Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for SUMAS Sumas Media SM-4800 4" Wide Touch Screen Car Stereo DVD Receiver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

SUMAS Sumas Media SM-4800 4" Wide Touch Screen Car Stereo DVD Receiver

With its easy-to-use touch screen panel and playback format versatility that includes an iPod cord and a built-in USB and memory card slot, this car DVD player by Sumas is the perfect travel companion for long roadtrips to your favorite getaway or short trips to the store. An FM tuner and a remote control complete the on-board, car DVD player experience.
Average Customer Rating:
3.429 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation57%16 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sumas Media SM-4800 4" Wide Touch Screen Car Stereo DVD Receiver

The Good, Bad and the Ugly

05/03/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was excited with all the features on this product, but had to return it when it did not do what I wanted most: Play music off a SD card, and allow me to play specific albums, artists. etc. Kudos to Walmart for it's great return policy and customer service!
The Good:
DVD player worked well, and the parking brake input was easy to "configure". The Radio display looked cool. The SD contents loaded quickly.
The Bad:
The screen was only 4", but looked like whoever designed it was using a full sized monitor--the text was so small. The "touchscreen" controls for the SD card were terrible. You couln't skip to the folder/artist/album you wanted. The song playing info was about 1/8" x 1".
The screen was not bright enough.
The Ugly:
The UI for this radio was like the old DOS computer systems. All filenames were the 8.3 format, which means you only could see the first 6 charaters. You could only go forward and backwards, no jumping to a specific folder. The touchscreen controls did not correspond the the display, just up/down/left/right arrows in an odd spot.
Conclusion: If you want this for DVD and backup Camera purposes at night--it should work well. otherwise, look for another brand (and even then, there are multiple brands out there with the same type UI)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+44points
Review 2 for Sumas Media SM-4800 4" Wide Touch Screen Car Stereo DVD Receiver

Good customer service

04/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this one on my 1997 Honda Civic. It works pretty good for 8 months. But it was dead after 8 months. I contact Sumas Media Right away, they don't give a hard time for warranty, and they send me a replacement the same day when they received my bad unit; even though my unit is out of warranty, they still give me a replacement. I am really happy to have this good product. Only 120 dollars I got 5 stars customer service and Amazing Unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Review 3 for Sumas Media SM-4800 4" Wide Touch Screen Car Stereo DVD Receiver

Not bad but cd skipps a lot in my car

04/29/2010
By ,
Mn
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i have a 1989 honda crx si and i had this professionally installed after installing myself because it was skipping so bad while driving. After i paid 60 dollars to have it installed it still is skipping not as bad but is very annoying and basicly usless for me when using cd's. Another thing is that the radio isnt working good at all some stations dont come in at all and i cant even find a website for the company to call. I would like to know if anyone else is having this problem because ive never seen a cd player skip so much im almost wondering if its because its a dvd player too. Other than that its not bad but i have to go out and buy a ipod or mp3 player now just to listen to music without it skipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 4 for Sumas Media SM-4800 4" Wide Touch Screen Car Stereo DVD Receiver

All in one

04/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my 2001 Toyota Camry. And later on, I just figure out this unit also compatible with Sumas Rear Cam Licence Plate. Then I purchased the License plate Camera. It just makes my Camry like those High end car. When I backup my Car, the screen of the Stereo will automatically switch to the back-view. Amazing~ Only 120 dollars Plus 60 Dollar for the Sumas Rear Cam License Plate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 5 for Sumas Media SM-4800 4" Wide Touch Screen Car Stereo DVD Receiver

Terrible on every facet!

01/07/2011
By ,
Bowling Green. KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There are too many issues to address in a simple review. I received the item and it seemed to have been "used." The touch screen is so unresponsive it is nearly unusable. The sound quality is mediocre on DVD's and terrible through the aux iPod connector. There was a persistent buzzing present. Also there is a "lag" from when you press/turn a knob or button. Also the volume lagged so bad on some occasions that I had to pull over and cut the car off because the volume moved to the maximum level on its own accord. When the vehicle is turned off the screen cuts off with the vehicle as it should, but the backlight of the screen stays on with a black screen. It seems as if that would run the battery down, but I always pulled the faceplate off when I left the vehicle to avoid this. There is also no manufacturer website available. It is "down for maintenance" and has been for some time.
All in all, if this unit had performed like it should have it could have been a good head unit for a teens first car, but with the cheap quality, and no support its definitely a bad purchase. I am in the process of returning mine after 2 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 6 for Sumas Media SM-4800 4" Wide Touch Screen Car Stereo DVD Receiver

Recommend Product

04/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a cheap Car Stereo system included all kinds of functions, This is the one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 7 for Sumas Media SM-4800 4" Wide Touch Screen Car Stereo DVD Receiver

Has its up and a lot more downs!!

01/19/2011
By ,
St. Louis MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Im 25 yr old Male. I have a Jeep Cherokee and I have a nice sound system, or i thought I did before I got this radio. I had a cheap cd player in my car because someone stole my other one. When i switch over to this dvd player, it made my speakers sound like trash. My door speakers now rattle and they didnt with the cheap cd player. When in CD mode the font on this devise is to small to even read. There are absolutly no graphics at all, unless your playing a dvd, wich the quality is nice! Wich is the main reason i bought this dvd player, but i had one before and it worked alot better.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Sumas Media SM-4800 4" Wide Touch Screen Car Stereo DVD Receiver

One Great Stereo....

04/22/2010
By ,
Flint,mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would definitely recommend this stereo/dvd system, it has tons of great features and is very reasonably priced. t was simple to install and has great sound quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Sumas Media SM-4800 4" Wide Touch Screen Car Stereo DVD Receiver

HORRIABLE!!!!

01/20/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This Product is no GOOD!! when i recieved the unit it didnt work at all!!! i called sumas media and they also were no help what so ever!!! DONT NOT GET THIS UNIT!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 10 for Sumas Media SM-4800 4" Wide Touch Screen Car Stereo DVD Receiver

Cooool

04/12/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
turns off and on 60x4 wats its gooood price for stereo me a!!11
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
-1point
Review 11 for Sumas Media SM-4800 4" Wide Touch Screen Car Stereo DVD Receiver
04/13/2011
By ,
scarsdale ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
waste of time this product doesnt work at all
and the manufacter never got back to me
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 12 for Sumas Media SM-4800 4" Wide Touch Screen Car Stereo DVD Receiver

Ugly unit

02/02/2011
By ,
Dallas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After paying for expert install the unit would go on and off. Called and emailed the company and they told me to pull out the unit and ship back. But I did not had a small tool to take the unit out. I asked via email if a tool could be sent to me. I have had no response in several days.
The unit is ugly and sticks out of the dash. The colors on the screen while in radio mode are ugly and can't be adjusted. I will want to return this unit to Wal Mart for a full refund. I will be out the $55 for the install. And all the hassel of dealing with such a poor quality radio unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Review 13 for Sumas Media SM-4800 4" Wide Touch Screen Car Stereo DVD Receiver

Maybe just a bad one

02/19/2011
By ,
Saint Pauls, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After going through all of the trouble to install this item I discoverd that the CD/DVD player did not work at all! It would take the disc in but then stop with it about 1 inch still sticking out. Maybe I just got a bad unit. Also tried to hookup my iPod to this and it said that they were not compatible. I have all the generations of the iPod touch and it would not work with any of them. Maybe it just will not work with the touch model or maybe mine was a bad unit again. The one really good thing I will have to say is that Wal-Mart let me take it back to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 14 for Sumas Media SM-4800 4" Wide Touch Screen Car Stereo DVD Receiver

very good

03/17/2010
By ,
Gilroy CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this car stereo,dvd to me is gooooood
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-50points
Review 15 for Sumas Media SM-4800 4" Wide Touch Screen Car Stereo DVD Receiver

Worthless Junk

07/12/2010
By ,
MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Install is pretty straight forward, But once its in, It's a super tight fit and in most cars will require some cutting, This is not a single din or a din and a half, its some odd place in between... After that the sound quality is complete garbage, And even the Image quality is old school, 12 bit colors, This thing is garbage DO NOT BUY
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Review 16 for Sumas Media SM-4800 4" Wide Touch Screen Car Stereo DVD Receiver

Poor On-Screen Display

12/28/2010
By ,
mesquite, NV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This radio.DVD player looked good but the menu option wasn;t that great, and the menu looked very generic like a old DOS computer program, and the touch screen didn't work very well. The sound was good, but also didnt like that when in DVD mode you couldn't go to the main menu of the radio.
Although the DVD portion of playing was okay and clear.
The only flaw with this radio was that the menu could have looked alot better and touch screen could have worked better too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 17 for Sumas Media SM-4800 4" Wide Touch Screen Car Stereo DVD Receiver

GARBAGE!!! DONT'T WASTE TIME OR MONEY

01/05/2011
By ,
SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very cheaply made. The touchscreen didnt work. the face didnt clip all the way in, the volume knob didnt work. the picture quality and radio theme is horrible. i bought it cause the picture on website looked good and had alot of features and the price was very inexpensive. Guess you get what you pay for.Dont waste Your money on this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-2points
Review 18 for Sumas Media SM-4800 4" Wide Touch Screen Car Stereo DVD Receiver

AWSOME !!!

04/08/2010
By ,
new york
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice pictures, great price, what else i can ask ?!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 19 for Sumas Media SM-4800 4" Wide Touch Screen Car Stereo DVD Receiver

Good unit

04/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For only 100 dollars, this unit includes all the function that High tech needed, Such as MP4, MP3, USB, SD and touch screen. It's worth the price~ But the LCD display if they can improve a little, Then this will be a better unit, But the by the price 100 dollar, it's still good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for Sumas Media SM-4800 4" Wide Touch Screen Car Stereo DVD Receiver

GREAT PRODUCT

06/16/2010
By ,
PATCHOGUE, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AMAZING PRODUCT ESPECIALLY FOR THE MONEY....GETTING A DASH KIT TO FIT IT WAS A LITTLE TOUGH BUT INSTALLED IT IN MY LEXUS AND THE SOUND IS AMAZING COULDNT ASK FOR ANYTHING BETTER
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next