Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Hoover Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

The Hoover SteamVac with Clean Surge F5914900 is designed to help you keep your carpets and upholstery clean. It features Hoover SpinScrub technology with multi-directional brushes that surround carpet fibers and remove dirt at every angle. This Hoover carpet cleaner has a powerful 12-amp motor that allows it to effortlessly deliver a thoroughly clean carpet with minimal drying time. Clean Surge technology applies extra detergent to stains and heavy traffic areas. The high-velocity suction of this steam vacuum carpet cleaner effectively removes dirt plus water and detergent residue, and forced heat speeds the drying process. Even hard-to-clean stains and odors can be removed. The Hoover SteamVac with Clean Surge F5914900 would make an impressive addition to just about any collection of cleaning tools. It has a 3-speed brushroll control with settings for normal cleaning, gentle cleaning and spill pickup, plus a powered hand tool for stairs and upholstery.
Average Customer Rating:
4.137 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(847 Reviews) 760
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
489
4 stars
204
3 stars
30
2 stars
29
1 star
95
Customer Recommendation85%717 out of 839reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
97 Questions | 577 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
489
4 stars
204
3 stars
30
2 stars
29
1 star
95
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Bummed!!

05/19/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I did my research & this product was the #1 consumer steam cleaner on several web sites. I was so excited to receive it in the mail & try it out. The steam cleaner went together fairly easy. The first time we tried to use it the brushes wouldn't spin, no matter what setting it was on or what we tried. With the vacuum running we manually spun the brushes & they stayed spinning for that cleaning. We were pretty impressed with how much dirt it picked up & how dry it left the carpets. The next day we tried to use it again & the brushes wouldn't work, even with manual manipulation. I don't want a steam cleaner that only works part of the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NY, NY
small but annoying issue; fixable
Posted 08/22/2013
if you have a DIYer somewhere in the 'hood. In one of the Amazon reviews, the process is described in some detail but essentially one has to disassemble the unit -- easier than it sounds having read the Amazon reviewer's procedure -- and wiggle some part of the spinner drive mechanism; after which all seems fine.
Another prime example of why DESIGN is so important. Get the design right and these kinds of issues will not happen. Here we have a good idea but some weak spot in the design (which is easily fixed or at least bypassed) results in poor performance. Advice to engineering managers everywhere: hire the kids but have them doing routine work until they have the experience needed to understand that good design is more important that the photos of their junk will ever be. ;-)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Poor Quality

02/16/2013
By ,
Buffalo, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked once and then stopped sucking up the water. Both water reservoirs are too small, so you will be constantly adding and emptying water (if it sucks up the water). The only good thing that I can say is that it was easy to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Arrived defective

12/27/2012
By ,
Dyersburg, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit would not work unless clean surge was engaged. Contacted Hoover, their customer service response time was poor. Service center is 50 miles away. Repair time could take as long as 6 weeks
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Don't waste your money.

08/08/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Hoover SteamVac lasted two tankfuls of water and then quit. Thankfully, our local Walmart accepted the return.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Returning this product

08/08/2013
By ,
Granbury, texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm having to return as the water tank was leaking profusely when you click into place in the unit. I found the overall unit made of cheap plastic compared to the last Hoover unit I owned. I will upgrade and hope the next model will be of higher quality than this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Piece of junk

12/23/2010
By ,
lexington, sc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this to replace my old bissell. I read the reviews and decided to try it out. What a mistake. I have used it twice and both times it refused to pick up water off my carpets. I tried it on bare floors and it picks up fine. I have low berber and now it's just wet. Will be throwing this in the trash and sticking with what I know works.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Not Satisfied

05/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought machine just over a year ago, only used machine twice. The machine will no longer suction the water into the tank. Do not recommend
Recommends this product? No
From HooverUSA06/18/2014
Hi tkjeremiah! The Steam Vac with Clean Surge should not lose suction after only 2 uses even though it is1 yr old. The issue could be the dirty water tank lid is not positioned properly. Here is a video that I find very helpful:http://bit.ly/1n7Y3ep

-Giselle
Hoover Customer CareHoover
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Not a steam vac.

09/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't let the name fool you. This does NOT produce steam or heat water. You just fill it with hot water. It does a fair, not great, job of cleaning but it is not as advertised in the name of a true steam cleaner. It is basically a vacuum cleaner that spits warm cleaning fluid on the floor and then sucks some of it up.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
From HooverUSA09/24/2014
Hi JohnGalt1, Hoover "SteamVac" is a trade name. The cleaner dispenses water and solution on carpet then the spin scrub brushes remove any stains while picking up dirty water.

-Giselle
Hoover Customer CareHoover
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Lasted only 6 months

11/05/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very happy with this product, I have kids and it helps a lot to clean the carpet mess; however this machine stopped sucking the water with no evidence that something was going wrong. Will try another steam vac but for sure it won't be Hoover.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Very disappointed!

10/16/2012
By ,
Winslow, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I agree with other reviewers for this steam vac. The constructon of this machine is made out of cheap plastic. It's a pain to attach/unattach the hose. I do have to say that it has great suction. It removed so much of the water that my chair I used it on was dried the next morning. Unfortunetly it leaked from the bottom of the carpet cleaner the whole time it was in use (I didn't use the carpet cleaning part) even when the machine was turned off. I returned it to Walmart the next day. If Hoover would redesign this product and use better quality material they would have a hit instead of a miss.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Worked ONE time only!

02/17/2012
By ,
Bogart, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked the first time I used it, but once I emptied the dirty water reservoir it stopped sucking up water from the carpet ... and I had it installed correctly. I checked it many times! It is heavy and the hose tubes are in the way of each other - it's weird - they have to stick out awkwardly because there is no room for them all to go together. It's just not worth the money, effort and time for all the hassle and it quit sucking up the water! The nozzle spray out in space instead of a focused spray. No thanks.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900
01/25/2013
By ,
Hagerstown, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Piece of junk! never got to use it, had to rent one, don't worry! it's coming back to you. water with solution comes out....will not suck back up, nice mess.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Leaked

12/20/2012
By ,
Jefferson City, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The cleaner leaked as soon as the water/soap container was installed. Assembled 3 times and still could not stop the leaks. Call factory and was told to return it. Also looked like it had been repackaged. There was no cardboard under the cleaning head that was to be removed before used as the other Hoover I pick up at the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

cheap plastic

12/29/2012
By ,
Williamsburg,VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wasn't sure to buy after reading reviews, but I did anyway, big mistake. After assembly, I noticed it would wobble in upright position. Looked closely, and noticed the handle near the base was cracked. I disassembled and returned it. Just made cheaply which reflects the cheap price.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Hard to put together

01/13/2013
By ,
Marlinton,WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have owned one of these before and gave are's to someone else so we thought we can get the same one cause we liked the one we had, but the one we had was put together when it was given to me, This product is really hard to put together and even after memorizing the instructions, and taking it back apart 3 or 4 times because it leaked water all over my carpet, Its still leaking water the surge button is stuck or broke and there's no way to get into the handle to fix it so my husband had to stick something up the handle to pop the button back up and even after doing all this and putting it back together it is still leaking water everywhere, and are carpets are so dirty that they have to be shampooed so what we are doing just so we can shampoo we put the tank in long enough to get the carpet wet and then take it back out so we can suck it back up and after we are done shampooing I am taking it back to Walmart and getting the Bissel Pro heat the one I wanted to begin with but was sold out
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Terrible!!

08/25/2012
By ,
Flagstaff, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had to order this cleaner twice. Both times when I would put the tank that holds the clean water on the machine it would leak all over the floor and leave me with a huge puddle in my carpet. I called Hoover and they said it sounded like a loose hose or gasket. After the second time of this happening I decided it was time to try a Bissel. Because of this whole process and time it took to get a machine that worked, I will not buy a Hoover carpet cleaner again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

didnt suck the water back up

02/22/2013
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
took apart and put together again, making extra sure that the tank was seated correctly . . . no luck, would not suck up the water from the carpet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900
10/19/2012
By ,
Oak Park, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you want the stains and grubby gone from your carpet this machine is great for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

don't buy this

04/12/2013
By ,
ashtabula ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
hated this product first time used it..i have light tan carpet with pets and kids. Leaves carpet streaky and still dirty..i had a bissel pro heat before this and it stopped working within two years, but at least it cleaned carpet good and fast..hoover takes forever going back and forth over same area and still doesn't clean carpet..i wouldn't even take one of these for free..don't waste your money!!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Hoover SteamVac Clean Surge arrived DIRTY

04/19/2013
By ,
Wichita Kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When our Hoover SteamVac with Clean Surge arrived it had scratchs was dirty and looked used so we returned it to Walmart for a refund. We purchased it because it received over 3000 customer reviews so we figured it was a good buy but we never got to find-out after it arrived in less than poor condition it made us change our minds about purchasing it so I can only give the "Value line a average rating all others are poor because of the condition it arrived in.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 656 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  33 Next