Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Panasonic Panasonic 1.6 Cubic Foot Stainless Steel Microwave Oven with Inverter Technology

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Panasonic Panasonic 1.6 Cubic Foot Stainless Steel Microwave Oven with Inverter Technology

The Panasonic 1.6 Cu Ft Stainless Steel Microwave Oven with Inverter Technology can help make cooking easy. This appliance enhances the art of cooking with microwave ovens, delivering delicious flavor, excellent color and superb shape and texture in the foods you cook. The Panasonic microwave oven uses 1,250 watts of power and is made from stainless steel. It has a sleek design and is a breeze to clean. This countertop microwave oven features turbo defrost technology that helps unfreeze food in less time. This convenient device also includes a One-Touch Genius Sensor Cooking feature that calculates the cooking time on its own and sets the power accordingly. It has a six-digit display that is simple to view. It also has a menu action screen that scrolls cooking instructions across the display in English, Spanish, or French. This screen also has a function key that simplifies programming of 10 non-cooking functions.
Average Customer Rating:
3.93 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(397 Reviews) 340
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
220
4 stars
71
3 stars
19
2 stars
32
1 star
55
Customer Recommendation77%303 out of 395reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
220
4 stars
71
3 stars
19
2 stars
32
1 star
55
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Panasonic 1.6 Cubic Foot Stainless Steel Microwave Oven with Inverter Technology

It does what it says

06/17/2011
By ,
orlando florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great state of the art microwave , it will meet all of the quality standards you expect .
It's the perfect size and has more power than I'll ever need .
No more food burning on one side and underneath its cold still . the inverter tech. allows for perfect even cooking , no matter what the power setting .
All the controls are easy to set , I like the child lock feature .
The outside diameter is smaller, but the inside is still large .
It's not noisy, but beeps loud enough to let you know when the cycle has ended .
It's 1250 watts of controlled power making this masterpiece a force to be reckoned .
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+62points
Review 2 for Panasonic 1.6 Cubic Foot Stainless Steel Microwave Oven with Inverter Technology
03/08/2012
By ,
Wheaton, Il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was prompted by Walmart to review this microwave although I prefer not to review electronics/appliances until I've had them long enough to know if they will work well for an extended period of time. It's been about two weeks and so far everything is fine. A few things to know that I didn't see posted before I purchased it: the microwave is taller than in the pictures giving it a boxier appearance in real life. And although the front is a beautiful stainless steel finish, the main body is a metallic grey, not stainless. To be honest, I probably wouldn't have bought it if I'd known that beforehand as presentation was just as important to me as function. I'll include a pic with this review that also shows an espresso kitchen island, wine rack and stainless steel garbage can, all purchased through Walmart. I'll review these other items as well. If you are interested in any of them, check my profile for the reviews.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 3 for Panasonic 1.6 Cubic Foot Stainless Steel Microwave Oven with Inverter Technology

Door problem too, but easy fix

01/06/2014
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the 2nd time we have purchased this model. The first one lasted 2 years before the door latch started not to work; we bought another one because Walmart is the only place in our town to buy stuff. We've had the 2nd machine for 14 months and now the door latch is a problem again; it won't be long before it will be completely unusable.
The microwave itself is a very good machine; it's just the door latch that is hateful.
However: another reviewer here tells an easy fix, and although we are not do-it-yourselfers, my guys managed to fix it. Remove 6 screws to take off the 3-sided sheet metal outside. Find the black switch mechanism. The trouble is that the whole container is wobbly and so it doesn't connect well, so you need to stabilize it somehow. The previous reviewer says that he used epoxy and put a brace in there; we took a zip-tie cable/tie. Loosen the screw in the top and stick the zip-tie into the screw hole. Then cable-tie it to a hole in the microwave enclosure.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+51points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
VA
Thanks!
Posted 03/31/2014
This was most helpful review I have ever read. I was about to go out and purchase another microwave which is why I was on Walmart website. I ran across this post, figured what do I have to lose. One of easiest fixes ever and saved me over $100.00. On the other hand, I am VERY disappointed with Panasonic customer service who gave us the run around for over a week and basically said, sorry you are stuck with it and we are going to do nothing about it.
0points
Customer Avatar
California
Same door problem - except Model NN-SD797S
Posted 02/26/2014
I took the cover off and I was shocked to see how flimsy this assembly is made. The normal operation will bend the bracket and latch. Over time it no longer springs back.
I fashioned a bracket, instead of the zip-tie which would also work, to strengthen the very thin medal bracket.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Panasonic 1.6 Cubic Foot Stainless Steel Microwave Oven with Inverter Technology

This microwave will melt your heart

12/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased last month when our 3 year old cheapie bit the dust. The microwave takes up the same room as the older one, but the inside is HUGE!! I got the 1.6 cf version on sale at Wallyworld, and when I got it home and on the counter I saw it took up the same amount of space as the old 1.2 cf one. When opened it was huge, you could cook a good sized ham in there, or a smaller turkey. We've used the defrost feature, and had a fully defrosted steak in minutes, no frozen spots, no partially cooked spots, perfectly defrosted. The best feature on this is the Sensor Cook feature, you put the item in, press Sensor Cook button, press start, and it cooks the food without needing a time to be punched in, so far, perfect every time! Also it has a great "keep warm" button, where the microwave will run for however many minutes you want to keep say, veggies warm while the meat finishes in your regular oven. Great feature.
Worth the money, in fact I think it's worth buying at it's regular price never mind a sale price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 5 for Panasonic 1.6 Cubic Foot Stainless Steel Microwave Oven with Inverter Technology

Great for 6 months, then just plain USELESS!

02/16/2011
By ,
Houston, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased in August 2010. Loved it at first. Looked great. No major problems.
Fast forward 6 months to February 2011 .... it died.
I sterilized some baby bottles, and after that it was dead and couldn't get it to turn on again.
For no apparent reason!
What? My old Sharp microwave lasted 15 years! And this one just a mere 6 months?!?
I lugged this thing all the way back to the Walmart store with a receipt in hand. Having passed the 90 return policy at Walmart, the customer service desk said that they couldn't do anything for me other than give me the 1-800 number to Panasonic so that I can call them and send it in to their repair center.
Not happy with that option, I persisted and finally the manager allowed me to exchange it for another microwave (non-Panasonic!).
5 stars for Walmart customer service, but 1 star for this piece of junk.
At $129+tax, I expect quality and longevity.
This microwave did not meet my expectations at all. Steer clear of this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+85points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Biddeford, Maine
Get what you pay for these days.
Posted 08/15/2011
I know a hundred plus dollars is a lot of money and more than 6 month's use isn't asking too much from an appliance, but I am fairly confident that the unit you had for 15 years cost you way more than $130. Unfortunately products today are built on the cheap and not meant to last more than a few years at best. We the consumer need to do a better job of demanding quality and paying for it or just accept that indeed we are doomed to buying inferior products at low prices.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Panasonic 1.6 Cubic Foot Stainless Steel Microwave Oven with Inverter Technology

Disappointing Product

07/04/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is my third Panasonic microwave in almost 28 years. The first one lasted from 1986 until 2006. I purchased this model as a replacement, and it lasted for 6 years. In 2012 I purchased another of these and about a month after the warranty had expired, I began to have problems with the door not shutting properly without having to slam it. I called Panasonic and was informed that I would need to take it to an authorized dealer...which was about 30 miles away. As a previous poster has stated, Panasonic is aware of the problem with the door, yet it is my expense to have it repaired. I have tolerated the door issue as long as I can...it is getting worse. I LOVED the inverter feature and the setting that would cook my bowl of oatmeal to perfection. However, I do not think I will purchase another of these microwaves. Seems like the quality, durability, and dependability is just not what it use to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+27points
Review 7 for Panasonic 1.6 Cubic Foot Stainless Steel Microwave Oven with Inverter Technology

This had major problems in less than 1 year

10/31/2013
By ,
Hamilton, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As other reviews have stated, the door has problems. After approximately 6 months of use, it became impossible to close without slamming it very hard. I wanted to lubricate the latch but didn't want to use oil based products. I finally decided upon graphite. That appears to work pretty well. But now, a little over 1 year after purchase, the display goes blank as you shut the door. I can get it to come back after unplugging and letting the system reboot. Other times the display loses the numbers and only displays the colon : and again unplugging helps. It started malfunctioning about a week ago. But yesterday I had to unplug/reboot it about 6 times while making supper. When it worked, it worked great. But the terrible door latch and computer problems appear to be planned obsolescence. I suppose I will get my 15 year old microwave out of the basement and use it in the kitchen again. If the bells and whistles only last 6 months or so, it is of NO value.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+35points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Upstate, NY
Panasonic should rework the door closing design.
Posted 12/09/2013
I've owned two Panasonic microwaves with the same sort of door lock. The first one failed after about 7 years; when I opened the door, the microwave turned on!!! The second one has lasted 3 years. I can close the door, but it is becoming very hard to open. I'm afraid if I use it, I won't be able to remove the food that is inside. But, I may buy another owing to the inverter technology and high power. If it lasts 3 years, that's less than $50 a year -- not a whole lot more than a full tank of gas.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Panasonic 1.6 Cubic Foot Stainless Steel Microwave Oven with Inverter Technology

Disappointed

11/19/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Maybe I was spoiled by the specific features my previous microwave had, but this one is not as user friendly. The number buttons are small and seem to need an extra-firm push. I do not know what makes it happen, but occasionally it says, "Welcome to......blah, blah.....see directions manual before using". I don't know which buttons to push to get it back to functioning again, it's hit or miss - function buton? no. Clock button - maybe? How did I get it to work? Press stop/reset a couple more times, then enter clock time and set again. Why would I want to have to do this nearly every day before I use it to heat up my cup of coffee? The popcorn button left half a bag unpopped. It doesn't have the "add 30 seconds" button which I had gotten used to and loved. I haven't bothered to use the reheat, defrost features yet. It seems like I would have to have some kind of degree to figure it out. The instruction book is confusing. I want my old GE back! Except it stopped working, but it did last me 8 years.
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Review 9 for Panasonic 1.6 Cubic Foot Stainless Steel Microwave Oven with Inverter Technology

Finally gave in

11/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this microwave based on size, power, brand and reviews. I was hoping to go without a microwave in our new house, but my kitchen designer talked me into making a space for one in my walk-in pantry. After burning some especially tasty leftovers in my toaster oven, I got online to buy this little guy. I have owned Panasonic and GE without any trouble; this one fits my shelf space perfectly. It is quieter, and the sensor cook is great for reheating; you can adjust the time with the MORE/LESS feature and I've found you don't need to stop & stir to heat evenly. I've only had it a week, but so far, so good. Also, I am not having any issues with the door, as some reviewers noted. I bought the 2 year extended warranty just in case, based on the number of reviews that said it conked out early and had issues with the door. And if I have a problem, I can just take it to my local store, rather than hassle with shipping. Also, the Walmart price was $50 cheaper than Amazon, and shipping was free and fast! Had it in 3 days!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 10 for Panasonic 1.6 Cubic Foot Stainless Steel Microwave Oven with Inverter Technology

Panasonic Inverter models - google them and read

09/06/2014
By ,
Raleigh
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Panasonic Inverter models - google them and read
I got one of the refurbished ones and found two very small food particle. WAS CLEAN. The light only operates when the microwave is actually cooking. Advantage to this is you can leave the door partially open to allow it to dry after steaming foods. Not doing so can cause various problems like RUST. I have had a few of these. They function far better than non inverter models. However, if you goggle user reviews, you will find numerous problems. The ERR H97 H98 are catastrophic and usually happen short of two years of daily use. Another common problem that happens sooner is problems with any of the three power switched on the door latch. The door is hard to open and close. This possibly is why the switches either go bad of shift so that they do not allow the microwave to function. As I previously stated, the inverter microwaves do a great job. Far better than non-inverter models. However, they last less than two years. Getting them repaired cost more than the purchase price and you are warned against trying to do it yourself. There are no repair / service manuals on the web And parts are very difficult (if at all) available to the consumer.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 11 for Panasonic 1.6 Cubic Foot Stainless Steel Microwave Oven with Inverter Technology

Don't waste your money!

08/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one of these a few years ago. Worked great for a while and then started having problems with the door. It would not shut unless you slammed it and then it didn't always work right away. You had to open it and slam it shut several times before it would work. I figured it was just worn out from use so I ditched it. I had really liked that model so I decided to buy another one. BIG MISTAKE! In less than 6 months, it started doing the same exact thing. Luckily I had purchased the protection plan with it...or so I thought. I called and set up service (which was supposed to only take 3 days.) About 10 days later I finally got the microwave back. It worked great for about 3 weeks and now it is worse than ever. We are headed to buy another microwave and I guarantee it will not be a Panasonic!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Review 12 for Panasonic 1.6 Cubic Foot Stainless Steel Microwave Oven with Inverter Technology

Has Good Housekeeping Seal guarantee

04/13/2014
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In local Walmart, I saw this one and bought the larger 2.2 cu ft one right next to it for larger height to fit huge turkey. The sizes for the prices are great. Though both demo models had hard to open/close doors, this oven is better than previous defective, different brand, I returned due to the huge capacity, Inverter, and sensor cooking. Glad I went with the large Panasonic, because looking for more reviews online, I read the NN-T945SF I bought has the Good Housekeeping Seal of Approval, meaning it comes with their 2-yr guarantee. Looked up this 1.6 cu ft Model NN-SN778S at Good Housekeeping, and it also has their Seal of Approval. The microwave I got has fine working door button and latches, so I will take good care of them by not slamming door and if ever seems dry, put drop of oil or slight smear of Vaseline on latches. Very happy with sensor cooking--its like someone else cooks my dinner for me! The 1250 watts cooks very fast even in the 2.2 cu ft size oven. Appreciate the light weight of Panasonic due to Inverter. Panasonic microwave ovens have a very, very long list on the Good Housekeeping site that all have their Seal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 13 for Panasonic 1.6 Cubic Foot Stainless Steel Microwave Oven with Inverter Technology

Very happy with this product

01/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was highly rated and i thusfar, after a month of ownership, agree with these ratings.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 14 for Panasonic 1.6 Cubic Foot Stainless Steel Microwave Oven with Inverter Technology

So far so good!!

01/03/2011
By ,
Ripton, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I first saw this microwave I knew I wanted it. It has a very sleek design, it was the perfect size and I needed stainless steele. But I still had to do my research. After several months of research I ended purchasing this one and everything is very nice so far (i've only had it about 3 weeks). Let me just say the days of making long lasting appliances is long gone according to the reviews and consumer reports, so I hope this one last me more than 10 years. I had my sharp for more than 14 years. I have to say, this one is not loud and the sensor cooking is awesome. It was ready to use right our of the box. The only thing that will drive me nuts is the finger prints but that can be resolved with some stainless steele cleaner hopefully. Since I have not had it for very long I cannot rate durability but I will keep you posted if anything changes. Right now so far so good!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Review 15 for Panasonic 1.6 Cubic Foot Stainless Steel Microwave Oven with Inverter Technology

Love it

01/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very sleek design. Easy buttons. Even cooking/warming. This microwave is everything I expected.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 16 for Panasonic 1.6 Cubic Foot Stainless Steel Microwave Oven with Inverter Technology

Great product!

09/08/2013
By ,
Santa Fe, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third time we have purchased this Panasonic model. One for our vacation rental property, one for home and this latest one for our sons' new home. I just love it! Our first one at the rental property has lasted for five years, it has been heavily used and it is still working great. The best feature I have found is its large capacity. It has more open space than other ovens in the market. It is so good that one can cook a whole chicken in a pot to perfection in 45 min. It is simple to use but it also has more sophisticated functions some are very useful like the turbo defrost and others are less so but on the whole they all work very well. My husband has found a slight problem with it, when in use this microwave's frequency can interfere with some internet applications, specially those related to radio transmission like Sonos. However this problem does not shadow the quality of cooking this microwave provides.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 17 for Panasonic 1.6 Cubic Foot Stainless Steel Microwave Oven with Inverter Technology

works like a charm

01/06/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The microwave looks great on the counter top. It heats up quickly and my food is very hot. Inverter technology seems to work well.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 18 for Panasonic 1.6 Cubic Foot Stainless Steel Microwave Oven with Inverter Technology

Door latch repair

12/07/2013
By ,
Wichita, Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EASY DOOR LATCH REPAIR - I bought mine on 08-2010. Like a lot of other posts on here about a year ago the door started getting harder to close and latch until, slamming it shut to latch wasn't working anymore. I removed the outer sheet metal ( very easy to remove 4 screws ) to see what wasn't working. The sheet metal holding the micro switch that tells the microwave the door is shut, bent back causing the switch not to activate. I tweeked the metal back straight so switch would close when door closed. I also epoxied a brace behind the sheet metal to help the switch stay in place.This is a VERY EASY fix and is permanent . Total time to repair is less than an hour. The only cost is epoxy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+38points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PA
More detail on how to fix?
Posted 01/06/2014
We are not confident when it comes to fixing, but really don't want to buy a whole new microwave because of a door latch (this is our 2nd machine that has the broken door latch; we were dumb enough to buy a 2nd one just like the first). Can you explain in more detail? What did you use to make a brace? What kind of epoxy? THANKS!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Panasonic 1.6 Cubic Foot Stainless Steel Microwave Oven with Inverter Technology

It heats throughly yet its so cool to look at!

01/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
like it soo much! works well, stylish to the viewers eye, and perfect size for my family
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 20 for Panasonic 1.6 Cubic Foot Stainless Steel Microwave Oven with Inverter Technology

Great microwave & price

12/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't used it for much other than reheating which works fine. I am sure it can do much more, but I haven't yet read the pamphlet. But the size is excellent for larger items. It suits my needs just fine.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
1-20 of 341 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next