Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Ladder Back Chairs - Set of 2, Black Metal / Mahogany Wood Seat

Generic Ladder Back Chairs - Set of 2, Black Metal / Mahogany Wood Seat

Sturdy, reliable, classic design. These ladder back chairs are heavy-duty restaurant chairs with classic ladderback styling for multiple uses. Featuring a mahogany wood seat and black metal, this chair is designed for commercial use but is suitable for home use. The restaurant chair is constructed with a mahogany wood seat and a 16-gauge steel frame in a black powdercoat metal finish. Your ladder back chairs come with plastic floor glides so you wont have to worry about scratching your floors.
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation93%14 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ladder Back Chairs - Set of 2, Black Metal / Mahogany Wood Seat

Great chairs and a good match!

11/10/2013
By ,
Peachtree City, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(photos included with this review) My husband re-purposed our old light oak and white tile top kitchen table; we used the legs/frame painting them black and he made an oak plank top, stained in walnut and sealed. I love the way the chairs blend with it - the chairs were easy to assemble and are very sturdy and comfortable, perfect with this kitchen table makeover! We also bought the Better Homes and Gardens benches from Walmart, see separate review.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ladder Back Chairs - Set of 2, Black Metal / Mahogany Wood Seat

Great Chairs

07/23/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased with the looks and quality of these chairs. They are very study and actually look like all wood even though the back and legs are metal. They are also very comfortable. They were easy to assemble. I recommend them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ladder Back Chairs - Set of 2, Black Metal / Mahogany Wood Seat

great chairs

09/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love these chairs. they are very easy to put together. nice and heavy and love how they look. very happy with them
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ladder Back Chairs - Set of 2, Black Metal / Mahogany Wood Seat

chairs were great

11/09/2011
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE these chairs. They were really sturdy so all the teenagers who visit can lean back in their chair without mom yelling at them. I think they look nice. They are quite comfortable with the high backs providing back support.
I ordered six, with store to store delivery. They come in two pieces, the chair, and the seat which is easy to screw on. The screws are taped to the side of the box the seats are in and easy to miss.
The boxes were BIG and it was tough getting 3 of them in my mini van so plan for BIG boxes when picking up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ladder Back Chairs - Set of 2, Black Metal / Mahogany Wood Seat

Love them

09/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a year everywhere and I took a chance ordering them on line, and I'm very happy with them! They even came earlier than expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ladder Back Chairs - Set of 2, Black Metal / Mahogany Wood Seat

Good, solid chairs

08/09/2013
By ,
Central NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've gotten tired of wooden kitchen chairs that dry out and shrink during the winter home heating season, when the joints become loose and the chair rickety. So I figured that I'd try chairs made of metal. Walmart.com carries several different choices, but I picked these since there was an option for a wood seat surface which at least look nice. I gave the appearance rating a 4 instead of 5 since all-wood chairs look better, but the style of these steel chairs is attractive enough, and the black paint is smooth. The seat back is a little low, but offers plenty of support for your back. The metal chair legs and back are all one piece; the only separate parts are the seat surface and the four screws to attach it to the metal frame. There are hard plastic "feet" set into the chairs legs, but I can imagine that they would scuff up a wood floor. My dining room floor is carpeted. I expect these chairs to last a very long time.
A word of caution - the wood seat surface isn't pre-drilled with holes to accept the screws, so you'll need to drill four holes per seat. The screws are taped to the inside of the box the chairs come in and easy to miss. There are no printed instructions on how to attached the wood seat to the metal chair frame, though it's easy to set the seat surface to the chair frame, adjust it so it's centered, mark the bottom of the seat surface with a pencil through the holes in the metal frame and drill out the holes for the screws.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ladder Back Chairs - Set of 2, Black Metal / Mahogany Wood Seat

Pre-drill the pilot holes and life will be perfect

07/06/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Strong, one-piece, welded frame with sturdy leg gliders already attached. Attractive, substantial, solid wood seats.
As some of the other reviewers noted, our chairs did not come with pre-drilled pilot holes to attach the seats to the frame. That was a bit inconvenient.
The end product is very nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ladder Back Chairs - Set of 2, Black Metal / Mahogany Wood Seat

very sturdy chairs

03/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've always liked windsor chairs, but I've found that most any wooden chair becomes wobbly given time. These chairs are so solid! Heavy gauge steel, powder-coated, with thick wood seats. They will last. That being said, the seats came in with a few dinks and nicks in the edges; I can live with it, but if you want a pristine product, this is not the chair for you. Also, I've had the chairs for a week, and already, one has a chip in the powder coat. Hmmm. But all in all I think these are great chairs for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ladder Back Chairs - Set of 2, Black Metal / Mahogany Wood Seat

Solid Chairs

09/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super value, rock solid chair. Only complaint is that two of the chairs were missing the attachment screws. Easily replaced at the hardware store though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ladder Back Chairs - Set of 2, Black Metal / Mahogany Wood Seat

Not Well Packed

01/23/2014
By ,
Mansfield, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would have been great if the seats had not been banged up. There are multiple scratches and chips on the finish on all of the chairs and on at least two there are deeper chips in the wood itself. The seats were wrapped in a thin layer of foam-but it was not sufficient because both the seats and the metal frames were free floating in the box. The only good thing and the reason that I always order from Walmart instead of the other companies on their site (like Wayfair) is that you can box the stuff up and take it down the street to the nearest Walmart store-which I will be doing tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ladder Back Chairs - Set of 2, Black Metal / Mahogany Wood Seat

Works for our needs

01/04/2014
By ,
NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought eight for our family of rambunctious kids. Very sturdy and generally nice-looking, but edges of seats were 'chewed up', despite packaging. All you have to do is screw the seats on, but there are no pre-drilled holes, and I do not have a drill. What should have taken 5 minutes became an exercise in frustration.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ladder Back Chairs - Set of 2, Black Metal / Mahogany Wood Seat

Great No Frills Kitchen Chairs

09/02/2011
By ,
King of Prussia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to replace some older wooden kitchen chairs after someone sat down and the leg broke. After the laughter died down we decided to get metal chairs that wouldn't suffer from glue dry out.
These chairs are sturdy and have a nice sized seat. I went with the mahogany wood seat, you can always get cushions. Purchased 2 sets originally then following month I went for another set for 6 chairs total.
Only Con is they should ship screws to screw seat to chair frame. This last set did not have any and I don’t remember if first order included screws.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ladder Back Chairs - Set of 2, Black Metal / Mahogany Wood Seat

great quality, wonderful value

04/06/2012
By ,
pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I run a daycare and regular wooden dining room chairs were just not holding up. These chairs are so sturdy plus the rungs are high enough the kids can't stand on them. They look great. When i first opened them i thought they seemed awful short but they are very comfortable to sit in. I was just used to my high backed wooden chairs. I highly recommend these chairs if you are looking for something to last.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ladder Back Chairs - Set of 2, Black Metal / Mahogany Wood Seat
08/15/2013
By ,
Portsmouth, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chairs are beautiful, of good quality, and easy to assemble. Electric screwdriver makes assembly easier . We bought 36 chairs to use in our donut shop. The only downfall was having to unwrap all of them, but at least they were packaged well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Ladder Back Chairs - Set of 2, Black Metal / Mahogany Wood Seat
Based on 1 ratings-only review
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5