Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Hoover Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Now, keep your carpets, upholstery, and stairs spotless with the Hoover SteamVac carpet cleaner. It features Hoover SpinScrub technology with multi-directional brushes that surround carpet fibers and remove dirt at every angle. The high-velocity suction of this vacuum cleaner removes dirty water and detergent residue, and then forced heat speeds the drying process, leaving carpet revitalized. With a 12-amp motor, the cleaner drives away dirt and dust with perfection. The Hoover floor cleaner has a 3-speed brushroll with different settings for normal cleaning, gentle cleaning, and spill pickup. This vacuum cleaner is meant for use only on carpeted surfaces.
Average Customer Rating:
4.181 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(805 Reviews) 718
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
475
4 stars
194
3 stars
26
2 stars
27
1 star
83
Customer Recommendation86%689 out of 797reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
90 Questions | 558 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
475
4 stars
194
3 stars
26
2 stars
27
1 star
83
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Keeps breaking, hand attachment is a joke

08/21/2012
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This broke after the first weekend I used it. It would just constantly spray water even if you were not holding the button down, and when I would turn it on, a huge gush of water would come out the bottom. Took me forever to get it to a place to fix it, and right after that it now sounds like a jet plane when I turn it on and makes this god awful noise that sounds like gears grinding or something, as well as melting rubber smell after running it for a few minutes. Also, the hand attachment is a joke. It is a pain in the butt to remove the hose and attach it to the tank just to use the attachment. My mother has a hoover steamvac but hers has the hand attachment already attached in the right place. You simply pop the attachment on the end of the hose and start using it that way and it is so easy. I don't even use the attachment on this one, it's such a pain. Also, the water just barely drizzles out of the attachment. So it doesn't really clean anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Terrible!!

08/25/2012
By ,
Flagstaff, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had to order this cleaner twice. Both times when I would put the tank that holds the clean water on the machine it would leak all over the floor and leave me with a huge puddle in my carpet. I called Hoover and they said it sounded like a loose hose or gasket. After the second time of this happening I decided it was time to try a Bissel. Because of this whole process and time it took to get a machine that worked, I will not buy a Hoover carpet cleaner again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900
10/19/2012
By ,
Oak Park, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you want the stains and grubby gone from your carpet this machine is great for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Hard to put together

01/13/2013
By ,
Marlinton,WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have owned one of these before and gave are's to someone else so we thought we can get the same one cause we liked the one we had, but the one we had was put together when it was given to me, This product is really hard to put together and even after memorizing the instructions, and taking it back apart 3 or 4 times because it leaked water all over my carpet, Its still leaking water the surge button is stuck or broke and there's no way to get into the handle to fix it so my husband had to stick something up the handle to pop the button back up and even after doing all this and putting it back together it is still leaking water everywhere, and are carpets are so dirty that they have to be shampooed so what we are doing just so we can shampoo we put the tank in long enough to get the carpet wet and then take it back out so we can suck it back up and after we are done shampooing I am taking it back to Walmart and getting the Bissel Pro heat the one I wanted to begin with but was sold out
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

terrible experience leaked profusely returned it

02/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
upholstery
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Faulty part

04/13/2014
By ,
Lecanto, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Maybe it's not fair to give a review at this point, because I haven't been able to use this item. Step one is to put on the handle and use the two bolts provided to secure it. The handle does not go on all the way even using more force. So, the occasion that I was preparing for by cleaning the carpets didn't happen. I was also hoping this would help with my allergies, but all I've gotten is tired and disgusted. This item had good reviews, but this time I was disappointed. I hope they will let me return it in the store.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
From HooverUSA04/14/2014
Hi! Before you consider returning your carpet washer, email me direct at Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com. I'm sure we can help. Thanks!

-Ian
Hoover Customer CareHoover
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Arrived broken

06/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Arrived broken, I returned it
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

best i've ever used

06/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this is the third carpet cleaner that i've owned and it is by far the best and less expensive than others Ilve bought. brushs work well to loosen dirt.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Lasted only 6 months

11/05/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very happy with this product, I have kids and it helps a lot to clean the carpet mess; however this machine stopped sucking the water with no evidence that something was going wrong. Will try another steam vac but for sure it won't be Hoover.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Very disappointed!

10/16/2012
By ,
Winslow, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I agree with other reviewers for this steam vac. The constructon of this machine is made out of cheap plastic. It's a pain to attach/unattach the hose. I do have to say that it has great suction. It removed so much of the water that my chair I used it on was dried the next morning. Unfortunetly it leaked from the bottom of the carpet cleaner the whole time it was in use (I didn't use the carpet cleaning part) even when the machine was turned off. I returned it to Walmart the next day. If Hoover would redesign this product and use better quality material they would have a hit instead of a miss.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Arrived defective

12/27/2012
By ,
Dyersburg, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit would not work unless clean surge was engaged. Contacted Hoover, their customer service response time was poor. Service center is 50 miles away. Repair time could take as long as 6 weeks
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

don't buy this

04/12/2013
By ,
ashtabula ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
hated this product first time used it..i have light tan carpet with pets and kids. Leaves carpet streaky and still dirty..i had a bissel pro heat before this and it stopped working within two years, but at least it cleaned carpet good and fast..hoover takes forever going back and forth over same area and still doesn't clean carpet..i wouldn't even take one of these for free..don't waste your money!!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Hoover SteamVac Clean Surge arrived DIRTY

04/19/2013
By ,
Wichita Kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When our Hoover SteamVac with Clean Surge arrived it had scratchs was dirty and looked used so we returned it to Walmart for a refund. We purchased it because it received over 3000 customer reviews so we figured it was a good buy but we never got to find-out after it arrived in less than poor condition it made us change our minds about purchasing it so I can only give the "Value line a average rating all others are poor because of the condition it arrived in.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Barely worked the first time out of the box

05/08/2013
By ,
Brenham, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We used this steamvac once. It didn't look like it was using much water. My husband had to get a sponge mop and spot clean the harder spots. The next time he went to use it the trigger mechanism wasn't working. We took it back to the store and got our money back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

It was a returned item. Dirty.

09/14/2013
By ,
New York
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was disappointed with the item because I was sent a used item. The Steam
Vac was dusty. They should't have sent me a dirty vac. I am very allergic to dust.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Poor Quality

10/11/2013
By ,
Morehead City, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought my first F5914-900 Carpet Cleaner about 3 years ago. The unit cleaned well and did a good job drying the carpet, which is a plus. However, the unit has design and quality issues.
Issues:
1. The hose rack does not keep the tank end of the hose attached, causing it to drag around,
2. The latch that holds the handle upright broke, this results in being unable to move the unit around without picking up the cleaner from the bottom.
3. I had to fuss with the machine a lot to keep the dirty water tank seal working so that the machine would maintain suction,
4. Recently the motor failed with a great deal of smoke. I disassembled the unit to find that the motor brushes had failed and that the motor armature was ruined; at $75 to $95 for a new motor and no assurance that I could get a fully operation cleaner, I opted to toss the unit.
I purchased a second F5914-900 based on cleaning experience. I found that on the first use that the catch (on the opposite side of the on/off switch) that keeps the arm upright would not hold; it is very flimsy, releasing with just slight pressure.
Also, the little door that you open to attach the solution hose for the hand attachment came off.
I promptly took the unit back to Wal-Mart for a full refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Horrible

11/14/2013
By ,
Uxbridge, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I spent weeks researching machines and bought this one. I like that it has separate water bins. The 1st time I used it was fine. The next time it fell apart, literally. A plastic tab holds the scrubbing brushes in, it broke. I decided to clean the furniture if I couldn't clean the floor. The hose sprayed but then wouldn't suck it up, my furniture was soaked. Then when taking it back to the store the plastic that holds the handle upright broke and hit me in the head! Don't bother, next time I will buy a Bissell.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
Don't!!
Posted 12/16/2013
Bissell broke on me- I ended up with more on me than I got from the carpet!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Not Satisfied

05/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought machine just over a year ago, only used machine twice. The machine will no longer suction the water into the tank. Do not recommend
Recommends this product? No
From HooverUSA06/18/2014
Hi tkjeremiah! The Steam Vac with Clean Surge should not lose suction after only 2 uses even though it is1 yr old. The issue could be the dirty water tank lid is not positioned properly. Here is a video that I find very helpful:http://bit.ly/1n7Y3ep

-Giselle
Hoover Customer CareHoover
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

43btu42

10/26/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Before buying a carpet steam cleaner I did some online research. This product had generally good reviews with most of the complaints very similar - the product would stop working. The cleaner would stop working because the tanks were not tight or the door was not all the way down, whatever. I just assumed these users were feeble minded and did not read the directions. I did. And it still doesn't work. I called the service center and they said that everyone who calls has the same problem and it involves the tanks not being tight or the door not all the way down. Guwess what? if everyone has the same problem it is a product problem and not a user problem. Fix the darn thing. The first time we used it the product was doing fine and then stopped sucking. We removed the tanks and re-installed. No luck. It is going back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Assembly Required

12/07/2010
By ,
Boston, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very hard to put together. Bought it over a month ago and all the men in my family still haven't been able to put it together. The instructions even tell you to call them so they can help you walk through it before you return the product so they know.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 629 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  32 Next