Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Hoover Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Now, keep your carpets, upholstery, and stairs spotless with the Hoover SteamVac carpet cleaner. It features Hoover SpinScrub technology with multi-directional brushes that surround carpet fibers and remove dirt at every angle. The high-velocity suction of this vacuum cleaner removes dirty water and detergent residue, and then forced heat speeds the drying process, leaving carpet revitalized. With a 12-amp motor, the cleaner drives away dirt and dust with perfection. The Hoover floor cleaner has a 3-speed brushroll with different settings for normal cleaning, gentle cleaning, and spill pickup. This vacuum cleaner is meant for use only on carpeted surfaces.
Average Customer Rating:
4.198 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(729 Reviews) 642
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
434
4 stars
175
3 stars
23
2 stars
24
1 star
73
Customer Recommendation87%625 out of 722reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
80 Questions | 499 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
434
4 stars
175
3 stars
23
2 stars
24
1 star
73
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Good Value and easy to use

05/07/2012
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first SteamVac we received leaked and had to be returned. This appears to be a chronic problem with the unit. The second SteamVac worked fine and on putting it together it seemed to fit better (probably the cause for the first one to leak). The carpets looked great after cleaning and if you go over them again without wetting they dry in just a few hours. The only improvement would be to have some kind of edge cleaning attachment so that where the carpet meets the moundling would be cleaned better. Very happy with the machine and much better than renting a unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Another damaged product upon delivery

02/24/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We read hundreds of reviews for residential carpet cleaners and it came down to this and a Bissell Liftoff Deep Cleaner. Purchased this unit and Walmart definitely had the best price. Item arrived quickly, was fairly easy to put together. Quick instructions in box were easy to follow. LOVED the 2 tanks. Only problem was I put machine together in about 10 minutes, filled it up, went to clean rug and entire tank of water and solution dumped out. Had to take machine apart and noticed (2) white latches that are controlled by buttons at top were both broken. Worked with 800 number, included in directions-they advised machine needed to be replaced. So bummed and had to use a wet vac to suck up all the water off carpet. Machine if working, I believe would and does perform based on many reviews read-this particular unit-a Dud! I must also say this is the 2nd large-ish appliance I have purchased from Walmart online that arrived broken. Disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
From HooverUSA02/26/2014
Hi AllThomasallthetime, if you still have the machine at home, please shoot me an email at Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com so that we can better assist you with this. Thanks!

-Ian
Hoover Customer CareHoover
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

This is a great product for carpets.

08/23/2013
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these when I had carpeting installed in my living and dining rooms about 12 years ago. It is a fairly light colored Berber that I knew would need periodic cleaning. It did a great job and it is a one time investment that pays off over time. After a number of years of use, my daughter borrowed it for her carpet. After the third borrowing, I told her to keep that one and I replaced mine with this one. It has a couple of tools that the old one didn't have. The tool holder is very convenient, the brushes are removable for cleaning, and there is a stand alone brush that would be very handy for upholstery or stairs. The best part is that it removes most of the water and rugs are pretty much dry after 3-4 hours. It can be hurried with a fan but I have never found that necessary. I had good luck mechanically with the old one and expect this one to be just as reliable and trouble free as the old one. I have used the Hoover cleaning solution exclusively because it has always done a good job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Better than expected

10/03/2013
By ,
Fresno, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let me say first that I worked, as a mechanic, for a company that sold and maintained commercial carpet cleaners for four years. I read all the reviews before buying and chose the F5914900 because it seemed to have the best rating for the price. An inexpensive commercial unit is $1,000.00 so I thought I would give this a try. I am glad I did. I've already done our daughters home (4 kids 4 - 8 years) and our home (dog lives indoors) and this unit works very well. The separate solution and recovery tanks are a nice feature. It doesn't do as good a job as a commercial unit or as a professional truck mount but I didn't expect it to. It still does an amazing job. The suction is very good and leaves the carpets so that they were dry in about 4 hours on an 80 degree day. The stair tool works good too. I didn't rate longevity because I haven't had it long enough. There is a lot of plastic but it seems pretty durable and should do well if not abused.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Great buy!

09/10/2012
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've rented the Dr Rug machines at the supermarket before but it ends up costing 50 dollars or more so I figured I'd give this SteamVac a chance since it would pay for itself after 3 uses. It's a bit bulkier than a vacuum cleaner but still fits in a closet. It's easy to assemble and use after you read the manual which is only a few pages. The cord is not very long, just standard so I had to move it around a couple of times while doing just the living room. The carpet looked great afterwards, without pretreatment it took out most of the normal stains (just regular dirt and light spills of drinks here and there from 2 grown ups and a 5 yr old). You do have to be careful with the 2 tanks and make sure you install them correctly, once you figure it out it's very simple. What I love the most is that instead of renting a machine and wear myself out trying to do everything in one day now I can do a room at a time as often as I like. One last thing, the carpets were completely dry within 6 hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

operation

11/25/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i as a rule never fill out one of these surveys. But this time I am making an exception.
I had used one of these Hoover's several years ago, that I borrowed from a friend. And I had excellent results from that one. So I decided to buy a new one for me and my family..
The machine fit together very easily, right out of the box. The instruction manual is well written, logical, and easy to understand.
It did a great job of cleaning my 25 year old carpet. We have an 8 room house. I followed the instructions and pre-vacuumed the carpets thoroughly. Even so, the steam machine bought up bucket after bucket of dark gray water, dust fuzzes and cat hair. It did an amazing job! Also used the upholstery tool. If you go over the carpet 4 times with suction only passes after 2 wet passed (2 up and 2 back strokes) it leaves the carpet practically dry!
Hover got it right with this carpet shampoo machine. Plus I picked it up at a big discount at Walmart. I'm a happy camper.
My only slight downgrade was with durability. The machine is all plastic. I haven't used it enoght yet to know it if is going to last a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

No need to spend hundreds of $$

10/29/2013
By ,
Ft. Collins,CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a retired custom home builder who knows better than to skimp on tools. My fears of buying a mediocre carpet cleaner arose from reading numerous reviews on Amazon, Overstock, Walmart, etc and even Consumer Reports. It seems that there are always those handful of negative reviews that confuse the decision-making process. I chose to buy this model and found it to work great. Yet thankfully I only have 1100 sq. ft. of carpet to clean. It seems virtually all carpet cleaners have a 1 gal capacity and therefore you'll find yourself constantly filling the tank. I also tried utilizing, aside from recommended shampoo, a mixture of Cascade dishwasher soap, faucet hot H20 and vinegar worked great. I went and browsed online "alternative carpet shampoo" to find numerous alternatives. The one I mentioned worked great and therefore definitely will save money, if willing to try. My carpet, which normally I have someone clean yearly, hadn't been cleaned for 2 yrs and was pretty disgusting. Almost new looking when I finished. I had no issues assembling, changing over tools for stairs, or leaking, etc as some had stated.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Broke within a week

09/09/2013
By ,
cleveland, oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After reading reviews, and seeing some bad ones along with some good ones, I thought I'd take my chances with this steam cleaner. It was very easy to put together, and worked wonderfully the first time I used it. A week later, I attempted to clean another room in the house, and I have no suction. Reading reviews for this suggests that the lid wasn't locked on tight, or maybe the dirty water tank wasn't put in just right, or the front panel was maybe a little loose. After messing with all of these things for about an hour, and still no suction, I have decided I must be one of the unfortunate people to get one that just doesn't work. I will be calling Hoover tomorrow to see how easy it is to deal with them on getting it fixed/replaced, and, if that doesn't work, I will be returning the item to Wal-mart. I'll probably replace it with the same cleaner, as it seems hit or miss on getting one that works or not. Hopefully the next one will work without problem!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
columbus, oh
to broke within a week
Posted 12/16/2013
I justbought one. I had no suction the second time I used it. The problem was the lid on the dirty water tank was not on right. There are 2 plastic clips on the back of the dirty watyer tank. you have to clip the lid on those first then gently push the front of the lid down to snap it. After I figured that out no more problems and the suction is great.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Great product for a reasonable amount

09/03/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since we have pets, a steamvac is needed from time to time, so rather than continue to rent them (if you can find them) we decided to invest as little as possible in a decent machine of our own. It worked like a charm, it took at most 2 fills of the tank to do an average room of short carpet (vs 3 or 4 for a rental machine). The drier on the machine had the floor dried in a couple hours, and the room smelled muuuuuucccchhhh better. Plus, I can clean a mess whenever I want and I don't have to lug it to and from a store. The only possible down side is that it is a bulky machine, which might be an issue for the more petite user, but it is lighter than it looks. As long as I don't break it, I should make the money back in half a dozen room cleanings. I did get the warranty, because I've found that I'm tough on machines and this is expensive enough to insure for a couple years (and who knows how rough a ride this thing got on the way to my house). For a effective machine that doesn't cost as much as a new room of carpet, I give this product a thumbs up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CHESTER ,NY
STILL GOING AFTER 3 YEARS
Posted 02/24/2014
Makes carpets look and smell great again but too many cheap plastic parts.
Used about twice a month over the course of 3 years. No complaints
on how well it cleans but the spin brushes stopped working after 2 years and many of the plastic
snap on pieces, including the one that keeps it upright, have broken. If you're somewhat
mechanically inclined you can take apart the spinbrush mechanism and a little lubricant
(silicone or bearing grease) like I did and you'll be back in business. In short has paid for itself. HANDLE WITH CARE ...LOL
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Great for old folks on a limited income

11/26/2013
By ,
Davenport, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't be beat it for the money, especially at the new low price. The two tanks was a must for me. Easy to fill the top clean water tank and easy to empty the dirty water tank.
Be gentle when assembling it. Remember it has plastic parts but if you follow the directions/pictures, it's easy. Before using, read all the book.
I was amazed at the ease of application use and the pick-up of dirty water suction. Four hours drying time and furniture back in place. The two handheld tools worked great on the chairs and sofa. Again, study the book before using them.
Could use a longer power cord.
To the one that questioned the "steam term," You're using hot water to fill the clean water tank.
For a 79 yr old guy with 2 little dogs, my carpet is smiling clean again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Keeps breaking, hand attachment is a joke

08/21/2012
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This broke after the first weekend I used it. It would just constantly spray water even if you were not holding the button down, and when I would turn it on, a huge gush of water would come out the bottom. Took me forever to get it to a place to fix it, and right after that it now sounds like a jet plane when I turn it on and makes this god awful noise that sounds like gears grinding or something, as well as melting rubber smell after running it for a few minutes. Also, the hand attachment is a joke. It is a pain in the butt to remove the hose and attach it to the tank just to use the attachment. My mother has a hoover steamvac but hers has the hand attachment already attached in the right place. You simply pop the attachment on the end of the hose and start using it that way and it is so easy. I don't even use the attachment on this one, it's such a pain. Also, the water just barely drizzles out of the attachment. So it doesn't really clean anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

I should have stuck with Bissell

03/07/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this Hoover SteamVac thinking I was getting a great product at a great price. Sure the cleaner worked wonderfully when I first got it but after several carpet cleanings and several months later after purchase, it still puts water down but doesn't suck it back up. Therefore, whenever I try using it, I'm stuck with wet carpet.
I should have purchased another Bissell. I had a basic Bissell cleaner prior to getting this one but it was small and didn't hold but a 1/2 gallon of water in the tank with two tanks (a clean water tank to fill and a dirty water tank to empty. However, this one is larger with only one tank to fill and empty, so I went for it. I'm quite for sure that each one Hoover has made does not malfunction the way mines did and there are a lot of other people who may have had a more positive experience with this machine. My personal experience with it was just one that I regret having.
I feel like I should have just followed my first mind and stuck with Bissell. The price being great for the product description and the amount of convenience doesn't always mean it's a better choice in the end.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Faulty part

04/13/2014
By ,
Lecanto, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Maybe it's not fair to give a review at this point, because I haven't been able to use this item. Step one is to put on the handle and use the two bolts provided to secure it. The handle does not go on all the way even using more force. So, the occasion that I was preparing for by cleaning the carpets didn't happen. I was also hoping this would help with my allergies, but all I've gotten is tired and disgusted. This item had good reviews, but this time I was disappointed. I hope they will let me return it in the store.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
From HooverUSA04/14/2014
Hi! Before you consider returning your carpet washer, email me direct at Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com. I'm sure we can help. Thanks!

-Ian
Hoover Customer CareHoover
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Lot's of power

06/04/2010
By ,
Meriden, Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Hoover Steamvac arrived today, I set it up and cleaned my living room wall to wall carpet w/ ease, does a great job =)
I've owned other Hoover Steamvacs over the years my last one only lasted about 9 months unfortunately, the motor went I'm assuming because it was screaming loud when I turned it on, so I threw it away and purchased this model instead....
My last Hoover was purchased for 200 dollars at Home Depot, it worked great for a while, had trouble w/ the hand tools attachments not sucking up like they should etc.
This model is like the one I started out w/ about 20 years ago, and it lasted me about 10 years, that was awesome! I know that today these items seem not to last even 4 years, they break down before then :(
It's a shame that you have to spend so much for a steam vac and you get less than 4 years out of it if you're lucky that is....
I'd recommend this Hoover, easy to use, seems powerful, does a great job, pretty lightweight too...
I tend to use my steamvac once a month or more often as needed, we have a dog and I like to keep my carpets clean :-)
Overall a great product, at a great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+194points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Never got it to work

10/17/2011
By ,
New Jersey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this one because the reviews said it was easy to assemble and use. It wasn't that easy to assemble and I didn't get to use it. The water would not come out. I took it apart and put it back together several times, went online and watched the tutorial and did it again. Still no water would come out. I called the 800 number on the machine. The first lady told me it had to be primed. so I pumped the handle for 20 minutes and still no water. Called back, got another lady who had me take the whole thing apart. When I asked her how to take the rotating brushes off she got an attitude with me. When she told me to pump the handle turn on the machine and pump it agian. she accused me of not doing it because she didn't hear the machine come on. She recommended I return it but since the sticker on the machine said "do not return to store" I asked her how to return it and she said "take it back to where you got it" and hung up on me. I will NEVER purchase another Hoover. and I will be returning this one tomorrow
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Great Product

08/01/2011
By ,
Athens, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We chose this item after reading the other reviews on Walmart.com and Amazon.com. I am very pleased. It is what we expected. We had a feather lite prior to this, and there is just no comparison. This machine got out dirt and stains that the other just never could. We used a pet formula solution, and did our whole house. It lifted years of dirt from our carpets. We are very happy. It has great suction, meaning the carpets dry quickly. I will say only 1 thing, that may be a negative, it's not for us, but some may not like it, If your floors are very dirty, you will have to dump and refill the bucket several time in a larger room. As I said before , our feather lite did not clean well at all, and the first time we used the new hoover, I went over spots until I saw it suck up clean water, that meant that in my living room, I dumped and refilled the buckets 3 times. I'm not sure if that will be every time or just the deep cleaning times. Otherwise, I LOVE IT! Even multiple dump/refills doesn't bother me. I will recommend this product to everyone. I am also very pleased with the price point from wal-mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Still going great after about 6 years.

03/04/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With three dogs and two cats, our tan carpet gets dirty. This cleaner deep cleans the carpet better. quicker, and easier than commercial rental cleaners and equal to a commercial carpet cleaning service that we used once. We use the Hoover cleaning solution in the green gallon jug (5 oz per fill up), and pretreat spots with Folex or any other carpet stain remover.
The Steamvac (there is no steam involved, just hot water from your tap), is lightweight, easy to fill with water and cleaning solution, easy to dump the dirty water, and easy to use. Just be sure the sliding intake on the dirty water tank is loose. If it's tight, it's set for the upholstery attachment and won't pick up water during carpet cleaning. The first time that happened, it took me a couple of hours to figure out what was wrong.
I even use this to clean our tile floor, with clean water and a bit of Simple Green. Water pickup is a bit messy, but I just dry mop with a towel. This is a lot easier and quicker than using a wet mop and wringer.
I give this my highest recommendation. If it broke, I'd get another.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Bad walmart, ok machine

04/11/2014
By ,
Dunnellon,Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I first recieved my Hoover, I opened the box to find the machine was dirty. I thought maybe it sat in the factory for awhile long enough to get really dusty. Then I noticed that there was not much packaging in the box, all the parts seemed to be just thrown in there. I put it together, first the spinner wheels would not rotate when they were supposed too. Yes, I read the directions properly. I called the Hoover hotline. I sat on hold waiting for almost an hour. A girl named Ciara ran me threw a few tests and told me it was broken to go exchange it. My walmart didn't not have it in stock so she told me to go to a repair center. I laughed and said I paid for a new unit not a refurbished one. I called walmart, they send me out a new one, as soon as I opened the new one it was packed completely different. It was clean and the attachments were on the machine, not thrown on the bottom of the box. When I plugged it in, things ran good,I can see the water going throught the machine, the old one didn't do that. I don't know if it was returned and used or if it was the floor model or not. Disappointed in walmart. Machine overall is good, automatic shutoff when container is full does not work, but that's ok.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

Works well for what you pay

03/27/2014
By ,
AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my 2nd unit like this (1st one had no attachments). The word steam in it's name is misleading it produces no steam or heat, you must use hot water. I just use hot tap water (120 deg) or so and spot cleaner with good results. I really like the 2 tank system, cleaning the extraction tank is easy and quick. For lite to medium cleaning and not in a rush, this unit will get the job done with good results. I've used rug doctor type units and have only achieved marginal improvement in cleaning but better water extraction and of course larger tanks which allow for cleaning larger areas. The clean surge feature just uses more cleaning solution about the same as taking and extra pass or two. A couple of things I would change is to put a heater in it a longer power cord and get rid of the clean surge. Overall a good buy for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hoover SteamVac With Clean Surge, F5914900

AWESOME CLEANER

06/22/2010
By ,
north augusta, sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very suprised on how well this shampooer worked. It's just amazing. I have used SEVERAL carpet cleaners, including commercial ones that don't even compare to the Hoover. The suction is what gets your carpets clean by removing the soiled water/solution. Pet stains come right up. Also like that this machine holds so much water. For people who are on a budget, I found, PURPLE POWER, in the automotive section of Walmart, $5.00 a gallon (concentrate) works better then the regular carpets solutions for alot less money, It doesn't leave any residue on your carpets, just add 3/4 cup (the lid of the water tank is a measuring cup) to a tank of HOT water. Even cleans linoleum! Can't say enough about this cleaner, only 2 screws to put it together.
Love it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+320points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bartlesville Oklahoma
Amazing Cleaner!
Posted 01/15/2012
I purchased this online over 6yrs ago and had no idea if it would be as great as the reviews I read on it back then or not. It has held up to it's great reviews all this time, very light, easy to use and certainly is a fantastic cleaner for the money! I am getting another one probably as my catch container lid fell on floor in my garage yesterday when I was putting it away and a piece that locks the lid down broke off. Was very upseting but happy to see Walmart still carries this one! You won't go wrong with this purchase.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 561 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  29 Next