Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ultimate Plush Pippin Ultimate Plush Pippin: Deep Dish Apple Pie, 40 oz

Ultimate Plush Pippin Ultimate Plush Pippin: Deep Dish Apple Pie, 40 oz

 
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation90%27 out of 30reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 2 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ultimate Plush Pippin: Deep Dish Apple Pie, 40 oz

Holy Moly Real Homemade Taste!

11/30/2013
By ,
minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I can say is WOW! How many times have you read "real home made taste" on a box or in an ad for frozen food. Does it ever really taste homemade? This is the one exception. I usually like to make homemade pie as frozen pie brands often have a thinner crust that lacks flake and flavor. I was in a holiday mood for apple pie but just did not have the time so I decided I'll give this a try and expected your run of the mill frozen pie but it was cheap. Holy mackerol! What truly awesome pie. Large chunks of apples; not small little pieces in a thick filling. Actual flaky crust that is delicious and of good consistency! Not too thick nor overly thin. I cooked according to directions and I hate to say it..could be a long while before I make homemade pie again when I can grab one of these that is just as tasty and so much cheaper..the less work is a plus! The only downfall is waiting because once this comes out of the oven it smells beyond amazing and is hard to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ultimate Plush Pippin: Deep Dish Apple Pie, 40 oz

Amazing taste, but too much Trans fat!

08/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is by far the best tasting pie I have had in many years. I have tried most name brands, and they have for the most part all been just "meh".
This one tastes truly amazing, great apples and crust is delicious. I was saddened to read the ingredient list that it has lots and lots of trans fat in it. This in 2014, after the FDA has taken trans fat's OFF the GRAS #Generally recognized as safe# list.
For those of us out there that need to consider cholesterol and other artery clogging substances, this pie is like kryptonite. Oh so tempting, but oh so bad for you. This pie makes twinkies look like healthfood in comparison.
Oh, the nutritionlist pasted on this webpage about the product, is not the same as on the actual pie. Here it doesn't list transfat, and a lot less saturated fat, but on the real pie package, it says right there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ultimate Plush Pippin: Deep Dish Apple Pie, 40 oz

not great

09/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Too sweet, doesn't taste proper, not enough apples, too much filling. If you buy this product, buy a couple apples to add to the flavor.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ultimate Plush Pippin: Deep Dish Apple Pie, 40 oz

the last few pies I bought hardly had any apples

03/22/2014
By ,
Howell, Mi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When my husband and I first found these pies at Walmart we were pleasantly surprised at not only the value in price, but they were tasty and just loaded with apples and flavor. We even stopped buying the competitors brand "Sara Lee"...However since last part of 2013 every pie we have purchased has been disappointing. There have hardly been any apples at all only filling and crust...we are not exaggerating either... We thought it was because of the apple crop failure due to the weather last year that this was the case, but now we have an abundant apple supply and the pies are still disappointing. We have returned to purchasing the "Sara Lee" apple pies again. This week my husband thought he would give Plush Pippin another try and it was still exactly the same. The crust and flavor are delicious. But to keep us as customers there needs to be a decent amount of apples in it again like it was....We are not complainers nor are we trying to get coupons to compensate, but rather we felt the need to let you know as consumers about this product...we shop at Walmart in Howell Mi..
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ultimate Plush Pippin: Deep Dish Apple Pie, 40 oz

Ultimate deep dish apple pie

09/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hubby and I were very impressed with this pie. Like homemade. Crust was delicious. Just the right amount of spices. We highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ultimate Plush Pippin: Deep Dish Apple Pie, 40 oz

Almost as I remembered my mom apple pie.

08/21/2014
By ,
Buckeye, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I stumbled upon these pies at Walmart in Buckeye, AZ. Neither of us had much experience with frozen pies, and what we did have wasn't exactly like home. Even the big names in the industry had never suited our taste. We decided to give the Ultimate Plush Pippen a try and what a great surprise. Memories of my mom's homemade apple pies came rushing back to my mind. The flavor of the apples, the juice from the cooked apple, the pie crust, all magnificent in every way.
If you like apple pie, give these a try.....You just can't go wrong!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ultimate Plush Pippin: Deep Dish Apple Pie, 40 oz

"Plush Pippin" Apple Pies.......YUM!

08/02/2011
By ,
HOPEWELL JUNCTION, NEW YORK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plush Pippin Pies are back! Horray! These perfect apple pies have been missing from my local WalMart shelves for a few years now....but a call on my answering machine from my daughter
announced "Plush Pippins are BACK in WalMart"
I discovered their delectibility 4 or so years ago and would go up to perfect strangers while shopping to extol the virtues of this wonderful pie. Shot myself in the foot with that! Whenever I went to buy them for myself, they would be sold out. When stock WAS full, I'd purchase 4 or 5 to squeeze them in my freezer somehow.
To shoppers in Fishkill, NY WalMart: Save me some this time around.
To Store Buyers in that same store: DON"T let me be without them again, please.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Layton, UT 94040
Plush Pippin Pies
Posted 03/18/2013
The best quality of any frozen apple pie in this entire market. We have done taste tests with women groups to get them as excited as my wife and I. Quality and Price for the 40oz pie will outsell Marie's and any other brand you carry. We have purchased PP pies for almost a year at WalMart and THEN.....They are gone and the space given to others that don't meet the quality of PP .....WHY? I have been in this business for 40 years and trust me I know when a Pie is a PIE. We want those PP apple pies again in our stores in UTAH...If you won't oblige then I hope you will allow Smith's and others to carry the pies.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Ultimate Plush Pippin: Deep Dish Apple Pie, 40 oz

Really good apple pie!

08/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I can say is that it's really good and tastes like a homemade pie! yum
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ultimate Plush Pippin: Deep Dish Apple Pie, 40 oz

Ultimate Plush Pippin Deep Dish Apple Pie

07/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for something for dessert not wanting to spend too much money (now I have bought all of the other brands,they were good but expensive.) This one was inexpensive and awesome best pie ever if the crust wasn't so perfect I would fib and say I baked it.when I serve nothing but raves about it.the apples are perfect the filling not too sweet, and that crush OMG flacky and never gets soggy not even when its left over,but that is rarely the case.I WISH THEY SOLD DIFFERENT ONES.I saw online they also have pumpkin not one of my faves but they don't even have that one at Walmart in Tyler tx.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ultimate Plush Pippin: Deep Dish Apple Pie, 40 oz
01/29/2012
By ,
new orleans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best bake at home pie I have ever eaten. It is much better than Mrs Smith's, which has gone to a pre-baked ,heat and eat formula. The pumpkin pie is very good also. If I can't get this one I'll make my own.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Banning, CA
ms. y
Posted 02/22/2014
I have just discovered this wonderful pie - better than Marie Callendars restaurant pie.
I will check and see if our Walmart has the Pumpkin pie.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Ultimate Plush Pippin: Deep Dish Apple Pie, 40 oz

Better than all the rest

11/14/2011
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pie had always been at the bottom of my list of favorite desserts. I'd eat the good part (the fruit# and leave the usually soggy nasty crust behind.
That is, until I made a Plush Pippin for Thanksgiving several years ago because my guests didn't like pumpkin and I just don't do pies. #See above)
The apple filling is wonderful; sweet, juicy perfectly textured fruit. But the crust, I should say pastry as "crust" does not do it justice, is the standout feature. The best pastry chefs in the world would be envious of this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ultimate Plush Pippin: Deep Dish Apple Pie, 40 oz

a great old style 40oz frozen pie

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great frozen apple pie that uses Pippin apples. This is the only reasonably priced pie where you STILL get 40 OZ!
Highly reccommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ultimate Plush Pippin: Deep Dish Apple Pie, 40 oz

Amazing apple pie!!

11/29/2013
By ,
Ocala, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When it comes to apple pie I am very picky. I would usually only eat my aunt's apple pie during the holidays and that would be it. Until I found this amazing apple pie! Now my holidays aren't complete without this wonderful pie! I don't get anything else unless it's my aunt's homemade apple pie.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ultimate Plush Pippin: Deep Dish Apple Pie, 40 oz

GRANMA'S APPLE PIE

06/14/2014
By ,
College Park, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great taste, Fantastic Crust, I can't say enough about the Deep Dish Apple Pie. The pie brings back memories of the one's my Grandmother use to make. As long as these are on the market why should I ever make a pie. Can't wait to try the other flavors. Definitely will be sharing them with family and friends. Thanks for a great pie with a homemade taste!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ultimate Plush Pippin: Deep Dish Apple Pie, 40 oz

Absolutely Fantastic!

09/23/2012
By ,
Cocoa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the only apple pie I eat. The price makes it even better. I am so glad they brought it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ultimate Plush Pippin: Deep Dish Apple Pie, 40 oz

Just About The Best!

04/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One would almost have to be insane to go the time and trouble to bake an apple pie nearly as good as the Ultimate Plush Pippin Deep Dish Apple Pie. I keep one in my freezer virtually all the time. Am almost tempted to bake one and put it in a glass pie dish to enter into a pie baking contest. Am giving that some thought!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ultimate Plush Pippin: Deep Dish Apple Pie, 40 oz

Taste better than the name brands(Mrs. Smith, etc.

04/17/2012
By ,
Monroe, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best frozen apple pie I have ever eaten. Most of the name brands such as Mrs. Smith require the foil around the edges of the crust but with this one you have option to use an egg wash. I didn't do anything. And the crust turned out perfect. And I mean perfect. The other brands I have used the crust seems to turn out dry and tastes bland. I don't know how I missed this brand. Ultimate Plush Pippin: Deep Dish Apple Pie, 40oz. Now to the apple filling. Not too sweet and the apples tasted like they were fresh from the tree. Not mushy like some of the filling you get that are frozen. This pie even beat Schwans which WAS my favorite until I bought this brand. I will also write the company and tell them how impressed I am with the taste and texture of their apple pie. Thanks for having this as a choice over the name brands. I will buy again and again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ultimate Plush Pippin: Deep Dish Apple Pie, 40 oz

Can't stop eating it!

07/04/2012
By ,
bolair, west virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As I was shopping for the 4th, I was looking at prices and the different kinds of pies. Well, this was the cheapest one I found at Walmart. So I purchased a few of them. I made one today, put it in over for 30 minutes, took it out when it had 25 or so minutes left and put the beaten egg on top. OMG it was so delicious! It had like a hint of cinnamon on the first taste, not too much, not too little. I LOVE IT! I will keep buying this pie whenever I'm craving apple pie, hopefully Walmart will have it when I do. I choose this over all the other kinds, not just price wise, boy, was I astonished at the taste and the golden top. Absolutely amazing!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ultimate Plush Pippin: Deep Dish Apple Pie, 40 oz

Best frozen pie, bar none!

07/11/2012
By ,
Waxhaw, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! Nine out of nine 5-star ratings! 100% of the reviewers would recommend this product to a friend. Impressive.
And all the reviewers were right on. Ultimate Plush Pippin pies are the best frozen pies on the market. Bar none. They are probably better than 50% of pies that are homemade. And the price is right, too. I'm almost certain that my homemade apple pies cost more to make than the frozen Pippin pies.
If I could I'd give the pies 7 stars on the 5-point scale!
So keep them in stock, Walmart, and don't you dare up the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ultimate Plush Pippin: Deep Dish Apple Pie, 40 oz

The best apple pie

08/18/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband told me to buy this pie because it was cheaper. I wanted to buy a Mrs. Smiths apple pie I just knew it would not be good. I was astonished by this pie it was the best frozen apple pie we have ever had. Don't let the price fool you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1 2 Next