Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Westinghouse Westinghouse Solar Utopia High-Output Spot Light Set, 2-Piece

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Westinghouse Westinghouse Solar Utopia High-Output Spot Light Set, 2-Piece

Illuminate your outdoor living space with the Westinghouse Solar Utopia High-Output Spot Light Set. These solar spotlights are perfect for lighting your front porch, patio, garden and more. They also discourage intruders from trespassing on your property. Constructed of die cast aluminum and featuring a beautiful Remington Bronze finish, this spotlight set charges in the sun during the day so you can enjoy a warm, bright glow at night. The solar spotlights feature auto on/off at dusk and at dawn, and ten 10mm natural white LEDs offer maximum light output.
Average Customer Rating:
3.873 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation72%51 out of 71reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Westinghouse Solar Utopia High-Output Spot Light Set, 2-Piece

I'm Impressed!

03/19/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice finish. Solar panel is LARGE put nice quality! After spending 5 mins opening the package I found two high quality LED "spot" lights that were already half charged. Set up took 1 minute. These are much better than the cheap ones they sale in store. I also check local hardware stores and and couldn't find anything close to these. I have had the set 1 month and hope they last a few years. Lights do stay on during rainy dark days, which make them lower power (brightness) that evening. Overall a great product and I was thinking of ordering another pair.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 22 for Westinghouse Solar Utopia High-Output Spot Light Set, 2-Piece

Solar is best!

07/01/2010
By ,
Brandon, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased 8 of these lights now and appreciate them every night when they fire up. I have been collecting LED lights for quite some time, and for landscape lights, these by far are the brightest I have ever seen or owned. I switched out the batteries to a 3000 mAh battery, so they last well beyond the ability of the 1500 mAh battery that comes with them. I like the idea of using the AA rechargeable battery vs. a different configuratin. Other than the cost, I think everyhing is fairly well made and worth it. They should not be over $40 per pair.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 23 for Westinghouse Solar Utopia High-Output Spot Light Set, 2-Piece
04/19/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have 2 trees that are between 20-30 feet tall. The effective range on these lights is not over 5 feet, so unless your trees are newly planted and for some unknown reason you want to highlight them, this product is for you. Otherwise forget them. It was a waste of time and money.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 24 for Westinghouse Solar Utopia High-Output Spot Light Set, 2-Piece

Returned after two days.

12/14/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was hoping for so much more. Light output was very poor. Unless you want to light a small bush or flower - these are not the right ones to get. Also, they only stayed on for about 2 hours. The second night I had them, only one came on. Returned them!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 25 for Westinghouse Solar Utopia High-Output Spot Light Set, 2-Piece

Disappointed

05/16/2010
By ,
Wales,WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
One of the spotlights was defective!!!! the solar panel piece was loose from the connection. I returned them to our local Walmart store.
Westinghouse products and their customer service dept is the worst ever!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Review 26 for Westinghouse Solar Utopia High-Output Spot Light Set, 2-Piece

Good deal, perfectly satisfied

03/26/2011
By ,
East Tenn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got these lights for my 20 ft. flagpole. So far I only use 1 spot. They both charged up in one day and stay on All night. I tested them. I did swap to 3 2450 Nickle Metal Hydride rechargeables because I opened the back to see what it came with and had 3 already charged. These lights work quite well and aluminate the flag fine, but it gets quite dark in the country. In the city with ambiant light and many street lights these may not be good enough for you.
Then I would suggest a 300 watt spotlight and watch your meter spin.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for Westinghouse Solar Utopia High-Output Spot Light Set, 2-Piece
04/11/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had this light outside less than 2wks and it has already snapped and broke at the neck in winds only about 5mph. Probably can be sodered but... Otherwise is a bright light when there is enough sun to charge it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 28 for Westinghouse Solar Utopia High-Output Spot Light Set, 2-Piece

Great Yard Lighting!

04/25/2010
By ,
Buffalo, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered these lights to be put in the yard for security and lighting when walking the dog at night. They are much brighter than ordinary solar lights. Ordering was easy and the delivery was prompt. I would recommend them to anyone. We want to mount them in our pine trees for better lighting. We will have to do some creative mounting to do so though. Wish they came with a tree/house mounting fixture. Right now one is wedged in a tree and the other is just sitting in the box, glowing!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 29 for Westinghouse Solar Utopia High-Output Spot Light Set, 2-Piece

LOVE these Lights!!!

05/14/2011
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These lights are the brightest I have ever bought! We have one shining on our waterfall in our pond and it is SO bright and Beautiful. I bought others to light up our pool and I only needed 4! I put them in the gardens around the pool to hide them and they STILL put out enough light to swim at night! The ONLY problem is I want to buy more for my son's playground and they are no longer in stock and I cant find them ANYWHERE!!! DARN!! I HOPE you get more in QUICKLY!!!! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Innerarity Island, FL
Work Really Well and Last All Night Long!
Posted 06/07/2011
Bought two sets and they worked so well we bought another set. The work well and last all night long. We are in Florida and have PLENTY of sunlight... but the lights really light up our new palm trees very nicely.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 30 for Westinghouse Solar Utopia High-Output Spot Light Set, 2-Piece

Brightest solars I've ever had experience with

11/28/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only had a few days but so far I think these solar lights will meet my needs. I use to light our brick pillars at our driveway approach. They put out a VERY BRIGHT light. Material make-up is of high quality. Only objection is I question the quality of assembly...example-the stake holder & solar panel connection are slightly loose in one of my lights. No big deal though. Other objection is the solar panel is adjustable in only one direction. I do recommend overall.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 31 for Westinghouse Solar Utopia High-Output Spot Light Set, 2-Piece

Great Hog Hunting Lights

09/12/2011
By ,
Whitehouse, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought these lights to put under our deer feeders so we can hog hunt. The lights let us know when the hogs are under the feeder from 80 yards off and we walk up to about 60 yards out and get them. Works well with night vision scope when you need just that little bit of extra light. As ANY solar light, they need 8 hours of full sunlight to work long and bright. I have purchased 3 sets and they are all going strong.Hogs are bad in Texas incase you diden know !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 32 for Westinghouse Solar Utopia High-Output Spot Light Set, 2-Piece

Very bright and stylish

07/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't think they would work in my yard because I only get 4-5 hours of full sun, but they do! I purchased one set then went back for a second the very next day. I have them in my landscape border and at night when the solar panels are not visible, it looks like professionally wired lighting. Very bright, stylish, easy to install, and the bronze finish blends beautifully with my plants and mulch. I couldn't be more pleased with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 33 for Westinghouse Solar Utopia High-Output Spot Light Set, 2-Piece

Much Better Than Expected

06/23/2010
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only had these one night and they already live up to expectations. I have them about twenty feet away from my house to light up out address and they work great. Not blindingly bright but plenty bright to have a nice wash of light over the house and numbers.
They are well constructed and have a nice weight, and feeling of quality. They are a little pricey, but they did deliver on what I was hoping for.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 34 for Westinghouse Solar Utopia High-Output Spot Light Set, 2-Piece

Needed A good spot light

07/08/2010
By ,
Raymore, Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I have been looking for a good solar spotlight. I was just running through the one's online here, and they sounded pretty good, we ordered them and received them in just a few days. My husband was very impressed with the quality, and when they come on at night, they are excellent.
If we ever want more of these, I will be sure to order the same ones.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 35 for Westinghouse Solar Utopia High-Output Spot Light Set, 2-Piece
11/26/2011
By ,
NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These lights are bright and stay on from dusk until dawn. I originally bought them to highlight some Christmas decorations and my husband said that when Christmas is over he wants to use them to highlight the house all year round. Since they are so reasonably priced, we will probably order another set after Christmas. I would definitely recommend these lights.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 36 for Westinghouse Solar Utopia High-Output Spot Light Set, 2-Piece
03/16/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product a couple days ago and only one lite worked. I followed the directions to take out batteries and wipe them down or just replace them which I did. When I opened the back to the batteries a small piece of metal that should have be soldered fell out. This piece was never soldered properly at the plant. I'm taking them back in a day or two.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 37 for Westinghouse Solar Utopia High-Output Spot Light Set, 2-Piece

Expensive & Doesn't Work Well

07/12/2010
By ,
Dayton, Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a little disappointed in this product, especially for the price (2 for $50). They do not power up properly, nor do they last long. I have tried relocating them several times, but to no avail. They advertise them as a solar spot light with 80% more light, but, I have yet to see even 10% more. I will keep working with them and get back with you later.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Review 38 for Westinghouse Solar Utopia High-Output Spot Light Set, 2-Piece

Money Well Spent

07/05/2010
By ,
Nixa, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you don't want to mess with running electrical through your landscape or wherever you want lighting, these are for you. Was impressed by the amount of light and ease in aiming it in just the right spot. $50 is a good amount of money but you will spent a lot more if you go with an AC kit. Haven't had them long, but working great so far!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for Westinghouse Solar Utopia High-Output Spot Light Set, 2-Piece

Spotlights that work!

01/23/2012
By ,
Lawrenceville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product functions just as I had hoped. They are bright enough to be consiereed a Spot Light! They will last all night when they have had a full day of sunlight to recharge them. I was looking for a Low Cost and easy placement lighiing for the front of my house and they filled the bill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 40 for Westinghouse Solar Utopia High-Output Spot Light Set, 2-Piece

Disappointing for spotlighting

03/25/2011
By ,
Summerville, SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought 4 of these lights to highlight 8 to 10 foot palms. They are not nearly bright enough for that purpose. Useless for trying to spotlight areas. Might be OK for pathway lighting. Wasted my money. Must now buy small wired landscape spots.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
21-40 of 65 total reviews