Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nikon Nikon Coolpix S4000 Silver 12MP Digital Camera w/ 4x Optical Zoom

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Nikon Nikon Coolpix S4000 Silver 12MP Digital Camera w/ 4x Optical Zoom

The S4000 Silver Nikon Coolpix 12MP Digital Camera is a cutting edge point and shoot digital camera. Enjoy Nikon's Smart Portrait system for perfect portraits. The 4x wide angle zoom will allow you to get telephoto quality shots on this compact camera. The S4000 Silver Nikon Coolpix 12MP Digital Camera also lets you record short movies in HD at 30 frames per second and play them back through your camera or computer. Don't worry about picking out your best shot. Nikon's Best Shot Selector automatically takes up to 10 shots while the shutter is pressed and saves the sharpest image.
Average Customer Rating:
4.135 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(214 Reviews) 210
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
120
4 stars
51
3 stars
12
2 stars
14
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation82%175 out of 214reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
120
4 stars
51
3 stars
12
2 stars
14
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nikon Coolpix S4000 Silver 12MP Digital Camera w/ 4x Optical Zoom

Awesome, just a few kinks

06/18/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'd been researching cameras for about three months now, this one was one of the first ones that I had seriously considered. I loved the fact that it had a touchscreen and nikon is such a great company! I just got it yesterday so I probably haven't learned everything about it yet. But so far, the cameras been great! There are a few things that are annoying, the menus are a bit confusing, and I don't like the smartportrait mode, it takes two pictures at a time and then takes forever to decide which one to pick thats better.
The indoor shots are a little grainy but I just think thats the lighting but I love the outdoor shots and that theres a closeup mode, that I love because I take alot of pictures of flowers,
Overall this camera is great!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for Nikon Coolpix S4000 Silver 12MP Digital Camera w/ 4x Optical Zoom

amazing color quality and clarity

11/27/2010
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love this camera! here is some pros and cons:
PROS:
-WONDERFUL color quality and clarity:)
-love the fact that it has some in-camera editing options!!!
-quick shutter speed
-really impressive battery life
-small and compact....about as big as my phone!
-overall i love it....will not replace until it breaks!
CONS:
-KIND OF CONFUSING...TAKES SOME TIME 2 GET USED 2...
THATS ALL!:)
here is some pictures i took to demonstrate: WAR EAGLE!:) btw kind of glare on the poster...but that just happens sorry
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Nikon Coolpix S4000 Silver 12MP Digital Camera w/ 4x Optical Zoom

Amazing Camera!!!

01/04/2011
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome camera. I previously perchused a camera of a different brand and it was horrible. This one takes amazing motion pics! Excellent flash and I LOVE the touch screen. Also takes great zoom pics! Awesome indoor and outdoor photos. Takes amazing videos with audio also. First pic is my dog running full speed and it is not blurry at all, none of my motion pics are. Second is of my bearded Dragon, it is a zoomed pic inside.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Nikon Coolpix S4000 Silver 12MP Digital Camera w/ 4x Optical Zoom

Great camera

05/29/2010
By ,
Marathon, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little camera. Takes great pictures. Easy to operate. Small that it can fit in pocket. Nice size veiwing screen and love the "touch" feature. You can even add sound to your pictures!! Battery lasts a long time. Would easily recommend to buy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Review 5 for Nikon Coolpix S4000 Silver 12MP Digital Camera w/ 4x Optical Zoom

Awesome Camera!

05/12/2010
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best point and shoot camera! It blows my Sony Cyber shot out of the water. Very user friendly and hi tech to be a point and shoot. I am very impressed to say the least.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Review 6 for Nikon Coolpix S4000 Silver 12MP Digital Camera w/ 4x Optical Zoom

AWESOME CAMERA

08/28/2010
By ,
Mitchell, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this camera 5 days and it is an exceptionable upgrade from my Kodak 12mp
My Kodak was horrible for night shots !! My nightshots with the Nikon S4000 is so wonderful
it made my Kodak look sick .
Kodak was suppose to be a good camera, the one I had.....Love the Nikon S4000 (HIGHLY RECOMMEND) Never had a touch screen before on a camera, loved that too !!
I am extremly happy with this camera :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 7 for Nikon Coolpix S4000 Silver 12MP Digital Camera w/ 4x Optical Zoom

GREAT CAMERA

11/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 74 yr. old mother who has my old digital camera. the old one has a 1" screen and she wanted something bigger. I've been researching for months as she wants something very easy. she won't use all the fancy modes. (although she might cuz they are so easy to use)just a point and shoot and have the photos come out nice. I just got it today and i totally love it. I own the olympus stylus tough and i do love my camera. I think i like this just as much. It's very light, go anywhere and the 3" screen is great. I love, love the touch screen. It is so easy and fun. The smile detection is awesome to capture a smile. and in low light situations the photos are excellent. I also love the backlit mode. seems like a lot of times i need that one and it corrects the light perfectly. I would get this for anyone! The quality of the photos are wonderful!! Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 8 for Nikon Coolpix S4000 Silver 12MP Digital Camera w/ 4x Optical Zoom

Awesome Camera!!!!!!

05/15/2010
By ,
NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for price!!!! High tech but easy to use!!!!!! Quality of picture is excellent!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 9 for Nikon Coolpix S4000 Silver 12MP Digital Camera w/ 4x Optical Zoom

Great value, fun to use

05/20/2010
By ,
Mount Vernon, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera is a great value, has many fun and easy to use features. I was especially impressed with the touch screen. I usually have trouble with touch screens, but this one is very sensitive and user friendly. Definitely recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 10 for Nikon Coolpix S4000 Silver 12MP Digital Camera w/ 4x Optical Zoom

NikonS4000

08/02/2010
By ,
Lexington,NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used the NikonS4000 for a couple days and found I did not like the touch screen. It takes several touches sometimes to get to the screen you want. The camera takes great pictures and easy, quick download. If you like a touch screen you will love the S4000.
I exchanged it for the NilkonL22 which appears to be the same camera without the touch screen.
I love this new camera. Easy to navigate and pictures are great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 11 for Nikon Coolpix S4000 Silver 12MP Digital Camera w/ 4x Optical Zoom

Love this camera!

06/25/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The camera is exactly as described. The touch screen is great, very user friendly. My old camera is 6 years old so I was mainly just wanting an upgrade, with newer features, more megapixels and for it to be quicker when I was ready for it to take a picture and less time to reset in between shots. I'm not a professional and this camera is great for every day pictures and videos - I love it! Also, Wal-Mart shipping was great, the camera arrived 2 days ahead of when they said it would.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 12 for Nikon Coolpix S4000 Silver 12MP Digital Camera w/ 4x Optical Zoom

Problems with the usb cord

12/22/2010
By ,
MS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had an s520 that I liked it was dropped and broken my fault. So I bought an S 4000 in fact bought one for me and one for my girlfriend. Both of them have the same problem connecting the USB cable. So you can't down load Pics or charge the battery. Been through the so called help lines no help just a bad product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 13 for Nikon Coolpix S4000 Silver 12MP Digital Camera w/ 4x Optical Zoom

very unhappy

11/12/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the camera in May and used it about twice. All was well until I went to charge it. The light would not indicate that it was being charged and the camera will not turn on. i am going to try to replace the battery, but I feel this is ridiculous!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
+1point
Review 14 for Nikon Coolpix S4000 Silver 12MP Digital Camera w/ 4x Optical Zoom

Great Camera, Great Price!

12/17/2010
By ,
Clinton Township, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This camera is awesome! I can't believe all the features that come on this camera. My favorite feature is the fact that you can do all your cropping and editing for your photos right on the camera! I definitely would recommend this camera to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 15 for Nikon Coolpix S4000 Silver 12MP Digital Camera w/ 4x Optical Zoom

A very good purchase.

12/12/2010
By ,
Coral Springs, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my Nikon camera 2 weeks ago. The camera is very compact and takes very good quality pictures. The touch screen feature is useful.
I highly recommend the Nikon cameras because of their quality, technology, and tradition.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 16 for Nikon Coolpix S4000 Silver 12MP Digital Camera w/ 4x Optical Zoom

Just as described

12/25/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My teenage daughter is thrilled with the camera.
We enjoy the large touch screen and slim profile.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 17 for Nikon Coolpix S4000 Silver 12MP Digital Camera w/ 4x Optical Zoom

Worst Camera Ever

05/18/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was completely disappointed with this camera. I take pictures professionally and I don't know if this camera was faulty but it took 10 seconds between each shot to take the next and 10 seconds to view the pics you had just taken, constantly freezing up to the point I had to remove the Battery. I liked the features but when you want to just shoot a pic quick, this is not a good camera, I have owned Kodak, Cannon, Olympus brands and thought I would test out this Nikon because I have heard they were suppose to be good!! Uh I was way wrong, I am bringing it back before my 30 days is UP!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-5points
Review 18 for Nikon Coolpix S4000 Silver 12MP Digital Camera w/ 4x Optical Zoom

wow.

01/08/2011
By ,
Florence, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So i was going to buy this camera online, but it is out of stock online of course, and so while at the store, i looked and it is 15 dollars cheaper than what it is marked down to online. Sooo, i bought it, and i love it. I just figured there might be a little bit more to it.. but its still a great camera. The touch screen is great also, the only bad thing is if you dont have long fingernails, its kind of difficult. It wont let you selct things etc on the touch screen with your skin. So you gotta tilt your finger so your finger nail is touching it. But anyways, it takes great pictures, indoor and out, i love the camera and would recommend it to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Nikon Coolpix S4000 Silver 12MP Digital Camera w/ 4x Optical Zoom
06/10/2010
By ,
Bridgeton, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I havent had the camera for 2 weeks and I am on vacation in the Florida Keys seeing a manatee up close and personnal and take out the camera and it won't turn on. U might say well the battery is dead, no it just came off the charger.
If it wasnt for that I really was enjoying this camera and would have recommended it highly.
When I get home I hope wal mart will make good on this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-6points
Review 20 for Nikon Coolpix S4000 Silver 12MP Digital Camera w/ 4x Optical Zoom

Amazing Camera

05/15/2010
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful camera, huge LCD, clear photos at any distance, video image is amazing; not blurry at all, very easy to manage, touchscreen easily slides. I've had absolutely no problems with this camera. Except that the sound for video is extremely low; you could barley hear it. Other than that everything is amazing. I would definitely recommend this camera to any one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next