Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Mainstays Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Add style and functionality to your lounge or home bar with the Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool. Its sturdy metal construction painted with a complementing sheen black finish adds to its visual appeal. The well upholstered round cushion seat provides great comfort and is also fireretardant, which adds to the safety factor. It has a 360 degree swivel, which allows you to turn around at will. The swivel counter bar stools angled legs and round foot rest facilitate better sitting positions and reduce the stress on your knee joints to a large extent. Made from high-quality metal, this 29-inch bar stool is highly durable. It is the easiest option to bring in more sitting space to any lounge or bar without compromising on the comfort factor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(383 Reviews) 321
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
233
4 stars
113
3 stars
11
2 stars
14
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation94%360 out of 383reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 183 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
233
4 stars
113
3 stars
11
2 stars
14
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Counter top stool

05/30/2010
By ,
King of Prussia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value. Looks good in kitchen with counters and cabinets. Only wish they were adjustable. But for the price they are terrific. Saw similar online at other stores for much more money. Easy to assemble.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great swivel bar stool, ok price

06/03/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Honestly, I love this bar stool and the only reason I do not give 5 stars across the board is that the price went up by $10 (30%) now that I can no longer buy this in the store. It was $29 in the store and is now $39. I had bought two late last year during a remodel of my kitchen to add a bar and needed some temporary bar stools that swiveled. After 6 months I decided I really liked them and ordered 6 more for the drinks bar and breakfast bar.
The chairs do not occupy a lot of space, are very comfortable, and look great. They are not as fancy as those costing $150+ but those are also bulky and often uncomfortable.
What I like:
- They swivel and the mechanism works well
- They are lightweight and easy to move
- They have a small profile (no arms)
- They have a comfortable back
- They are well painted in mottled dark brown
- The seat is brushed velour and easy to keep clean
- They are easy to put together
- They look great in a fairly upscale environment
What I do not like
- The price went up 33%
- They are no longer available in the store
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Exceptional deal

11/30/2011
By ,
Auburn, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw the 'chair' version of these bar stools at a Wal-mart so thought I'd give them a try. First, they are the ideal height for seating at a standard bar. They were easy to put together. Shipping was quick - about 5 days. I love the fact that they 'swivel' - the swivel feature was key in choosing these. The backs allow you to relax, rather then worry about sitting up constantly (like you must do with backless stools) and they have great back support. A casual yet contemporary look and very comfortable as well. Plus I like the fact that you can 'rest' your feet on the chair support rather then having your legs 'dangling' in the air. For me, the price, comfort, ease of assembly, quick ship, and the swivel action makes these the 'ideal' purchase. The ONLY reason I did the 4 stars on 'appearance' is due to 1 cushion being a bit lumpy. Other then that, these are outstanding and I HIGHLY recommend them. I wouldn't hesitate to buy more of these if I needed them.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great Bar Stool for the Price

06/24/2014
By ,
Mitchell, Ne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bar Stools, a little more attention on the screw holes, the threads don't always let the bolt start correctly, but with a little patience and time we didn't cross thread any of them. Have gotten many comments on them how great they look. Would definitely recommend these for the price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great quality at a low price!

10/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped around for stools but they were all so expensive. When I saw these at such a great price I took a chance and purchased four. They are very heavy, durable, and beautifully made. I am more than satisfied with this purchase. There is only one downfall and that is that two out of four of these stools are not level. I fixed them by adding sticker pads underneath the unlevel legs. I would definitely recommend the stools to anyone!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Very comfortable yet stylish

10/31/2014
By ,
Adelanto, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love my bar stools. They look really nice on my bar and very color coordinated. I put them together by myself as well very easy to essemble too and I'm a woman lol. In fact my 40"inch smart tv and tv stand were both purchased at Walmart as well. I'm so very pleased with everything. Highly recommended.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Get more than you pay for...!

11/01/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There's the old saying that 'you get what you pay for' but with these, I think you get quite a bit MORE... sturdy, easy to put together, nice look for a smaller room as they don't have the thick 'look' of wooden stools, these were perfect for what I needed! Time will tell how well they hold up, but at this price, you can't beat it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great stools for kitchen or bar area

09/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my 14yrs old daughter put all three of the bar stools together by herself I only needed to tighten the screws a little tighter. She had all three done in about a hour. I don't really know about durability yet I've only had them for a week now.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great Value

05/17/2014
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These chairs gave the most bang for the buck out of all the ones I searched on the internet. The weight limit is not stated on the box, however it is stated on the bottom of the seat that the chair will support 300 lbs. The directions were really easy to understand and the screws were separated into individual bags, so it was easy to find what was needed for each step. I did decide to recover the seats with a different fabric and when I went to reattach the seat to the stool, not all of the original screws would work. I had to get longer screws to make the seat feel secure. We are using these in a cabin and I used camouflage fabric to recover the seats and they look fantastic; my husband is really pleased with how they look.
2 of the 4 chairs that I put together swivel smooth and the other 2 felt kind of stiff. I used some WD40 and that helped a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/05/2014
How difficult were the chairs to recover? I love the look but definitely need a different color so was planning to recover them. How much fabric do you think it would take to do two of them?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Classy barstools!

12/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the value price and free shipping offer, these bar stools are excellent! Came shpped seperately so there was no damage. My husband put both together in less than an hour. They are sturdy, stable and good looking. I would order more ~ but only have room for the two!
Honestly, not usually a Walmart customer, but this transaction was effortless and I am extremely happy with the product. Oh! They swivel too!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Great for the price

12/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These chairs are really quite comfortable. Easy to put together, built one in about 15 minutes! No tools necessary, everything comes in the box. They look really great under my bar!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

They Arrived

12/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
only problem was with the first order, Walmart fixed the issue quickly. the chairs went together very easily. These chairs should have on option for the material of the seat. only need three or four choices. Also, the chairs should come with a little tube of Lock-Tite for the screws. I Know, in a few months I will have to retighten all the screws on the chairs. They look great with my kitchen counter-top. (29 inch chairs).
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

12/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had purchased one of this bar stool a few years ago and have since moved into a home that needed more of them. The will do job and I didn't have a lot of money to spend and I think they are a good item for the money and will last a very long time.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Swivel Bar stools 29 inch

11/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well I needed some thing to sit at my counter top table we had stools but I wanted something better that swivels so I looked at walmart and found these stools I read the reviews and they sounded good I ordered 3 29 inch stools and one 24 inch being that the other counter top is a little lower . Well they arrived 3 days earlier than expected and we put them together which was very easy . The seat is made of cloth and the frame is made of metal tubing . They are very strong and great for the price. I seen other stools and the cost was crazy ,You can go wrong with is product .Im very happy with these stools . I cover the seat with a plastic cover so they wont get stained .
Good deal great price nice !
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Mainstays metal swivel bar stool

12/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is fantastic and has worked very well for me. The price is extremely good, and the chair is made very well. It is also comfortable and stylish. I wish it would swivel a little bit more freely, and that the seat back wasn't so far back, but these are very minor things. Great chair, for a great price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

GREAT product for a GREAT price

04/28/2010
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These chairs were VERY easy to assemble. I purchased 3 of these for my basement bar and had all three together in under 2 hours.
The directions were easy to follow, all of the "holes" matched properly, and the chairs look much more expensive than they were.
I would defintely reccommend these chairs for a bar area, as well as a kitchen counter area.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+96points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Nice Barstools

12/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered these barstools online. I got the package deal of 3. I am very pleased with them. They look very classy and were relatively easy to put together. The only thing that kept me from giving 5 stars, was one leg seemed to be just a slightly bit shorter on one stool. Other than that I am well pleased and I think anyone else will be.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

Barstools

12/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chairs were easy to assemble, and seem to be well-made and durable.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

great comfort

12/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very easy to put together & work great at the kitchen bar.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Metal Swivel Bar Stool 29'', Black

The perfect grandkids prop up

12/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a center island in our kitchen with an eating counter on 1 side. These stools are the perfect height for even the small grandchildren to eat at the counter. With the backs on them, you don't have to worry about them falling off backwards. They are also comfortable for adults.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 322 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next