Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

Generic Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

The Master Manufacturing ReStor-It Leather and Vinyl Repair Kit is a convenient and hassle-free way to fix products. It follows a unique process without the use of heat to repair various types of damages. You can mend holes, rips and tears on leather and vinyl surfaces. This no heat leather and vinyl repair kit can help you fix many things such as purses, briefcases, luggage, jackets, belts, boots, footwear and even motorcycle or auto seats, vinyl floors and many more. Since, this leather repair kit doesn't require heat in the repair process; you can get the job done with much less effort. The Master Manufacturing ReStor-It Leather and Vinyl Repair Kit comes with an applicator, mixing cups, backing fabric, grain papers and seven intermixable colors for use on surfaces of different hues. To guide you along the right way, this kit also includes a color mixing guide, instructions and practice vinyl.
Average Customer Rating:
3.296 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(125 Reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
30
3 stars
20
2 stars
5
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation65%80 out of 123reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 83 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
30
3 stars
20
2 stars
5
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

Patience is the key

07/06/2011
By ,
Pueblo, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You have to play around with the colors, so be patient. My repair is on a seat cushion on a recliner. Lots of constant use so we'll see how long it lasts. Unlike other commentators, my repair is noticeable, but an improvement in appearance from what it looked like before applying this product. Couple of thoughts. The grain paper which comes along with the paint adhesives to match the grain of your furniture, lugggage etc. is skimpy. Very, very small sheets. Not much room for trial and error. Use the one you chose sparingly. Only one mixing container. Note to the manufacturer: For a dollar more, bigger grain sheets and another mixing container would be most helpful. One final thought.... What I didn't realize is this stuff dries very quickly. So, have everything you are using close by to what you are repairing. I researched this product on the internet and read additional reviews and for the most part, people seem satisfied with the product. I only gave it three stars as I want to see how well this product bonds to the cushion and how long it will last.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ogden,ut
Posted 08/30/2014
what section of the store did you get it from?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

Tried Twice Works Well

08/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an old police Harley that I bought used, and cops are notoriously hard on bikes. This particular bike had a quarter-sized hole in the seat when I got it. Well, I got the bike to ride, not look pretty. So, I used this kit back in 2007 to repair the hole. The patch looked GREAT, and fell off today, seven years later. The original hole has not enlarged, and that was after a 200 pound biker and his ole lady have put another 10,000 miles on the bike. I just bought another kit and repaired the hole again. Do the math....seven years of HARD use including being rained on....two repairs at roughly 12 bucks each. I saved HUNDREDS of dollars. No mixing needed because my seat is black, of course. So the people who had problems color matching may be right. But for my purposes, you can't beat this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

Poor Performance

02/12/2014
By ,
Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was messy and the gloss level will probably never match the item you are attempting to repair. I had some very tiny holes and a cat scratch on a vinyl seat to a counter stool. Having watched the video for this product, I thought it might work just fine for that. It didn't. It was gloppy and could not be smoothed over without not matching the existing vinyl. I purchased it because it doesn't require heat, but it is comparable to repairing something with tinted Elmer's glue. There are other, more expensive kits on the market that have ingredients to add that will allow for matching the sheen level of your existing material. I would highly recommend spending more and using that. I will just find matching vinyl and re-upholster the seat, in this case. I wasted over $10 on this glop. Don't buy it! Actually, I'm going to seek a refund.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

Really works!

05/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worked well - repaired tear in vinyl seat.
Only problem was that when using the included paper sheet to create a grain, it can only be used once on the final coat, otherwise it sticks to the repair and has paper shreads in the repair.
Also, the color does dry darker than when wet so it's difficult to get the precise color on the first try.
I would use this again though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

It's What It Is

08/18/2011
By ,
Richland, Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's just exactly what it was described as. Your basic vinyl/leather patch kit. If you do it right, it works. I recommend several thin coats to do the job. Don't do it right and you will be disappointed. Read the directions and then follow them.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

Leather Repair Kit

12/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great, sturdy, functional repair. Easy to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

Works really well

12/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product for repairs
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

It works

11/07/2010
By ,
South Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This works just like it says. It is a little hard but it covers it and is holding up just great. The only real problem I had was matching the color. I would recommend it because it does work. I would just dry a sample and compare it before patching the spot to make sure the color is correct.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

A great result is possible

08/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being patience and using multiple light coats produces a very good result.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

better than having a noticable tear

11/06/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
used to repair 4 inch long tear in motorcycle backrest pad. To sum up, the repair is better than having the noticable tear in the seat. Probably works better on black leather and smooth surfaces; which is the case. No colors needed to be mixed or grains or textures to be matched, Still it looks like a repaired seat no matter how you slice it. But once again better than a noticable tear; which is what I wanted. So.... for my purposes would recommend this product. However if an exact or very close match is needed-- you might be disappointed.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

Patches Peeled Off Within 2-3 Weeks Post Repair

10/29/2012
By ,
New Mexico
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this kit this past Spring to repair three items: our brown leather sofa that had a 2" hole in the seat, the arm of a dark green leather desk chair with a 3" worn spot; and a good red leather purse that had a 1" tear in the seam of it.
Matching colors takes a lot of time and patience. Unfortunately, the tiny containers of each color don't allow you much leeway for mistakes. Because I paint, I did manage to get close to the correct colors eventually. But, there was really not enough of the patching compound for the repairs I needed. What I eventually ended up doing was using the other colors for my initial first layers. It sealed the holes and then I later painted over it in the color of the leather being repaired. You really need a small, good, short-bristled paint brush for this project. In all, I brushed on several thin layers, letting each one dry in between.
I disregarded the instructions to leave the texturing patch on overnight. I left it on for only about a hour, because I didn't want to deal with trying to get a stuck-on patch off. The texture I embossed into the repair stayed, which was what I had hoped for. The resulting patches were harder than the leather they were patching. Not perfect but it was what I'd expected after reading other reviews of this product.
Unfortunately though, the patches all peeled off within 2-3 weeks. Because of this, I feel that this kit was a waste of my time and money.
In retrospect, I'm wondering if all the positive reviews here are from customers who posted their reviews within a week or so after they patched. This review of mine is 6 months post patching.
I'm now in need of a proven better patching kit for a black leather bar stool with two 1.5" tears. I'm doubtful there is such a thing, but I'm definitely NOT going to buy another one of these kits!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per year
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

It does work, but ....

10/08/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
to get a nice matching leather texture don't leave the texture paper attached overnight take it off in 20 min or so, otherwise it's stick to hard & you need to use 70% alcohol to remove paper debris & level it up
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-
11/23/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Really meant for very small cracks in the leather.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

Better than Duct Tape.

11/16/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product has potential. I sealed the tear fine, but I was not able to get a smooth surface and a matching grain pattern.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

vinyl repair kit

04/09/2014
By ,
Amherst, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this product for small repairs on vinyl. The kit comes with everything needed, different colors, mixing/application stick, instructions, guide to mixing colors, patches for desired grain patterns. Used it on a hole in a vehicle armrest - much cheaper than replacing the part. Looks almost like nothing happened.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

good product

10/04/2010
By ,
Clarksville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was easy to use. I had a cut in a leather sofa and now you can't see it. I can feel where it was, a short hard place but all and all a good item for the job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+90points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

patch stuff

11/15/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
it worked very well some trouble matching color.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

Renewed Sectional sofa

11/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product worked great! I mixed the colors- which came out a little lighter, but the finished part the sofa looks great. You can't tell that it had been peeling on the arms. I would suggest if it's a large area to order more than one. Maybe the company will make a larger size in just the color you want to order.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

Good for small repairs, Hard to match the color

06/14/2011
By ,
charlotte,nc
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted it for Car Seat repair, it didn't work for me.
Ithink you should only use this product for samll rips; Also you have to mix the colors to get the color you want which is hard to get the exact match.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Master Manufacturing Leather & Vinyl Repair Kit-

Not What I Expected

11/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I followed the directions explicitly and the product did not mend the tears in my leather couch, it made them look worse, I had to wipe it up and put a patch on it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 112 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next