Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Frigidaire Frigidaire 70-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier, White FAD704TDP

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Frigidaire Frigidaire 70-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier, White FAD704TDP

The Frigidaire 70-pint dehumidifier is an Energy Star compliant 70-pint per day unit capable of continuous operation when located near a suitable drain. It features full-function electronic controls, an easily accessible collection container with level indicator, and a washable filter that removes both moisture and airborne particulates. The integrated casters allow you to move the Frigidaire 70-pint dehumidifier easily wherever it's needed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.581 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(105 Reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
78
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation94%99 out of 105reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
78
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier, White FAD704TDP

You can't go wrong with a Frigidaire

07/19/2010
By ,
South Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The boss wanted a good dehumidifier, I went to Walmart.com and started searching and reading reviews, I found the Frigidaire 70 pint (no reviews though that's why i'm writing one) and decided that was the one. I used to be a SEARS appliance repair man and I know Frigidaire has a reliable product. I got our dehumidifier and let it sit for a day then plugged it in in the basement, now we have all we can do to keep up with it, this thing pulls moisture out of the air like crazy, we knew it was a little musty in this old school basement, but we dump this thing 2 or 3 times a day so now we added a hose. One more thing, this thing purrrrs like a kitten. It's a +++++
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 2 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier, White FAD704TDP

Frigidaire 70-Pint Great Unit!

06/15/2010
By ,
Trumansburg, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this Frigidaire 70 Pint dehumidifer. Added a "little giant" pump which pumps all the water to a location of my choice as this unit fills up it's own reservoir very quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 3 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier, White FAD704TDP

Great dehumidifier, but...

04/15/2011
By ,
near Asheville, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Received my dehumidifier yesterday, much faster than Walmart.com promised it. The unit appears to be well made and designed. It is much quieter than any previous dehumidifiers I've owned but it has one feature than I am not pleased with. The fan runs continuously whether the unit is dehumidifying or not. All previous units (other brands) would turn off the fan when the desired humidity level was reached. Also, I was concerned that the unit was not working properly because the outlet air is barely warm when dehumidifying. Frigidaire assures me this is normal. The noise level is both a plus and a minus. It is quiet, so quiet that one cannot tell if the compressor is running or not. The only way to know if the unit is operating is to feel the outlet air and/or check the very handy water-level indicator in the collection tank. Outside of the continuous fan noise I am pleased with the unit so far. Since all previous dehumidifiers have proved unreliable, the jury is still out on this one. Time will tell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier, White FAD704TDP

Excellent Value

01/05/2011
By ,
Saint Louis MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have gone through 3 dehumidifiers in 10 years at current home. 1st three purchases lower capacity bargain brands at home improvement stores. Shopped extensively online for high capacity units and found Walmart offered best value including price and ease of return if problem experienced. Unit arrived in 2 days after online purchase. Due to installation in December, unit has not been extremely active only sporadically running on unusually warm Saint Louis winter days. Electronic humidity setting great feature. Unit reasonably quiet but not an issue as located in basement. Immediately noticed this unit has much higher air moving capabilities than lower capacity units previously owned which should be a plus servicing 1300 square foot unfinished basement. Unit does not run continuously as previous reviewers complained. Am hoping this unit offers an improvement in service life due to higher capacity and brand quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier, White FAD704TDP

Works fine, quiter than Soleus

04/10/2011
By ,
Madison, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this dehumidifier for my basement, initially it ran for 3 days straight and once the humidity level in the basement evened out it has been maintaining just fine.
Running it eliminated the musty odor that was developing in the basment and for this I am grateful.
While it works fine and is quieter than the equivalent Soleus dehumdifier there are a couple of quibbles that I have, one minor and one not so minor. The minor quibble is that I wish it was even quieter but compared to the Soleus (which was so unbearably loud that I ended up returning it) it is tolerable.
The not so minor quibble is how this unit short cycles. What I mean by that is that the unit will run, once the humidity setting is met it will shut off but then start up a couple of minutes later. Frigidaire should put a time delay so that after the humidity setting is reached the unit should not restart for a set time (e.g. after a minimum of 30 minutes) and not a minute later.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 6 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier, White FAD704TDP

Well worth it..apparently!

07/31/2010
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Last weekend we had nine inches of rain in two days...thank the lord for sump pumps...as we probably would have been four to six feet deep.
Anyhow... after the clean up..our unfinished basement was still extremely damp and clammy. Saw this unit online...it shipped real quickly for $4.95...right to the porch. Plugged it in, and within an hour...we were believers. It is extremely portable (casters and handle) I have used it with and without the drain hose. (If you're concerned about attaching the drain hose..it's a snip..Lowe's sells em for $5). The air and cement floor look smell and feel a whole lot better already.
Dont know what the electric bill will look like... but the darn thing is awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 7 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier, White FAD704TDP

Very effective!

06/24/2010
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I don't yet know what kind of a bite it will be on my electric bill yet (685 watts,) but it really does a great job of taking the moisture out of my basement. From what I have measured, it's actually removing more pints per day that what it is rated (70 ppd.)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier, White FAD704TDP

Hit or Miss - My second unit seems OK

05/14/2011
By ,
Upstate, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NOTE: This has updates for the machine(s) as the usage approached 250 hours -
My first unit was noisy (Loud vibration from the compressor against the internal plastic frame), so I called Frigidaire and was told to return it, indicating the compressor could be loose. (I do not think it is. If I lift the machine while running, it quiets down the vibration - Also, I took out the filter looked inside and saw what appeared to be a noise/vibration insulation strip poorly placed by the compressor and frame - Seemed it was off-set - Note: The second unit looked OK, with no appearance of an off-set noise/vibration insulation strip).
The second unit I ordered had the noise briefly, but it quieted down. I run this machine in the basement where it is 60 degrees and the compressor shuts down quite a bit, due to freezing up (The fan keeps running). I normally run for 12 hours at a time each day, but have run up to 15 hours. My basement is at 55% humidity and only goes down slightly. After 15 hours, the float is just about ready to move for the level indicator in the bucket. Time will tell how this runs in warmer weather.
OK, I ran this for three days for 16 hours each day and then about two hours the next day (about 50 hours) and it finally filled and did an auto shut off. The bucket is about 10 quarts, with a plastic lid secured in place, which makes it not that easy to empty. I poured the water into another bucket (11 quart) and then poured down my drain in the basement.
I expect I have 250 hours on this machine now, since the filter light glowed this morning (I shut off the machine and the light went out, but glowed again when the machine was turned back on - The filter re-set button needed to be pressed). I took out the filter (it appeared clean), cleaned it, replaced it, turned on the machine, and pressed on the filter re-set button -
All is well, the filter re-set light is off and the machine is running.
Overall, this seems to be OK, especially in a basement that is now between 60 to 63 degrees. I expect the compressor will run longer as the basement gets warmer in the next several months.
The noisy unit takes about the same amount of water out of the air, when tested at a 16 hour timeframe. I returned the noisy machine to a local store that accepted the return, including delivery charges for a defective unit.
Hope this helps, j.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 9 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier, White FAD704TDP

crawl space moisture

09/09/2010
By ,
tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After being told that the best way to combat a significant ductwork condensation problem in a crawl space of 2200 sq. feet would be a dehumidifier, I read a ton of reviews of various products. I actually ordered another brand but returned it when it arrived broken. I tried this one because of the reviews. After running continuously for 4 days all ductwork moisture was gone. It has been a month and the standing moisture is mostly gone after changing the setting to auto. I have teamed the unit with an exterior pump to take the water away. They work well together.
The Walmart price was the best I could find. Home shipping was inexpensive and fast. The reviews I read indicate longevity might be a problem and it is too soon to address that but I am very satisfied so far. Because so many reviews indicate early operational problems I suggest a purchase from a place with a generous return policy. Thankfully I did not need it with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier, White FAD704TDP

Excellent Product!! You will not be disappointed

07/29/2010
By ,
New Haven, CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this dehumidifier a few days ago for my finished basement to get rid of the moisture coming through the basement floor and the slightly musty odor and I must say that I'm impressed with the amount of moisture this thing is sucking out of the air.
Pros:
Easy setup. Just plug it in, turn it on. The controls are pretty self explanatory. The large bucket holds a lot of water; which is good because this thing really sucks the moisture out of the air. The unit automatically turns off when the bucket is full so there are no concerns about overflow and cleaning up a mess. Shipping from Walmart.com was very fast. I ordered it on a Saturday. Shipped it to my home and got it on Tuesday. I paid for standard shipping which was only $4.99
Cons:
The unit can be a bit noisy especially when on high speed. The unit does such a great job that you will have to keep emptying the bucket so maybe a bigger bucket is needed ; Or you can use the hose attachment to direct the water to a drain.
Summary:
The pros outweigh the cons. The product shamelessly does what it's intended to do and is well worth the price. If you want a dry, musty and insect free basement, this product is for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier, White FAD704TDP

Still not wroking right

09/10/2010
By ,
Wilmington, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sadly this dehumidifier will not function as promised with the hose attachment. It will work for a short time and then everything collects in the bucket instead of draining through the hose. Tried 2 different hoses and attached over and over to make sure it was on properly. This machine may right needs if you are watching and emptying the container frequently but I was not happy with results since I wanting to have it work with the hose function.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 12 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier, White FAD704TDP

JUNK !!!

11/22/2010
By ,
Greenville, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this item in June 2010. It worked great for a while. I noticed yesterday it is not working at all. My last dehumidifier, another brand, lasted for 5 years with no problems. I'm very disappointed in this one. Past 90 days for a return to the store so I'm going to contact manuf. and see what they have to say. Ugggghhh !
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Review 13 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier, White FAD704TDP

excellent if you want something that works great!

07/01/2011
By ,
Oil City, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this for my first floor im my house and it actually takes care of the whole downstairs. This is three rooms, totalling well over 3500 Square feet. With the capabilities of this machine and the quality of it I was amazed at how well it works. It keeps the whole downstairs at a comfortable 45% humidity and that is on days of 75% outside. The ability to choose the humidity level you want and between two speeds, it pulls water out of the air so fast that we had to empty the bucket within ten hours. Amazing Then it keeps it at the level you set it automatically. It's also very quiet. I can't hear it over mu tv and can talk in the same room and hear the person's answers without any problem and I am partially deaf. It's just an incredible buy for an incredible machine. it even allows my air conditioner to run alot more efficeintly and the refridgerator too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier, White FAD704TDP

works like a charm

09/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Feels solid and well made.
Used it for about 1 month and my only complaint would be that the unit removes so much water from the air that I can't keep up emptying the water container. I will have to get a hose and hook the unit up to the sump pump pit. Supposedly this can be done with a standard garden hose and connectors that are available from your local DIY store.
This is a energy star unit and therefore my state will also issue a $25 rebate check. The Walmart price and rebate will make this unit a very competitive priced item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier, White FAD704TDP

Super Quiet

09/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for the quietest dehumidifier I could find and this one delivers. I understand that this product may be limited for cold temperatures, but it is a high functioning and quiet dehumidifier for my use. We are trying to dehumidify an upstairs which is very humid. This one works can pull 70 pints a day and is super quiet. It is a super value. It really takes the water out of the air. It is more attractively styled then I'm used to. And there is a cover inside to prevent the bucket from spillling when you take it out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier, White FAD704TDP

It does exactly what it's built to do

07/13/2010
By ,
Waterloo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my old dehumidifier died, I tried to get it repaired. When the estimate came back as $200+, I went on a search for a replacement. The Frigidaire 70-Pint unit wins! I had very high humidity in my basement along with that musty odor. I noticed an almost immediate improvement. I currently don't have the unit using the drain hose option, so I have to empty the bucket. That's how I know how well it works. I have to empty it twice a day! Now the basement is very comfortable and usable again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier, White FAD704TDP

Did as promised out of the box

07/18/2010
By ,
Schenectady, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were very impressed with how quickly we received our dehumidifer. We ordered it on a Friday morning, and received it three days later - on Monday! Well worth the $4.95 shipping fee as opposed to waiting 7 days minimum to ship it free to the store , then have to go pick it up ourselves. Once we put it in place, we were pleased with how well it "dried" the air in our basement, especially after we had been without a working unit for over two weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier, White FAD704TDP

Bad product, bad company assistance

01/10/2011
By ,
Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product did not work right out of the box. I could not adjust the humidity setting. It would go up to 85%, but the minus button did nothing. Additionally, calling the 800 number only got you a recording which gave you another number, 706-860-4110, that you were then paying for. When I called that office anyway, it was closed. Before you buy, try calling 18009449044 to see the kind of help you can expect from Frigidaire.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 19 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier, White FAD704TDP

Quiet, effective dehumidifier

10/15/2010
By ,
Suburban NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned dehumidifiers for over 20 yrs--Kenmores, Whirlpools--they worked; they broke down eventually; and, they were very noisy. If you need a quiet dehumidifier that does its job, this product is the one to get. We are delighted with the Frigidaire and can actually hear the TV now.
Pros: quiet
Cons: bucket design is a little awkward, but works fine after you get used to it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier, White FAD704TDP

Best Unit

05/05/2011
By ,
West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had purchased others for my basement. Had to return them as they broke down or would not do the job. Paid much more for them than this Frigidaire Unit. This one draws the water out of the air fast and is quiet. Does the job in 1/2 the time as the other brands. The other brands were high electric users. This one should be cheaper because it does the job quicker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 93 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next