together again, making extra sure that the tank was seated correctly . . . no luck, would not suck up the water from the carpet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 646 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  33 Next