Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Boys can take on any terrain with this dual-suspension bike. The aluminum frame with suspension fork is lightweight and powerful. It's fully loaded with a 21-speed SRAM MRX/Shimano drive-train that makes the Mongoose XR-75 the ultimate in shifting efficiency. Linear pull brakes ensure dependable stopping power, while the quick-release seat post allows for easy adjustments.
Average Customer Rating:
4.373 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation88%52 out of 59reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

GREAT BIKE!

05/02/2010
By ,
Columbia, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far this seems to be a great bike. My eleven year old son seems to enjoy his bike a lot. After reading some of the other reviews, I was concerned about assembling the bike. When I went to pick-up the bike from the store, I asked one of Walmart's employees was it possible for me to get the bike assembled and they stated yes. So, that was GREAT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Review 2 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great Bike Great Price

03/04/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been watching this bike for sometime online and at Walmart.com. Because it's a Mongoose I presume its of good quality. I purchased this bike today for less than what I expected and less than advertised online. For the price I would recommend (under $100). For the style, comfort, ride I would also recommend to any person who wants a good quality bike for a reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+22points
Review 3 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

great bicycle

07/28/2010
By ,
Monterey Bay, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this bike for my son, and he loves riding it. It's 21 spd w/ Shimano shifters . Had it sent via site to store so I didn't have to assemble it.
I would definitely recommend this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 4 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

A really good deal

05/16/2010
By ,
Upstate New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike was here in New York 3 days after ordering. It was shipped from California for about $3. The box was a little beat up, but the bike was in perfect shape with no missing parts. I put it together in about 15 minutes. It helps to have metric wrenches. My son has been riding it in the woods for a couple weeks and the only problem was that I had to re-tighten the handle bars. Well worth the money to see my son happy and exercising.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 5 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

questionable quality

08/30/2010
By ,
MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
based on good reviews, got it for my son. Looks nice and appears to have a good quality. The problem is the front handler bar kept loosing/sliping after few rides. I tightened the holding nut as tight it can go, Still the bar kept loosing. I can't live with it and returned it after 2 months. Read the reviews for same model from 26", it has similar complaints as this 24" one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 6 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

A name you can trust in.

04/29/2010
By ,
ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike for my 12yr old son. It's very well made. The aluminum alloy is excellent because it's lite weight and will not rust. It's also sharp looking.I grew up with mongoose you can trust that this bike will last. Excellent bike for the money, thanks again Walmart...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 7 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

XR-75 Great Bike just one thing...

03/06/2011
By ,
Miami, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bike about 2 weeks ago in Walmart, i belive this is my second mongoose, i dont remember exactly because my first one (years ago) was stolen. but anyways This bike is great, i love the look of it and the style. But one just one thing, since this is my first Mountain bike im not to familiar with the speed change.. and sometimes i have it at one set speed (which is the comfortable one i feel in) and it randomly "cranks" or "acts" like its changing as i peddle, lol i don't know how else to explain it but it is me? or is this how mountains bike work? should i take it to a bike shop and get it check out? another little thing is the seat but i took care of that the second day, i bought a squishy seat and now is good. Other than that the bike is epic for its price, Mongoose is a great bike brand, now my girlfriend and brother want a Mogoose bike as well after seeing mines.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 8 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Difficult to Assemble

04/07/2010
By ,
PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We purchased this bike for our 12 year old son's birthday. It is a nice bike at a good price. We had it shipped to our home so we had to assemble it ourselves. It does NOT come with any tools and we did not have the needed wrenches to assemble. After purchasing the tools, it took us nearly 2 weeks to get the brakes to work. The instruction booklet is a general book that is given for "ALL" bikes and does not tell you about your specific bike. We were thinking about taking the bike back to the store and returning it for a more expensive bike that was already assembled, but our store did not have one in the size we needed. So we had our neighbor (who is an engineer) help us and it took him over 4 hours to get the brakes to "somewhat" work. We were very dissatisfied with the assembly instructions. So we would strongly suggest paying for the in-store assembly or purchasing one that is already assembled!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Good Bike Good Pice

08/04/2010
By ,
Clarksville IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this bike for my 11 year old son for his B-day and he loves it!! I will warn however that in the pictures it looks yellow, it is in fact orange. Also, keep in mind when you order site to store they do not include assembly. Now I happen to get really lucky and put on my big boo-boo face and the guy that does the assembly must have felt sorry for me because he did put it together for me at no charge!! yay me! I noticed at the store that they say Free assembly but they also charge you like $20-30 more for the bike than they do online. Really I did not notice online when I ordered that it didn't include the assembly... Any way, it's a nice bike for the money and my son loves it, he is a little tall for his age (4'10") and this bike seems to fit really well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 10 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

great bike

07/06/2010
By ,
RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My ten year old son loves this bike!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 11 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Boys Mongoose dual suspension bike

09/19/2010
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great transition bike for my 11 yr old son from a 20 inch. Handles well, nice gear shift mechanism, easy to ride, comfortable seat. We take it trail riding on the bike rack. One drawback is that it is a bit difficult to load on a bike rack due to the thickness of the frame.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 12 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great bike!!

07/22/2010
By ,
Stanley,nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 11 year old son and he loves it.He's always been into BMX Bikes.He's really happy with the moutain Bike.It's a great bike for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 13 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great Bike!

05/24/2010
By ,
St. Clair, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike ~ my 10 yr. old son just LOVES it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 14 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

A great gift

01/01/2011
By ,
Bristol, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this bike for our 12 yr. old grandson for Christmas. He has a BMX bike, which he loves, but has outgrown. We were skeptical about purchasing a bike other than a BMX bike, however, once our grandson rode his new bike, our skepticism was gone. He loves his new bike! Both bikes are made by Mongoose, and we are very satisfied with the merchandise. Thanks for helping us put a smile on our grandsons' face.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 15 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Incredible Bike

04/29/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves this bike. Its easy for him to ride and it is a very nice looking bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Very Heavy

11/18/2010
By ,
Chantilly, V
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this Bike for my son because it was supposed to be light, being made of aluminum. Well, it doesn't look like it is made of aluminum, it is very heavy and looks like ordinary steel (even though it is written it is made of aluminum on the frame itself). Other than that it was alright.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 17 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Seems pretty good...

07/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for my son. He hasn't ridden it yet, so I am only reviewing the bike as I see it and assembly.
The bike goes together pretty easily. You will need a few tools, though, as it doesn't come with any. The manual is a general assembly manual, so I looked on YouTube.com to find out how to adjust the brakes and derailleurs. The brakes could have been left alone, but I think I needed to adjust the derailleurs. The back as easy; the front was a little more difficult because I am not used to doing derailleurs.
I would suggest taking the brake cable off the front brakes before putting the front wheel on. I think that would make it easier. A look on YouTube will show you how to put it back. It is easy when you know how.
The bike is pretty awesome! Looks quite strong. Looks big. The gearing goes really low, so climbing steep hills should be easy. I haven't ridden a real mountain bike before, so I don't know how they are supposed to feel; but this one seems designed for turning around rocks. That is, it is easy to turn, but it doesn't seem designed to go straight. So, I don't think I would recommend riding with no hands.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 18 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Short female 5'6"

06/06/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this bike for about a week and have done daily riding. The last bike I owned was in the 90's it was a Mongoose BMX bike. A real Mongoose not the cheaper version sold at walmart. Still, this is a good quality bike for the price. I wanted a bike to ride with my dog (training for the AD) and maybe do some casual biking so this was a great price for that. If you want to do serious biking or trail riding you need to pay for a bike made for that.
I went into walmart and tried the 26" models. Riding position felt good but once stopped I was on tip toes touching the ground with the seat all the way down. On this 24" model I can stand flat feet on the ground. It felt smaller, like riding a BMX but since I will be having a dog with me on 95% of my rides I felt "safer" knowing I could touch the ground better on this model. After riding it for a week it feels like the perfect size.
The bike was already assembled. When I got home I did have to tighten almost everything on the bike. They did a poor job on that. My friend also bought a bike the same day and the tires were on backwards. Make sure you thoroughly check over the bike before riding it if purchased assembled.
One complaint I have is the seat. Ouch. When I was a kid I had a plastic seat on my BMX and it never bothered me so maybe I am just old. If you are not buying this for a kid might want to check out seats. I don't think it weighs much. If you want a super light bike those cost a lot more money and are sold only at bike shops.
The gear shifting is smooth. Suspension works well. Breaks work good. I did have to loosen the front breaks, I do not like them being instant stop tight. I have read a few reviews complaining about the color. I happen to love this color. It is orange, like Tennessee Volunteers orange. I really can't complain about this bike. For the price, there is nothing at walmart that is really better. Even their $300 bikes are the same build and quality as this one. Plus, I bought a bike at walmart. I wasn't expecting a pro trail riding bike. So if you want a bike for casual riding then here ya go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

defective derailleur

04/14/2011
By ,
Cave Junction Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
a nice looking mongoose bike but the one I ordered had a defective derailleur and the floor model bike did too so I ended up purchasing an entirely different bike altother
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Good for children (tweens)

07/12/2010
By ,
Upstate, New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I put together the bike myself, it road straight and the brake worked fine just like the shifting. A little bit of adjustment were necessary for the front brakes which are the primary means of stoping the bike. The bike is a brand name and Mongoose is a durable product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1 2 3 Next