Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Mainstays Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Add style and functionality to your lounge or home bar with the Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool. Its sturdy metal construction painted with a complementing sheen black finish adds to its visual appeal. The well upholstered round cushion seat provides great comfort and is also fireretardant, which adds to the safety factor. It has a 360 degree swivel, which allows you to turn around at will. The swivel counter bar stools angled legs and round foot rest facilitate better sitting positions and reduce the stress on your knee joints to a large extent. Made from high-quality metal, this 29-inch bar stool is highly durable. It is the easiest option to bring in more sitting space to any lounge or bar without compromising on the comfort factor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.41 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(351 Reviews) 289
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
213
4 stars
103
3 stars
11
2 stars
14
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation94%329 out of 351reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 181 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
213
4 stars
103
3 stars
11
2 stars
14
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Counter top stool

05/30/2010
By ,
King of Prussia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value. Looks good in kitchen with counters and cabinets. Only wish they were adjustable. But for the price they are terrific. Saw similar online at other stores for much more money. Easy to assemble.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great swivel bar stool, ok price

06/03/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Honestly, I love this bar stool and the only reason I do not give 5 stars across the board is that the price went up by $10 (30%) now that I can no longer buy this in the store. It was $29 in the store and is now $39. I had bought two late last year during a remodel of my kitchen to add a bar and needed some temporary bar stools that swiveled. After 6 months I decided I really liked them and ordered 6 more for the drinks bar and breakfast bar.
The chairs do not occupy a lot of space, are very comfortable, and look great. They are not as fancy as those costing $150+ but those are also bulky and often uncomfortable.
What I like:
- They swivel and the mechanism works well
- They are lightweight and easy to move
- They have a small profile (no arms)
- They have a comfortable back
- They are well painted in mottled dark brown
- The seat is brushed velour and easy to keep clean
- They are easy to put together
- They look great in a fairly upscale environment
What I do not like
- The price went up 33%
- They are no longer available in the store
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Exceptional deal

11/30/2011
By ,
Auburn, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw the 'chair' version of these bar stools at a Wal-mart so thought I'd give them a try. First, they are the ideal height for seating at a standard bar. They were easy to put together. Shipping was quick - about 5 days. I love the fact that they 'swivel' - the swivel feature was key in choosing these. The backs allow you to relax, rather then worry about sitting up constantly (like you must do with backless stools) and they have great back support. A casual yet contemporary look and very comfortable as well. Plus I like the fact that you can 'rest' your feet on the chair support rather then having your legs 'dangling' in the air. For me, the price, comfort, ease of assembly, quick ship, and the swivel action makes these the 'ideal' purchase. The ONLY reason I did the 4 stars on 'appearance' is due to 1 cushion being a bit lumpy. Other then that, these are outstanding and I HIGHLY recommend them. I wouldn't hesitate to buy more of these if I needed them.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great quality at a low price!

10/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped around for stools but they were all so expensive. When I saw these at such a great price I took a chance and purchased four. They are very heavy, durable, and beautifully made. I am more than satisfied with this purchase. There is only one downfall and that is that two out of four of these stools are not level. I fixed them by adding sticker pads underneath the unlevel legs. I would definitely recommend the stools to anyone!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great Bar Stool for the Price

06/24/2014
By ,
Mitchell, Ne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bar Stools, a little more attention on the screw holes, the threads don't always let the bolt start correctly, but with a little patience and time we didn't cross thread any of them. Have gotten many comments on them how great they look. Would definitely recommend these for the price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great stools for kitchen or bar area

09/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my 14yrs old daughter put all three of the bar stools together by herself I only needed to tighten the screws a little tighter. She had all three done in about a hour. I don't really know about durability yet I've only had them for a week now.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Get more than you pay for...!

11/01/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There's the old saying that 'you get what you pay for' but with these, I think you get quite a bit MORE... sturdy, easy to put together, nice look for a smaller room as they don't have the thick 'look' of wooden stools, these were perfect for what I needed! Time will tell how well they hold up, but at this price, you can't beat it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great Value

05/17/2014
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These chairs gave the most bang for the buck out of all the ones I searched on the internet. The weight limit is not stated on the box, however it is stated on the bottom of the seat that the chair will support 300 lbs. The directions were really easy to understand and the screws were separated into individual bags, so it was easy to find what was needed for each step. I did decide to recover the seats with a different fabric and when I went to reattach the seat to the stool, not all of the original screws would work. I had to get longer screws to make the seat feel secure. We are using these in a cabin and I used camouflage fabric to recover the seats and they look fantastic; my husband is really pleased with how they look.
2 of the 4 chairs that I put together swivel smooth and the other 2 felt kind of stiff. I used some WD40 and that helped a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/05/2014
How difficult were the chairs to recover? I love the look but definitely need a different color so was planning to recover them. How much fabric do you think it would take to do two of them?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

High quality low cost solution

09/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought 3 of these for the kitchen bar. Was pleasantly surprised at how fast the site to store free shipping was. I'm 6'5" and weigh in somewhere north of 250#, found these to be sturdy and comfortable. Assembly was about as easy as it gets. Instructions were clear and well-illustrated, first one took me about 20 minutes, the other two less than 10 minutes each once I was organized. A couple comments on making assembly easier and better. First, pop back to automotive and grab a little tube of Permatex Blue Threadlocker (aka Loc-Tite). Worth the extra $5 to be sure that you don't need to retighten screws down the road. Second, if you're assembling more than one, use a new Allen wrench from each hardware kit for each stool. Finally, when tightening things up, treat them like a car tire. Finger-tighten each screw, then go around and continue 1/4 turn with each one in rotation until fully tight. This will make it much easier to get it assembled and ensure that it is level.
Overall, a great value and a nice, comfortable stool. Wonder why they aren't in many stores? I may get a few more down the road...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great Bar Stools for son's apartment.

10/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got these for my son's 1st apartment on his own. It's a 1BR 1BH limited space apartment . He has a high counter separating the kitchen from living room and these were perfect height and decor for his place. He likes that they swivel and they provide extra seating into the living room. I liked the price and ease of set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great for the price

10/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These were relatively easy to put together. They look great. I wish they were a bit sturdier but they are still great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Good bar stool

10/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to set up.
The cushion does get dirty easily and the texture does make it difficult to clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great value.

10/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You can't beat the price for three stools. They look nice. A bit of rocking with the legs but they will work great for our needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Can't beat this deal

10/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed bar stools for my new apartment and these were the cheapest we could find online by far. They were ridiculously easy to set up and they function great plus they swivel 360 degrees around which was a great bonus feature. Cushion isn't the thickest but am not planning on spending too much time on these to eat meals
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Good product , good price

10/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty furniture, easy to ensemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Stylish and comfortable

10/13/2014
By ,
Denton tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These bar stools are simple to assemble,they are stylish and very comfortable plus affordable! I would recommend them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

GREAT product for a GREAT price

04/28/2010
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These chairs were VERY easy to assemble. I purchased 3 of these for my basement bar and had all three together in under 2 hours.
The directions were easy to follow, all of the "holes" matched properly, and the chairs look much more expensive than they were.
I would defintely reccommend these chairs for a bar area, as well as a kitchen counter area.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+92points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Nice fulfills the purpose

10/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it as counter stool and is great i like it.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

I'm happy with the stools

10/08/2014
By ,
east point, ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to assemble and so far good, durable, good price
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

It's a good chair.

10/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took me only about 10 minutes to assemble.
It looks nice and it's comfortable.
It a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 290 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next