Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

Experience Full HD 1080p, incredible contrast and sharp, vibrant images with the Sony Bravia 40" LCD HDTV. Available in a variety of sizes, this great HDTV features Ambient Sensor and LightSensor Technology that automatically adjust the color and backlight based on a room's lighting. Connect a USB drive and share your favorite photos and music with family and friends. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sony Bravia 40" LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.384 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(151 Reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
103
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation86%130 out of 151reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
103
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

never again!

09/20/2010
By ,
jacksonville,nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my second sony bravia tv the first did the same as the second.the tv started out fine for the 1st week.Now it turns on and off by itself and sometimes wont even turn on.I have to unplug a bunch of things to get it to work.I will never get this kind of tv again and will not recomend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 2 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

DO NOT BUY THIS MODEL

12/24/2010
By ,
Denver, Co
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this model on a Sunday night and on Tuesday morning the TV turned off and would not turn back on. Sony is aware of this issue they acknoweldge that there is a power supply issue with this model. Instead of pulling the model and fixing the issue they are waiting until the TV's break and offering a refurbished one or to repair the broken TV. Good luck getting it reapired as the part is on back order. After trying to get the TV repaired for a week eventually returned TV to store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 3 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

Poor Picture

04/02/2010
By ,
Bay City, Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have a 47" Phillips LCD that has a much better picture than this. The Sony has a poor picture. I should have gotten another Phillips. According to what I have heard, the Sony Bravia was a great TV,, supposed to be better than Phillips, which I have had for 2 years, trouble free, with an absolutely beautiful picture. The Sony Bravia is very blurry during action scenes, cloudy and generally poor quality picture all the time. Apparently those people that recommend this Sony never watched a Phillips.
Did quite a bit of tweaking on it and as long as you don't mind watching a dark picture, with the contrast turned way down, you can get a watchable picture. It says I'm getting 1080p.
Also the tuner won't even pick up local channels with external antennae without a converter box
The sound is good without a surround sound system and I like the 170 watt power consumption. It has a lot of features but I only gave it 1 star for features. What good are features with a bad picture?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-6points
Review 4 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

Terrible TV

03/01/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The picture and sound are horrible on this TV. The picutre is very cloudy and the sound sounds compressed. The reciever will not even pick up local TV stations, like a Vizio or Sanyo can.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-35points
Review 5 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

DON'T BUY SONY! SONY FAIL!!!

11/17/2010
By ,
Mt. Holly, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I own a 2 year old Sony Bravia 46" LCD TV. Recently, the left side of the screen began flickering on and off and freezing in bars of solid color. After having a technician out to look at it, he informed me that the LCD panel itself was failing and would cost $1300.00 to repair! I then spoke to a customer service rep at Sony who informed me that there was absolutely nothing they could do, given that the TV is out of warranty. Come on, do you really expect me to believe my $1500.00 Sony TV should quit working after 2 years!?!?!?! Do yourself a favor, and get a Sharp!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-7points
Review 6 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

So disappointed!

12/09/2010
By ,
Lynnwood, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had a 32' tube tv that I wanted to replace with a nice LCD flat screen tv. So after doing some research and reading reviews I decided to go with a Sony, since I thought it to be a good brand and everyone had something good to say about it. So I got home with my 40' Sony Bravia 40EX400 and hooked it up and boy was I disappointed! I thought mybe I lost my contacts because the picture was blurry and the text on the screen hurt my eyes since I had to strain to read it. My friend told me to get HD cable and it would fix the problem. Which I think is stupid to have to pay just to get a clear picture. But he was right, it did make the picture alot clearer when it's on an HD channel, but not all the channels I watch offer HD, so when I change to a channel that is not HD it shows had bad the quality of the picture is. I'm taking this tv back after having it for a total of 6 days. I usually dont write reviews but I thought the other reviews were so wrong about this product that I should voice my opinion. Don't buy this tv unless your planning to watch only HD channels &/or blueray movies. My friend has a Vizio that has a way better picture quality & she doesn't even have HD.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-14points
Review 7 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

Don't buy a Sonia Bravia tv!

11/25/2010
By ,
Robinson, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought a 40" Sony Bravia 1080p flatscreen just under 2 years ago (from Sam's, not Wal-Mart). The tv went out without warning, so we took it in to get it repaired. We were told the part would cost more than the tv itself, so we called Sony directly to tell them the problem. We were put on hold for a half hour the first time before hanging up. The second attempt, we were put on hold for an hour and 15 minutes. Their solution? They offered for us to buy another 40" Sony Bravia 1080p (although supposedly a "better" model) for $550 plus tax with free shipping. This would basically mean I'd have over $1200 in this tv now. NO THANK YOU! Although I do realize the 1 year warranty was up, I purchased a Sony product with an expectation of quality behind the name, which is obviously not what I got here. So now I just own a nice $600 paperweight. After this, I will never purchased another Sony product again!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 8 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

NOT WORTH THE MONEY

11/30/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I PURCHASED ON BLACK FRIDAY AND IT IS BEING RETURNED TODAY. VERY DISSATISFIED WITH THE PICTURE QUALITY. I AM COMPARING TO MY "W" SERIES SONY WHICH HAS PHENOMINAL PICTURE QUALITY.
THE PICTURE IN THE STORE MODEL BLOWS THIS ONE AWAY.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Review 9 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400
08/31/2010
By ,
Crystal Lake, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have always bought Sony TV's. I bought this one at Walmart for a good price. After 1 1/2 years it stopped working. Took it to a TV repair place, they quoted 800.00 to fix. I didn't even pay that much for it. While I was at the repail shop there were 7 exact Sonys with the same problem. They had more in back. I called Sony and of course it only had 1 year warrenty. Very disappointed in the 1 year warrenty. When the TV did work, it was great. I need to buy a new TV now, but will probably try another brand...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 10 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

would not buy again

05/05/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
we have had this tv for about one year now it is not working.repairman has been trying to fix it for 2 months.sony tech support keeps offering advice on what parts to replace however it never works.my warranty was over by 2 weeks when this stopped working.should have bought a extended warranty however only $300 less then what we paid for the tv.we did not buy this tv from walmart because @ the time did not carry sony.will not buy sony again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Review 11 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

Love Sony TV's But Beware...

10/28/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After receiving my tv very fast. I hooked the tv up and watched it and was very impressed by the picture, sound and just overall quality of my new set. Well i finished watching tv so I turned the tv off. Later when I went to turn the tv back on it would not power on! Instead the power/standby light was flashing. So I called Sony and they told me that the tv probably needed a hard reset. They told me to unplug the tv then wait a minute then to replug. So I did as instructed and it powered on. So that was that. So later same thing occured. I called Sony told them about the flashing light (it would blink 5 times then stop and then flash again) and they told me to do the same thing that I did earlier and also some other things that I cannot remember, tv came back on. they said ok, it's fixed...but I said no let's test it out so i turned the tv off/on and the same thing! It STILL would not power on! Instead the standby light/power light would just blink 5 times! I was floored. A brand new tv doesn't work unless I unplug and replug it! They told me they could send out a repair person and I kindly told them that they could keep the repair guy and send me a new working television! So after faxing over my proof of purchase they shipped out a brand new set and I sent my bootleg tv back. The entire process only took a week! So I can say that Sony did handle the matter rather quickly. The new tv works pefect! I love it! But I tell you I was very disappointed at first with being sent a broken television. After further investigation, I discovered that Sony has problems like this on all of their sets---the flashing light problem. And it's rather costly to repair. So besides the bootleg tv that I was shipped originally, I love my TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 12 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

How to fix the Sound Problem...

12/12/2010
By ,
Midwest
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
At low volume, (under 15) there is audible distortion or static on these TVs. I returned one thinking it was faulty, only to find the second did the same thing. Then I searched for the problem online, and found there are lots of complaints about this issue with the sound. As the volume is turned up, the static goes away (or is less noticeable). I am very particular about sound quality, and while I'm not expecting the cheap speakers on this set to sound great, I certainly do not expect to hear static or distortion, which really is not the speaker's fault (amplifier circuitry is to blame).
Anyway, I did find a way to minimize the distortion to the point where it is barely perceivable. What I did was sent the volume offset setting to the minimum setting, then I lowered each of the frequencies in the equalizer to its lowest setting. Then, back out of the settings menu, turn the volume up to around 75 or so, (which isn't that loud since all the settings are at minimum) then go back into the equalizer settings and slowly raise only those frequencies just enough to make the sound tolerable to your taste. The idea is to keep the equalizer settings near the minimum end of the scale, and just use the volume setting to make the TV louder, if that makes sense. While the TV won't have quite as loud of a "top end" (a volume of 100 isn't that loud anymore since all the settings are near their minimums) it causes the distortion or static to be greatly minimized when you are listening at low volume.
So, if this problem irritates you when listening to this TV at low volumes, give this a try and see if it helps. It won't get rid of the problem completely, but I find it makes the problem a lot more tolerable.
The only reason I kept the second TV is because of the awesome picture compared to all the others around it. Sony has always known what to do when it comes to video (I'm a huge fan of the old Trinitron picture tube, but CRTs are history). I have found NUMEROUS times that Sony's audio quality to be "entry level" at best. A car CD player, Discman, and a portable CD/radio (boombox style) have all been disappointments for me.
I've also read that several Vizio models have a "buzzing" sound problem at low volumes, so don't think you'll get rid of this problem by switching over to Vizio. To me, the same priced Sony has a much crisper HD picture that comparably priced Vizios. This Sony also seems to have more input options than others in its price range. $498 at the store was a good price for this set.
Cheers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 13 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

A more technical review

10/05/2010
By ,
West Palm Beach
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this TV for several reasons - Primarily, to replace my old LG 32" LCD that will soon see the end of it's CCFL life expectancy. (Yes, I use it that much lol) And most importantly, for use as both an entertainment medium (movies, shows, video games, etc) and a workstation (PC monitor)
After having the 40EX400 for several days, it became clear to me that I was going to return it and pursue something else. Still, this isn't necessarily a negative review. It just wasn't the right TV to suit my needs. I hope the review below helps others out, whom are debating purchasing this TV. Although it wasn't what I was looking for, perhaps it is right for you.
First off, I'll say that the main reason I'm writing this review is simply due to the fact that I wasn't really able to find many solid reviews on this tv myself. Seeing as how I repair electronics for a living, I felt that I may as well write my own, to possibly help out others like me, who tend to skip reviews that start with, "This is my first HDTV, and I love it!"...
As stated before, I purchased the 40EX400 for use as a PC monitor as well as a TV. However, since that is probably not the commonality, I'll start off by covering my opinions on the set being used as a general TV (watching movies, shows, etc.), and then below, my take on it's use as a PC monitor.
If you are looking for a TV to watch movies & cable on, the 40EX400 is certainly not a bad choice. For the price, and the quality of the makesmanship by Sony, I would have to rate it quite high in fact.
The main pro is definitely the excellent 60hz refresh rate handling, which is definitely a key feature to take into consideration when purchasing an HDTV.
As many of you may be aware - with the increased definition attained from HD technology, also comes increased defects. Motion blur is one of the biggest offenders. The newer 120hz TVs solve this completely, but are also a bit more expensive.
Impressively, Sony's Bravia 2 engine, through use of the CineMotion option (set to Auto in the OnScreenDisplay), solves this completely. In other words, this is an excellent TV for a 60hz rate. Blur in fast moving action scenes will not be a problem at all.
(I should note that LG's XD engine is also admirable as well in this respect)
Aside from the refresh rate, the 40EX400 offers fairly decent power consumption for a 40" LCD. And that is under the assumption that the TV is being used at it's maximum settings. Power save options, and an Ambient Light Sensor are also available to really cut down power consumption; However, in all actuality, these settings are only turning down the output of the CCFLs, and are not actually "saving power" without a signifigant loss in display.
So, if dimming the monitor does not bother you, then I suppose having these options can be beneficial, as they will cretainly save you around 30%, if not slightly more, on the dent to your electric bill that the TV makes.
As far as cons go, viewing angle is always an issue in regards to LCD TVs, and the viewing angle issue with the 40EX400 is no exception. Quite frankly, if you are looking to purchase a set strictly for watching shows & movies, it is beyond me why you would not purchase a plasma set.
Anyhow, the viewing angle on the 40EX400 is quite subpar for even most LCDs on the market today. If you are planning on viewing from 6 feet away or less, I would highly discourage getting this TV. The CCFLs are far too bright, and in any dark scene, at any angle past 25 degrees of dead-on, the bluish tinge from the CCFLs shines brightly through the black portions of the screen.
If you are viewing the TV from 7 feet or further away, however, you do gain a bit in angle lineancy. When positioned further back, the "tinge" is not visible until veering past 45 degrees.
Nonethless, I have to say that as a whole, I'd rate the viewing angle on the 40EX400 quite poorly, compared to other LCDs on the market. Tecnically speaking, this is simply due to the thickness (or lack thereof) & type of glass pane Sony used in the TV.
It's not surprising really, seeing as how thinner & slimmer is all the trend right now. However, until more reliable methods of front pane design are put into use, this remains one the bizarre reasons that older, heavier (not to mention more power consuming) LCDs still out-perform current models, in regards to viewing angle.
Where the 40EX400 really failed for me, was in it's use as a PC monitor. Despite the available adjustments and settings, the color engine is simply not designed for use with the PC. Colors are washed out, and the although adjustment settings are available to enhance colors - they only do so at the expense of clarity. For movies and video, this makes very little difference, but it makes a program like Photoshop impossible to use. And naturally, since one tends to be closer to the screen w/a PC, the bluish backlight tinge on a dark bkgd is abysmal, even at the slightest offset from center.
So in summary, I'd rate the 40EX400 a fairly good LCD, and a nicely priced purchase for it's size and quality - particularly for those on a budget. So long as it was mounted at a direct viewing angle, this would make an excellent bedroom TV. But for those looking for a monitor, I would recommend steering clear.
As I mentioned before though, if you are looking for a TV to strictly watch movies & shows on, you should go with plasma. If you have no desire to play video games or use the TV as a PC monitor, then don't even bother with an LCD - I sure wouldn't =]
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
+46points
Review 14 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

Expected more

11/27/2010
By ,
Iowa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Even though the price was affordable I expected quality from Sony. The picture is horrible. I bought this t.v. to replace a perfectly working tube television-and the picture quality doesn't even compare! I don't have the HD hooked up yet and everyone says that will make a difference, but with that being said-why should you have to have something extra installed to get a good picture? Seriously considering taking this t.v. back and staying with my old, reliable, crisp picture, tube television. Newer isn't always better.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-18points
Review 15 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

Audio caution

01/19/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Be aware that the speakers on this set feed audio out of the bottom of the set rather than out the front.
This results is a muffling of the sound. A very poor design from such a reputable company.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 16 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400
04/20/2010
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would like to say that this TV is great and meets all expectations. The only thing is that they should supply a couple of cables to connect the TV & they should have an instant on
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

Good price and quality

12/27/2010
By ,
Laurelville,OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TV was a great buy and was easy to set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

Geat picture!

09/30/2010
By ,
Statesboro, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This TV is well worth the money. The only complaint I have is that when the show isn't being broadcast in HD the picture becomes smaller and doesn't fill the screen. You have to use the TV remote to change the picture to full screen. But the picture is clear and crisp and the sound very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

The Right Choice

04/15/2011
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I finally had to replace my old 27" Sanyo and was lost when it came to the new flat screen TV's. LCD, LED, PLasma? I had no clue what the differences were! I spent a month online researching, and asking friends and co-workers about their televisions. I am a single woman, with a tight budget, and knew I was going to have to find the best value for my dollar. Althoough I originally thought I would go with a Samsung 32" LCD, I changed my mind after visiting the local Walmart. I realized due to the wide screen, the 32" didn't seem all that big. So I looked at the 37" and 42"models. I have a big entertainment center and realized right away the new TV's would never fit in the space meant for one, but with the weigfht of these new one's I knew I could just set it on top of it. With my other components, and all the CD's, DVD's, and other things I had stored in it, I really couldn't get rid of it. After leaving the store, comparing picture quality and features, I knew this one was the one for me. I didn't go with a plasma, due to the problems with some people saying they get that "burned image" after leaving it on for long periods of time. The LED did have a sharper picture than the LCD, but with the size I wanted it made it a little out of my price range. The Sony 40" provides me with a good picture, and the imputs were exactly what I needed. I use this in my bedroom, which is in a basement apartment. I will say that the sound is only adequate, but since I knew I would be hooking it up to my stereo system, it wasn't a factor in my decision. None of the ones I looked at had great sound out the speakers that were built in anyway. I had the set delivered to my home, which was free, and it arrived quickly and undamaged. I was able to get it downstairs and set up all by myself and have had absolutely no problems with it so far. I would recommend this unit to anyone who is looking for a very nice TV that doesn't break the bank! The worst thing about my new TV was lugging the old one out in order to get it hooked up!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

Great TV

03/25/2010
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Short story: it's a really good TV. I love to watch TV and movies on it, and anything on my PS3 looks amazing, especially with my HDMI cable.
Long story:
At under $700 for a 1080p 40" LCD TV, the Bravia is one of the best deals available, not to say it's a cheap TV. It upholds the Sony standard by delivering excellent sound and picture, as well as boasting 4 HDMI slots (two of which are right on the left of the TV for easy access), a PC input, 2 component slots, and 1 video slot (again, on the side of the TV), as well as a usb port. You can look at pictures and videos on the TV, although I'm not sure what format they need to be in, as I haven't checked yet. It is definitely a TV I would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 98 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next