Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

Experience Full HD 1080p, incredible contrast and sharp, vibrant images with the Sony Bravia 40" LCD HDTV. Available in a variety of sizes, this great HDTV features Ambient Sensor and LightSensor Technology that automatically adjust the color and backlight based on a room's lighting. Connect a USB drive and share your favorite photos and music with family and friends. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sony Bravia 40" LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.384 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(151 Reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
103
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation86%130 out of 151reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
103
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

Good TV for the price

01/18/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The TV was easy to assemble and to connect to other components. It is attractive without being attrusive. The non-HD picture is okay, but HD is spectacular. The only irritation was that HDMI ports 1 and 4 are on the back and 2 and 3 on the side.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 62 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

great value

12/17/2010
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is the best TV for the money range. I have no comments for any single thing.I haven't hook up speakers and sound system yet but I am pretty sure they will be come out fine. Sound system without speakers is enough but can be enhanced.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 63 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

Sony makes a great product.

12/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always bourght a Sony product this Bravia has not disappointed me it has performed better than expected the picture is sharp and clear and the price is great. It out classes many of the other TV's by a mile. I recommend this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 64 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

NOT WORTH THE MONEY

11/30/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I PURCHASED ON BLACK FRIDAY AND IT IS BEING RETURNED TODAY. VERY DISSATISFIED WITH THE PICTURE QUALITY. I AM COMPARING TO MY "W" SERIES SONY WHICH HAS PHENOMINAL PICTURE QUALITY.
THE PICTURE IN THE STORE MODEL BLOWS THIS ONE AWAY.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Review 65 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

WOWZERS!

12/18/2010
By ,
Pomona, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our first large TV and our first flat screen. I love it! Ordering was easy, and the delivery was faster than we expected. It was actually cheaper through Walmart online than at any store we looked at and so much easier!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 66 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

Great TV

07/27/2010
By ,
Fulton, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this is a great TV at an outstanding price.
I love it. One feature that I really like is the light sensor as I have a bow window and the picture does not wash out. Sony is a great name and it lives up to the name.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 67 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

Nice TV

03/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great picture, good sound. Everything I expected from a Sony product. I returned a 37" Visio HDTV because of poor sound quality and replaced it with this Sony 40". Am very happy so far with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 68 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

Great value

03/23/2010
By ,
Granby, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a good deal on a flat panel. I'm not a gamer but this could fill the bill for those that are. Could use some sound reinforcement, but it's OK for normal use. Good value for name brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 69 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

very pleased

08/12/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sony does cost a bit more than the loss leader (no name brands) but you don't need to plunk out lots more dollars for a sound bar. The sound is pretty decent for a flat screen. Compare before you buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Review 70 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

Great LCD!

03/29/2010
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This LCD has it all. SONY makes a great LCD tv. You won't be disappointed. I think the price could be just a bit lower by $50-$100 to be competitive with other brands but still worth every cent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 71 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

awesome TV

04/01/2010
By ,
New Carlisle, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent picture and price especially considering its a sony, the price cant be beat. The unit is definantly capable of supporting sports and a new gaming console. Well worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 72 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

Sony Bravia

11/01/2010
By ,
Brighton,MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good quality also Sony in general is one of the best brand but these particular one i like it pretty much these is my second one i had a 46 and 40 now Hightly recommended thank you
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 73 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

our first sony tv

12/15/2010
By ,
Martinsville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fine television with great color in the picture and when we added HD----WOW is all we can say. The sound could be better so we added a sony sound system and now all is well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 74 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400
04/20/2010
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would like to say that this TV is great and meets all expectations. The only thing is that they should supply a couple of cables to connect the TV & they should have an instant on
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 75 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

Love this set

07/16/2010
By ,
Buffalo NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Sony Bravia is exactly what I wanted. Was very easy to set up and remote is clear and easy.
Ordered from the internet and got free shipping. Doesn't get any easier than that!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 76 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

Exceptional product

12/25/2010
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are very pleased with our purchase of the 40" Sony Bravia T.V. Beautiful picture and amazing sound. We enjoy each and every show we watch, its an amazing experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 77 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

So far So good

12/01/2010
By ,
Stony Point, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used as the family TV in our Living room. Clear crisp picture, sound is lil low but I just turn it up. I'll probably get the Sony surround speakers next year:)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 78 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

Very pleased

01/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this TV for my sons for Christmas, and I'm very pleased. It arrived super fast, and the quality has been just what I hoped for. The price was right too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 79 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

WOW

05/01/2010
By ,
Newport NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing picture quality and sound. I also purchased a Sony Bluray, both were easy to set up. The Bravia Sync really makes things super easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 80 for Sony Bravia 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, KDL-40EX400

Exceptional Value

01/01/2011
By ,
Warrenton, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought 40" Sony Bravia on line, got a great deal.
Picture Quality is exceptional, I would definately recommend this particular television.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
61-80 of 98 total reviews