Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Hoover Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

The Hoover SteamVac with Clean Surge F5914900 is designed to help you keep your carpets and upholstery clean. It features Hoover SpinScrub technology with multi-directional brushes that surround carpet fibers and remove dirt at every angle. This Hoover carpet cleaner has a powerful 12-amp motor that allows it to effortlessly deliver a thoroughly clean carpet with minimal drying time. Clean Surge technology applies extra detergent to stains and heavy traffic areas. The high-velocity suction of this steam vacuum carpet cleaner effectively removes dirt plus water and detergent residue, and forced heat speeds the drying process. Even hard-to-clean stains and odors can be removed. The Hoover SteamVac with Clean Surge F5914900 would make an impressive addition to just about any collection of cleaning tools. It has a 3-speed brushroll control with settings for normal cleaning, gentle cleaning and spill pickup, plus a powered hand tool for stairs and upholstery.
Average Customer Rating:
4.138 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(885 Reviews) 798
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
510
4 stars
216
3 stars
30
2 stars
29
1 star
100
Customer Recommendation86%752 out of 876reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
100 Questions | 597 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
510
4 stars
216
3 stars
30
2 stars
29
1 star
100
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Don't waste your money.

08/08/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Hoover SteamVac lasted two tankfuls of water and then quit. Thankfully, our local Walmart accepted the return.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Returning this product

08/08/2013
By ,
Granbury, texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm having to return as the water tank was leaking profusely when you click into place in the unit. I found the overall unit made of cheap plastic compared to the last Hoover unit I owned. I will upgrade and hope the next model will be of higher quality than this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Piece of junk

12/23/2010
By ,
lexington, sc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this to replace my old bissell. I read the reviews and decided to try it out. What a mistake. I have used it twice and both times it refused to pick up water off my carpets. I tried it on bare floors and it picks up fine. I have low berber and now it's just wet. Will be throwing this in the trash and sticking with what I know works.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Not Satisfied

05/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought machine just over a year ago, only used machine twice. The machine will no longer suction the water into the tank. Do not recommend
Recommends this product? No
From HooverUSA06/18/2014
Hi tkjeremiah! The Steam Vac with Clean Surge should not lose suction after only 2 uses even though it is1 yr old. The issue could be the dirty water tank lid is not positioned properly. Here is a video that I find very helpful:http://bit.ly/1n7Y3ep

-Giselle
Hoover Customer CareHoover
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Lasted only 6 months

11/05/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very happy with this product, I have kids and it helps a lot to clean the carpet mess; however this machine stopped sucking the water with no evidence that something was going wrong. Will try another steam vac but for sure it won't be Hoover.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Very disappointed!

10/16/2012
By ,
Winslow, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I agree with other reviewers for this steam vac. The constructon of this machine is made out of cheap plastic. It's a pain to attach/unattach the hose. I do have to say that it has great suction. It removed so much of the water that my chair I used it on was dried the next morning. Unfortunetly it leaked from the bottom of the carpet cleaner the whole time it was in use (I didn't use the carpet cleaning part) even when the machine was turned off. I returned it to Walmart the next day. If Hoover would redesign this product and use better quality material they would have a hit instead of a miss.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Worked ONE time only!

02/17/2012
By ,
Bogart, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked the first time I used it, but once I emptied the dirty water reservoir it stopped sucking up water from the carpet ... and I had it installed correctly. I checked it many times! It is heavy and the hose tubes are in the way of each other - it's weird - they have to stick out awkwardly because there is no room for them all to go together. It's just not worth the money, effort and time for all the hassle and it quit sucking up the water! The nozzle spray out in space instead of a focused spray. No thanks.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Leaked

12/20/2012
By ,
Jefferson City, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The cleaner leaked as soon as the water/soap container was installed. Assembled 3 times and still could not stop the leaks. Call factory and was told to return it. Also looked like it had been repackaged. There was no cardboard under the cleaning head that was to be removed before used as the other Hoover I pick up at the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Hard to put together

01/13/2013
By ,
Marlinton,WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have owned one of these before and gave are's to someone else so we thought we can get the same one cause we liked the one we had, but the one we had was put together when it was given to me, This product is really hard to put together and even after memorizing the instructions, and taking it back apart 3 or 4 times because it leaked water all over my carpet, Its still leaking water the surge button is stuck or broke and there's no way to get into the handle to fix it so my husband had to stick something up the handle to pop the button back up and even after doing all this and putting it back together it is still leaking water everywhere, and are carpets are so dirty that they have to be shampooed so what we are doing just so we can shampoo we put the tank in long enough to get the carpet wet and then take it back out so we can suck it back up and after we are done shampooing I am taking it back to Walmart and getting the Bissel Pro heat the one I wanted to begin with but was sold out
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Terrible!!

08/25/2012
By ,
Flagstaff, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had to order this cleaner twice. Both times when I would put the tank that holds the clean water on the machine it would leak all over the floor and leave me with a huge puddle in my carpet. I called Hoover and they said it sounded like a loose hose or gasket. After the second time of this happening I decided it was time to try a Bissel. Because of this whole process and time it took to get a machine that worked, I will not buy a Hoover carpet cleaner again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

didnt suck the water back up

02/22/2013
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
took apart and put together again, making extra sure that the tank was seated correctly . . . no luck, would not suck up the water from the carpet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900
10/19/2012
By ,
Oak Park, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you want the stains and grubby gone from your carpet this machine is great for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

don't buy this

04/12/2013
By ,
ashtabula ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
hated this product first time used it..i have light tan carpet with pets and kids. Leaves carpet streaky and still dirty..i had a bissel pro heat before this and it stopped working within two years, but at least it cleaned carpet good and fast..hoover takes forever going back and forth over same area and still doesn't clean carpet..i wouldn't even take one of these for free..don't waste your money!!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Hoover SteamVac Clean Surge arrived DIRTY

04/19/2013
By ,
Wichita Kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When our Hoover SteamVac with Clean Surge arrived it had scratchs was dirty and looked used so we returned it to Walmart for a refund. We purchased it because it received over 3000 customer reviews so we figured it was a good buy but we never got to find-out after it arrived in less than poor condition it made us change our minds about purchasing it so I can only give the "Value line a average rating all others are poor because of the condition it arrived in.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Barely worked the first time out of the box

05/08/2013
By ,
Brenham, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We used this steamvac once. It didn't look like it was using much water. My husband had to get a sponge mop and spot clean the harder spots. The next time he went to use it the trigger mechanism wasn't working. We took it back to the store and got our money back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Poor Quality

10/11/2013
By ,
Morehead City, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought my first F5914-900 Carpet Cleaner about 3 years ago. The unit cleaned well and did a good job drying the carpet, which is a plus. However, the unit has design and quality issues.
Issues:
1. The hose rack does not keep the tank end of the hose attached, causing it to drag around,
2. The latch that holds the handle upright broke, this results in being unable to move the unit around without picking up the cleaner from the bottom.
3. I had to fuss with the machine a lot to keep the dirty water tank seal working so that the machine would maintain suction,
4. Recently the motor failed with a great deal of smoke. I disassembled the unit to find that the motor brushes had failed and that the motor armature was ruined; at $75 to $95 for a new motor and no assurance that I could get a fully operation cleaner, I opted to toss the unit.
I purchased a second F5914-900 based on cleaning experience. I found that on the first use that the catch (on the opposite side of the on/off switch) that keeps the arm upright would not hold; it is very flimsy, releasing with just slight pressure.
Also, the little door that you open to attach the solution hose for the hand attachment came off.
I promptly took the unit back to Wal-Mart for a full refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Did not even make it through one room

02/20/2014
By ,
florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just bought this machine I emptied the tank once and now the brushes won't spin. Back to Wmart it goes.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Arrived Broken

09/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
One of the latches that hold the water tank in place is made out of a cheap piece of plastic that was broken when I opened the box. Had to return the unit, and I bought a different brand
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Total piece of junk

09/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After waiting almost a month to receive this product, I am extremely disappointed. The item itself is cheaply made, wouldn't even suck up water off of my hardwood floor and the "rotating" attachment didn't rotate! The equipment is faulty and I will never buy a Hoover again! Sticking to the Bissell from here on out! Total waste of time and money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
From HooverUSA09/23/2014
Hi GaryVB, this is not the quality we pride ourselves in. We want to help make this right. Can you please email Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com for further assistance.

-Giselle
Hoover Customer CareHoover
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

HOOVER NOT GOOD

09/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MY hoover broke in 6 months the scrubber on the bottom came off and also left my carpet burnt.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
From HooverUSA09/05/2014
Hi Tamara,
We want to know what happened. Please email Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com so we can provide further assistance. Thanks! --John, Hoover Customer CareHoover
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 688 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  35 Next