Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Oster Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Countertop Oven

Oster Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Countertop Oven

The Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Countertop Oven is ideal for large families. With its conventional cooking technology, it spreads heat evenly all around the cooking area thereby retaining the true flavor of your food. This electric countertop oven provides an extra-large interior that can accommodate a frozen pizza, a whole chicken or even a 13"x 9" pan. The interiors are easy to clean. The brushed stainless finishing of this Oster countertop oven gives it an elegant look to complement your kitchen decor. The easy-to-use digitized menus of this countertop oven offers easy selection from the wide range of options such as baking, broiling, pizza, toasting and defrosting. The Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Countertop Oven comes with an user-friendly digital control panel for convenient operation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(594 Reviews) 539
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
395
4 stars
127
3 stars
24
2 stars
18
1 star
30
Customer Recommendation90%531 out of 590reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
254 Questions | 957 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
395
4 stars
127
3 stars
24
2 stars
18
1 star
30
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Countertop Oven

CATUION!!

12/12/2014
By ,
South Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this product for over and year and never experienced any problems. Until recently I was baking some biscuits and I opened the door and the glass exploded everywhere. I have contacted Oster because I'm sure this is some sort of defect. I'm glad my children weren't using the oven at this time because they could have been seriously injured.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Countertop Oven

excellent for pizza cookies taco bowls or anything

09/18/2012
By ,
WORLDS ONLY CORN PALACE MITCHELL, S.D.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we have already made red baron large pizza's in it and bought some of those taco bowl pans from walmart 4 for $10 and made taco salad and as you can see from the pictures this cooks great and we made chocolate cookies also.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Countertop Oven

I must have gotten the lemon !!!

01/30/2013
By ,
the Burg of Rust, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sorry about all of you who give your oven bad ratings ...
I've had mine for about a month and it has performed EXACTLY as advertised !!! I've completely abandoned my range's oven. I'll even bake a dish on the upper rack, in a 9x13 pan and near the end of it's cook time, slide a leftover side onto the bottom rack to re-heat.
I have measured the temperature of this oven (I keep the thermometer hanging in it now), and it is dead on. I put the oven on a counter-top next to the stove, pushed it as far back as it would go, till the "nipple" of the bulbous protrusion was against the wall. My unit doesn't get overly hot and I can even lay hands on the sides & top after baking at 350º for 30 minutes!
Honestly, I haven't really used the broiler yet, except to put a little "browning" on cheese topped dishes), nor have I ventured into the foreign (to me) world of convection cooking. I bought this oven for the baking aspect, to discontinue the use of my stove's oven and I got EVERYTHING I WANTED & paid for. OBTW, I can't judge it's "Durability" at this point, that's the ONLY reason I didn't give it a "5" in "Durability".
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+107points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Countertop Oven

Great to use in place of oven!

06/22/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I only rated durability at 4 because I've only had it about 1 month. So I can't really tell on that yet. The price was good for the size and features. Walmart site-to-store was great. Love the rounded back that lets you cook a large pizza. My 9x13 fits great and I like the convection feature, something I've been wanting. But there aren't any real instructions for converting from regular oven to convection, regarding the time difference. Still, I'm working with it and it's doing ok. It has a feature called 'warm' which I assume means it will keep something warming for 30 minutes (or you can set for lesser time) but there are NO instructions in the booklet about WARM, and I'm not sure if that is going to be good. Still working with it. I wish I had more counter space -simply to keep the unit out from under the cabinet more - it warms up the underside of the cabinet a lot when I'm cooking, and the short cord doesn't allow for much positioning. I understand why the short cord (safety) but it should be a little longer. Otherwise, it cooks great and I love it so far! Love not heating the big oven up for casseroles, etc. ONE other thing- you can't cook past 1-1/2 hrs (90 minutes) - unless you adjust it when it's done to start again. It's not a slow cooker and you can't run off and leave it all day. So go use the slow cooker :D BTW, the broiler pan in the picture came with it, and it also has 2 racks and 2 rack positions (low and midway high) in the oven.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+92points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Countertop Oven

It's a very nice oven but,

04/17/2014
By ,
Cleveland,Oh
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This oven is beautiful and it seems to work well.It's plenty big but I have two issues. The oven in the video is different than the one i got. it shows that the bake pan has its own rack, well it does not and also no red power light at the bottom. My bigger issue is the quality control with this oven as they applied the digital control pad all cockeyed and it ruins the ovens looks (see photo) These items are not deal breakers but I am not happy about it so I gave it an overall average rating
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Asheville, NC
No offense meant to you.......
Posted 06/25/2014
But have you taken the time to contact Oster to see about getting the missing parts ..... I personally have dealt with Oster about Appliances and they have stepped up each time . So here you go contact them and let them know what is missing ........ Oster® Appliances (800) 334-0759 . Best to you and good luck .......
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Countertop Oven

Great as extra oven.

12/08/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I still prefere to cook in our regular oven,however I needed something I can use to cook a batch of fries or a frozen pizza.If your looking for a really quick oven like a microwave,this will not fit the bill as cooking times (even on convection)can take just as long.We bought a Papa murphys pizza and regular size did fit but it took 50 minutes to cook through,it was good but my main oven would of fixed just as quick.Also timer is a nusiance,always starts at 30 minutes and you have to press minute by minute to your desired time,touch control not very easy to activate as you have to find exact spot and press quite firmly.Also no light in oven and no way to stop oven door from slamming down on counter.Dont suggest kids using without an adult in vicinity,keep hot pads close by and purchase new light colored pans for cookies.I personally like this oven,but my family isnt sure yet and they need to get used to,but as extra oven and warmer it serves its purpose.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Countertop Oven

Not as functional as its looks.

08/26/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would have liked to give the benefit of doubt to the product since the price was certainly of value. I bought the product because of price size and perceived functions. The first one had a clock problem which effected the cooking time and I returned it. The second one has the same clock problem and the warming action only warms the top layer. My friend has a similar product and she too has a clock problem but the warming action works better on her product. I have not baked as yet but the toasting action works fine with no problems but with no timing to the toasting action one must watch it. It seems that there is no consistency in this product. I will be returning this second one too with disappointed because it looks good has a great size and projects a perceived outcome which did not work for me. The customer service responded that the plug should not be along with other gadgets as it absorbs the EM. Mine was in an isolated location so its a mute point.
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
clock problem
Posted 09/29/2014
Mine also had a bad clock/timer. It never worked. I could set the clock everyday, but till the next morning, it was over an hour ahead. Otherwise it works great.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Countertop Oven

Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Cou

04/17/2013
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First let me point out the picture shown is the Model: TSSTTVXLDG-001 while the video shows Model: TSSTTVXLDG. I called Oster about the difference and besides the control panel, door handle and Broil pan/rack the Model: TSSTTVXLDG-001 has a 5 year warranty while Model: TSSTTVXLDG is a 1 year warranty but besides that both ovens are the same. This is also less than 13" tall about 12.5" if you have height issues like I did. Now, this is a very nice oven and yes the top gets hot, hot enough to heat the metal wire rack above it. I need to lower the rack the oven sits on to create a bigger air space, more than 1". Sadly it doesn't have a Rotisserie like my other 2 toaster ovens but I use the conviction action more now. It's taller than my old one, about 2" taller but the rack spacing is smaller, you need a very low sided pan to cook on both racks together like in the photo. This is wider and that comes in handy, very handy. It has no light unlike other Oster ovens do which is a bummer but not a deal breaker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Countertop Oven

Best Buy of 2010

12/17/2010
By ,
Cheraw, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First and only negative "very short" cord, and oh the top get's quite hot so careful what you place on top and around children. Ok now to the good stuff, this oven is EVERTHING I was hoping for. It's large, easy 2 loaf pan's fit and like they say a 10x13 and a large 6qt. dutch oven. I can put a 3 course meal in there for my husband and myself easily, lot's of room ( haven't tried a pizza yet, but am sure it will be great ) It is so easy to program the temp. and the cooking time and so quiet when cooking, also cooks faster than reg. oven (when on convection, which I LOVE) It's very nice and clean looking and just what I've been looking for, for year's. I can't say enough good about this oven and trust me you wouldn't be happy with the smaller one, so if you're serious about wanting a oven that does it all and efficently you'll love this as much as I do. Agian nice looking, easy to read and set setting, many different options, quiet, large interior, 2 rack's and broiler pan and worth every penny, you won't be sorry!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dallas, TX
This is a great oven
Posted 12/30/2013
I bought it mainly for cooking 16 in x-large pizzas.
I find myself using this oven for everything.
It is fast, efficient, and easy clean up.
You cannot go wrong buying this oven.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Countertop Oven

Great oven

08/06/2014
By ,
Bloomington, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the older model for over 5 years and use it as my main oven. Can get 16 inch pans in. Other ovens similar are to small and do not cook well. They had discontinued it after I bought it . When the only problem I had, the door spring mechanism wore down the bolt . It would lock in and made it hard to open. I forced it open and the door shattered ( for good it was safety
glass) just scared me when it shattered. Thought it was discontinued and would have to settle for something less or go more expensive and get a small commercial convection oven. But looked at Walmart online and saw they had bought it back. Very happy for its a great deal at $99 not the $350 and up for commercial convection oven. This one made just a few changes and one is the bolt spring system was improved , it will avoid the problem I had. Other people must have had same problem. Very happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Countertop Oven

Terrific Value

10/08/2012
By ,
Atlanta GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I have owned this less than a month, I cannot be sure about durability. But performance is excellent. I got this to transition to a new kitchen design when my old oven died a bit prematurely. I have been so pleased. The convection mode allows me to cook even a 7 pound turkey breast with excellent results. The convection does cook a bit faster so you will need to make adjustments, but it seems to do everything very well.
It sits on a counter where I can pull it out a bit to minimize heat to the above cabinet. Since it is not a real insulated oven it gets very, very hot. It is easy to touch a finger during checking or removing your item, so I solved this problem by placing a potholder to the side and making its use mandatory for the family. This solved the problem of accidentally touching a hot spot.
I love this extra roomy oven, and I am hoping its durability will prove to be as good as the rest of its performance. Cannot beat this product, especially at the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Countertop Oven

Excellent alternate convection oven option

11/25/2013
By ,
Crockett, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased the Oster Extra Large Countertop Convection Oven several weeks ago, and so far it has been excellent. It is large enough to accommodate two 9x13 " cake/casserole pans, if the pan used on the second rack is quite shallow, and the top rack easily offers the space for a large chicken or medium size La Creuset casserole. I wish that Oster offered a dial control option instead of electronic push button controls, which are always a pain, as you have to keep pressing the various temperature controls to get to the temperature desired. The oven automatically shuts itself off after 30 minutes, unless you program it for as long as 90 minutes, which is the longest time cycle allowed, and in order to program it, you have to read the enclosed directions very carefully in order to utilize the time extensions permitted. Our regular Kitchenaid oven control panel self destructed, so this is a great alternative while we are searching for a new oven.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Countertop Oven

WOW IT'S BIG

11/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fantastic product. I will say there is a learning curve with the convection side of the oven. I find it will do a great job with smaller pans and single layers of mix's. When I used the convection side I found that it takes around 2 to 3 minutes less on the cooking time. I am still on a learning curve with using both shelves though. But I find with biscuits or rolls they work best on the bottom shelf when I am using both shelves. I find that this product for the money is perfect. If you want more then spend the money but for what I am using this for it is perfect. I use it for cornbread, biscuits, rolls, cakes, cobblers and today I am going to do a roast chicken this will be a first but I don't see any reason to think it will be anything but perfect! It would have been nice to have a light but hey a small flash light will work just fine without opening the oven I have found and loosing any heat.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Countertop Oven

Big enough to Bake a 13X9 Cake or a Pie

12/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the perfect size,just what I wanted in a toaster/convection oven.
It is big enough to do almost everything my regular oven can except fit a turkey or a large ham in it.
I have made a couple of pies,muffins,roast,baked a whole chicken and everything turned out great.
My only problem is the timer will not work. It worked the first couple times I used it,but not any more. And with no timer it turns itself off after around 30 minutes and you have to turn it back on.
I emailed oster's customer service a couple days ago about the problem,but no reply yet
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Countertop Oven

Love my toaster oven

10/29/2010
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased the toaster oven to have a more efficient oven. My husband was very critical of the ones we looked at in several stores. We liked the size and appearance of the Oster and that it is a convection oven. I love to cook and did not want one so small that I couldn't do a sizeable meal in it.
The convection option is wonderful, I'd recommend it to anyone. Food comes out evenly cooked. The 1st item I baked was chicken breasts - perfect. No overcooked outside to get the inside up to temp (without a covering).
The toaster oven is very simple to use. The stainless steel looks great and we like the design. You really can fit large items in the oven.
I had trouble at first remembering to press the start after I'd done the temp and time settings. Wondered why it wasn't working!
The toaster oven gives me an extra oven to use without the expense of a wall oven. My range plus this are all I can imagine needing. And I'll probably use the toaster oven most of the time. It must save on electric, given the size. It's easy to clean so far, haven't done many messy itmes yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+493points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Countertop Oven

Convection Countertop Oven - Not that great.

12/08/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
OK, I can't say I don't like it, but there are some issues: No interior light; no "stop" on the racks, so they can pull out really fast and all the way out; I've burned myself on it twice; on convection it doesn't cook any faster, and in fact at any setting, bake, broil, toast... it doesn't work as well as it should. Doesn't get as hot as it should and things take longer to cook; buttons are a little hard to push because they aren't buttons; timer doesn't go up or down in regular increments, it's hard to get it exact.
Having said all that, I like the fact that I don't have to heat up a big oven, I've used it a lot in the short time I've had it and I'm going to keep it. But I wouldn't tell someone that they should get this particular one because of it shortfalls.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Countertop Oven

Touch Pad lasted one week!!

12/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nice design idea. Spacious. Very attractive. Looks expensive. Door is very poorly made. Touch pad quit working after a week. I returned it to the store and bought a different brand. It seems others had this same problem. Purchased one with knobs this time. We will see!
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Countertop Oven

Not as good as I expected

12/14/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a larger oven but the racks are not adjustable. There is only about a 2 inch gap between the racks so it's not really possible to use both at the same time. I think it also gets hotter than what you have it set to because everything starts to burn before it should even be done. I had a Hamilton Beach oven before and wish I had went back with one of those. The racks were adjustable and I didn't have problems with things burning.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Countertop Oven

Great for Rv, Home or Apmt.

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does everything it says it would. Bakes a 16" pizza. Fits a 9 x 13 dish. Fantastic baking. Did a mac and cheese and it was perfect. Timer is great. True, the bottom rack is narrow in height for a suitable dish but I like the height of the overall oven at 13"s to be able to fit on my RV counter. Would be nice if it had a light inside to watch cooking but Can't have everything. I use a small flashlight to look at the cooking if I want to check it out. Rack is sturdy and holds the weight of the items very well. Love this oven. Great price, great beauty and overall excellent. Five year satisfaction warranty is a big plus. Would buy this Oster for a friend. This is the 001 model so make sure if you are looking for 13" height it is the 001 model TSSTTVXLDG-001. The taller model is the model without the 001 on the end of the model number and I think it was 16" tall. Enjoy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Countertop Oven

My new BFF in the kitchen!

12/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this Toaster Oven! At first I saved the box so I wouldn't have something so big on my counter. But I'm using it so often, it now has a permanent place. This has become my go to instead of turning on my oven. I would not only recommend , but will be buying one for my daughter when she moves into her new house in March!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 506 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  26 Next