Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Give your home or office a total cleanup with the Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum. This device has a lightweight design that makes it easy to push and carry from room to room, or up and down the stairs. The powerful 12-amp motor of the Dirt Devil upright vacuum cleaner provides ample suction to pick up dust and dirt off the floor, carpet or upholstery quickly. You can clean stairs, furniture and more with the on-board stretch hose and included tools. This lightweight upright vacuum is built with a MicroFresh filtration system that traps more than 99 percent of dust and allergens, to keep your space clean, fresh and sanitary. With automatic height adjustment and weighing less than 12 pounds, this product is suited for both carpeted and hardwood floors.
Average Customer Rating:
3.918 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation82%59 out of 72reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 37 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Nice Economic Vaccuum

12/03/2012
By ,
Towson, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With 2 dogs we have a lot of hair to vacuum up. The Dirt Devil is light weight and easy to maneuver. It does a very nice job on floors and on the rugs. For the price it is a great value.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Good vacuum

03/12/2014
By ,
MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this vacuum to use in my upstairs so I wouldn't have to carry my Shark upstairs all the time. I went with bagged like a lot of other reviewers because of the nuisance of emptying the bagless ones. This vacuum has great suction and does a good job on carpets and smooth floors. It is very, very noisy though. The thing that was the most annoying and the reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that it comes in a lot of parts that you have to assemble. I never had a vacuum that was such a pain to assemble. They should package it better so you only have a few parts to snap together. Also, when you want to use the attachments you have to shut the vac off and release the hose from the bottom where it is snapped in, instead of just lifting it off and attaching the parts like most other vacs.
For its price though it is a decent vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

best vacuum for the money

10/07/2014
By ,
oviedo, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love this vacuum. does a great job. I have a dyson canister and this picks up better, also I like bags instead of bagless. the dust doesn't go all over when you empty it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Perfect Economic Choice

05/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this vacuum based on a review I saw on TV where they said this one did well on all their performance tests (suction, maneuverability, etc).
It is a VERY BASIC vacuum and has a bag (apparently the research says this is better), but it works really well on both my thick carpet and tile floors. It doesn't have a knob to adjust for thickness - apparently does it on it's own. And it drags a bit on my thick carpet, but that doesn't bother me at all. I am really impressed and you can't beat the price; you get a top performing vacuum for the least amount of money. SO WORTH IT!
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Great vacuum - Great price!

10/24/2014
By ,
Bayville, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vacuum is just wonderful. Does the job and with superior power when compared to my old bag-less one! If you have a tight budget and some assembly skills (this one requires some assembly), then this one's for you.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

You get what you pay for!

10/09/2013
By ,
Home
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a lot of reviews on this before purchasing. There were a lot of complaints I didn't understand. If you want a Dyson, buy a Dyson. If you want an Oreck, buy and Oreck. I needed a vacuum that would do a good job and I wasn't going to pay a lot of money because I knew it would be abused here (seems like we never stop remodeling our 1900's home). My previous vacuum was the earlier model of this and I got it from my mother-in-law who purchased it because it was light weight, that was 15 years ago! Once again, since we owned it, I know what kind of abuse it has taken, and that is why I decided to purchase another one. We have mainly wood flooring, some linoleum, some tile, and two area rugs. As for suction, I was going too slow on the linoleum, and it sucked it up right up off the floor! (Since then I have learned you just can't sweep slow, you have to keep it moving, and it still does a wonderful job.) I typically run the sweeper through the house a couple of times a week and so far I have had no complaints. Someone said it was noisy, I have never had one that isn't, and so what? It sounds like a sweeper! Someone complained about the cord being too short, they must have huge rooms because I haven't had that problem either, but an extension cord is a cheap fix for that problem! I like the idea of having bags, just wish Wal-Mart carried them in store, but I ordered the vacuum online, guess it's only to reason that I should have to order the bags online as well. I hope this helps, I typically don't write reviews, but if this one last half as long as the last one, I figure $50 for 7 years I would be happy!
(Something added I wouldn't have looked for is the light on it as well, it's amazing what you see with it and then sweep it up!!!)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Home
Sad to say...
Posted 10/28/2013
Well, I wrote the "You get what you pay for!" review, sad to say, I had to return this vacuum today. Small plastic pieces began to break off, but didn't effect the way it worked, until today. I was sweeping and the back right wheel completely fell off. :( The plastic that held the screw which held the wheel was cracked and therefore had no way of being fixed. So I guess it's a step down to a Bissell now and hope it last longer than a month and a half.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Love it

06/18/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its my 2nd Dirt Devil Featherlite. Great at picking up dog hair...hope they don't stop making these. I noticed though that the cord on this one is shorter than the cord on the last one I purchased.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Excellent vacuum!

03/02/2014
By ,
Detroit, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having several unsuccessful experiences with bagless vacuums, I happily returned to this bagged model and, quite frankly, I couldn't have made a better choice. Since we have pets (two cats), pick up is particularly important. Well, the Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright didn't fail us, plus it wasn't overpriced like so many similar vacuums. I am happy with this purchase!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Very hard to push

07/21/2014
By ,
Rotterdam, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My wife and I only tried this for a minute. We have an area rug over laminate. The vacuum was so hard to push, my wife could barely move it. We returned it with no problem. If you have hardwood, laminate, or low pile carpet, this would be excellent, bu for other types of rug, not a good solution.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Great little vacuum for the price!!!!

03/22/2014
By ,
Northern Nevada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love that it is light-weight and the suction is amazing!!! Even has a light! The only negative things I have to say about it is that the cord is a little too short, and I wish it came with a longer hose and floor attachment tool. Other than that, it is an awesome little vacuum! You can't beat it for $44.00!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

good little vacuum

06/15/2014
By ,
Aurora, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good little vacuum and is my second purchase of this particular item. The first vacuum was purchased over 6 years ago and still works but has a few cracked parts and the beater bar is pretty worn out. You really can't beat the price on this vacuum. It has great suction and cleans the carpet very good. Make sure to clean off the beater bar regularly, especially if you have long hair or anyone with long hair in your household. If the beater bar clogs up and you'll burn up your belts quickly.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

picks up good

08/19/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Don't like that you have to take off cleaning vac hose and put on under flap to use attachments and the cord is about 3 ft . shorter. I auto rug floor levels don't work well. Sorry I did read reviews before buying which I should have listened too. I also would advise trying to find one and look at before purchasing. I had a dirt devil upright before and loveddddddd it. The attachment hose was attached, any time I needed it all I had to do was lift it up and out. The cord was long and lite weight to reach every where in my house without plugging and replugging And the auto levels worked great from rug, floor and carpet. This Vacuum looked exactly like my old one which I had for over 10 years. Sorry about my luck!
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Very good light weight vacuum

04/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this vacuum in the upstairs bedrooms of my home. Easy to handle because it is so light. It has good suction. It sells at a reasonable price and gets the job done. Very pleased!
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Good price, I always like the vacuums w/bags!!!

01/21/2014
By ,
Cinti.,Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I Like Bag vacuums better verses non-bag less vacuum, I hate it when u empty the container and dirt flys everywhere my face,hands,arms and the floor!!! Do not want another bagless vacuum...ever!!! I love my Dirt Devils vacuum that's all I buy. Now my vacuum has a faulty bracket that the cord gets wrap around the top and bottom prones,the top suppose to go up and the bottom goes down; my top prone goes down!!! I can't turn it up either!! I need a replacement bracket.I have the vacuum all put together, so can I get my replacement part as soon as possible? Very good customer! Thank u...;(
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
From DirtDevil02/12/2014
Hi Ridy25, we want to help but may need a little more information. Please give us a call at 800-321-1134 so that we can better assist you. Thanks!

-Ian
Dirt Devil Customer CareDirtdevil
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Good vacuum, at a good price.

06/02/2013
By ,
TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second Featherlite vacuum. First one lasted about 4yrs..... the bearing on the rotator brush froze up and broke the belt. A new rotator brush with the bearings would have cost $34.00, then also would have needed the belt. After pricing, decided to just purchase new vacuum. New model has had few changes and expect good use out of it as well. Would recommend. I personally do not like the bagless vacuums due to high cost of changing filters repeatedly, even though bags are needed, feel it is a more economical way to go.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Great value for the price

09/04/2013
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This vacuum costs so little, I wasn't sure how it would perform, but I read some good reviews, so I bought it. It is lightweight, and has great suction. It's a bit noisy, but a great deal. I paid only $45 for it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

dirt devil

05/03/2011
By ,
carrollton,tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
well it is powerful does a good job on floor. my wife wanted one that was light like our old one.. it says under 12 lbs... our old one weight was 11 lbs.. but i got tired of cleaning the filter all the time.. we wanted something light to do the stairs.. it weighed 14 lbs on my scale.. too heavy for us to use on stairs. we decided to keep it and get something light for the stairs.. i wrote dirt devil about the weight .. they offered a refund.. the point is it says under 12 lbs.. thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Good deal!

08/22/2013
By ,
Odenville, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It isn't as well made as my old bagged Dirt Devil (made in USA) but it is lightweight and easy to handle, a great price, and nearly sucked the carpet loose from the floor. I hope it holds up for quite a while.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Average for surface cleaning and not deep cleaning

07/21/2011
By ,
San Jose, Ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've owned this vacuum cleaner for about 3 yrs now and never really liked it. I only bought the item out of convenience and price point. However, the true adage goes..you get what you paid for. First off, this vacuum cleaner, in my opinion, is terribly loud. Ear piercing loud!! At times I have to put ear plugs on or bathroom tissue to plug my ears from the noise. Now, no vacuum cleaner can ever be quiet but there are some that are quieter that this one. The vac is only marginally good for surface dirt cleaning for carpets/bare floors and not for true deep cleaning for carpets. I mentioned marginally good because at times I have to vacuum (pass) the dirty area(s) twice/three times to pickup the heavier particles. This goes for both carpet and bare floors!! Now, I do have deep carpets so this is possibly why this vac doesn't clean sufficiently as I'd like. Of course, your mileage may very depending if you have deep vs short piled carpet. But overall vac unit mode suction, in my opinion, is not very strong.
However, this vac unit is on the lighter side weight (12lbs) and a bit easier to carry upstairs/downstairs (for me). The hose feature mode does have very good suction. But having a strong hose suction also means super loud noises when in use. These are probably the only 2 decent features I can point out for this vac. There is no stair hand gripe feature on this unit so cleaning the stairs is a bit cumbersome. Of course not all vac units have this feature but would be a plus in my opinion for those who have stairs to clean. Overall, wouldn't recommend this vac unit to anyone. As cheap gift to a friend/inlaws ;) maybe but for your own home use...never!!
Pros:
- light weight (12lbs)
- hose suction is very strong
- price
- auto height adjustment from carpet to bare (no need to flip a switch)
- bagged (no containers to empty out)
- good for surface cleaning carpets/bare floors
- made mainly of plastic parts but I think vac unit is somewhat durable (have owned for 3yrs now w/ no broken pieces yet)
Cons:
- extremely loud
- overall vacuum mode suction is not strong
- not good for deep cleaning on carpets
- no stair gripe feature (optional plus)
- hose attachment feature is a bit short even with extension tube
- super loud!!!! (just needed to point this out again)
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright Vacuum

Best value and performance

08/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I prefer the uprights with bags. They are are very hard to find in stores and online. I have been using Dirt Devil for a long time and still think it's a better vacuum than all the fancy new products online and in stores. I was so happy to find the Dirt Devil I bought 2 - one for me and one for my mom who also still swears by this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next