Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Mainstays Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Add style and functionality to your lounge or home bar with the Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool. Its sturdy metal construction painted with a complementing sheen black finish adds to its visual appeal. The well upholstered round cushion seat provides great comfort and is also fireretardant, which adds to the safety factor. It has a 360 degree swivel, which allows you to turn around at will. The swivel counter bar stools angled legs and round foot rest facilitate better sitting positions and reduce the stress on your knee joints to a large extent. Made from high-quality metal, this 29-inch bar stool is highly durable. It is the easiest option to bring in more sitting space to any lounge or bar without compromising on the comfort factor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(296 Reviews) 234
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
176
4 stars
88
3 stars
11
2 stars
13
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation94%277 out of 296reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 165 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
176
4 stars
88
3 stars
11
2 stars
13
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Counter top stool

05/30/2010
By ,
King of Prussia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value. Looks good in kitchen with counters and cabinets. Only wish they were adjustable. But for the price they are terrific. Saw similar online at other stores for much more money. Easy to assemble.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great swivel bar stool, ok price

06/03/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Honestly, I love this bar stool and the only reason I do not give 5 stars across the board is that the price went up by $10 (30%) now that I can no longer buy this in the store. It was $29 in the store and is now $39. I had bought two late last year during a remodel of my kitchen to add a bar and needed some temporary bar stools that swiveled. After 6 months I decided I really liked them and ordered 6 more for the drinks bar and breakfast bar.
The chairs do not occupy a lot of space, are very comfortable, and look great. They are not as fancy as those costing $150+ but those are also bulky and often uncomfortable.
What I like:
- They swivel and the mechanism works well
- They are lightweight and easy to move
- They have a small profile (no arms)
- They have a comfortable back
- They are well painted in mottled dark brown
- The seat is brushed velour and easy to keep clean
- They are easy to put together
- They look great in a fairly upscale environment
What I do not like
- The price went up 33%
- They are no longer available in the store
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Exceptional deal

11/30/2011
By ,
Auburn, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw the 'chair' version of these bar stools at a Wal-mart so thought I'd give them a try. First, they are the ideal height for seating at a standard bar. They were easy to put together. Shipping was quick - about 5 days. I love the fact that they 'swivel' - the swivel feature was key in choosing these. The backs allow you to relax, rather then worry about sitting up constantly (like you must do with backless stools) and they have great back support. A casual yet contemporary look and very comfortable as well. Plus I like the fact that you can 'rest' your feet on the chair support rather then having your legs 'dangling' in the air. For me, the price, comfort, ease of assembly, quick ship, and the swivel action makes these the 'ideal' purchase. The ONLY reason I did the 4 stars on 'appearance' is due to 1 cushion being a bit lumpy. Other then that, these are outstanding and I HIGHLY recommend them. I wouldn't hesitate to buy more of these if I needed them.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Get more than you pay for...!

11/01/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There's the old saying that 'you get what you pay for' but with these, I think you get quite a bit MORE... sturdy, easy to put together, nice look for a smaller room as they don't have the thick 'look' of wooden stools, these were perfect for what I needed! Time will tell how well they hold up, but at this price, you can't beat it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great product and great price

04/04/2014
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These bar stools were very easy to assemble. The first one took about a half hour from opening the box to setting it at the counter. The other three each took between 15 and 20 minutes to assemble. All the parts fit together well. The stools are sturdy, look wonderful, and swivel with just the right amount of resistance - they don't spin or move stiffly. The price for buying a set of three was fantastic, but I needed a fourth one and it was $10 more, which I don't really understand, since every chair shipped in a separate box anyway. There are a few slightly rough areas on the edges of the internal back supports, which do rub out easily. Overall, this is a great price for a very nice product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Big bold look for little bitty price!

11/14/2013
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love my Mainstays Swivel Bar Stool!!
I have nerve damage and back problems, which do not permit me to stand for long periods of time. Holidays are coming and I bake and cook a lot, and my hubby suggested getting a high-back stool so perhaps I could sit at the counter and and do a lot of it. I thought it was a great idea, but didn't want to spend a lot of money yet wanted something sturdy and that would take getting on and off of all the time. Well we found it in this lovely bar stool. It is the perfect height for my kitchen counters, (29"), as well as the Mainstays Kitchen Island Cart I just purchased (see other review) and it swivels as well. Sure I have to get up and down, but it allows me to sit for periods in between and still get things accomplished. This Bar Stool is so nice, if I had a bar, or breakfast counter, I would buy several. Highly recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

needed product

04/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look amazing wish that it had vinyl instead of of suede
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

GREAT product for a GREAT price

04/28/2010
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These chairs were VERY easy to assemble. I purchased 3 of these for my basement bar and had all three together in under 2 hours.
The directions were easy to follow, all of the "holes" matched properly, and the chairs look much more expensive than they were.
I would defintely reccommend these chairs for a bar area, as well as a kitchen counter area.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Love my bar stools!

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My new bar stools are wonderful! They swivel and I love them!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

High quality low cost solution

09/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought 3 of these for the kitchen bar. Was pleasantly surprised at how fast the site to store free shipping was. I'm 6'5" and weigh in somewhere north of 250#, found these to be sturdy and comfortable. Assembly was about as easy as it gets. Instructions were clear and well-illustrated, first one took me about 20 minutes, the other two less than 10 minutes each once I was organized. A couple comments on making assembly easier and better. First, pop back to automotive and grab a little tube of Permatex Blue Threadlocker (aka Loc-Tite). Worth the extra $5 to be sure that you don't need to retighten screws down the road. Second, if you're assembling more than one, use a new Allen wrench from each hardware kit for each stool. Finally, when tightening things up, treat them like a car tire. Finger-tighten each screw, then go around and continue 1/4 turn with each one in rotation until fully tight. This will make it much easier to get it assembled and ensure that it is level.
Overall, a great value and a nice, comfortable stool. Wonder why they aren't in many stores? I may get a few more down the road...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

good product

04/13/2014
By ,
Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good stool,easy to install!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Nice Barstools!!

08/09/2010
By ,
Winter Haven, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered 2 of these barstools and received free shipping to my home - all in less than 1 week! I had both assembled in less than 1-1/2 hours, it was that easy. They're very sturdy, look great, and you just can't beat the price for something of that quality - believe me, I know because I shopped around! I would definitely recommend these to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great price very nice product

04/09/2014
By ,
Lynchburg VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was a really good value and very easy to assemble. Looks great also
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Yousef

04/02/2014
By ,
Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great stools for the price

03/02/2014
By ,
Bellingham, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These arrived on time and were quick and easy to put together. The cushions are really nice, and they look great in my house. You can tell they aren't super pricey when inspecting them up close (the joints where they connect, and the finish on the metal makes them look a little cheap) but they definitely do the job, and do it well! I am impressed with them, overall. The back isn't terribly comfortable, however, it's not too often one would find themselves trying to get super comfy leaning back in a bar stool chair. I really can't complain, based on the price, and they do seem pretty durable. I knocked one over and it's fine, and it hasn't had any issues supporting up to at least 190 pounds.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great deal

03/29/2014
By ,
Morgantown, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great price point

03/26/2014
By ,
Bronx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These stools are sturdy, easy to assembly and the delivery was free and fast!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great value for money

03/21/2014
By ,
Fair Oaks, California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to set up. Instruction sheet and all hardware are included in the box. The overall look is a neat chair that lives up to the look as presented on the site. The legs needed a little tweaking to stop a slight wobble. Overall a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great stools for a great price!!!

03/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking to purchase 2 barstools but the price of 3 was cheaper than buying 2 individually. I read all the reviews and all were positive. They are really great stools for a great price. They had free delivery to the house. It took me awhile to set them up, but it wasn't difficult to do. I purchased a fabric protector to spray on the seats because chances are my kids will spill something on them. Definitely worth the price if you aren't looking to spend big $.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Beautiful & Easy to put together

03/09/2014
By ,
Suffolk County, Long Island
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this for our kitchen Island that's the high type. I was a little nervous since it was a set... But they looked great online... When I got them I was so impressed with the way they were packed to protect the microfiber top of the seating area, then each piece easy to put together. They are beautiful & were so happy we got these. They look amazing. This is great & if you need 6 for a bigger island you get 2 sets & you're good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 235 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next