Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Mainstays Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Add style and functionality to your lounge or home bar with the Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool. Its sturdy metal construction painted with a complementing sheen black finish adds to its visual appeal. The well upholstered round cushion seat provides great comfort and is also fireretardant, which adds to the safety factor. It has a 360 degree swivel, which allows you to turn around at will. The swivel counter bar stools angled legs and round foot rest facilitate better sitting positions and reduce the stress on your knee joints to a large extent. Made from high-quality metal, this 29-inch bar stool is highly durable. It is the easiest option to bring in more sitting space to any lounge or bar without compromising on the comfort factor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.403 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(405 Reviews) 343
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
247
4 stars
118
3 stars
11
2 stars
14
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation94%380 out of 405reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 183 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
247
4 stars
118
3 stars
11
2 stars
14
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Counter top stool

05/30/2010
By ,
King of Prussia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value. Looks good in kitchen with counters and cabinets. Only wish they were adjustable. But for the price they are terrific. Saw similar online at other stores for much more money. Easy to assemble.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great swivel bar stool, ok price

06/03/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Honestly, I love this bar stool and the only reason I do not give 5 stars across the board is that the price went up by $10 (30%) now that I can no longer buy this in the store. It was $29 in the store and is now $39. I had bought two late last year during a remodel of my kitchen to add a bar and needed some temporary bar stools that swiveled. After 6 months I decided I really liked them and ordered 6 more for the drinks bar and breakfast bar.
The chairs do not occupy a lot of space, are very comfortable, and look great. They are not as fancy as those costing $150+ but those are also bulky and often uncomfortable.
What I like:
- They swivel and the mechanism works well
- They are lightweight and easy to move
- They have a small profile (no arms)
- They have a comfortable back
- They are well painted in mottled dark brown
- The seat is brushed velour and easy to keep clean
- They are easy to put together
- They look great in a fairly upscale environment
What I do not like
- The price went up 33%
- They are no longer available in the store
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Exceptional deal

11/30/2011
By ,
Auburn, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw the 'chair' version of these bar stools at a Wal-mart so thought I'd give them a try. First, they are the ideal height for seating at a standard bar. They were easy to put together. Shipping was quick - about 5 days. I love the fact that they 'swivel' - the swivel feature was key in choosing these. The backs allow you to relax, rather then worry about sitting up constantly (like you must do with backless stools) and they have great back support. A casual yet contemporary look and very comfortable as well. Plus I like the fact that you can 'rest' your feet on the chair support rather then having your legs 'dangling' in the air. For me, the price, comfort, ease of assembly, quick ship, and the swivel action makes these the 'ideal' purchase. The ONLY reason I did the 4 stars on 'appearance' is due to 1 cushion being a bit lumpy. Other then that, these are outstanding and I HIGHLY recommend them. I wouldn't hesitate to buy more of these if I needed them.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great Bar Stool for the Price

06/24/2014
By ,
Mitchell, Ne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bar Stools, a little more attention on the screw holes, the threads don't always let the bolt start correctly, but with a little patience and time we didn't cross thread any of them. Have gotten many comments on them how great they look. Would definitely recommend these for the price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Get more than you pay for...!

11/01/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There's the old saying that 'you get what you pay for' but with these, I think you get quite a bit MORE... sturdy, easy to put together, nice look for a smaller room as they don't have the thick 'look' of wooden stools, these were perfect for what I needed! Time will tell how well they hold up, but at this price, you can't beat it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great quality at a low price!

10/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped around for stools but they were all so expensive. When I saw these at such a great price I took a chance and purchased four. They are very heavy, durable, and beautifully made. I am more than satisfied with this purchase. There is only one downfall and that is that two out of four of these stools are not level. I fixed them by adding sticker pads underneath the unlevel legs. I would definitely recommend the stools to anyone!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Very comfortable yet stylish

10/31/2014
By ,
Adelanto, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love my bar stools. They look really nice on my bar and very color coordinated. I put them together by myself as well very easy to essemble too and I'm a woman lol. In fact my 40"inch smart tv and tv stand were both purchased at Walmart as well. I'm so very pleased with everything. Highly recommended.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great stools for kitchen or bar area

09/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my 14yrs old daughter put all three of the bar stools together by herself I only needed to tighten the screws a little tighter. She had all three done in about a hour. I don't really know about durability yet I've only had them for a week now.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great Value

05/17/2014
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These chairs gave the most bang for the buck out of all the ones I searched on the internet. The weight limit is not stated on the box, however it is stated on the bottom of the seat that the chair will support 300 lbs. The directions were really easy to understand and the screws were separated into individual bags, so it was easy to find what was needed for each step. I did decide to recover the seats with a different fabric and when I went to reattach the seat to the stool, not all of the original screws would work. I had to get longer screws to make the seat feel secure. We are using these in a cabin and I used camouflage fabric to recover the seats and they look fantastic; my husband is really pleased with how they look.
2 of the 4 chairs that I put together swivel smooth and the other 2 felt kind of stiff. I used some WD40 and that helped a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/05/2014
How difficult were the chairs to recover? I love the look but definitely need a different color so was planning to recover them. How much fabric do you think it would take to do two of them?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Nightmare Bar Stool

02/27/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This has been a nightmare. I bought two of these, one of which assembled without a problem (however, wobbles because it is obviously not even in the legs). The other has a part in it that the bolt holes were obviously not drilled right--the bolts won't screw in. Now I'm going back and forth with the manufacturer trying to get a replacement part and it is like speaking French to them. It's taken two weeks now to receive the wrong replacement part. And after many phone calls, probably hours at this point wasted, I'm waiting again for them to get back to me. This has been a nightmare and it looks like I've wasted over thirty bucks. AND now I do not have a matching pair. Not sure why I ever came to a budget store like Walmart to shop in the first place--never again! Better to pay more and get better quality.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

GREAT product for a GREAT price

04/28/2010
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These chairs were VERY easy to assemble. I purchased 3 of these for my basement bar and had all three together in under 2 hours.
The directions were easy to follow, all of the "holes" matched properly, and the chairs look much more expensive than they were.
I would defintely reccommend these chairs for a bar area, as well as a kitchen counter area.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+97points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Beautiful, Sturdy, and Easy to Assemble

03/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very happy I purchased these 2 Bar Stools. As a woman, sometimes it's hard to assemble things that take screws, etc. The instructions were very easy to follow and - even though it had screws, they went in like butter. Very sturdy. The perfect height for bar (I'm 5'1") and the ring can be used as a step if shorter. The seat cushions are plush velvet like which doesn't really show up in the pic. Recommend highly! Beautiful.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

High quality low cost solution

09/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought 3 of these for the kitchen bar. Was pleasantly surprised at how fast the site to store free shipping was. I'm 6'5" and weigh in somewhere north of 250#, found these to be sturdy and comfortable. Assembly was about as easy as it gets. Instructions were clear and well-illustrated, first one took me about 20 minutes, the other two less than 10 minutes each once I was organized. A couple comments on making assembly easier and better. First, pop back to automotive and grab a little tube of Permatex Blue Threadlocker (aka Loc-Tite). Worth the extra $5 to be sure that you don't need to retighten screws down the road. Second, if you're assembling more than one, use a new Allen wrench from each hardware kit for each stool. Finally, when tightening things up, treat them like a car tire. Finger-tighten each screw, then go around and continue 1/4 turn with each one in rotation until fully tight. This will make it much easier to get it assembled and ensure that it is level.
Overall, a great value and a nice, comfortable stool. Wonder why they aren't in many stores? I may get a few more down the road...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Big bold look for little bitty price!

11/14/2013
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love my Mainstays Swivel Bar Stool!!
I have nerve damage and back problems, which do not permit me to stand for long periods of time. Holidays are coming and I bake and cook a lot, and my hubby suggested getting a high-back stool so perhaps I could sit at the counter and and do a lot of it. I thought it was a great idea, but didn't want to spend a lot of money yet wanted something sturdy and that would take getting on and off of all the time. Well we found it in this lovely bar stool. It is the perfect height for my kitchen counters, (29"), as well as the Mainstays Kitchen Island Cart I just purchased (see other review) and it swivels as well. Sure I have to get up and down, but it allows me to sit for periods in between and still get things accomplished. This Bar Stool is so nice, if I had a bar, or breakfast counter, I would buy several. Highly recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Fit for a queen

03/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bar stool was easy to assemble and is strong and well made. I'm very pleased with this product and at an excellent price!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Just what I was looking for!

02/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I moved into my place months ago and from the moment I stepped foot into it, I couldn't wait to get some barstools for my counter. Unfortunately, I put it off for a long time because they can get expensive. My husband and I didn't want to spend too much as we'd need four stools total. We ended up purchasing two of these in store (because that's all they had) to test them out and figured, if we weren't happy with them, we'd take them back and keep searching. Fortunately, we are very pleased and will be ordering two more! They were easy to put together and for the price, you can't beat it. The only tool needed is an allen wrench that is included so as long as you can read, you can put these together!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Nice Barstools!!

08/09/2010
By ,
Winter Haven, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered 2 of these barstools and received free shipping to my home - all in less than 1 week! I had both assembled in less than 1-1/2 hours, it was that easy. They're very sturdy, look great, and you just can't beat the price for something of that quality - believe me, I know because I shopped around! I would definitely recommend these to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Get buy !!

03/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very sturdy & comfortable. Love the price !!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Simple and great price point

02/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a starter stool for a self built breakfast bar. Not only were these stools a great price, they were simple to put together and will do the job for quite a while. II wasn't looking for black so I've spray painted them and recovered the seats. The suede fabric that comes on the cushion would have held for a long time I'm sure, just didn't go with the room. Overall the stools are great and feel like they are going to hold up for a while.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Easy to assemble, looks & works great

09/09/2011
By ,
Weymouth, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bar stool is very comfortable to sit on, looks great, too. It is easy to assemble if follow this trick. When you attach the legs to the seat, don't tighten too much keep a bit loose there is a little bit of wiggle room for them. Then it becomes easier to align and attach the bottom foot-rest ring. Fasten the ring first and then tighten the leg attachment to the seat.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 344 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next