Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

The lightweight design of the Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum make it easy to push, and carry from room to room or up and down stairs. The powerful 12-amp motor of the Dirt Devil vacuum cleaner provides ample suction to pick up dust and dirt quickly. You can clean stairs, upholstery, and more with the on-board stretch hose and included tools with this Dirt Devil carpet cleaner. The MicroFresh filtration traps more than 99% of dust and allergens. Having automatic height adjustment, and weighing less than 12 lbs, this lightweight upright vacuum is suitable for carpet and hardwood floors.
Average Customer Rating:
3.83 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation83%38 out of 46reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Nice Economic Vaccuum

12/03/2012
By ,
Towson, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With 2 dogs we have a lot of hair to vacuum up. The Dirt Devil is light weight and easy to maneuver. It does a very nice job on floors and on the rugs. For the price it is a great value.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Good vacuum

03/12/2014
By ,
MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this vacuum to use in my upstairs so I wouldn't have to carry my Shark upstairs all the time. I went with bagged like a lot of other reviewers because of the nuisance of emptying the bagless ones. This vacuum has great suction and does a good job on carpets and smooth floors. It is very, very noisy though. The thing that was the most annoying and the reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that it comes in a lot of parts that you have to assemble. I never had a vacuum that was such a pain to assemble. They should package it better so you only have a few parts to snap together. Also, when you want to use the attachments you have to shut the vac off and release the hose from the bottom where it is snapped in, instead of just lifting it off and attaching the parts like most other vacs.
For its price though it is a decent vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Great little vacuum for the price!!!!

03/22/2014
By ,
Northern Nevada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love that it is light-weight and the suction is amazing!!! Even has a light! The only negative things I have to say about it is that the cord is a little too short, and I wish it came with a longer hose and floor attachment tool. Other than that, it is an awesome little vacuum! You can't beat it for $44.00!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

You get what you pay for!

10/09/2013
By ,
Home
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a lot of reviews on this before purchasing. There were a lot of complaints I didn't understand. If you want a Dyson, buy a Dyson. If you want an Oreck, buy and Oreck. I needed a vacuum that would do a good job and I wasn't going to pay a lot of money because I knew it would be abused here (seems like we never stop remodeling our 1900's home). My previous vacuum was the earlier model of this and I got it from my mother-in-law who purchased it because it was light weight, that was 15 years ago! Once again, since we owned it, I know what kind of abuse it has taken, and that is why I decided to purchase another one. We have mainly wood flooring, some linoleum, some tile, and two area rugs. As for suction, I was going too slow on the linoleum, and it sucked it up right up off the floor! (Since then I have learned you just can't sweep slow, you have to keep it moving, and it still does a wonderful job.) I typically run the sweeper through the house a couple of times a week and so far I have had no complaints. Someone said it was noisy, I have never had one that isn't, and so what? It sounds like a sweeper! Someone complained about the cord being too short, they must have huge rooms because I haven't had that problem either, but an extension cord is a cheap fix for that problem! I like the idea of having bags, just wish Wal-Mart carried them in store, but I ordered the vacuum online, guess it's only to reason that I should have to order the bags online as well. I hope this helps, I typically don't write reviews, but if this one last half as long as the last one, I figure $50 for 7 years I would be happy!
(Something added I wouldn't have looked for is the light on it as well, it's amazing what you see with it and then sweep it up!!!)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Home
Sad to say...
Posted 10/28/2013
Well, I wrote the "You get what you pay for!" review, sad to say, I had to return this vacuum today. Small plastic pieces began to break off, but didn't effect the way it worked, until today. I was sweeping and the back right wheel completely fell off. :( The plastic that held the screw which held the wheel was cracked and therefore had no way of being fixed. So I guess it's a step down to a Bissell now and hope it last longer than a month and a half.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Excellent vacuum!

03/02/2014
By ,
Detroit, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having several unsuccessful experiences with bagless vacuums, I happily returned to this bagged model and, quite frankly, I couldn't have made a better choice. Since we have pets (two cats), pick up is particularly important. Well, the Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright didn't fail us, plus it wasn't overpriced like so many similar vacuums. I am happy with this purchase!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Manufacturing Defect

04/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this vacuum site to store and upon returning home the bottom portion which you don't assemble was broken. The step pedal to recline the vacuum would not recline. Returned for refund.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

A Great Value

04/20/2014
By ,
Edison, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bagged vacuum does a great job at a great price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Good price, I always like the vacuums w/bags!!!

01/21/2014
By ,
Cinti.,Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I Like Bag vacuums better verses non-bag less vacuum, I hate it when u empty the container and dirt flys everywhere my face,hands,arms and the floor!!! Do not want another bagless vacuum...ever!!! I love my Dirt Devils vacuum that's all I buy. Now my vacuum has a faulty bracket that the cord gets wrap around the top and bottom prones,the top suppose to go up and the bottom goes down; my top prone goes down!!! I can't turn it up either!! I need a replacement bracket.I have the vacuum all put together, so can I get my replacement part as soon as possible? Very good customer! Thank u...;(
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
From DirtDevil02/12/2014
Hi Ridy25, we want to help but may need a little more information. Please give us a call at 800-321-1134 so that we can better assist you. Thanks!

-Ian
Dirt Devil Customer CareDirtdevil
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

EASY TYO HANDLE FOR AN ARTHRITIS PERSON

04/04/2014
By ,
niagara falls, ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good suction, easy to lift, very simple to push- no strain on my arm
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Great value for the price

09/04/2013
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This vacuum costs so little, I wasn't sure how it would perform, but I read some good reviews, so I bought it. It is lightweight, and has great suction. It's a bit noisy, but a great deal. I paid only $45 for it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Good deal!

08/22/2013
By ,
Odenville, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It isn't as well made as my old bagged Dirt Devil (made in USA) but it is lightweight and easy to handle, a great price, and nearly sucked the carpet loose from the floor. I hope it holds up for quite a while.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Good vacuum, at a good price.

06/02/2013
By ,
TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second Featherlite vacuum. First one lasted about 4yrs..... the bearing on the rotator brush froze up and broke the belt. A new rotator brush with the bearings would have cost $34.00, then also would have needed the belt. After pricing, decided to just purchase new vacuum. New model has had few changes and expect good use out of it as well. Would recommend. I personally do not like the bagless vacuums due to high cost of changing filters repeatedly, even though bags are needed, feel it is a more economical way to go.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

A good cleaner for the price

02/23/2014
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have 4 cats that shed year round. I thought that this vacuum cleaner might not do a very good job, but low and behold it does a very good job. It is very lightweight . The only drawback is that the cord is too short and I have to unplug and replug from one room to the other. Not a big deal though for the price..I like bagged vacuums much better than the bag less ones,,,rather take out a bag than be shaking out all the dust and have it fly back up into my face and make my allergies act up.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

dirt devil

05/03/2011
By ,
carrollton,tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
well it is powerful does a good job on floor. my wife wanted one that was light like our old one.. it says under 12 lbs... our old one weight was 11 lbs.. but i got tired of cleaning the filter all the time.. we wanted something light to do the stairs.. it weighed 14 lbs on my scale.. too heavy for us to use on stairs. we decided to keep it and get something light for the stairs.. i wrote dirt devil about the weight .. they offered a refund.. the point is it says under 12 lbs.. thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

excellent vacuum

11/23/2013
By ,
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been a cleaning woman most of my life. I've used every type of vac from a super cheap stick up to a very expensive back pack model. I really am impressed with this little dirt devil. It works just as advertised. Light weight, very powerful, not clunky, and easy to work with. For $50 you can not possibly beat this great machine!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

good vacuum

06/20/2013
By ,
everett,wa.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this vacuum works great! good suction. easy to put on attachments.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Average for surface cleaning and not deep cleaning

07/21/2011
By ,
San Jose, Ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've owned this vacuum cleaner for about 3 yrs now and never really liked it. I only bought the item out of convenience and price point. However, the true adage goes..you get what you paid for. First off, this vacuum cleaner, in my opinion, is terribly loud. Ear piercing loud!! At times I have to put ear plugs on or bathroom tissue to plug my ears from the noise. Now, no vacuum cleaner can ever be quiet but there are some that are quieter that this one. The vac is only marginally good for surface dirt cleaning for carpets/bare floors and not for true deep cleaning for carpets. I mentioned marginally good because at times I have to vacuum (pass) the dirty area(s) twice/three times to pickup the heavier particles. This goes for both carpet and bare floors!! Now, I do have deep carpets so this is possibly why this vac doesn't clean sufficiently as I'd like. Of course, your mileage may very depending if you have deep vs short piled carpet. But overall vac unit mode suction, in my opinion, is not very strong.
However, this vac unit is on the lighter side weight (12lbs) and a bit easier to carry upstairs/downstairs (for me). The hose feature mode does have very good suction. But having a strong hose suction also means super loud noises when in use. These are probably the only 2 decent features I can point out for this vac. There is no stair hand gripe feature on this unit so cleaning the stairs is a bit cumbersome. Of course not all vac units have this feature but would be a plus in my opinion for those who have stairs to clean. Overall, wouldn't recommend this vac unit to anyone. As cheap gift to a friend/inlaws ;) maybe but for your own home use...never!!
Pros:
- light weight (12lbs)
- hose suction is very strong
- price
- auto height adjustment from carpet to bare (no need to flip a switch)
- bagged (no containers to empty out)
- good for surface cleaning carpets/bare floors
- made mainly of plastic parts but I think vac unit is somewhat durable (have owned for 3yrs now w/ no broken pieces yet)
Cons:
- extremely loud
- overall vacuum mode suction is not strong
- not good for deep cleaning on carpets
- no stair gripe feature (optional plus)
- hose attachment feature is a bit short even with extension tube
- super loud!!!! (just needed to point this out again)
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

This vacuum was suggested by severval friends.

01/01/2014
By ,
Pulaski, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lightweight and gets the job done. It is used in an elderly home so I don't know how it is with high traffic areas.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

great price good vac

02/03/2014
By ,
Richmond Va
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far all is well with this vacuum. We received it quickly, all parts were included and put together in just a few minutes. Works well, has plenty of power, light weight. If it has a fair lifetime you cannot beat the price. Who wants to spend a lot of money on a vacuum. Love the bags, cannot understand who would want to deal with exposed dust and mites, etc... when emptying a nasty container.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum
10/26/2012
By ,
canyon country, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like it, it sucks really well and it is really light in weight but heavy duty in clean and cheap so you cant beat that
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1 2 Next