Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Hoover Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

The Hoover SteamVac with Clean Surge F5914900 is designed to help you keep your carpets and upholstery clean. It features Hoover SpinScrub technology with multi-directional brushes that surround carpet fibers and remove dirt at every angle. This Hoover carpet cleaner has a powerful 12-amp motor that allows it to effortlessly deliver a thoroughly clean carpet with minimal drying time. Clean Surge technology applies extra detergent to stains and heavy traffic areas. The high-velocity suction of this steam vacuum carpet cleaner effectively removes dirt plus water and detergent residue, and forced heat speeds the drying process. Even hard-to-clean stains and odors can be removed. The Hoover SteamVac with Clean Surge F5914900 would make an impressive addition to just about any collection of cleaning tools. It has a 3-speed brushroll control with settings for normal cleaning, gentle cleaning and spill pickup, plus a powered hand tool for stairs and upholstery.
Average Customer Rating:
4.175 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(812 Reviews) 725
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
477
4 stars
196
3 stars
27
2 stars
28
1 star
84
Customer Recommendation86%694 out of 804reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
92 Questions | 560 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
477
4 stars
196
3 stars
27
2 stars
28
1 star
84
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

don't buy

05/18/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product because hoover is for the most part a great product i mean there vacumes are awsome but the steam cleaner on the other hand was awful in fact i took it back and got a bissel. while the steam cleaner it's self looks great and works the attachments are a joke. Every single time I tryed to use the attachments I got soaked along with water spraying to my roof. Yes, my roof i had carpet cleaner chemicals all over me and everything else. The attachment connects to the front with a little tube that the pressure blows off resulting in water everywhere If it wasnt for this it would have been a great product
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

43btu42

10/26/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Before buying a carpet steam cleaner I did some online research. This product had generally good reviews with most of the complaints very similar - the product would stop working. The cleaner would stop working because the tanks were not tight or the door was not all the way down, whatever. I just assumed these users were feeble minded and did not read the directions. I did. And it still doesn't work. I called the service center and they said that everyone who calls has the same problem and it involves the tanks not being tight or the door not all the way down. Guwess what? if everyone has the same problem it is a product problem and not a user problem. Fix the darn thing. The first time we used it the product was doing fine and then stopped sucking. We removed the tanks and re-installed. No luck. It is going back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Assembly Required

12/07/2010
By ,
Boston, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very hard to put together. Bought it over a month ago and all the men in my family still haven't been able to put it together. The instructions even tell you to call them so they can help you walk through it before you return the product so they know.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Piece of junk

12/23/2010
By ,
lexington, sc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this to replace my old bissell. I read the reviews and decided to try it out. What a mistake. I have used it twice and both times it refused to pick up water off my carpets. I tried it on bare floors and it picks up fine. I have low berber and now it's just wet. Will be throwing this in the trash and sticking with what I know works.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Bummed!!

05/19/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I did my research & this product was the #1 consumer steam cleaner on several web sites. I was so excited to receive it in the mail & try it out. The steam cleaner went together fairly easy. The first time we tried to use it the brushes wouldn't spin, no matter what setting it was on or what we tried. With the vacuum running we manually spun the brushes & they stayed spinning for that cleaning. We were pretty impressed with how much dirt it picked up & how dry it left the carpets. The next day we tried to use it again & the brushes wouldn't work, even with manual manipulation. I don't want a steam cleaner that only works part of the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NY, NY
small but annoying issue; fixable
Posted 08/22/2013
if you have a DIYer somewhere in the 'hood. In one of the Amazon reviews, the process is described in some detail but essentially one has to disassemble the unit -- easier than it sounds having read the Amazon reviewer's procedure -- and wiggle some part of the spinner drive mechanism; after which all seems fine.
Another prime example of why DESIGN is so important. Get the design right and these kinds of issues will not happen. Here we have a good idea but some weak spot in the design (which is easily fixed or at least bypassed) results in poor performance. Advice to engineering managers everywhere: hire the kids but have them doing routine work until they have the experience needed to understand that good design is more important that the photos of their junk will ever be. ;-)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900
10/02/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was not at all pleased with this item because it was a birthday gift for my daughter in law and when it arrived one side of it was all busted up so I was a little embarrassed to say the least!!!!
Recommends this product? No
-17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bad review
Posted 12/29/2011
Why would you right this as a review? This is not a review of the cleaner this is a review of the delivery.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Never got it to work

10/17/2011
By ,
New Jersey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this one because the reviews said it was easy to assemble and use. It wasn't that easy to assemble and I didn't get to use it. The water would not come out. I took it apart and put it back together several times, went online and watched the tutorial and did it again. Still no water would come out. I called the 800 number on the machine. The first lady told me it had to be primed. so I pumped the handle for 20 minutes and still no water. Called back, got another lady who had me take the whole thing apart. When I asked her how to take the rotating brushes off she got an attitude with me. When she told me to pump the handle turn on the machine and pump it agian. she accused me of not doing it because she didn't hear the machine come on. She recommended I return it but since the sticker on the machine said "do not return to store" I asked her how to return it and she said "take it back to where you got it" and hung up on me. I will NEVER purchase another Hoover. and I will be returning this one tomorrow
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Lasted only 6 months

11/05/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very happy with this product, I have kids and it helps a lot to clean the carpet mess; however this machine stopped sucking the water with no evidence that something was going wrong. Will try another steam vac but for sure it won't be Hoover.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900
11/26/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had to return it. It would not pickup any liquid. Left my carpets wet!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900
02/06/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought what I thought was a new carpet cleaner, but I opened up the box to find out that it was used and missing parts. They just put it in a new box and sat it back on the shelf.It is hard to put together, and is not a steam cleaner. You just put the hot water in your self, going to buy a Bissell.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Worked ONE time only!

02/17/2012
By ,
Bogart, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked the first time I used it, but once I emptied the dirty water reservoir it stopped sucking up water from the carpet ... and I had it installed correctly. I checked it many times! It is heavy and the hose tubes are in the way of each other - it's weird - they have to stick out awkwardly because there is no room for them all to go together. It's just not worth the money, effort and time for all the hassle and it quit sucking up the water! The nozzle spray out in space instead of a focused spray. No thanks.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Look elsewhere!

08/03/2012
By ,
McKinney, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I researched carpet cleaners and bought this one after reading Consumer Reports ratings on it. My carpet was absolutely filthy after dog sitting two large dogs for 2 months. The carpet was cleaned beautifully but the machine brush broke after the 3rd room! I love the performance and ease of use of this machine but the quality of construction is awful! I'm so sad that I will have to return it. I've used a Bissell before and the Hoover outperformed it but the Bissell was more durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Keeps breaking, hand attachment is a joke

08/21/2012
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This broke after the first weekend I used it. It would just constantly spray water even if you were not holding the button down, and when I would turn it on, a huge gush of water would come out the bottom. Took me forever to get it to a place to fix it, and right after that it now sounds like a jet plane when I turn it on and makes this god awful noise that sounds like gears grinding or something, as well as melting rubber smell after running it for a few minutes. Also, the hand attachment is a joke. It is a pain in the butt to remove the hose and attach it to the tank just to use the attachment. My mother has a hoover steamvac but hers has the hand attachment already attached in the right place. You simply pop the attachment on the end of the hose and start using it that way and it is so easy. I don't even use the attachment on this one, it's such a pain. Also, the water just barely drizzles out of the attachment. So it doesn't really clean anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Terrible!!

08/25/2012
By ,
Flagstaff, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had to order this cleaner twice. Both times when I would put the tank that holds the clean water on the machine it would leak all over the floor and leave me with a huge puddle in my carpet. I called Hoover and they said it sounded like a loose hose or gasket. After the second time of this happening I decided it was time to try a Bissel. Because of this whole process and time it took to get a machine that worked, I will not buy a Hoover carpet cleaner again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Very disappointed!

10/16/2012
By ,
Winslow, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I agree with other reviewers for this steam vac. The constructon of this machine is made out of cheap plastic. It's a pain to attach/unattach the hose. I do have to say that it has great suction. It removed so much of the water that my chair I used it on was dried the next morning. Unfortunetly it leaked from the bottom of the carpet cleaner the whole time it was in use (I didn't use the carpet cleaning part) even when the machine was turned off. I returned it to Walmart the next day. If Hoover would redesign this product and use better quality material they would have a hit instead of a miss.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900
10/19/2012
By ,
Oak Park, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you want the stains and grubby gone from your carpet this machine is great for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Leaked

12/20/2012
By ,
Jefferson City, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The cleaner leaked as soon as the water/soap container was installed. Assembled 3 times and still could not stop the leaks. Call factory and was told to return it. Also looked like it had been repackaged. There was no cardboard under the cleaning head that was to be removed before used as the other Hoover I pick up at the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Arrived defective

12/27/2012
By ,
Dyersburg, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit would not work unless clean surge was engaged. Contacted Hoover, their customer service response time was poor. Service center is 50 miles away. Repair time could take as long as 6 weeks
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

cheap plastic

12/29/2012
By ,
Williamsburg,VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wasn't sure to buy after reading reviews, but I did anyway, big mistake. After assembly, I noticed it would wobble in upright position. Looked closely, and noticed the handle near the base was cracked. I disassembled and returned it. Just made cheaply which reflects the cheap price.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Hard to put together

01/13/2013
By ,
Marlinton,WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have owned one of these before and gave are's to someone else so we thought we can get the same one cause we liked the one we had, but the one we had was put together when it was given to me, This product is really hard to put together and even after memorizing the instructions, and taking it back apart 3 or 4 times because it leaked water all over my carpet, Its still leaking water the surge button is stuck or broke and there's no way to get into the handle to fix it so my husband had to stick something up the handle to pop the button back up and even after doing all this and putting it back together it is still leaking water everywhere, and are carpets are so dirty that they have to be shampooed so what we are doing just so we can shampoo we put the tank in long enough to get the carpet wet and then take it back out so we can suck it back up and after we are done shampooing I am taking it back to Walmart and getting the Bissel Pro heat the one I wanted to begin with but was sold out
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 633 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  32 Next