Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sanyo Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

The Sanyo 37" LCD HDTV provides plenty of options for DVD, VCR, Cable, Satellite and external antenna hookups. A coaxial digital audio output connects to a home entertainment receiver amplifier system for superb theater-like sound. The PC/Mac (VGA) input allows alternative use as a computer monitor. Plus, the Sanyo 37" LCD HDTV features a USB input, which allows Photo Viewer access to your JPEG photos from your digital camera. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sanyo 37" LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.025 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(121 Reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
11
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation79%95 out of 121reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
11
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

I'm Blown Away!

02/04/2010
By ,
Amarillo, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV yesterday to mainly use as a computer monitor. It looks AMAZING! The only issue I have is it says "Signal out of range" whenever I set my computer's resolution to 1920x1080. I don't know if it is an issue with the TV, or with my computer. I'm willing to bet is the computer though as it's a Dell Inspiron 1501d, and the GPU isn't all that great. Even at 1024x768 this thing looks GREAT!!! The picture is crystal clear. This thing is every king of overkill, mega geek's dream come true. It's inexpensive and it delivers better than all the TVs I saw at higher price points. I can't wait to check out what it can do with my PS3 games and Blu Ray! Great job Sanyo!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 2 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

Two Bad; Too Bad

02/04/2010
By ,
Sugarloaf, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased the 37" Sanyo on sale the week before Superbowl XLIV. Low price for a 1080p HDTV with the features and specifications of this Sanyo seemed too good to be true. After setup, I found the picture quality to be horrendous. Darker areas of the picture were pixelated, wavering with distortion along with errant greenish casts where they shouldn't be. I tried different HD sources to determine the problem including an HD Directv Receiver and off air DTV along with various SD sources and the problem was experienced with all sources. I read all of the very brief owner's manual and tried changing the TV settings to resolve the problem to no avail. I did testing by swapping a 50" Vizio using the same cable connections with the Sanyo 37". In every case, the Vizio's display was perfect, the Sanyo's display was near unwatchable. I called the Sanyo 800 Support Number and after an hour on hold, that was estimated would be only a three minute wait by the calling service, the Sanyo representative was very helpful and had me check a few settings that I had already been through. The Rep. determined the problem was a "bad video board" and said to take it back to the store. I took it back to Walmart and their customer return service was as usual the best in every way. I asked if I could return the Sanyo 37" for a Vizio 37", but none were in stock. I was asked if I wanted to take a chance on another Sanyo 37" and with assurance that I could return it if it had the same problem, I brought the second Sanyo 37" home. I found it had the same problem as the first Sanyo but to even a worse degree.
Third trip back to another Walmart that had a Vizio 37" (V0370M) in stock and brought it home to find it provided the most pefect and brilliant picture I could ever imagine right out of the box.
What are the chances that I would get two bad Sanyo 37" HDTVs from the same store? At the time of my purchases I could not find any reviews online, so I guess this is a new model for Sanyo, and I wish them luck. I would recommend anyone considering this model to view it in action before buying. Walmart had none on display when I made my purchases.
In summary: A fat "0" for the Sanyo 37" and a "100%+" for Walmart Customer Return Service.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Review 3 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

picture washed out, not sharp

02/05/2010
By ,
oklahoma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought this 1/30/10 as it looked the best size for price and also i wanted to use it as a monitor for my computer as it has the higher 1080p recomended as some other LCD's tv's are only 720p.It does work great for that and my DVD player but my cable tv(coaxle) and playstation 2(AV jacks) gameplay is washed out, not sharp and the colors are not vivid. I've tried to adjust the contrast,sharpness and colors etc. but nothing seems to work. Our old 26" tube Sanyo had a better picture.Also the manual isn't clear on alot of things like selecting your pc resolution,what the 7 pix choices are for etc.. I can't seem to figure out how to go from the highest channel back to the lowest without going thru all 3 video's, all 3 HDMI's,PC,USB.Thats what the input buttons for.Theres no boxes to uncheck under channel search or scan memory.Also theres a longer than normal pause going from channel to channel so sometimes you end up skipping thru some till you get use to the delay.Me and my wife debated several days on taking it back but decided to keep it. Our local walmart doesn't have this TV setup as a display so i don't know if there all this way on the washed out tv picture or if its just ours.By the way JPEG pics thu a USB port on the back look good too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

Prettyyyy Niceeee

02/05/2010
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this tv yesterday and I am veryyyy happy about it. It looks so much bigger sitting in my living room then it did in the store and the pic quality is very nice..movie looked good on it. The sound is decent I guess maybe having a surround sound wouldnt hurt but over all for $448 I think it's a greatttttt tv and you would be pretty happy about buying it like me. I did get the warranty and even if you dont get this one I suggest you get a warranty. It all balck and goes great with my black/white/red theme. Turn off all the lights put in a movie and enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 5 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

What A Deal !

02/06/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV on 2/03/2010 . Love it , cant go wrong.I have had Sanyo and Sony televisions most of my life. Sanyo makes one of the best television for the money. The color and picture is awsome. This is the best 37 inch 1080p TV out there for the money. Plus Sanyo is now part of Panasonic so be assured this TV is quality. If you are unsure about the Sanyo name look up their history and you will be surprised.Walmart rocks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 6 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

disapointed2

02/08/2010
By ,
Logansport La
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this TV Feb 2,2010. Looked like a too good to be true deal, it was. Color fades from black to green, picture wavers between scenes, looks like rain before stabilizing, overall picture is sub-standard. I have an older Sanyo rear projection 720p with a far better performance. I will be returning to store for exchange. not Sanyo, either phillips or vizio. will cost a little more, but you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 7 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

Wow -great value

02/11/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased 10 Feb 2010 - great value - outstanding picture and features - I would buy again. I first purchased the Sanyo 32" set - we liked it but the picture was a bit too small so we exchanged it for the 37" one and WOW what a difference. it was well worth the extra $90 for the upgrade. Look at all the stuff you get 1080p 3 HDMI ports, USB We like the USB port for photos.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+92points
Review 8 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

I LOVE THIS TV!

02/11/2010
By ,
Atlanta,GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv exceeded exceeded all of my expectations. Great picture, great sound and great price. If the tv had picture and picture it would be perfect but overall its fantastic tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

Don't buy this

02/12/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The other review about this tv having a pixelated green mess in dark areas of the screen are totally accurate.
Do not buy this TV.
If you really want to upgrade from a standard definition set save a little more money and buy a better tv because this television can't do high definition justice.
I bought one at my local Walmart because they were out of stock on the Vizio TV that I really wanted but I ended up returning it and buying the Vizio TV at a different store.
My nephew bought the same TV at the same time and he is returning his for the same reason.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 10 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

Perfect!!!

02/13/2010
By ,
Spokane WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this TV 2-3-10 and have been nothing but impressed with it with both HDTV and Blu ray, picture is incredible, very sharp very clear, i also own the Sanyo 32in class 720p and i love it but the 37 is definetly better. I have owned nothing but sanyo TVs for the last 12 years and i have never had even one problem with them and trust me my wife and kids are very very hard on TVs
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

Awesome!!

02/13/2010
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did ALOT of research before I decided on what larger screen tv to buy. I went with Sanyo because I have a Sanyo 19" box tv in my bedroom that is 25 years old...and the picture is still amazing..and I like the simplicity of Sanyo products. This tv is ready to go out of the box,very user friendly!! So much bigger in person than expected. Everthing about it so far is awesome. I have standard cable and no HD programing yet and the pic is still great.It is nice to graduate to a big screen finally...I definitley chose the right product.. Verry verry happy. Oh yeah,the price is soooo right,don't spend the extra $$. Sanyo is a quality product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

great value

02/13/2010
By ,
BOWLING GREEN, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY WIFE AND I JUST PURCHASED THIS TV FOR OUR BEDROOM AND WE LOVE IT SO FAR IT SEEMS EASY TO OPERATE THE PICTURE IS FANTASTIC JUST A GREAT VALUE WE ALSO GOT THE WALL MOUNTING BRACKETS AND THE SET UP ON THAT WASNT BAD AT ALL . WE LOVE THE 1080P THE 3HDMI HOOK UPS APPEARS TO BE SEVERAL OPTIONS WE LOOKED ALL OVER FOR THE BEST DEAL FOR OUR MONEY AND WE BOTH DECIDED WITH ALL THE OPTIONS AND THE PRICE WE COULDNT GO WRONG. THANKS
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 13 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

very helpful

02/14/2010
By ,
susanville calif
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i just purchased this on 2-12-2010. it is everything they say it is.
i watched the opening ceremonies of the olympics and the picture was crystal clear, the sound was like being in a movie theater.
the price for this is fantastic for the size.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

A Very Nice TV

02/14/2010
By ,
Northern KY.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't walk...RUN and get this set. I have a Vizio & Samsung and compared the picture and this set is just as good, no kidding. I used to think I had to spend more to get better, but no more. $448 for this 37" you can not go wrong, the style (look) is easy on the eyes and no complaints with the sound. Also it comes with a 1 year warranty, plus for $37 you can get two years with Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

great lcd tv

02/14/2010
By ,
elkins wv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i got this tv a few days ago,this tv rocks i had a 26in sanyo lcd a yr ago never had a problem with it.im a big gamer and looking for to upgrade to 1080p for under $500 bucks.so i got the 37in sanyo 1080p lcd.3 hdmi,usb,fixed audio witch i have used this type of hook up for theatres for yrs.great tv if u are looking for a tv,with a bang for your buck.get it
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT!!

02/16/2010
By ,
Sherman Oaks, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was so excited when I purchased this tv as I've been wanting a big screen HD for a while. I compared prices on Best Buy, HSN, QVC, and Target before going to the store and purchasing this tv.
I get home and the picture looks distorted whenever there is black on the screen. I go back to this site to re-read the reviews and sure enough, eveything people complained about is TRUE!!
I watched THE DESCENT and PANDORUM and the black parts on the screen are distorted and green. Watching ice skating during the olympics, the picture would get blurry and pixelated. I bought this tv Saturday, and today (Tuesday 2/15) I made up my mind to return this poor excuse for an HDTV ASAP.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

Great TV...know how to use HD!

02/17/2010
By ,
Lancaster, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A lot of the bad reviews on here are bunk. One person actually said that the picture on his standard cable and PS2 (using the A/V inputs) look washed out. That's because they aren't HD signals. Others complained about the blacks looking out of focus and green. I would have to ask what kind of connection they're using. If you're using a DVD player that doesn't upconvert to 1080, then you will have this problem. Get a new DVD player that has upconverting or shell out the bucks for a Blu-Ray. Its the only way to get an optimal picture from a set like this. Even still, my DVD player doesn't up-convert and after calibrating my set (any Lucasfilm movies have a THX feature to calibrate your set or you can purchase a HD Calibration DVD) I got outstanding picture quality. I can't imagine what it will look like once I score the Blu Ray!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 18 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

Great price, BAD video

02/17/2010
By ,
Bentonville, AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this tv the Monday before the Superbowl. $448, 3 HDMI, 2 Component 37" Oh yeah. Who could go wrong.
Ok, so I was wrong. I have ATT Uverse TV and when I hooked this up it looked HORRIBLE. The picture looked almost like a water color image. Anytime it was a dark scene, there was almost NO detail at all.
I tried everything I could. All the inputs, 3 different HDMI cables, 2 sets of component cables. Before it was all said and done I had spent more than $100 in cables alone. Called ATT and spent 3 hours troubleshooting with them before they agreed to send a tech on Saturday (day before superbowl) Waited 8 hours for tech. To his credit, he DID replace almost every connector in my house but still the picture looked Horrid. I called Sanyo on Monday (closed on Sunday surprise surprise) and after another 2 hours of troubleshooting on the phone....bad video board. Apparantly the tech on the phone told me they've had a LOT of bad video boards with this tv and to just take it back to Wal-Mart and swap it out.
That I did, only I got a Visio 42" 240Hz TV. THAT is a good picture.
I have some images of the picture quality I will upload later.
To be short though; spend a little more money and get a better TV; this one's not worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 19 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

Very disappointed!

02/19/2010
By ,
NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The other reviews about this TV has pixelated dark areas in the screen are absolute true!
The picture quality is horrible.
I am going to return it.
I am not recommending this TV to anybody.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

Terrible TV, Do not buy!!!!!!

02/20/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this TV around two weeks ago from this website and had it shipped site to store. The shipping is the only good thing I will say about this TV. Terrible picture quality, so-so sound, and all around below average. You truly do get what you pay for. Avoid. I returned it 1 day after I picked it up from my local store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
1-20 of 104 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next