Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Boys can take on any terrain with this dual-suspension bike. The aluminum frame with suspension fork is lightweight and powerful. It's fully loaded with a 21-speed SRAM MRX/Shimano drive-train that makes the Mongoose XR-75 the ultimate in shifting efficiency. Linear pull brakes ensure dependable stopping power, while the quick-release seat post allows for easy adjustments.
Average Customer Rating:
4.373 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation88%52 out of 59reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

defective derailleur

04/14/2011
By ,
Cave Junction Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
a nice looking mongoose bike but the one I ordered had a defective derailleur and the floor model bike did too so I ended up purchasing an entirely different bike altother
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 22 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great Value

05/15/2010
By ,
NW Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this for my son who is turning 12. It's a really cool bike. He loves it and it fits him very well. It is a bit on the heavy side but for our uses (fun neighborhood riding) that really doesn't matter. The soft tail is a nice feature and it's a really nice looking bike that functions very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 23 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Good for children (tweens)

07/12/2010
By ,
Upstate, New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I put together the bike myself, it road straight and the brake worked fine just like the shifting. A little bit of adjustment were necessary for the front brakes which are the primary means of stoping the bike. The bike is a brand name and Mongoose is a durable product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 24 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great product!

03/31/2010
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've bought those bikes to my 11 y/old son which just LOVED them! they rides great and looks great!
I've shopped around and conclude that those bikes will give the best for this great price. I can say that for an 11 y/o kid they are a little too big, so take your son to check them out before buying them. Although they were assembled in the store, they had some issues switching the front gear, but if you have some technical background (like me) I'm sure you'll be able to "fine tune" it. Overall a great product with a great price...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 25 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Decent Bike

12/25/2010
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Setup is easy.
You need to loosen up the brakes and adjust.
Crescent wrench perfect for that adjustment.
Gears were setup good from factory.
No allen wrench key comes with the bike.
Wrench needed is one size for 2 jobs to complete setup. You need it to adjust and tighten the handlebar and the neck into the front fork.
The bike isn't as heavy as some reviewers mentioned. Great size bike for my 13 year old son.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 26 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

good product for the money

12/25/2010
By ,
Archers Lodge NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this online for $99. It is perfect for my 19 year old daughter who wants it for trail riding. The only problem I had with assembly was putting the seat rod in. I finally had to take a 2X4 and place under the hole for the rod and strike it with a hammer using a piece of wood to protect the rod. Went right in. The seat is hard so get a seat pad. Overall it works well for a $99 bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 27 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Good quality bike

03/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son looked for a bike @ Walmart, couldn't find what he wanted. Looked online and found this beauty. The exact color he wanted. Well made, shifters and brakes are real smooth, easy to operate. He hasn't had it out for an official spin due the snow. Very fast ship to store. Had minor problem with brake cable connector. Mongoose replied very quickly via email and sent a new one in 5 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 28 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

disappointed in color

12/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought for my grandson and seems to be a great bike but were disappointed in the color. we saw the same bike in our local WM store and when we saw the sale price on the bike on the internet we ordered it but the color of the one we received was not the same. it was more copper than orange. it was the same bike (24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Duel-Suspension) but not the same color.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 29 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great bike for my 10yr. old!

12/31/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought two different bikes for my sons this xmas. This one is by far the better of the two. The other was returned within a week. My 10 year old is very happy with this one. Looking it over, it seems like a very well made bike for the buck.
By the way, this bike was $40 cheaper online (delivered, assembled and picked up at the store) than if I had purchased at the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 30 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Decent for the money

09/14/2010
By ,
Camp hill, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading mostly positive reviews, I purchased the XR-75 for my 11 yr old son. He weighs 70 lbs & is 4'8" tall. I read a few negative reviews about the overall "assembly" of the bike. We purchased our bike at the Mechanicsburg, PA Walmart and everything worked great....front/back brakes and all derailleurs worked smoothly. Sharp bike...my son loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 31 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great Bike!

04/17/2011
By ,
glen rock, nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Mongoose kid's bike is perfect for my 11 yr. old son. He loves the handling, color and size is just right. We ordered online b/c the store did not have one to sell us. We tried it on at the store. Ordered
it online, shipped free to store and they assembled for free. Everything went smoothly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 32 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great Bike

04/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for our 8 year old who outgrew his 18" bike and 20" was too small...he manuevers and rides this bike like a pro...lovea the color and has no trouble getting around with plenty of room to grow...Mongoose is a great brand and I continue to expect a few good years out of his new bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 33 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

very nice bike

07/09/2010
By ,
north dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a very good bike showed up right on time. was very easy to assembly. had to work on brakes a little but was nothing really. now it works great and my son ride it almost every day for exercise. over all very good bike for the money (i got it for under $100 dollars).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 34 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great bike!

08/11/2010
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price, you sure cant beat this bicycle. Bought it for my nine-year-old and he will have several years of riding with minor seat-height and handlebar adjustments. The brakes, grips and sprokets are solid and the bike has a smooth ride. Highly recommended
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 35 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Nice Bike, but WAY too Heavy

12/31/2010
By ,
Augusta, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is well constructed bike, but it is entirely too heavy! I think the frame must be made of lead! Gears work ok, but the transition is not smooth at all.
This is a good bike for a teenager in the neighborhood, but not built for any serious rider.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 36 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike
08/09/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike. Sturdy, functional, and affordably priced. My 11 yr. old son loves the bike. It was hard to find locally but had no problems ordering it online and having it shipped to the local Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 37 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike
01/01/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved the bike but bought it for my 12yr old son for Christmas and he did not like it because he said it was a mountain bike. He wanted a free style bike. I loved it and would highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 38 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

overall nice product

05/10/2011
By ,
Springfield, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nice bike overall..good value for the price..no trail riding or long ride to date but so far all expectations have been met..only downer is seat is a little hard but a bell seat cushion fixed that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 39 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

24" mongoose bike

08/09/2010
By ,
southern nh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a great bike for the price especially since he will grow out of it in a year or two. Is a pain to put together as the tools needed are not standard.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 40 for 24" Boys' Mongoose XR-75 Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Very nice bike!

07/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart had the best price, shiipped it free, got free assembly from local Walmart store. This bike looks awesome, rides good, my son loves this bike!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
21-40 of 51 total reviews