Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for NeatReceipts NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System

NeatReceipts NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System

Easily scan and store your documents with the NeatDesk Desktop Scanner. This versatile desktop scanner and filing system scanner boasts a scan area of 8.5" x 11". It can scan ten receipts, ten business cards and ten documents in high speed — all at once. This high-speed digital filing system enables you to organize and convert documents to digital data. The NeatDesk Desktop Scanner also captures images at 600 dpi to display clear, high-resolution pictures. You can save the images directly to PDF files, creating secure copies of documents that are compatible with all systems. The desktop scanner and filing system scanner comes with a USB cable, NeatWorks 4.0 software, scanner cleaning paper, quick start guide, and an AC power adapter. You'll enjoy using the NeatDesk Desktop Scanner to organize and digitize your files with ease.
Average Customer Rating:
3.853 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation76%57 out of 75reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
39 Questions | 68 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System

WORST PRODUCT EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

04/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LET ME START OFF SAYING THAT THIS PRODUCT DOESN'T EVEN DESERVE A STAR!!!!
I purchased this product over a year ago. At first I thought the product was great and easy to do. Then I didn't use it for a few months and thats where all the trouble began. I would try to open the program and it would say can't find the database when I didn't even move the database anywhere. I've had to have it backed up and restored 4 different times in the past 6 months. Now it makes you have to sync all your data to the cloud. It won't let you see the images that you downloaded until you finish syncing it. Well at 2% sync a problem code comes up "CODE 138" saying one of the images is preventing it to completely sync. So I did what it told me and it went to 4% complete and the code came up again. So I called the company and talked to them about it. I was on the phone over 3 hrs with them trying to get it to work and they can't figure out the issue. I will not reccomend this product to anyone. SAVE YOUR MONEY, ITS NOT WORTH IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System

Bad product/horrible customer service

04/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought Neat Connect for 499 in January 2014. Immediately got it connected to Neat's cloud and my Dropbox but not my email. Each time I tried to connect to my email I got a message that my password was incorrect -- it wasn't Two weeks later, I couldn't connect with my Dropbox. Tried to call customer service but they don't want to talk to you so you have to email them. Have spent my business partner's time, other staff time, my IT consultant's time and my time to figure out what's wrong and still no help from NEAT. Posted a negative review and they responded by email -- they' don't want to talk to you. Finally called and tech guy couldn't get it to connect to anything but the Neat Cloud. Asked for refund -- was told no refund since I bought it from a third party vendor. Check out all the reviews on different websites-- trouble connecting and no, zero, zip customer support. Run away fast -- very fast. I want a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System

Keeps it Nice and Neat

01/08/2014
By ,
Bethlehem, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is as it says keeps the Desk Neat by scanning documents, receipts and business cards. The on line instructions is basically learn as you go. You can organize your folders as you want them. It does cut down on the paper pile up. Yes the IRS will accept the images on file with the system.
However, it is a learn as you go experience. Also some of the boxes do not allow you to rename them. They have titles for the headers and you have to use them. Also the reports that you can print are basically what they have in the system. I have not figured out how to print a report with just the information I want.
As for price it is still a little high and since it has been around you think they would have dropped the price a little. The best price I found was with Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System

Did not work...

01/11/2011
By ,
WPB, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read a ton of reviews before buying this product and on average, they were good. Once I got the software loaded and device hooked up, I tried my first scan of a legal document. I immediately got an error: "The acquire operation failed". For those who might be interested, I'm running Win7x64. I'm very tech saavy (degrees in EE & Computer Science, build my own PCs, etc.) and tried several trouble shoot steps to no avail. I emailed tech support and did not hear back for a week. When they finally emailed me back, they told me it was a driver error. I never got to try the solution because I boxed up the NeatDesk and took it back. I bought the Fujitsu ScanSnap and I'm MUCH happier with that product. It scans quickly and does not leave the images crooked like the NeatDesk (a common complaint). Go with ScanSnap!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+87points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System

Scanner will break as soon as warranty ends

03/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The idea of this system is great. The software however, does not live up to the promise that it will scan information from each document. After almost a year of entering in everything manually my scanner began to fail. Every week or so I would call customer support and get it going again until finally it died. Even though my scanner began to fail within the warranty period, the company refused to honor it and insisted I buy a new one. More than once, customer service people I dealt with on the phone admitted my return emails had not been read...which was enough to push me past the 1 year warranty period. Do not buy this product or anything else from this company.
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System

Usefull in keeping records

10/03/2010
By ,
Albany, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a software issue and had to uninstall twice before I used an uninstaller (Revo) that removed registry info that did not get removed with the Windows uninstaller. After going through the troubleshooting steps and adding a scanner etc. then reinstalling the downloaded updated software, that it worked fine. I am using Windows XP with service pack 2, so this may have been a contributing factor. A later version of Windows may not have any problems installing. Overall I am happy with the product. I would have liked to have been able to talk with a tech support person, that they DO NOT have. So if you do have trouble, you will have to figure it out yourself or waiting for a trouble ticket solution.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+100points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System

Not what it seems

11/25/2013
By ,
LA, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
problems so far: the digital scan can be not clear enough as a real copy , some data can be copied as digital unclear data. the scan requires you to review each scan for accuracy . so it is not as simple as pressing the button.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System

Horrible Technical Support

10/14/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was my sencond purchase of a Neatdesk scanner. The first one I purchased installed and worked fine. So I purchased another unit and tried to install on another computer here at the office. It did not install correctly. That is when I found out that Neat NO LONGER OFFERS TECHNICAL SUPPORT via the phone. It all has to be done through e-mails which is a very lengthy process of trying one thing and when that fails, e-mail them back and wait another day for another response to try something else. I ended up just giving up and I am going to return it. After spending nearly $400, you would think they could assist for about 5 minutes to resolve their software/hardware issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System

Jams, shreds pages and horrible software

03/07/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The feed tray jams for no good reason with just regular copier / printer paper.
Receipts get shredded and ruined creating the hope the IRS never audits us for that expense since we just fed our proof into the Neat Desk.
The software is a different nightmare, the installer demands 1GB+ of hard drive space and still fails to detect and work after wasting 30 minutes and two reboots to finish. The confusing install process asks for a destination directory but just ignores your selection burying itself deep into %programfiles%\common files.\.\.\.\blah-blah-blah.
Scan jobs aren't recoverable if jammed and have to be rescanned but the pages scanned thus far aren't deleted, aren't recovered and waste disk space until hunted and deleted.
Scanned images aren't PDF but heavy TIF files stored in Microsoft SQL Server Express requiring export to PDF which seems to work only half the time but the failed export leaves image artifacts wasting disk space until manually deleted.
The OCR is disappointing, failing to recognize name and address blocks and misreading common words others scanners handle with ease.
TechSupport is superb, they respond quickly and offer live phone and chat support since it seems they've had excessive practice but overall this scanner is a nightmare.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+125points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System

Excellent Product

06/12/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used the mobile version of this product ( Neat Receipts ) for quite a while.
I decided to upgrade to the Desktop version, and I am very impressed on how well everything works.
It scans both sides of paper quickly in one pass, and several sheets can be scanned in no tme at all.
You can then export several sheets into one PDF file if you need to see them together.
Overall, this is an excellent concept and will make life so much easier with less paper being kept.
Just make sure you back up your hard drive that you store your scanned images on, if you throw away the paper after you scan it !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+186points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System

Great for office paperwork!

08/15/2014
By ,
Hollis, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love this! Makes my life so much easier. Some receipts have to be adjusted to read but most scan fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System

Cleaned my desk up quickly!

01/27/2011
By ,
Lake Worth, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had several boxes of paperwork just piled next to my desk, and I was always meaning to get to it. I tried this neat desk scanner and I was somewhat pleased. I was shocked at the price I had to pay. That was too much money for a scanner and software. However, I also imagined how much I would pay to have someone else declutter those boxes. I so I purchased it at walmart to save money, nearly $40 cheaper than TV. The scanner works really fast, and that was good. The software does not recognize your documents as they claim it would on the TV. The scanner did recognize the buisness cards, but I found that it used the wrong info at times, so I had to make many corrections. I was pleased that the scanner was really fast, almost 15 pages a minute was great. But the pages wold not load straight unless I held them. So every document or reciept or paper was slightly crooked. I purposfully held in place the documents that were needed to reprint later.
After a week, I was able to get rid of all 4 boxes by my desk and I can use my computer to retrieve anything I labeled. But I had to label and file everything in my computer. The software doesnt do it, as we were all hoping.
As for the Taxes part, I was hoping that the software would know what to do, and it does not. You have to know everything and tell the screen what catagory and if it was tax deduatable and what tax form to put it on. It was not easy.
So Overall, the machine was average, and the software was average, but they will upgrade it in the future. I will keep this item, as I dont want another pile next to my desk, and it was fast at getting a big project scanned ito the computer. I reccommend that you buy a spare portable drive, that after you have scanned files that you dont want to lose, that you download them to a spare hard drive as a back up.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+233points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System

Poor scan quality

03/03/2014
By ,
VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
All if my scans had black streaks--even after I calibrated the scanner. The software is helpful that it comes with but I honestly can't believe they can sell such a poor quality scanner-- and it is expensive! I bought this product to simplify my home office and I spent hours just trying to get it to work. (Which I never could do so I returned it!)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System

Excellent tool for a family

05/31/2011
By ,
Sunset Beach, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System is very easy to use. I did have some problems installing it onto my computer because I originally had the NeatReceipts Mobile Scanner program installed. NeatCo had updated their program which I was unaware of at the time. NeatCo Customer service helped me solve the problem. They were great!
The NeatDesk Desktop is much easier to use than the mobile scanner and much faster. Put the document or receipt in; touch scan; and it is done. Then you go to the inbox and complete the history of the document; and file it into the folder -- you are done.
You can scan lots of pages at once and it is so quick.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System

STAY AWAY FROM NeatDesk

01/10/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I recieved this product and installed as instructed. The software could not even start in Windows 7 X64 Enterprise edition. They are referring to .Net version 2. .Net 4 is the current one. I am programmer and very savy in computers and I cannot get itto work. This software is outdated, the product is worthless. it looks good though.
I believe you can do better with $360 than waisitn on this product.
There is no phone number for support. Noone answers at sales department.
THIS IS THE WORST EQUIPMENT I HAVE EVER PURCHASED.
RETURNING IT TO WALLMART TODAY.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System

This product would probably be great if it worked.

07/20/2013
By ,
Toney, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have not been able to get this scanner to sync with Neat Cloud, or Outlook. I contacted Neat Customer service almost 2 weeks ago (via chat session that I had to wait 45 min for, was on chat 45 min) the service person said she would have to get with software personnel to work on this one, but they were gone for the day. It was 3:30 CST and they work 9:30-5:00 EST. I still have not had anyone get back to me and have followed all the suggestions on their site. Poor Customer service, does not work as easily as described in their videos, no documentation on software compatibility. I am still trying to install and uninstall different software to see if it changes. I am very familiar with computers and software and would not recommend this product to anyone.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System

Died in two weeks and poor customer service

09/18/2012
By ,
san diego
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product would not install. The customer service was poor. Found out that there was many errors with the driver. With some difficulty I have the driver installed. Lasted several weeks and then it just died. It just would not turn on. When I called support, they wanted me to install the drivers and uninstall and reinstall over and over. I finally told them no and returned for a refund. If it did not start, what would a driver do?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System

Check Quicken compatibility before purchase!

10/13/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I REALLY wanted (and needed!) this solution to work. However, after trying to tame the Paper Monster by purchasing an up-to-date version of Quicken, an external hard drive, NeatDesk, and spending two days trying to make it all work together, I learned that NeatDesk is NOT COMPATIBLE with Quicken 2012!! There is currently NOTHING on the box, display, or the website's technical specs to indicate it is only compatible with Quicken 2011 or earlier; this info is buried in the Support files. NeatWorks is aware of the problem but isn't publicizing it to potential customers...after purchase, they will suggest waiting for a fix to be available at some undetermined future date. So...if you get/have Quicken 2012, check for updated specs or with the company to be SURE you can TRY to make it work as advertised!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System

Be patient with the setup, then you'll love it!

07/08/2012
By ,
Concord, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NeatDesk Scanning System is excellent.  It took some work to get it set up, but then things worked perfectly.  It’s very important to follow the setup instructions as written.  Even then, I ran into a problem with installation. Specifically, “An error occurred while installing system components for Neat; Setup cannot continue until all system components have been successfully installed,” was the message.  Per the Neat website, it is due to a manufacturing defect with the CD included in recent shipments.  The solution is simple - go to http://neatreceipts.custhelp.com/app/home “Most Popular Answers” and follow the instructions associated with that error message.
My reason for getting NeatDeak was so I could scan receipts and then export the data to Quicken.  It’s amazing how it reads receipts; note, however, that they go in the slot face up BOTTOM first.  I thought the scanner was a piece of garbage until I figured out how to feed them correctly.   Also, I found that you cannot position a narrow document at either edge of the document slot - you must feed it CENTERED or the scanner will not read it.
The PDF manual that can be accessed from the NeatDesk website is very good.  It very nicely walks you through the import export instructions so data can be exported to Quicken.  When “reviewing” scanned receipts, it’s best to use the same payees and categories that you use for Quicken.  When the scanner reads whether you used MasterCard or Visa or Discover, it’s a little annoying that it won’t pick a previously used account name that has the term “MasterCard” (or Visa or Discover) in it, but instead it creates a new account called “Master Card” even if you’ve deleted that name from the original list.  I can live with that annoyance since the scanner is so fast and does such a good job.  I love it!
The 16GB Flash Drive came bundled with the scanner but arrived separately.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
Centon 16GB DataStick Pro USB 2.0 Flash Drive, Gray
4.3 out of 5(112)
 
 
 
 
 
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System

As Advertised

11/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Neat Desk is EXACTLY AS ADVERTISED! It is wonderful. It installed quickly and easily and works like a dream. It is simple and straight forward, you don't have to bother with directions. It chooses (if you like) the category and if it isn't right, simply click and drag it to where you want it.
I have and will continue to reccomend this to friends and family.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next