Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Atherton Home Atherton Home Taylor Convertible Futon Sofa Bed, Exotic Purple

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Atherton Home Atherton Home Taylor Convertible Futon Sofa Bed, Exotic Purple

The Taylor by Atherton Home is a charming lounger with adjustable armrests that can convert into a bed or simply a wider sofa. Two-tone upholstery has a contemporary stylish appeal.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
13
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%58 out of 62reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
13
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Atherton Home Taylor Convertible Futon Sofa Bed, Exotic Purple
08/22/2010
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this lounger/sofa to go in my spare bedroom which I have turned into a den and I really love the look of the counch. I do wish it was higher from the ground but I really like the lounger overall!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 2 for Atherton Home Taylor Convertible Futon Sofa Bed, Exotic Purple

Fantastic Futon.

08/10/2010
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Futon for many reasons. It's purple! Covering is strong but soft. It's comfortable to sleep on! It's easy to adjust. It's sturdy. It was very reasonably priced. Easy to put together. and best of all it's purple!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+32points
Review 3 for Atherton Home Taylor Convertible Futon Sofa Bed, Exotic Purple

Very Pleased

07/16/2010
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this futon for my daughter's room - it is perfect! Extremely easy to assemble, converts easily from sofa to bed, and looks great! A very good deal for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Review 4 for Atherton Home Taylor Convertible Futon Sofa Bed, Exotic Purple

very nice product

10/16/2010
By ,
VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I WAS LIKING THE COLOR VERY MUCH AND IT WAS TRUE TO THE PICTURE.MY FAVORITE COLOR ANYWAY,EASY TO PUT TOGETHER. CAME RIGHT ON TIME.WHAT ELSE CAN I SAY.GOD TRULY BLESSED ME.I REALLY REALLY REALLY LIKE IT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for Atherton Home Taylor Convertible Futon Sofa Bed, Exotic Purple

Excellent Futon, Great Price

02/11/2011
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I fell in love with this futon when I saw it online. The only thing better was getting it to my house and seeing it in person. The purple is true to the purple in the picture and it's just such a warm and vibrant color. I got this futon for my husbands music studio so that guests would have a place to sit. The cushions are very soft and I especially love how the arms move independently so it can also be used as a chaise lounge. When the arms are in the upright position (as high as they can go) it basically looks like a loveseat (which I love!) The only problem was with the delivery. It took a couple of weeks to get to us and when we got it we were missing all of the hardware as well as the legs. Wal Mart shipped us new parts but it did take a little longer than I would have liked. Overall, I TOTALLY recommend this futon. Just don't be surprised if you're missing parts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 6 for Atherton Home Taylor Convertible Futon Sofa Bed, Exotic Purple

A great improvement

02/13/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros:
-Great Color. Not a super dark purple, but it's pretty true to the photo
-Soft feeling material
-Perfect size for a small apartment
-Looks and feels more like a sofa than a futon
-Adjustable arm rests are an amazing feature - it's nice to adjust if you want to rest your back against the arm and recline slightly while reading. Also good for naps. Would miss this feature in future couches.
-You don't feel any futon bars
-The futon part doesn't slide around as it is stitched to the frame.
-Easily assembly
Cons:
-The seat got a loud squeaky sound after two weeks. My husband and I are both slender so it shouldn't be due to overstress on the springs. You only hear it when you first sit down though.
-The back cushions would be nicer if bigger (in length). We end up using regular pillows as well because it isn't quite enough support ...particularly when the back pillows get wedged under the pillow support bar (it just happens when you're sitting on the couch for awhile).
-it is not especially soft (seemed harder when we first got it - either it's softening over time or we're just getting more used to it)
-The back cushions can get wrinkled looking
-Get it delivered to your house if you don't have a truck. We made the mistake of picking it up at the store. It comes in a huge box and we had to take it out of the package and do some major squeezing to get it to fit in the car.
Overall it is quite nice and for the price, the pros outweigh the cons. We didn't even have a real futon couch before (just a futon with pillows) so this is a huge improvement. I'm glad I bought it. It fits nicely in our apartment and really seems more like a little sofa than a futon.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Atherton Home Taylor Convertible Futon Sofa Bed, Exotic Purple

Buy ittt!

09/24/2010
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This futon is perfect for a small space and thats exactly what i needed! The purple color is really pretty. Very easy to set up and they provided everything in the box.
Its low to the ground. Im 5'8 and I dont mind. Fits me and my roommate. Ive slept on it a few times and i was fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for Atherton Home Taylor Convertible Futon Sofa Bed, Exotic Purple

Atherton Home Taylor Convertible Futon Sofa Bed

08/14/2010
By ,
Plainfield IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice products. Very comfortable and light in weight.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Atherton Home Taylor Convertible Futon Sofa Bed, Exotic Purple

My dog Rudy LOVES this futon sofa bed!

02/24/2011
By ,
Crescent City, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plus it is a beautiful purple AND comfortable, so I love it also. It fits extremely well in my very small apartment; it was quite simple to assemble; I am now able to cuddle with Rudy while watching movies on my computer and together we are very happy campers with this purchase. It is somewhat low to the ground, but that is a bonus for Rudy and I. Our only problem was getting it home from the store as it wouldn't fit in my station wagon. A large van or, even better, a truck is needed to haul it home but it's well worth it! I am extremely pleased with this futon lounger.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Atherton Home Taylor Convertible Futon Sofa Bed, Exotic Purple

Better than I expected!

02/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You will need a SUV to take this futon home unless you tie it on top of a large sedan like I did! Set up was very easy. Basically involves putting on the legs and back of the futon. It was bigger than I expected. Very comfortable. Nice that the arms can be laid out to make the futon appear longer, or can be pushed up to make the couch cozy. The fabric on the actually futon is nice, but the fabric on the pillows and the back is horrible. I'm 5'5 and by SO is 6'0, we both sit comfortably on it. It isn't too low like the other futons I've seen sold at Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Atherton Home Taylor Convertible Futon Sofa Bed, Exotic Purple

Perfect!

09/04/2010
By ,
Hays Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a freshman in college this year and I wanted a futon for my room to provide extra seating. I bought this one when it was on sale which was a great price. It's comfortable, attractive, easy to assemble, and just the right size. My roommate and I get many compliments on how nice it looks and feels all the time and it's actually so comfy that we sometimes opt to sleep on it instead of our beds. All in all it's an awesome futon and is well worth the price. I love mine and will have it around for years, not to mention my favorite color is purple.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Atherton Home Taylor Convertible Futon Sofa Bed, Exotic Purple

Pleasantly Surprised

08/19/2010
By ,
Bourbonnais, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i wasn't sure what to expect when i ordered the futon because i didn't have the opportunity to see it in person. i purchased it based on the reviews i read and because it was the only nice-looking purple ottoman i was able to find. it looks really nice. mine came slightly damaged but all was resolved with customer service. the only drawback to the actual ottoman is that the pillows are not ample enough for the back. my solution was to search and find extra pillows which seems to work. the base (where you sit) is a little stiff but it was purchased more for sitting than sleeping. if you want to sleep on it i would recommend something to place on it to make it softer and more comfortable. the pillows on the arms are really soft. i am very happy with it, especially now that the kids have finally stopped enjoying it more than i could.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Atherton Home Taylor Convertible Futon Sofa Bed, Exotic Purple

Too Good To Be True!!!!

01/14/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw the reviews on this and was somewhat skeptical about it because of some of the negative feedback, but I decided I'd give it a try anyway.
I have now had this futon for several months and expect it to last for years to come!
The frame is extremely sturdy! The only weak spots are in the arms (of course) which I found out when a friend jumped on it with a crazy amount of force. Yet, with all that force the only thing that happened was a part of the bracing in the internal framing of the arm bent inward (only a fraction of an inch).
The pillows were perhaps the most surprising thing to me. They are extremely soft and continue to get more comfortable and are not flattening out.
I use this futon every single day and love it more and more the longer I have it. It is easy to assemble (tools included in box so no need to purchase more).
At first I was somewhat disappointed in how hard the seating portion of it was but within a week of using it, it was just fine. I've slept on this at least 20 times and it is nearly as comfy as a bed.
I've had guests say they like it more than their temperpedic beds. (not sure if they were just being polite or giving their honest opinion)
I recommend this to anyone looking for a high quality futon for a cheap price.
The color is just as good (if not better) than the picture on the site.
Don't be shocked if it looks bad when you put it together, the pillows and everything will "puff up" more within 30 minutes or so. They are fairly compacted from shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Atherton Home Taylor Convertible Futon Sofa Bed, Exotic Purple

It's ok

03/04/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not really impressed with this at all. It had a lot of really good reviews and that's why we got it, but I don't see why people are raving about it. It's just ok. It looks OK, it feels just OK, and the value is OK. It's definitely not the most comfortable thing in the world, but it's not entirely uncomfortable. It's definitely not comfortable as a bed, but we do like the move-able arms. Wouldn't buy it again nor would we recommend it as a primary source of seating.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Atherton Home Taylor Convertible Futon Sofa Bed, Exotic Purple

DO NOT BUY!!!

08/19/2010
By ,
Reading, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't know where to begin! Shipment was late. Screws were missing. Metal plates that the legs screw into are COMPLETELY RUSTED!!! One arm is tricky to "lock" into place for it to be a couch. It looks okay but pillows are floppy and don't sit up properly on the back of the couch. It's a mess. I'm returning it tonight!!! HORRIBLE!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 16 for Atherton Home Taylor Convertible Futon Sofa Bed, Exotic Purple

I love my purple futon

12/21/2010
By ,
Albany, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After looking for purple sofa covers and not being able to find them, i saw this beautiful convertible exotic purple futon and I felt in love with it. I never ever purchase things on an impulse, but It too cute to let it go and was close to my birthday so I decided that this was going to be my Bday gift to myself. I got it two days before my bday, it was so easy to put together and It's so relaxing and very chic. I love it :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Atherton Home Taylor Convertible Futon Sofa Bed, Exotic Purple

she love sit

03/07/2011
By ,
indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
purchased for my wife to put in her special room. she loves it for herself and for the special times with the grandchildren. one suggestion to the manufacturer would be to have three cushions, with just the two it leaves a gap in the middle or on the ends that is/are uncumfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Atherton Home Taylor Convertible Futon Sofa Bed, Exotic Purple

pleasantly surprized

12/26/2010
By ,
Birmingham, Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was a little nervous when a single box was delivered to my door. But, everything needed for installation was in the box. The futon is a little low to the ground, but easy to assemble and comfortable. Hasn't been slept on yet, but so far so good. Great for my reading corner!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 19 for Atherton Home Taylor Convertible Futon Sofa Bed, Exotic Purple

Cautiously Satisfied

01/17/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had my doubts about this futon from the start, but several reviews given on this site encouraged me to put aside my misgivings and take the plunge. So I placed my order site to store and, though it was late by several days, picked my futon up and brought it home. Upon unpacking it, I was pleased to note that there was no damage to any parts of the futon and the construction actually seemed to be of better quality than I originally expected given the price. However, though there are very few parts that actually need to be assembled, the promised 'hardware kit' was missing. Absent from the box were all of the bolts needed for assembly as well as the necessary tools. Somewhat peeved but determined to make it work, I took a drive to the hardware store and purchased the missing pieces. Upon returning home, everything seemed to be going smoothly until I got to two of the pre-drilled bolt holes which were not drilled properly. The threads of the bolts would not catch and so were impossible to put in. But, refusing to be deterred after having come so far already, I was able to make it work using a great amount of strengh to force the bolts into their rightful place. Despite the drama surrounding the futon's assembly, it looks quite nice once put together and is actually very comfortable both to sit and sleep on. Tall people beware! This futon is very low to the ground and not very long. I fit on it comfortably but, that being said, I am five foot ZERO and 110 lbs. Overall, however, I am pleased both with the aesthetic and functionality of this futon. I would encourage others who are looking for a small couch at a reasonable price ot purchase this product...just be ready to have to supply the hardware yourself.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 20 for Atherton Home Taylor Convertible Futon Sofa Bed, Exotic Purple

JUST WHAT WE NEEDED!

03/05/2011
By ,
ALABAMA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AS THE HUSBAND WHO STILL DOES HUSBANDLY DUTIES(CALL ME OLD-FASHIONED)I FOUND THE EASE OF PUTTING THIS THING TOGETHER JUST GREAT! AND IN OUR SPARE BEDROOM,THE PURPLE COLOR REALLY ROCKS! GREAT FUTON@ A GREAT PRICE! THANKS AGAIN WALMART!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1 2 3 Next