Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Hoover Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

The Hoover SteamVac with Clean Surge F5914900 is designed to help you keep your carpets and upholstery clean. It features Hoover SpinScrub technology with multi-directional brushes that surround carpet fibers and remove dirt at every angle. This Hoover carpet cleaner has a powerful 12-amp motor that allows it to effortlessly deliver a thoroughly clean carpet with minimal drying time. Clean Surge technology applies extra detergent to stains and heavy traffic areas. The high-velocity suction of this steam vacuum carpet cleaner effectively removes dirt plus water and detergent residue, and forced heat speeds the drying process. Even hard-to-clean stains and odors can be removed. The Hoover SteamVac with Clean Surge F5914900 would make an impressive addition to just about any collection of cleaning tools. It has a 3-speed brushroll control with settings for normal cleaning, gentle cleaning and spill pickup, plus a powered hand tool for stairs and upholstery.
Average Customer Rating:
4.131 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(926 Reviews) 839
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
530
4 stars
228
3 stars
32
2 stars
31
1 star
105
Customer Recommendation86%787 out of 917reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
103 Questions | 602 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
530
4 stars
228
3 stars
32
2 stars
31
1 star
105
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

don't buy this

04/12/2013
By ,
ashtabula ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
hated this product first time used it..i have light tan carpet with pets and kids. Leaves carpet streaky and still dirty..i had a bissel pro heat before this and it stopped working within two years, but at least it cleaned carpet good and fast..hoover takes forever going back and forth over same area and still doesn't clean carpet..i wouldn't even take one of these for free..don't waste your money!!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

terrible experience leaked profusely returned it

02/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
upholstery
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Did not even make it through one room

02/20/2014
By ,
florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just bought this machine I emptied the tank once and now the brushes won't spin. Back to Wmart it goes.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

terrible

09/07/2014
By ,
near san antonio, texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this machine leaks water then doesn't pick it up right. the carpet is too wet. it is clean though. i would never recommend this cleaner. when i called the company they said it was discontinued. then why is walmart still selling it?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
From HooverUSA09/24/2014
Hi Ruthkh! This cleaner is not discontinued. If cleaner won't pick up it could be due to the dirty water tank lid not being positioned properly. We want to help make this right and restore your faith in us. Please email Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com Thank you.

-Giselle
Hoover Customer CareHoover
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

43btu42

10/26/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Before buying a carpet steam cleaner I did some online research. This product had generally good reviews with most of the complaints very similar - the product would stop working. The cleaner would stop working because the tanks were not tight or the door was not all the way down, whatever. I just assumed these users were feeble minded and did not read the directions. I did. And it still doesn't work. I called the service center and they said that everyone who calls has the same problem and it involves the tanks not being tight or the door not all the way down. Guwess what? if everyone has the same problem it is a product problem and not a user problem. Fix the darn thing. The first time we used it the product was doing fine and then stopped sucking. We removed the tanks and re-installed. No luck. It is going back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Terrible!!

08/25/2012
By ,
Flagstaff, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had to order this cleaner twice. Both times when I would put the tank that holds the clean water on the machine it would leak all over the floor and leave me with a huge puddle in my carpet. I called Hoover and they said it sounded like a loose hose or gasket. After the second time of this happening I decided it was time to try a Bissel. Because of this whole process and time it took to get a machine that worked, I will not buy a Hoover carpet cleaner again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Arrived defective

12/27/2012
By ,
Dyersburg, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit would not work unless clean surge was engaged. Contacted Hoover, their customer service response time was poor. Service center is 50 miles away. Repair time could take as long as 6 weeks
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Horrible

11/14/2013
By ,
Uxbridge, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I spent weeks researching machines and bought this one. I like that it has separate water bins. The 1st time I used it was fine. The next time it fell apart, literally. A plastic tab holds the scrubbing brushes in, it broke. I decided to clean the furniture if I couldn't clean the floor. The hose sprayed but then wouldn't suck it up, my furniture was soaked. Then when taking it back to the store the plastic that holds the handle upright broke and hit me in the head! Don't bother, next time I will buy a Bissell.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
Don't!!
Posted 12/16/2013
Bissell broke on me- I ended up with more on me than I got from the carpet!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900
08/20/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
brushes did not spin. needed warranty repair before first use. very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Piece of junk

12/23/2010
By ,
lexington, sc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this to replace my old bissell. I read the reviews and decided to try it out. What a mistake. I have used it twice and both times it refused to pick up water off my carpets. I tried it on bare floors and it picks up fine. I have low berber and now it's just wet. Will be throwing this in the trash and sticking with what I know works.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

don't buy

05/18/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product because hoover is for the most part a great product i mean there vacumes are awsome but the steam cleaner on the other hand was awful in fact i took it back and got a bissel. while the steam cleaner it's self looks great and works the attachments are a joke. Every single time I tryed to use the attachments I got soaked along with water spraying to my roof. Yes, my roof i had carpet cleaner chemicals all over me and everything else. The attachment connects to the front with a little tube that the pressure blows off resulting in water everywhere If it wasnt for this it would have been a great product
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Returning this product

08/08/2013
By ,
Granbury, texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm having to return as the water tank was leaking profusely when you click into place in the unit. I found the overall unit made of cheap plastic compared to the last Hoover unit I owned. I will upgrade and hope the next model will be of higher quality than this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Worked ONE time only!

02/17/2012
By ,
Bogart, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked the first time I used it, but once I emptied the dirty water reservoir it stopped sucking up water from the carpet ... and I had it installed correctly. I checked it many times! It is heavy and the hose tubes are in the way of each other - it's weird - they have to stick out awkwardly because there is no room for them all to go together. It's just not worth the money, effort and time for all the hassle and it quit sucking up the water! The nozzle spray out in space instead of a focused spray. No thanks.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Don't waste your money.

08/08/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Hoover SteamVac lasted two tankfuls of water and then quit. Thankfully, our local Walmart accepted the return.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900
11/26/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had to return it. It would not pickup any liquid. Left my carpets wet!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

cheap plastic

12/29/2012
By ,
Williamsburg,VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wasn't sure to buy after reading reviews, but I did anyway, big mistake. After assembly, I noticed it would wobble in upright position. Looked closely, and noticed the handle near the base was cracked. I disassembled and returned it. Just made cheaply which reflects the cheap price.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

got it out of box. the brushes wouldn't turn.

04/08/2013
By ,
pa.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
called hoover. the end result was the tubrine was not working. was told I could get it repaired or return it to walmart store near me, thats what I did.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Leaked

12/20/2012
By ,
Jefferson City, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The cleaner leaked as soon as the water/soap container was installed. Assembled 3 times and still could not stop the leaks. Call factory and was told to return it. Also looked like it had been repackaged. There was no cardboard under the cleaning head that was to be removed before used as the other Hoover I pick up at the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Poor Quality

02/16/2013
By ,
Buffalo, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked once and then stopped sucking up the water. Both water reservoirs are too small, so you will be constantly adding and emptying water (if it sucks up the water). The only good thing that I can say is that it was easy to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

didnt suck the water back up

02/22/2013
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
took apart and put together again, making extra sure that the tank was seated correctly . . . no luck, would not suck up the water from the carpet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 722 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  37 Next