Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sportcraft Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sportcraft Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table

What every game room needs. Invite a friend over for a game of table tennis with the Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table. The 15mm high-density MDF top guarantees an energetic game of ping pong, and its streamlined design allows it to be transported and stored easily. When you're done, simply fold up the Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table and stash it away.
Average Customer Rating:
3.729 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation76%53 out of 70reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table

Nice table

04/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't see what more you could want from a ping pong table. Before I bought this I read alot of the reviews, and most of the negitive was about the assembly. I am a carpenter by trade and took it as a chalenge to cut down the assembly times I had read about in other reviews. I do agree there are alot of parts, but all are easy to identify and put together. The instructions call for 2 adults to do the assembly, but that was not an option for me, so it was a 1 man show. I was able to get the table set up from start to finish in 1 hr 10 min. Here are some tips to make the job go smoother. 1st use a power screwdriver, 2nd put one half together from start to finish reading the instructions, and then build the 2nd half checking the instructions as needed(this way if you make a mistake and catch it a few steps down the line you only need to correct it once, and it keeps your work area small and easy to keep track of all the parts). 3rd build this on carpet, I put it together in my living room, and carried it to my game room as I got each half done, and the top is scrach free. I can't see why 2 people (each assembling their own half) couldn't build this in less than 45 mins. Hope this helps, and don't let the assembly keep you from buying this great table.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+49points
Review 2 for Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table

recommended but with a serious warning

04/19/2010
By ,
los angeles area
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The table works well. It folds nicely, it opens, it is stable. HOWEVER, be very careful screwing in all the plates etc underneath the table. There are about 80-90 screws and all go far enough to show on the surface of the table. The 'bumps' are minimal but visible. They don't seem to interfere with the game, but just seeing the bumps should not be acceptable. Again, be very careful. Try and even consider buying very thin washers.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+117points
Review 3 for Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table

SportCraft Customer Service is HORRIBLE

05/07/2010
By ,
BENTONVILLE AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We were very excited when we picked up this table we bought through WM.com. When we opened it up to assemble, we realized we received incorrect table boards. I called, but was prompted to resolve my issue on line. I went to the website and sent in an inquiry for a correct piece... No one responded. After 4 days with no response, we called and left a message after waiting for 15 min. After another 2 days without a call back, my husband called again and spoke to a customer service associate who requested a receipt. Receipt was faxed in, and no additional follow up was provided until 3 days later.... I requested they ship the piece to arrive within 6 days, but since they were unresponsive, once they started working on the request, it pushed it to 3 days. THEY WERE UNFLEXIBLE, WOULD NOT EVEN 2 DAY DESPITE THE FACT THAT I TOLD THEM I HAD A KIDS PARTY SCHEDULED. DESPITE THE FACT THAT IT WAS THEIR PACKING MISTAKE, THEY REFUSED TO BE HELPFUL
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-3points
Review 4 for Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table

Good buy

06/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price, this table is unbeatable. I read the reviews about how to get the best results while assembling the table and they were helpful. As an unskilled laborer I had little difficulty in setting up the table. One recommendation that I would like to provide is when you turn the individual pieces over, mark the player's side and the net side and also the left and the right side on the underside of the table. The table is quite heavy and lifting it up to see which side goes where gets tiresome quickly. A power screwdriver is strongly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 5 for Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table

Perfect for my needs

03/11/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the perfect entry level Ping Pong Table.
Easy to assemble, sturdy and great price. My family loves it.
Definitely recommend. Well made
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Review 6 for Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table

Good Value

01/24/2011
By ,
Overland park, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased the Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table from Walmart.com, even though I’d previously read some reviews from people concerned about the level of assembly required.
I had the benefit of owning a powered screw driver and was finished with the assembly in just about one-hour. The instructions were decent, but not excellent, however I’d expect any handyman with average skills to have no issues with assembling this table.
Once the table is together it’s “challenge time” and the King of the family will reign!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Review 7 for Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table

THIS IS GREAT VALUE FOR THE MONEY

04/01/2010
By ,
DES MOINES
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
need at least 2 adutls to put this together. comes in 4 slates. but a very good value for the money we love it. folds up nicely also
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 8 for Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table

Great for the price

11/04/2011
By ,
Austin, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This table is a pretty good value for the price you pay. The only negative part is that each side is cut in half so you have to make sure it will be in a nice leveled area. You can tell it's not the best table out there. However, overall we are very happy with the purchase and it works just fine for us.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 9 for Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table

Solid table at a good price

06/12/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was initially leery of purchasing this based on the reviews about the assembly, however, if one reads and follows the directions exactly - it's fine. Be aware: the table does not come together at the center (that threw me off). It's a good table and meets every description provided. Oh, and go through the entire box - included is a wall mount that holds the paddles and balls - we almost threw that away.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 10 for Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table

Poor quality control - keep your fingers crossed

10/04/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife bought it because of the low cost. After spending about 4 hrs and driving over 100 screws into the boards, I realized that the two tables wouldn't come together; the gap between them was about 1.5". I believe the factory packed the wrong leg panels (that connect the two tables) into the box. How am I going to deal with it?
Anyway, the lesson learnt is that read the reviews and pay attention to the negative ones to see if you'd like to deal with similar problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
here
it is supposed to
Posted 08/11/2011
its for folding in half so 1 person can play
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table

Would have been great if it could be assembled

07/05/2011
By ,
Austin, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I think the "it's hard to assemble" issues are a bit misleading. There are not a ton of parts, and for the most part everything was labeled. With an electric screw driver most of the assembly was doable with one person (although 2 are required to flip everything over). The issue however, is that the dots for the screws were off so when the entire thing was put together, there is about a 1 inch gap between the 2 halves of the table. It took 2 men to force the table together and another to try and force the screws to bend the legs to make the table useable. We still have a gap and any sort of movement causes the 2 halves to become off. For $180 I didn't expect a ton, but I did expect it to at least be functional.
Fail.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 12 for Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table

Great Table for the whole family

11/07/2011
By ,
Frisco, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The table dose takes an hour or so to assemble and the instructions are a little confusing, but with patients it fits together nicely. The use of an electric screw driver is highly recommended since there are about 50 or more screws. The table also comes with a nice net that is not mentioned. The delivery service was great too. They were a little late, but the driver did call ahead letting me know he was running late. My kids and I have really enjoyed this table so far. We have even painted the outside borders on the table surface with a clear fluorescent paint creating a fun glowing game experience at night under a black light.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
Sportcraft Paddle Pack with Organizer, Set of 4
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
Review 13 for Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table

Fun Table

03/07/2011
By ,
Goodland, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We really enjoy this table. It was simple to put together and is well suited to our needs. The only issue is top gets marks on it easily but wipes clean up almost as good as new with some effort. It's just a strange finish on the table.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 14 for Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table

Great!

03/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the product it is great for my kids and I to play rounds and rounds of table tennis. Great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 15 for Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table
11/27/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The table comes in 4 pieces. The alignment of the two panels at each end nearly match up. As an aside, I took great pain to be sure it was assembled as perfect as possible. The tape that is provided to seam both pieces at each end makes it look good. However, on occasion the ball hits the seam and bounces sideways. We previously purchased a table with only two panels, one at each end. That is a better solution. However, that product costs a little more.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 16 for Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table

Table Tennis Owner

12/29/2010
By ,
Coshocton Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with table tennis product, with exception to the assembly, no markings on bottom of table to place brackets, etc. Had to wing it! The instuction booklet needs to be revised! We had to unscrew all of the leg backets in order to fit the Sportscraft sign/stabilizer to the table! What a pain! But after assembly complete, we were happy with product. Lots of screws, thank god we had a power screw driver!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 17 for Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table

Junk

03/09/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Requires a handy man with the package - lots of work put it all together.
But most important - screws almost come through the surface of the table and creating bumps on the top.
Very bad quality.
Cheap is cheap.
Even one star is too much for this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 18 for Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table

Very fun product. My family and I love it!!

03/03/2011
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family and I love our new ping pong table. We have played on it since we picked it up from the site to store department. My kids have their friends over to play also. We can't stop playing it.
Great product! I recommend everyone that has the room, to get one. The price was also great! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table

Not a quick 2 do....

05/13/2011
By ,
Alpharetta, Ga
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not only did this have a lot of pieces, I have never seen a ping pong table with a 2 inch gap in the middle... Let me rephrase, 2 inch gap on one side and 1/2 inch on the other... everything else lines up.... Not a quick put together, and girls leave it for the guys...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 20 for Sportcraft Challenger Table Tennis Table

home exercise

01/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a good buy for the $ for the purpose of playing at home with the family and friends. It requires some hands on skill to install, and the pre-drilled holes for the screws are not accurately located, so I basically drill new ones by myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next