Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Hoover Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Now, keep your carpets, upholstery, and stairs spotless with the Hoover SteamVac carpet cleaner. It features Hoover SpinScrub technology with multi-directional brushes that surround carpet fibers and remove dirt at every angle. The high-velocity suction of this vacuum cleaner removes dirty water and detergent residue, and then forced heat speeds the drying process, leaving carpet revitalized. With a 12-amp motor, the cleaner drives away dirt and dust with perfection. The Hoover floor cleaner has a 3-speed brushroll with different settings for normal cleaning, gentle cleaning, and spill pickup. This vacuum cleaner is meant for use only on carpeted surfaces.
Average Customer Rating:
4.198 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(729 Reviews) 642
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
434
4 stars
175
3 stars
23
2 stars
24
1 star
73
Customer Recommendation87%625 out of 722reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
80 Questions | 499 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
434
4 stars
175
3 stars
23
2 stars
24
1 star
73
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

POOR QUALITY

06/22/2013
By ,
Outer Banks, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the older version of this steamvac which worked fabulously for 14 years and then started leaking. Got 14 years of hard use out of which I thought was pretty darned great. So, I bought this newer model which is almost exactly like the old one. The trigger to release the cleaning solution stopped working the third time I used it, so I just used the clean surge button instead. Thought I could deal with that. Then, I went to clean the next room and neither the clean surge button or the trigger release would work! VERY disgusted with HOOVER at this point. Should have bought a BISSELL, their cleaning solution cleans better too.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Look elsewhere!

08/03/2012
By ,
McKinney, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I researched carpet cleaners and bought this one after reading Consumer Reports ratings on it. My carpet was absolutely filthy after dog sitting two large dogs for 2 months. The carpet was cleaned beautifully but the machine brush broke after the 3rd room! I love the performance and ease of use of this machine but the quality of construction is awful! I'm so sad that I will have to return it. I've used a Bissell before and the Hoover outperformed it but the Bissell was more durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900
01/25/2013
By ,
Hagerstown, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Piece of junk! never got to use it, had to rent one, don't worry! it's coming back to you. water with solution comes out....will not suck back up, nice mess.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

got it out of box. the brushes wouldn't turn.

04/08/2013
By ,
pa.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
called hoover. the end result was the tubrine was not working. was told I could get it repaired or return it to walmart store near me, thats what I did.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Arrived defective

12/27/2012
By ,
Dyersburg, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit would not work unless clean surge was engaged. Contacted Hoover, their customer service response time was poor. Service center is 50 miles away. Repair time could take as long as 6 weeks
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Leaked

12/20/2012
By ,
Jefferson City, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The cleaner leaked as soon as the water/soap container was installed. Assembled 3 times and still could not stop the leaks. Call factory and was told to return it. Also looked like it had been repackaged. There was no cardboard under the cleaning head that was to be removed before used as the other Hoover I pick up at the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Bummed!!

05/19/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I did my research & this product was the #1 consumer steam cleaner on several web sites. I was so excited to receive it in the mail & try it out. The steam cleaner went together fairly easy. The first time we tried to use it the brushes wouldn't spin, no matter what setting it was on or what we tried. With the vacuum running we manually spun the brushes & they stayed spinning for that cleaning. We were pretty impressed with how much dirt it picked up & how dry it left the carpets. The next day we tried to use it again & the brushes wouldn't work, even with manual manipulation. I don't want a steam cleaner that only works part of the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NY, NY
small but annoying issue; fixable
Posted 08/22/2013
if you have a DIYer somewhere in the 'hood. In one of the Amazon reviews, the process is described in some detail but essentially one has to disassemble the unit -- easier than it sounds having read the Amazon reviewer's procedure -- and wiggle some part of the spinner drive mechanism; after which all seems fine.
Another prime example of why DESIGN is so important. Get the design right and these kinds of issues will not happen. Here we have a good idea but some weak spot in the design (which is easily fixed or at least bypassed) results in poor performance. Advice to engineering managers everywhere: hire the kids but have them doing routine work until they have the experience needed to understand that good design is more important that the photos of their junk will ever be. ;-)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Assembly Required

12/07/2010
By ,
Boston, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very hard to put together. Bought it over a month ago and all the men in my family still haven't been able to put it together. The instructions even tell you to call them so they can help you walk through it before you return the product so they know.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Piece of junk

12/23/2010
By ,
lexington, sc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this to replace my old bissell. I read the reviews and decided to try it out. What a mistake. I have used it twice and both times it refused to pick up water off my carpets. I tried it on bare floors and it picks up fine. I have low berber and now it's just wet. Will be throwing this in the trash and sticking with what I know works.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Hoover SteamVac Clean Surge arrived DIRTY

04/19/2013
By ,
Wichita Kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When our Hoover SteamVac with Clean Surge arrived it had scratchs was dirty and looked used so we returned it to Walmart for a refund. We purchased it because it received over 3000 customer reviews so we figured it was a good buy but we never got to find-out after it arrived in less than poor condition it made us change our minds about purchasing it so I can only give the "Value line a average rating all others are poor because of the condition it arrived in.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Horrible

11/14/2013
By ,
Uxbridge, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I spent weeks researching machines and bought this one. I like that it has separate water bins. The 1st time I used it was fine. The next time it fell apart, literally. A plastic tab holds the scrubbing brushes in, it broke. I decided to clean the furniture if I couldn't clean the floor. The hose sprayed but then wouldn't suck it up, my furniture was soaked. Then when taking it back to the store the plastic that holds the handle upright broke and hit me in the head! Don't bother, next time I will buy a Bissell.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
Don't!!
Posted 12/16/2013
Bissell broke on me- I ended up with more on me than I got from the carpet!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Lasted only 6 months

11/05/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very happy with this product, I have kids and it helps a lot to clean the carpet mess; however this machine stopped sucking the water with no evidence that something was going wrong. Will try another steam vac but for sure it won't be Hoover.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Poor Quality

10/11/2013
By ,
Morehead City, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought my first F5914-900 Carpet Cleaner about 3 years ago. The unit cleaned well and did a good job drying the carpet, which is a plus. However, the unit has design and quality issues.
Issues:
1. The hose rack does not keep the tank end of the hose attached, causing it to drag around,
2. The latch that holds the handle upright broke, this results in being unable to move the unit around without picking up the cleaner from the bottom.
3. I had to fuss with the machine a lot to keep the dirty water tank seal working so that the machine would maintain suction,
4. Recently the motor failed with a great deal of smoke. I disassembled the unit to find that the motor brushes had failed and that the motor armature was ruined; at $75 to $95 for a new motor and no assurance that I could get a fully operation cleaner, I opted to toss the unit.
I purchased a second F5914-900 based on cleaning experience. I found that on the first use that the catch (on the opposite side of the on/off switch) that keeps the arm upright would not hold; it is very flimsy, releasing with just slight pressure.
Also, the little door that you open to attach the solution hose for the hand attachment came off.
I promptly took the unit back to Wal-Mart for a full refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

It was a returned item. Dirty.

09/14/2013
By ,
New York
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was disappointed with the item because I was sent a used item. The Steam
Vac was dusty. They should't have sent me a dirty vac. I am very allergic to dust.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Poor Quality

02/16/2013
By ,
Buffalo, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked once and then stopped sucking up the water. Both water reservoirs are too small, so you will be constantly adding and emptying water (if it sucks up the water). The only good thing that I can say is that it was easy to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Worked ONE time only!

02/17/2012
By ,
Bogart, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked the first time I used it, but once I emptied the dirty water reservoir it stopped sucking up water from the carpet ... and I had it installed correctly. I checked it many times! It is heavy and the hose tubes are in the way of each other - it's weird - they have to stick out awkwardly because there is no room for them all to go together. It's just not worth the money, effort and time for all the hassle and it quit sucking up the water! The nozzle spray out in space instead of a focused spray. No thanks.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

cheap plastic

12/29/2012
By ,
Williamsburg,VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wasn't sure to buy after reading reviews, but I did anyway, big mistake. After assembly, I noticed it would wobble in upright position. Looked closely, and noticed the handle near the base was cracked. I disassembled and returned it. Just made cheaply which reflects the cheap price.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900
03/06/2013
By ,
Atl, ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unfortunately my Hoover wouldn't suction at all, so I'll be taking it back for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900
08/20/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
brushes did not spin. needed warranty repair before first use. very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Don't waste your money.

08/08/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Hoover SteamVac lasted two tankfuls of water and then quit. Thankfully, our local Walmart accepted the return.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 561 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  29 Next