Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

Generic Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

The Master Manufacturing ReStor-It Leather and Vinyl Repair Kit is a convenient and hassle-free way to fix products. It follows a unique process without the use of heat to repair various types of damages. You can mend holes, rips and tears on leather and vinyl surfaces. This no heat leather and vinyl repair kit can help you fix many things such as purses, briefcases, luggage, jackets, belts, boots, footwear and even motorcycle or auto seats, vinyl floors and many more. Since, this leather repair kit doesn't require heat in the repair process; you can get the job done with much less effort. The Master Manufacturing ReStor-It Leather and Vinyl Repair Kit comes with an applicator, mixing cups, backing fabric, grain papers and seven intermixable colors for use on surfaces of different hues. To guide you along the right way, this kit also includes a color mixing guide, instructions and practice vinyl.
Average Customer Rating:
3.315 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
26
3 stars
16
2 stars
4
1 star
28
Customer Recommendation64%68 out of 106reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
41 Questions | 81 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
26
3 stars
16
2 stars
4
1 star
28
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

Patience is the key

07/06/2011
By ,
Pueblo, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You have to play around with the colors, so be patient. My repair is on a seat cushion on a recliner. Lots of constant use so we'll see how long it lasts. Unlike other commentators, my repair is noticeable, but an improvement in appearance from what it looked like before applying this product. Couple of thoughts. The grain paper which comes along with the paint adhesives to match the grain of your furniture, lugggage etc. is skimpy. Very, very small sheets. Not much room for trial and error. Use the one you chose sparingly. Only one mixing container. Note to the manufacturer: For a dollar more, bigger grain sheets and another mixing container would be most helpful. One final thought.... What I didn't realize is this stuff dries very quickly. So, have everything you are using close by to what you are repairing. I researched this product on the internet and read additional reviews and for the most part, people seem satisfied with the product. I only gave it three stars as I want to see how well this product bonds to the cushion and how long it will last.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

Poor Performance

02/12/2014
By ,
Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was messy and the gloss level will probably never match the item you are attempting to repair. I had some very tiny holes and a cat scratch on a vinyl seat to a counter stool. Having watched the video for this product, I thought it might work just fine for that. It didn't. It was gloppy and could not be smoothed over without not matching the existing vinyl. I purchased it because it doesn't require heat, but it is comparable to repairing something with tinted Elmer's glue. There are other, more expensive kits on the market that have ingredients to add that will allow for matching the sheen level of your existing material. I would highly recommend spending more and using that. I will just find matching vinyl and re-upholster the seat, in this case. I wasted over $10 on this glop. Don't buy it! Actually, I'm going to seek a refund.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

vinyl repair kit

04/09/2014
By ,
Amherst, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this product for small repairs on vinyl. The kit comes with everything needed, different colors, mixing/application stick, instructions, guide to mixing colors, patches for desired grain patterns. Used it on a hole in a vehicle armrest - much cheaper than replacing the part. Looks almost like nothing happened.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

Boat vinyl repair

07/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great a little shiny but patches gaff and hook holes in vinyl very well
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

leather repair kit

06/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It worked really well on my couch. I recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

Very good product

06/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good product. The repair of the holes was very easy with very good results. The color mixing is a little tricky if you are repairing an item that are not one of the basic color. It would be very helpful if the color mixing chart showed examples of the colors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

Really works!

05/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worked well - repaired tear in vinyl seat.
Only problem was that when using the included paper sheet to create a grain, it can only be used once on the final coat, otherwise it sticks to the repair and has paper shreads in the repair.
Also, the color does dry darker than when wet so it's difficult to get the precise color on the first try.
I would use this again though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

It's What It Is

08/18/2011
By ,
Richland, Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's just exactly what it was described as. Your basic vinyl/leather patch kit. If you do it right, it works. I recommend several thin coats to do the job. Don't do it right and you will be disappointed. Read the directions and then follow them.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

It works

11/07/2010
By ,
South Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This works just like it says. It is a little hard but it covers it and is holding up just great. The only real problem I had was matching the color. I would recommend it because it does work. I would just dry a sample and compare it before patching the spot to make sure the color is correct.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

Surprised at good results

01/24/2014
By ,
Gainesvlille, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a pair of boots that I LOVE and they were expensive, so when the heels got all marred up, I didn't want to throw them away. I purchased this product thinking it was worth a try, but wasn't too hopeful. They provided different colors, a little plastic spatula and some fabric pieces which I didn't need. Using the spatula I covered the areas of the heel that had torn off and then realized I would have to then cover the entire heel because it's impossible to make it perfectly smooth like they were new. However, I was able to paint it on smoothly enough to make it look like they were slightly textured and they came out really nice!! It only takes about an hour to dry. I've only worn them a couple times, but so far so good! I wish you could just by one color cause I will probably never use the others.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

good product

10/04/2010
By ,
Clarksville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was easy to use. I had a cut in a leather sofa and now you can't see it. I can feel where it was, a short hard place but all and all a good item for the job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+89points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

It does work, but ....

10/08/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
to get a nice matching leather texture don't leave the texture paper attached overnight take it off in 20 min or so, otherwise it's stick to hard & you need to use 70% alcohol to remove paper debris & level it up
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

Not perfect!

06/24/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It was alright! Was not what I expected but it did it's job.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-
11/23/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Really meant for very small cracks in the leather.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

Good for small repairs, Hard to match the color

06/14/2011
By ,
charlotte,nc
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted it for Car Seat repair, it didn't work for me.
Ithink you should only use this product for samll rips; Also you have to mix the colors to get the color you want which is hard to get the exact match.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

Patches Peeled Off Within 2-3 Weeks Post Repair

10/29/2012
By ,
New Mexico
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this kit this past Spring to repair three items: our brown leather sofa that had a 2" hole in the seat, the arm of a dark green leather desk chair with a 3" worn spot; and a good red leather purse that had a 1" tear in the seam of it.
Matching colors takes a lot of time and patience. Unfortunately, the tiny containers of each color don't allow you much leeway for mistakes. Because I paint, I did manage to get close to the correct colors eventually. But, there was really not enough of the patching compound for the repairs I needed. What I eventually ended up doing was using the other colors for my initial first layers. It sealed the holes and then I later painted over it in the color of the leather being repaired. You really need a small, good, short-bristled paint brush for this project. In all, I brushed on several thin layers, letting each one dry in between.
I disregarded the instructions to leave the texturing patch on overnight. I left it on for only about a hour, because I didn't want to deal with trying to get a stuck-on patch off. The texture I embossed into the repair stayed, which was what I had hoped for. The resulting patches were harder than the leather they were patching. Not perfect but it was what I'd expected after reading other reviews of this product.
Unfortunately though, the patches all peeled off within 2-3 weeks. Because of this, I feel that this kit was a waste of my time and money.
In retrospect, I'm wondering if all the positive reviews here are from customers who posted their reviews within a week or so after they patched. This review of mine is 6 months post patching.
I'm now in need of a proven better patching kit for a black leather bar stool with two 1.5" tears. I'm doubtful there is such a thing, but I'm definitely NOT going to buy another one of these kits!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per year
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

Easy to use for small flaws

01/21/2014
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used the black toned repair material to fix scratches and wear on the cording of my leather sofa and chairs. The repair kit covered the damage and wear very easily. I had an excellent experience with the leather repair kit. The damaged areas are now indistinguishable from the rest of the leather.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

12/05/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
did exactly as advertised was quite impressed...had a 4in by 4in whole in the arm of my faux leather couch patched right up and mixing the colors for the first time ever got a real close match on the color
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-
09/07/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great. You have to apply it more than once. I did it three times and it look real good. It just depends on how big the hole is.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-
08/09/2011
By ,
TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The vinyl repair kit was as expected. I didn't buy it to have a show room repair, I just followed the instructions and even though the color I mixed up was off it still held after 24 hrs of drying time. Cleaning the vinyl material was easy with just warm water. If you are not looking for a repair that will make you want to ask your friends to try and find it then this will work fine. I had a green truck seat that I wanted a 2 inch repair from getting bigger and after it dried I sprayed black vinyl paint on it and it looks so much better. A new truck seat cover was 45.00 and this kit is less than 15.00 so I am happy with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 95 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next