Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Hoover Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

The Hoover SteamVac with Clean Surge F5914900 is designed to help you keep your carpets and upholstery clean. It features Hoover SpinScrub technology with multi-directional brushes that surround carpet fibers and remove dirt at every angle. This Hoover carpet cleaner has a powerful 12-amp motor that allows it to effortlessly deliver a thoroughly clean carpet with minimal drying time. Clean Surge technology applies extra detergent to stains and heavy traffic areas. The high-velocity suction of this steam vacuum carpet cleaner effectively removes dirt plus water and detergent residue, and forced heat speeds the drying process. Even hard-to-clean stains and odors can be removed. The Hoover SteamVac with Clean Surge F5914900 would make an impressive addition to just about any collection of cleaning tools. It has a 3-speed brushroll control with settings for normal cleaning, gentle cleaning and spill pickup, plus a powered hand tool for stairs and upholstery.
Average Customer Rating:
4.138 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(956 Reviews) 869
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
551
4 stars
231
3 stars
35
2 stars
33
1 star
106
Customer Recommendation86%812 out of 946reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
107 Questions | 613 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
551
4 stars
231
3 stars
35
2 stars
33
1 star
106
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Assembly Required

12/07/2010
By ,
Boston, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very hard to put together. Bought it over a month ago and all the men in my family still haven't been able to put it together. The instructions even tell you to call them so they can help you walk through it before you return the product so they know.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900
03/06/2013
By ,
Atl, ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unfortunately my Hoover wouldn't suction at all, so I'll be taking it back for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Hoover SteamVac Clean Surge arrived DIRTY

04/19/2013
By ,
Wichita Kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When our Hoover SteamVac with Clean Surge arrived it had scratchs was dirty and looked used so we returned it to Walmart for a refund. We purchased it because it received over 3000 customer reviews so we figured it was a good buy but we never got to find-out after it arrived in less than poor condition it made us change our minds about purchasing it so I can only give the "Value line a average rating all others are poor because of the condition it arrived in.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Very disappointed

03/29/2014
By ,
TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After reading many of the reviews I was excited to make my new purchase. However, I had to return it. As soon as I put the water tank on, it drained all the water, the brushes did not spin and the handle lever was not working. It looked a little flimsy at first but I was sure that Hoover would not disappoint me since I previously purchased a similar vacuum and it had worked very well. Despite all this I think that one was just defective so I will give it another shot.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

don't buy this

04/12/2013
By ,
ashtabula ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
hated this product first time used it..i have light tan carpet with pets and kids. Leaves carpet streaky and still dirty..i had a bissel pro heat before this and it stopped working within two years, but at least it cleaned carpet good and fast..hoover takes forever going back and forth over same area and still doesn't clean carpet..i wouldn't even take one of these for free..don't waste your money!!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

HOOVER NOT GOOD

09/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MY hoover broke in 6 months the scrubber on the bottom came off and also left my carpet burnt.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
From HooverUSA09/05/2014
Hi Tamara,
We want to know what happened. Please email Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com so we can provide further assistance. Thanks! --John, Hoover Customer CareHoover
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Arrived Broken

09/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
One of the latches that hold the water tank in place is made out of a cheap piece of plastic that was broken when I opened the box. Had to return the unit, and I bought a different brand
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Stopped working the second time I used it

07/04/2014
By ,
Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the Hoover SteamVac with Clean Surge and it worked great the first time. The second time i went to use it, it went through a whole tank of water and NONE was suctioned up. What a mess. I did everything the manual said to check and still no suction. I am extremely disappointed withe the product. Will not buy nor recommend this carpet cleaner.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
From HooverUSA07/14/2014
Hi teetime1956!s I believe I know exactly what the problem is and have a solution. If your Steam Vac wont pick up, it is due to the dirty water tank lid not being positioned properly. Here is a video: http://bit.ly/VYxnGd that is very helpful.

-Giselle
Hoover Customer CareHoover
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Piece of junk

12/23/2010
By ,
lexington, sc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this to replace my old bissell. I read the reviews and decided to try it out. What a mistake. I have used it twice and both times it refused to pick up water off my carpets. I tried it on bare floors and it picks up fine. I have low berber and now it's just wet. Will be throwing this in the trash and sticking with what I know works.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900
01/25/2013
By ,
Hagerstown, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Piece of junk! never got to use it, had to rent one, don't worry! it's coming back to you. water with solution comes out....will not suck back up, nice mess.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

POOR QUALITY

06/22/2013
By ,
Outer Banks, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the older version of this steamvac which worked fabulously for 14 years and then started leaking. Got 14 years of hard use out of which I thought was pretty darned great. So, I bought this newer model which is almost exactly like the old one. The trigger to release the cleaning solution stopped working the third time I used it, so I just used the clean surge button instead. Thought I could deal with that. Then, I went to clean the next room and neither the clean surge button or the trigger release would work! VERY disgusted with HOOVER at this point. Should have bought a BISSELL, their cleaning solution cleans better too.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Look elsewhere!

08/03/2012
By ,
McKinney, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I researched carpet cleaners and bought this one after reading Consumer Reports ratings on it. My carpet was absolutely filthy after dog sitting two large dogs for 2 months. The carpet was cleaned beautifully but the machine brush broke after the 3rd room! I love the performance and ease of use of this machine but the quality of construction is awful! I'm so sad that I will have to return it. I've used a Bissell before and the Hoover outperformed it but the Bissell was more durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900
10/19/2012
By ,
Oak Park, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you want the stains and grubby gone from your carpet this machine is great for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

don't buy

05/18/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product because hoover is for the most part a great product i mean there vacumes are awsome but the steam cleaner on the other hand was awful in fact i took it back and got a bissel. while the steam cleaner it's self looks great and works the attachments are a joke. Every single time I tryed to use the attachments I got soaked along with water spraying to my roof. Yes, my roof i had carpet cleaner chemicals all over me and everything else. The attachment connects to the front with a little tube that the pressure blows off resulting in water everywhere If it wasnt for this it would have been a great product
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900
10/02/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was not at all pleased with this item because it was a birthday gift for my daughter in law and when it arrived one side of it was all busted up so I was a little embarrassed to say the least!!!!
Recommends this product? No
-17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bad review
Posted 12/29/2011
Why would you right this as a review? This is not a review of the cleaner this is a review of the delivery.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

terrible

09/07/2014
By ,
near san antonio, texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this machine leaks water then doesn't pick it up right. the carpet is too wet. it is clean though. i would never recommend this cleaner. when i called the company they said it was discontinued. then why is walmart still selling it?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
From HooverUSA09/24/2014
Hi Ruthkh! This cleaner is not discontinued. If cleaner won't pick up it could be due to the dirty water tank lid not being positioned properly. We want to help make this right and restore your faith in us. Please email Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com Thank you.

-Giselle
Hoover Customer CareHoover
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

cheap plastic parts

10/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cleans well but plastic trigger handle broke with 3rd use!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
From HooverUSA12/18/2014
Hi lkirby021! You shouldn't of had any problems with the trigger handle to your cleaner. This does not sound like the quality we strive for. We want to help make this right. Can you please email Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com for better assistance?

-Giselle
Hoover Customer CareHoover
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

didnt suck the water back up

02/22/2013
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
took apart and put together again, making extra sure that the tank was seated correctly . . . no luck, would not suck up the water from the carpet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

got it out of box. the brushes wouldn't turn.

04/08/2013
By ,
pa.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
called hoover. the end result was the tubrine was not working. was told I could get it repaired or return it to walmart store near me, thats what I did.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Did not even make it through one room

02/20/2014
By ,
florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just bought this machine I emptied the tank once and now the brushes won't spin. Back to Wmart it goes.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 743 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  38 Next