Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sanyo Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

The Sanyo 37" LCD HDTV provides plenty of options for DVD, VCR, Cable, Satellite and external antenna hookups. A coaxial digital audio output connects to a home entertainment receiver amplifier system for superb theater-like sound. The PC/Mac (VGA) input allows alternative use as a computer monitor. Plus, the Sanyo 37" LCD HDTV features a USB input, which allows Photo Viewer access to your JPEG photos from your digital camera. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sanyo 37" LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.025 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(121 Reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
11
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation79%95 out of 121reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
11
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

great lcd tv

02/14/2010
By ,
elkins wv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i got this tv a few days ago,this tv rocks i had a 26in sanyo lcd a yr ago never had a problem with it.im a big gamer and looking for to upgrade to 1080p for under $500 bucks.so i got the 37in sanyo 1080p lcd.3 hdmi,usb,fixed audio witch i have used this type of hook up for theatres for yrs.great tv if u are looking for a tv,with a bang for your buck.get it
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819
04/24/2010
By ,
New York, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very easy to install and things I did not understand just went to website they have diagrams as well.
Great Value and was delivered earlier than expected.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

Wow -great value

02/11/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased 10 Feb 2010 - great value - outstanding picture and features - I would buy again. I first purchased the Sanyo 32" set - we liked it but the picture was a bit too small so we exchanged it for the 37" one and WOW what a difference. it was well worth the extra $90 for the upgrade. Look at all the stuff you get 1080p 3 HDMI ports, USB We like the USB port for photos.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+92points
Review 4 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

I'm Blown Away!

02/04/2010
By ,
Amarillo, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV yesterday to mainly use as a computer monitor. It looks AMAZING! The only issue I have is it says "Signal out of range" whenever I set my computer's resolution to 1920x1080. I don't know if it is an issue with the TV, or with my computer. I'm willing to bet is the computer though as it's a Dell Inspiron 1501d, and the GPU isn't all that great. Even at 1024x768 this thing looks GREAT!!! The picture is crystal clear. This thing is every king of overkill, mega geek's dream come true. It's inexpensive and it delivers better than all the TVs I saw at higher price points. I can't wait to check out what it can do with my PS3 games and Blu Ray! Great job Sanyo!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 5 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

Awesome!

03/09/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this TV a week ago, did my research and you cannot beat it for the price! It's the best deal out there for what you get! It's larger than what I had, I didn't want to go 42" so the the 37" was perfect, the price and quality has also proven to be the perfect one! Easy set up out of the box, very user friendly with just the push of a button! Very clear picture, sound quality is awesome. The PIX modes are great as well! Thanks Sanyo, and thanks Walmart!! This tv is highly recommended!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+45points
Review 6 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

Sick deal. Great Television for little cash.

03/08/2010
By ,
Denton Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was rather hesitant about this purchase as at the time there were no reviews on the television. Having only owned Vizio HDTV’s up to this time, I had to be convinced to buy the Sanyo.
Does it compare to my Vizio’s, well yes and no. My Vizio’s are plasma televisions and this is an LCD. Aside from that though, I have been pleasantly surprised with the performance of this set. Very easy to install, a total of about 12 minutes for me to set it up, not my first rodeo here. Solid sound quality. Pleasant aesthetics. Crisp clean High Definition picture (on the FiOS HD). Overall I have not found much I do not like about this set.
With that in mind, there are two issues I have. First, an inherent quality to all LCD’s, the blacks are not really true, most of all in action scenes you tend to get a lot of blue in the black. (I am spoiled by plasma on this). However as opposed to plasma, you can watch this set in bright ambient lighting, the sun can be coming in the windows, or overhead lighting, no issue there. The second issue, and really it is more of a personal preference. Is the refresh rate when I go from SD channels to HD channels, it takes up to a full second for the image to render on the screen when going from standard to high def, and some times from channel to channel.
So there is the biggest complaint I can come up with. However for $448.00 (u.s.d) really?? My plasma’s were quite a bit more, heck find another 37” true 1080 box for this price and well, buy it. So far a couple of my friends have tracked this set down for their own purchase. Seeing is believing and this will leave you breathless.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 7 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

What A Deal !

02/06/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV on 2/03/2010 . Love it , cant go wrong.I have had Sanyo and Sony televisions most of my life. Sanyo makes one of the best television for the money. The color and picture is awsome. This is the best 37 inch 1080p TV out there for the money. Plus Sanyo is now part of Panasonic so be assured this TV is quality. If you are unsure about the Sanyo name look up their history and you will be surprised.Walmart rocks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 8 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

great value

02/13/2010
By ,
BOWLING GREEN, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY WIFE AND I JUST PURCHASED THIS TV FOR OUR BEDROOM AND WE LOVE IT SO FAR IT SEEMS EASY TO OPERATE THE PICTURE IS FANTASTIC JUST A GREAT VALUE WE ALSO GOT THE WALL MOUNTING BRACKETS AND THE SET UP ON THAT WASNT BAD AT ALL . WE LOVE THE 1080P THE 3HDMI HOOK UPS APPEARS TO BE SEVERAL OPTIONS WE LOOKED ALL OVER FOR THE BEST DEAL FOR OUR MONEY AND WE BOTH DECIDED WITH ALL THE OPTIONS AND THE PRICE WE COULDNT GO WRONG. THANKS
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 9 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

Great BUY would recommend to anyone!

07/07/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this TV since Feb (5 months now)
THE GOOD
The TV has plenty of ports to hook up all your stuff. 3 HDMI, 3 A/V (red,white,yellow) a VGA for CPU, and even a USB port to hook your digital cameras and camcorders directly up to the TV.
This unit has been heavily battle tested with many hours already logged between the PS3, movies, and DirecTV. Great picture, fast set-up, lots of options to customize your picture, great price. The unit has a nice shiny black finish to it and looks stylish with no bright annoying LED on the front. But the best thing about it was the price.
THE BAD
There are no buttons on the TV, not even a power button, unless I have missed them, and I looked and looked (DON'T LOSE THE REMOTE!!) Thats why i gave 4 of 5 for the features
A couple times I have lost sound while playing a PS3 game (and only then) and had to turn the set off and then back on to get the sound back (maybe happened 4 times)
To switch inputs you have to keep pressing the input button, there is no way to jump directly to a desired input which is annoying but definitely nothing major.
The sound is decent but if you want a home theater experience your gonna have to get some speakers
All in all this is a super TV set and if your in the market to get one in this size and price range I would look no further
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 10 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

Awesome TV Great Great Value

03/11/2010
By ,
Cranston, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We shopped for tvs everywhere and spent alot of time before we decided.... This tv is excellent value... YOu really cannot find a cheaper 37" tv in 1080 with this kind of quality like sanyo! Picture is excellent, Sound is excellent, tons of inputs, vga input, everything... its way more than i expected! I got 3 of my friends to go buy them too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 11 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

nice but not good

03/26/2010
By ,
northern wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
we have had this unit for 2 weeks and we are getting ready to return it. it has noise lines on many channels, some channels also have a bright vertical line going down right side. it makes crackling/popping sounds when changing channels. talk to a walmart employee who owns same model and hers does the same thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 12 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

The only review you need to read...

03/21/2010
By ,
UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are a lot of reviews on this particular TV. Some good, some bad. The good are REALLY good and the bad are, well, bad. To be honest, this TV is amazing for the price you pay. I just bought it today, so, I can't give a review on the TV's durability, but I will say that I can see this device decorating my house for a long time. My first test was to watch the "Avatar" 1080p movie trailer. It was Flawless. Absolutely picture perfect. The color was as vivid as the theater and the overall quality was superb.
Second test, Xbox 360 Graphic extensive game. The "Just Cause 2" demo. This game has the most up-to-date graphics in it and it will really show how well your TV performs. I think the TV did an outstanding job with the game.
The only problem that I can see people having with this TV is playing standard definition media. Mostly, regualr basic cable. It looks horrible. It is very pixelated as mentioned and it was not very pleasing to watch. But I will say this, you can't expect a regular old box tv to play hi-def movies and such, so why would you expect a hdtv to play standard definition media? If you're buying this TV to watch basic cable on you're wasting your money. Buy a HDTV to watch HD.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 13 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

Prettyyyy Niceeee

02/05/2010
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this tv yesterday and I am veryyyy happy about it. It looks so much bigger sitting in my living room then it did in the store and the pic quality is very nice..movie looked good on it. The sound is decent I guess maybe having a surround sound wouldnt hurt but over all for $448 I think it's a greatttttt tv and you would be pretty happy about buying it like me. I did get the warranty and even if you dont get this one I suggest you get a warranty. It all balck and goes great with my black/white/red theme. Turn off all the lights put in a movie and enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 14 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

Good Value

05/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my Sanyo 32 for almost 2yrs now and have not had any problems. I tried two other Tvs before I got this one and returned them to the store the Sanyo was the best with sound quality and picture. My dad bought one and loves it and I am thinking of getting a bigger one for my living room .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 15 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

My Third Sanyo from Walmart

07/29/2010
By ,
Martinsburg, Wv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my third Sanyo TV and I am extremely pleased with all of them. The quality and operating features are excellent, and I have recommended them to many others. Walmart has highly competitive product pricing, great in- store and on-line availabilty, and highly knowledgeable sales representatives. Great product - great Store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 16 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

Great Value!

05/11/2010
By ,
Six Lakes, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this tv a week ago when my Olevia died at the tender age of 4 years old. The set-up was relatively easy. I still haven't got the DVD player hooked up but I think I have finally figured it out. The picture is great, the color is great, the sound is a little disappointing, but not terrible. The tv is much lighter weight-wise than my previous flat screen so it was easy for my daughter and I to carry it into the house. I haven't tried the USB port to view pictures yet, but I'm excited to try it. I think the only disappointment for me other than lack of built-in stereo sound (which my Olevia had) is the owner's manual, it is very vague and non-descript in all areas. It does not go into the different video modes available nor does it go past basic generalities about the tv. Other than that, I think it is a great television, a great buy for the money and I would definitely recommend it to friends and family for purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

nice

08/02/2010
By ,
utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love the tv everthing works good have 2 of them
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 18 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

Great price, BAD video

02/17/2010
By ,
Bentonville, AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this tv the Monday before the Superbowl. $448, 3 HDMI, 2 Component 37" Oh yeah. Who could go wrong.
Ok, so I was wrong. I have ATT Uverse TV and when I hooked this up it looked HORRIBLE. The picture looked almost like a water color image. Anytime it was a dark scene, there was almost NO detail at all.
I tried everything I could. All the inputs, 3 different HDMI cables, 2 sets of component cables. Before it was all said and done I had spent more than $100 in cables alone. Called ATT and spent 3 hours troubleshooting with them before they agreed to send a tech on Saturday (day before superbowl) Waited 8 hours for tech. To his credit, he DID replace almost every connector in my house but still the picture looked Horrid. I called Sanyo on Monday (closed on Sunday surprise surprise) and after another 2 hours of troubleshooting on the phone....bad video board. Apparantly the tech on the phone told me they've had a LOT of bad video boards with this tv and to just take it back to Wal-Mart and swap it out.
That I did, only I got a Visio 42" 240Hz TV. THAT is a good picture.
I have some images of the picture quality I will upload later.
To be short though; spend a little more money and get a better TV; this one's not worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 19 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

Great TV...know how to use HD!

02/17/2010
By ,
Lancaster, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A lot of the bad reviews on here are bunk. One person actually said that the picture on his standard cable and PS2 (using the A/V inputs) look washed out. That's because they aren't HD signals. Others complained about the blacks looking out of focus and green. I would have to ask what kind of connection they're using. If you're using a DVD player that doesn't upconvert to 1080, then you will have this problem. Get a new DVD player that has upconverting or shell out the bucks for a Blu-Ray. Its the only way to get an optimal picture from a set like this. Even still, my DVD player doesn't up-convert and after calibrating my set (any Lucasfilm movies have a THX feature to calibrate your set or you can purchase a HD Calibration DVD) I got outstanding picture quality. I can't imagine what it will look like once I score the Blu Ray!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 20 for Sanyo 37" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP37819

Two Bad; Too Bad

02/04/2010
By ,
Sugarloaf, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased the 37" Sanyo on sale the week before Superbowl XLIV. Low price for a 1080p HDTV with the features and specifications of this Sanyo seemed too good to be true. After setup, I found the picture quality to be horrendous. Darker areas of the picture were pixelated, wavering with distortion along with errant greenish casts where they shouldn't be. I tried different HD sources to determine the problem including an HD Directv Receiver and off air DTV along with various SD sources and the problem was experienced with all sources. I read all of the very brief owner's manual and tried changing the TV settings to resolve the problem to no avail. I did testing by swapping a 50" Vizio using the same cable connections with the Sanyo 37". In every case, the Vizio's display was perfect, the Sanyo's display was near unwatchable. I called the Sanyo 800 Support Number and after an hour on hold, that was estimated would be only a three minute wait by the calling service, the Sanyo representative was very helpful and had me check a few settings that I had already been through. The Rep. determined the problem was a "bad video board" and said to take it back to the store. I took it back to Walmart and their customer return service was as usual the best in every way. I asked if I could return the Sanyo 37" for a Vizio 37", but none were in stock. I was asked if I wanted to take a chance on another Sanyo 37" and with assurance that I could return it if it had the same problem, I brought the second Sanyo 37" home. I found it had the same problem as the first Sanyo but to even a worse degree.
Third trip back to another Walmart that had a Vizio 37" (V0370M) in stock and brought it home to find it provided the most pefect and brilliant picture I could ever imagine right out of the box.
What are the chances that I would get two bad Sanyo 37" HDTVs from the same store? At the time of my purchases I could not find any reviews online, so I guess this is a new model for Sanyo, and I wish them luck. I would recommend anyone considering this model to view it in action before buying. Walmart had none on display when I made my purchases.
In summary: A fat "0" for the Sanyo 37" and a "100%+" for Walmart Customer Return Service.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
1-20 of 104 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next