Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Carex Carex Toilet Support Rail

Carex Carex Toilet Support Rail

Safely sit or stand at your toilet with this compact Toilet Support Rail featuring comfortable and easy-to-clean Hypalon cushioned grips. This easy-to-assemble rail fits a wide range of toilets and has adjustable handle widths.
Average Customer Rating:
4.367 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation92%55 out of 60reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 49 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Carex Toilet Support Rail

This makes a toliet truly a "throne."

12/11/2012
By ,
Etowah, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This works wonderfully by allowing the user to sit down softly and to rise with support like an arm chair.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Carex Toilet Support Rail

Excellent product for it's purpose.

09/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a total knee replacement Sept. 15th. In order to do my rehab at home, I needed a high toilet and some kind of support to lower myself gently, without bending my knee. I decided to stay on the 1st floor and use our powder room. We searched online to see what was available and I chose the Carex Toilet Support Rail. It is absolutely perfect for my needs. It's compact, sturdy and doesn't take up a lot of space in our small powder room. In addition, it was a cost-effective way to solve my situation. It is much better than the arrangement I had to use in the hospital during my post-op stay. It does not prevent anyone else from using the toilet and has made my recuperation so much easier!
Best of all, when I am finished with it, it can be removed and stored in the closet until the next time someone needs to use it. It's definitely better than the high plastic toilet seats sold in other stores, or the floor frames which take up so much floor space. It will also work on any toilet and is super easy to install! I definitely recommend it to anyone having a need for such a piece of medical equipment.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Carex Toilet Support Rail

Good not Perfect

09/07/2011
By ,
Fort Myers, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have recently purchased and installed three of the Carex Toilet Support Rails. Over all the quality is good and they are very sturdy when installed.
There are several design flaws to be taken into account before installing.
1. The holes in the mounting plate that the toilet seat bolts go through are not large enough to accept the bolts on all brands of toilet seats. The better quality Bemis brand of seat with metal hinges will not work. This required buying a new seat or drilling out the holes to 5/8". I went with the toilet seat. (Not that I don't enjoy a challange, but a new 5/8" drill bit cost almost as much as a new seat!)
2. The bolt and hardware provided for the back upright supports only allow the tightning knobs to be installed on the outside. It should be designed to work either way as the knobs can get in the way when outside.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Carex Toilet Support Rail

Good..

08/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product. I am a physical therapist and bought this for my mother. It's nice because it doesn't go to the floor like others. The only thing I don't like about it is, if you fall backwards and try to assist yourself with this, it will lift up seat and all. It does stay connected in the back If you don't have this balance problem it is an excellent product. Easy to install.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Carex Toilet Support Rail

EASY TO USE

01/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS IS VERY EASY TO PUT TOGETHER, MAKE SURE YOU PAY ATTENTION TO A AND B ON THE BACK BARS ........THE PUSH IN BUTTONS DON'T LINE UP AND SNAP INTO PLACE IF THEY ARE BACKWARDS.
VERY EASY TO PUT TOGETHER...REALLY NICE NOT TO HAVE A BAR ALL THE WAY ACROSS THE FRONT LIKE SOME MODELS........VERY SECURE.
NOT FOR PLUS SIZE TO NARROW.
WOULD WORK WELL FOR KNEE REPLACEMENTS AS WELL AS SENIORS.
MY PARENT LOVED IT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Carex Toilet Support Rail

Sturdy for intended use

10/02/2014
By ,
Sterling Heights, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had to modify back metal plate to fit toilet bolt holes. Such a snug fit, toilet seat does not properly attach and I even went and purchased a new seat. Be aware of back plate dimensions prior to purchasing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Carex Toilet Support Rail

Big Help

10/10/2011
By ,
Taft, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As an older lady living alone this sure is a life saver. Younger people don't realize that when they get older they will need this kind of equiptment too. Go ahead and say NO now, but the day will come when you'll change your tune. I know as I had to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Upstate NY
Age is Timeless
Posted 09/28/2014
When I was 16 I thought 30 was old, now that I am 70 I feel like 30 and feel young. Bless you:)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Carex Toilet Support Rail

great support for weak,elderly,or partially disabl

07/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My legs are very weak and I have difficulty getting up from a sitting position. My support rails make it much simpler to get up safely. Only complaint is, arms are so narrow it makes cleaning oneself quite difficult. It can be accomplished with great difficulty. Overall they work well unless you are quite a large person.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Carex Toilet Support Rail
03/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'll be having a hip replacement in the next few months and this support rail really helps with getting up and down, without fear of slipping or falling.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Carex Toilet Support Rail

Easy to install

12/18/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I replaced a toilet support that had teo legs to the floor and it was not stable. This toilet support feels sturdy when pushing down on the arms.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Carex Toilet Support Rail

toilet support rails

09/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not safe. Can't secure front to toilet. Not stable when getting up, it moves. My elderly mom can easily fall and unit doesn't stay secure. I returned item for refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Carex Toilet Support Rail

Works fine

01/09/2012
By ,
Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I was putting this on, it didn't seem to be as sturdy/stable as I was expecting since the front legs are merely resting on the toilet bowl. However, when weight is applied (as when using the rails to help push up from the toilet) it feels quite stable and doesn't seem to slide around. No problems noted so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Carex Toilet Support Rail

Carex toilet support for my mother

06/02/2012
By ,
Hot Springs, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for 2nd bath at my mother's home who is independent at 95 in her own home.
This model is very nice. The Carex model that was purchased previously is the one with feet that is a few dollars less than this one, but it is more intrusive.
I would recommend this model over the prior one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Carex Toilet Support Rail

Simple but very effective

07/01/2013
By ,
Demarest, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to install or remove, no floor frame to trip over. I'm on crutches, no weight bearing on one leg, so I needed something to help me stand from the toilet. Even though we have comfort height toilets, this simple device makes it even easier to rise by using the handrails for support. Easy to keep clean and installs in minutes with no modification to the existing toilet seat. I highly recommend this device over other products I have seen. The toilet seat can be left in the normal position or raised for the fellas in the household (since most don't return the seat to the normal "down" position, the handrails can also be used to keep you from falling in!).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Carex Toilet Support Rail

Not safe at all.

08/21/2014
By ,
Omaha
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The seat did not stay in place. The bar that should hold it in place kept sliding out from under the toilet seat offering no support for the user. Also, this was not a problem for us, it is way too narrow. Some larger people or a big man would not fit into the rail. I know just have a useless item sitting in my house. I wouldn't even donate it to someone for fear they would be depending on the rail for support, it would slip and they could fall.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Carex Toilet Support Rail

helps with safety

01/29/2011
By ,
Houghton, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was easy to assemble and the directions were very clear. The support rail makes it easier for my dad to get up and down in the bathroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Carex Toilet Support Rail

Nearly perefect

06/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This device snapped together easily and works as expected. Because of the snap together construction it was a bit loose.
A couple of self drilling screws fixed that.
I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Carex Toilet Support Rail

Nice product

03/14/2013
By ,
Birmingham, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to assemble, took less than 15 minutes total. Sturdy, fits my elongated toilet bowl and provides the support I needed to stand up safely. Compact and doesn't get in the way since it rests on the bowl lip and not metal legs that I could stub toes on. I like that feature a lot. Great price for peace of mind and safety.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Carex Toilet Support Rail

Serves it's purpose

07/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased because my wife was having trouble going from a sitting position to a standing position. She is very happy with the Support rail and is able to make the transition from sitting to standing. The spring loaded buttons allow me to get the rails out of my way without having to take the support rails off the toilet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Carex Toilet Support Rail

good unit

08/02/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Easy to assemble and sturdy enough. However, I have a European toilet and found the manufactured holes in metal plate to secure rails to toilet didn't extend far enough for placement on my toilet. Simple fix was to drill thru metal then all was OK.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1 2 3 Next