Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Hoover Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

The Hoover SteamVac with Clean Surge F5914900 is designed to help you keep your carpets and upholstery clean. It features Hoover SpinScrub technology with multi-directional brushes that surround carpet fibers and remove dirt at every angle. This Hoover carpet cleaner has a powerful 12-amp motor that allows it to effortlessly deliver a thoroughly clean carpet with minimal drying time. Clean Surge technology applies extra detergent to stains and heavy traffic areas. The high-velocity suction of this steam vacuum carpet cleaner effectively removes dirt plus water and detergent residue, and forced heat speeds the drying process. Even hard-to-clean stains and odors can be removed. The Hoover SteamVac with Clean Surge F5914900 would make an impressive addition to just about any collection of cleaning tools. It has a 3-speed brushroll control with settings for normal cleaning, gentle cleaning and spill pickup, plus a powered hand tool for stairs and upholstery.
Average Customer Rating:
4.174 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(811 Reviews) 724
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
476
4 stars
196
3 stars
27
2 stars
28
1 star
84
Customer Recommendation86%693 out of 803reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
92 Questions | 560 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
476
4 stars
196
3 stars
27
2 stars
28
1 star
84
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Hoover SteamVac is a winner!!!

12/24/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had the Hoover SteamVac With Clean for over a year, it does a great job, the brushes work well, suction is the best of machines I have owned, I like the heater in that it does help rugs/upholstery dry faster. The machine cleans 'cat yak' very well.
The machine does use a good amount of cleaning solution - I mix up solution and keep in spray bottle and pre-spray before I use machine, It works the same and you are using plain water as you are cleaning instead of solution for the full cycle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

This is a great product for carpets.

08/23/2013
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these when I had carpeting installed in my living and dining rooms about 12 years ago. It is a fairly light colored Berber that I knew would need periodic cleaning. It did a great job and it is a one time investment that pays off over time. After a number of years of use, my daughter borrowed it for her carpet. After the third borrowing, I told her to keep that one and I replaced mine with this one. It has a couple of tools that the old one didn't have. The tool holder is very convenient, the brushes are removable for cleaning, and there is a stand alone brush that would be very handy for upholstery or stairs. The best part is that it removes most of the water and rugs are pretty much dry after 3-4 hours. It can be hurried with a fan but I have never found that necessary. I had good luck mechanically with the old one and expect this one to be just as reliable and trouble free as the old one. I have used the Hoover cleaning solution exclusively because it has always done a good job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Great buy!

09/10/2012
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've rented the Dr Rug machines at the supermarket before but it ends up costing 50 dollars or more so I figured I'd give this SteamVac a chance since it would pay for itself after 3 uses. It's a bit bulkier than a vacuum cleaner but still fits in a closet. It's easy to assemble and use after you read the manual which is only a few pages. The cord is not very long, just standard so I had to move it around a couple of times while doing just the living room. The carpet looked great afterwards, without pretreatment it took out most of the normal stains (just regular dirt and light spills of drinks here and there from 2 grown ups and a 5 yr old). You do have to be careful with the 2 tanks and make sure you install them correctly, once you figure it out it's very simple. What I love the most is that instead of renting a machine and wear myself out trying to do everything in one day now I can do a room at a time as often as I like. One last thing, the carpets were completely dry within 6 hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Better than expected

10/03/2013
By ,
Fresno, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let me say first that I worked, as a mechanic, for a company that sold and maintained commercial carpet cleaners for four years. I read all the reviews before buying and chose the F5914900 because it seemed to have the best rating for the price. An inexpensive commercial unit is $1,000.00 so I thought I would give this a try. I am glad I did. I've already done our daughters home (4 kids 4 - 8 years) and our home (dog lives indoors) and this unit works very well. The separate solution and recovery tanks are a nice feature. It doesn't do as good a job as a commercial unit or as a professional truck mount but I didn't expect it to. It still does an amazing job. The suction is very good and leaves the carpets so that they were dry in about 4 hours on an 80 degree day. The stair tool works good too. I didn't rate longevity because I haven't had it long enough. There is a lot of plastic but it seems pretty durable and should do well if not abused.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+83points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Another damaged product upon delivery

02/24/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We read hundreds of reviews for residential carpet cleaners and it came down to this and a Bissell Liftoff Deep Cleaner. Purchased this unit and Walmart definitely had the best price. Item arrived quickly, was fairly easy to put together. Quick instructions in box were easy to follow. LOVED the 2 tanks. Only problem was I put machine together in about 10 minutes, filled it up, went to clean rug and entire tank of water and solution dumped out. Had to take machine apart and noticed (2) white latches that are controlled by buttons at top were both broken. Worked with 800 number, included in directions-they advised machine needed to be replaced. So bummed and had to use a wet vac to suck up all the water off carpet. Machine if working, I believe would and does perform based on many reviews read-this particular unit-a Dud! I must also say this is the 2nd large-ish appliance I have purchased from Walmart online that arrived broken. Disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
From HooverUSA02/26/2014
Hi AllThomasallthetime, if you still have the machine at home, please shoot me an email at Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com so that we can better assist you with this. Thanks!

-Ian
Hoover Customer CareHoover
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pittsburgh pa
Impressed!
Posted 05/10/2014
i am reading these reviews and am impressed that a Hoover rep stepped up in assisting AllThomasallthetime with the issue he had. I hope that it was resolved. Based on this alone, I will buy Hoover!
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Broke within a week

09/09/2013
By ,
cleveland, oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After reading reviews, and seeing some bad ones along with some good ones, I thought I'd take my chances with this steam cleaner. It was very easy to put together, and worked wonderfully the first time I used it. A week later, I attempted to clean another room in the house, and I have no suction. Reading reviews for this suggests that the lid wasn't locked on tight, or maybe the dirty water tank wasn't put in just right, or the front panel was maybe a little loose. After messing with all of these things for about an hour, and still no suction, I have decided I must be one of the unfortunate people to get one that just doesn't work. I will be calling Hoover tomorrow to see how easy it is to deal with them on getting it fixed/replaced, and, if that doesn't work, I will be returning the item to Wal-mart. I'll probably replace it with the same cleaner, as it seems hit or miss on getting one that works or not. Hopefully the next one will work without problem!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
columbus, oh
to broke within a week
Posted 12/16/2013
I justbought one. I had no suction the second time I used it. The problem was the lid on the dirty water tank was not on right. There are 2 plastic clips on the back of the dirty watyer tank. you have to clip the lid on those first then gently push the front of the lid down to snap it. After I figured that out no more problems and the suction is great.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Keeps breaking, hand attachment is a joke

08/21/2012
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This broke after the first weekend I used it. It would just constantly spray water even if you were not holding the button down, and when I would turn it on, a huge gush of water would come out the bottom. Took me forever to get it to a place to fix it, and right after that it now sounds like a jet plane when I turn it on and makes this god awful noise that sounds like gears grinding or something, as well as melting rubber smell after running it for a few minutes. Also, the hand attachment is a joke. It is a pain in the butt to remove the hose and attach it to the tank just to use the attachment. My mother has a hoover steamvac but hers has the hand attachment already attached in the right place. You simply pop the attachment on the end of the hose and start using it that way and it is so easy. I don't even use the attachment on this one, it's such a pain. Also, the water just barely drizzles out of the attachment. So it doesn't really clean anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Great product for a reasonable amount

09/03/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since we have pets, a steamvac is needed from time to time, so rather than continue to rent them (if you can find them) we decided to invest as little as possible in a decent machine of our own. It worked like a charm, it took at most 2 fills of the tank to do an average room of short carpet (vs 3 or 4 for a rental machine). The drier on the machine had the floor dried in a couple hours, and the room smelled muuuuuucccchhhh better. Plus, I can clean a mess whenever I want and I don't have to lug it to and from a store. The only possible down side is that it is a bulky machine, which might be an issue for the more petite user, but it is lighter than it looks. As long as I don't break it, I should make the money back in half a dozen room cleanings. I did get the warranty, because I've found that I'm tough on machines and this is expensive enough to insure for a couple years (and who knows how rough a ride this thing got on the way to my house). For a effective machine that doesn't cost as much as a new room of carpet, I give this product a thumbs up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CHESTER ,NY
STILL GOING AFTER 3 YEARS
Posted 02/24/2014
Makes carpets look and smell great again but too many cheap plastic parts.
Used about twice a month over the course of 3 years. No complaints
on how well it cleans but the spin brushes stopped working after 2 years and many of the plastic
snap on pieces, including the one that keeps it upright, have broken. If you're somewhat
mechanically inclined you can take apart the spinbrush mechanism and a little lubricant
(silicone or bearing grease) like I did and you'll be back in business. In short has paid for itself. HANDLE WITH CARE ...LOL
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

No need to spend hundreds of $$

10/29/2013
By ,
Ft. Collins,CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a retired custom home builder who knows better than to skimp on tools. My fears of buying a mediocre carpet cleaner arose from reading numerous reviews on Amazon, Overstock, Walmart, etc and even Consumer Reports. It seems that there are always those handful of negative reviews that confuse the decision-making process. I chose to buy this model and found it to work great. Yet thankfully I only have 1100 sq. ft. of carpet to clean. It seems virtually all carpet cleaners have a 1 gal capacity and therefore you'll find yourself constantly filling the tank. I also tried utilizing, aside from recommended shampoo, a mixture of Cascade dishwasher soap, faucet hot H20 and vinegar worked great. I went and browsed online "alternative carpet shampoo" to find numerous alternatives. The one I mentioned worked great and therefore definitely will save money, if willing to try. My carpet, which normally I have someone clean yearly, hadn't been cleaned for 2 yrs and was pretty disgusting. Almost new looking when I finished. I had no issues assembling, changing over tools for stairs, or leaking, etc as some had stated.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

operation

11/25/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i as a rule never fill out one of these surveys. But this time I am making an exception.
I had used one of these Hoover's several years ago, that I borrowed from a friend. And I had excellent results from that one. So I decided to buy a new one for me and my family..
The machine fit together very easily, right out of the box. The instruction manual is well written, logical, and easy to understand.
It did a great job of cleaning my 25 year old carpet. We have an 8 room house. I followed the instructions and pre-vacuumed the carpets thoroughly. Even so, the steam machine bought up bucket after bucket of dark gray water, dust fuzzes and cat hair. It did an amazing job! Also used the upholstery tool. If you go over the carpet 4 times with suction only passes after 2 wet passed (2 up and 2 back strokes) it leaves the carpet practically dry!
Hover got it right with this carpet shampoo machine. Plus I picked it up at a big discount at Walmart. I'm a happy camper.
My only slight downgrade was with durability. The machine is all plastic. I haven't used it enoght yet to know it if is going to last a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Never got it to work

10/17/2011
By ,
New Jersey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this one because the reviews said it was easy to assemble and use. It wasn't that easy to assemble and I didn't get to use it. The water would not come out. I took it apart and put it back together several times, went online and watched the tutorial and did it again. Still no water would come out. I called the 800 number on the machine. The first lady told me it had to be primed. so I pumped the handle for 20 minutes and still no water. Called back, got another lady who had me take the whole thing apart. When I asked her how to take the rotating brushes off she got an attitude with me. When she told me to pump the handle turn on the machine and pump it agian. she accused me of not doing it because she didn't hear the machine come on. She recommended I return it but since the sticker on the machine said "do not return to store" I asked her how to return it and she said "take it back to where you got it" and hung up on me. I will NEVER purchase another Hoover. and I will be returning this one tomorrow
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Lot's of power

06/04/2010
By ,
Meriden, Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Hoover Steamvac arrived today, I set it up and cleaned my living room wall to wall carpet w/ ease, does a great job =)
I've owned other Hoover Steamvacs over the years my last one only lasted about 9 months unfortunately, the motor went I'm assuming because it was screaming loud when I turned it on, so I threw it away and purchased this model instead....
My last Hoover was purchased for 200 dollars at Home Depot, it worked great for a while, had trouble w/ the hand tools attachments not sucking up like they should etc.
This model is like the one I started out w/ about 20 years ago, and it lasted me about 10 years, that was awesome! I know that today these items seem not to last even 4 years, they break down before then :(
It's a shame that you have to spend so much for a steam vac and you get less than 4 years out of it if you're lucky that is....
I'd recommend this Hoover, easy to use, seems powerful, does a great job, pretty lightweight too...
I tend to use my steamvac once a month or more often as needed, we have a dog and I like to keep my carpets clean :-)
Overall a great product, at a great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+197points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Not for a long term ownership

03/23/2014
By ,
Traverse City, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
These cleaners have two positives. They are inexpensive and they are far cheaper than a serivce company and you aren't using a machine that will rarely be clean. The biggest problem is not Walmart but Hoover. they are not made to survive intact more than two years. I have purchased a number of these over the years knowing that they will either leak, the brushes quit, or the water pickup will end up with a defective seal. Never while in warranty though. I use mine about every three minutes unless I have to clean up after a pet problem. this one at 18 months leaks water as it spreads, and the brushes of course have quit. The hose attachment no longer sprays either so if I want to clean upholstery I have to spray with a hand sprayer and then vacuum. So buy with the limited expectations. It is still cheaper than the service companies.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Great Product

08/01/2011
By ,
Athens, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We chose this item after reading the other reviews on Walmart.com and Amazon.com. I am very pleased. It is what we expected. We had a feather lite prior to this, and there is just no comparison. This machine got out dirt and stains that the other just never could. We used a pet formula solution, and did our whole house. It lifted years of dirt from our carpets. We are very happy. It has great suction, meaning the carpets dry quickly. I will say only 1 thing, that may be a negative, it's not for us, but some may not like it, If your floors are very dirty, you will have to dump and refill the bucket several time in a larger room. As I said before , our feather lite did not clean well at all, and the first time we used the new hoover, I went over spots until I saw it suck up clean water, that meant that in my living room, I dumped and refilled the buckets 3 times. I'm not sure if that will be every time or just the deep cleaning times. Otherwise, I LOVE IT! Even multiple dump/refills doesn't bother me. I will recommend this product to everyone. I am also very pleased with the price point from wal-mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Still going great after about 6 years.

03/04/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With three dogs and two cats, our tan carpet gets dirty. This cleaner deep cleans the carpet better. quicker, and easier than commercial rental cleaners and equal to a commercial carpet cleaning service that we used once. We use the Hoover cleaning solution in the green gallon jug (5 oz per fill up), and pretreat spots with Folex or any other carpet stain remover.
The Steamvac (there is no steam involved, just hot water from your tap), is lightweight, easy to fill with water and cleaning solution, easy to dump the dirty water, and easy to use. Just be sure the sliding intake on the dirty water tank is loose. If it's tight, it's set for the upholstery attachment and won't pick up water during carpet cleaning. The first time that happened, it took me a couple of hours to figure out what was wrong.
I even use this to clean our tile floor, with clean water and a bit of Simple Green. Water pickup is a bit messy, but I just dry mop with a towel. This is a lot easier and quicker than using a wet mop and wringer.
I give this my highest recommendation. If it broke, I'd get another.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Great for old folks on a limited income

11/26/2013
By ,
Davenport, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't be beat it for the money, especially at the new low price. The two tanks was a must for me. Easy to fill the top clean water tank and easy to empty the dirty water tank.
Be gentle when assembling it. Remember it has plastic parts but if you follow the directions/pictures, it's easy. Before using, read all the book.
I was amazed at the ease of application use and the pick-up of dirty water suction. Four hours drying time and furniture back in place. The two handheld tools worked great on the chairs and sofa. Again, study the book before using them.
Could use a longer power cord.
To the one that questioned the "steam term," You're using hot water to fill the clean water tank.
For a 79 yr old guy with 2 little dogs, my carpet is smiling clean again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Great so far

05/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had to replace our old "little green machine" which we absolutely loved. Since we have a dog, having a carpet cleaner is a valuable device and something we'll always have. I had assumed we'd purchase another Little Green Machine but I wanted to look around at other options. I found the Hoover SteamVac for a little more money but it had high reviews and it's designed to cover more floor space. For the extra money, we decided to buy SteamVac to use for the entire house instead of just little spots here and there.
I've only had it for about a week so I rated it a 4 star and not a 5 star. The first several times we've used it, We have been so impressed with how well it has made our carpet look. My wife didn't have high expectations but she has commented almost daily about how great everything looks.
I would recommend this product for others. It is kind of heavy and requires space to store it. Its fairly easy to use. Since I only have a week of use, I can't rate it a 5 yet. However, if it lives up to everything I read (long life, great performance, etc), then it will definitely be a 5.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

AWESOME CLEANER

06/22/2010
By ,
north augusta, sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very suprised on how well this shampooer worked. It's just amazing. I have used SEVERAL carpet cleaners, including commercial ones that don't even compare to the Hoover. The suction is what gets your carpets clean by removing the soiled water/solution. Pet stains come right up. Also like that this machine holds so much water. For people who are on a budget, I found, PURPLE POWER, in the automotive section of Walmart, $5.00 a gallon (concentrate) works better then the regular carpets solutions for alot less money, It doesn't leave any residue on your carpets, just add 3/4 cup (the lid of the water tank is a measuring cup) to a tank of HOT water. Even cleans linoleum! Can't say enough about this cleaner, only 2 screws to put it together.
Love it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+320points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bartlesville Oklahoma
Amazing Cleaner!
Posted 01/15/2012
I purchased this online over 6yrs ago and had no idea if it would be as great as the reviews I read on it back then or not. It has held up to it's great reviews all this time, very light, easy to use and certainly is a fantastic cleaner for the money! I am getting another one probably as my catch container lid fell on floor in my garage yesterday when I was putting it away and a piece that locks the lid down broke off. Was very upseting but happy to see Walmart still carries this one! You won't go wrong with this purchase.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Hard to put together

01/13/2013
By ,
Marlinton,WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have owned one of these before and gave are's to someone else so we thought we can get the same one cause we liked the one we had, but the one we had was put together when it was given to me, This product is really hard to put together and even after memorizing the instructions, and taking it back apart 3 or 4 times because it leaked water all over my carpet, Its still leaking water the surge button is stuck or broke and there's no way to get into the handle to fix it so my husband had to stick something up the handle to pop the button back up and even after doing all this and putting it back together it is still leaking water everywhere, and are carpets are so dirty that they have to be shampooed so what we are doing just so we can shampoo we put the tank in long enough to get the carpet wet and then take it back out so we can suck it back up and after we are done shampooing I am taking it back to Walmart and getting the Bissel Pro heat the one I wanted to begin with but was sold out
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Good value.

04/19/2012
By ,
VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live in an rural area with a large dog and red clay soil. Not a good combination for carpets! Now, they look great. ( If you've ever had to deal with red clay, you know that's saying something.) I found this Hoover easy to use and effective on almost all stains. It also extracted the water well enough that the carpet was dry quickly.
The cleaning solution and dirty water tanks are not very large, so you do have to empty them fairly often (probably three times for an average sized bedroom), but the machine is also compact enough to store easily in a closet so it's a fair trade off. The machine itself also cleaned up easily, so I'm happy. One note: The first time I restarted the machine after emptying the tanks, it stopped sucking up the water and left a puddle on the floor. I finally found that the lid on the extraction tank was off a little bit, although it was hard to see. I re-seated the extraction tank and the problem was solved.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 632 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  32 Next