Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 29'' Men's Mongoose Impasse Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose 29'' Men's Mongoose Impasse Bike

Take on the toughest trails with the Mongoose Impasse Mountain Bike. The aluminum frame with rigid fork and huge 29" wheels chew up terrain with ease. Featuring 21-speeds, front and rear disc brakes and durable, lightweight alloy rims, the Impasse Mountain Bike offers an aggressive ride. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.326 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation88%43 out of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 29'' Men's Mongoose Impasse Bike

Pleasantly Surprised

05/28/2010
By ,
Maplewood, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this purchase.
At first I thought for the price, it would have to be an inferior product or the price would not be this low.
Dead wrong, I must admit I were Dead wrong.
I have to say, this is one of my better bikes - and I have several that I use for different purposes.
I have paid a lot more for bikes that offer considerably less, so for anyone looking to buy a bike - I would highly recommend this one.
It is sturdy, stops on a dime, and so far has taken all of the punishment I have dished out.
This bike rides better than my two high end bikes, and they cost over a thousand dollars each.
So for the price, ride quality, accessories included - you will not find a better buy. If you do drop me a line.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 2 for 29'' Men's Mongoose Impasse Bike

Seemed like a good idea at the time

07/18/2010
By ,
Farmington hills, mi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I managed to ride my bike 3 times total
on the first ride, the bike seat snapped off
on the second ride, a spoke broke and the rear derailer had to be adjusted
on the third ride one of the rear gears broke in half and was spinning freely (smallest cog)
overall the bike was a fun ride, but the repair bills were mounting up on it, so i reluctantly returned the bike
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 3 for 29'' Men's Mongoose Impasse Bike

SWEET Deal!

06/25/2010
By ,
Plummer, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this bike after waiting for it to be back in stock...took a couple weeks...they must not be able to keep them in stock! Anyway...it arrived in perfect shape via fedex. Easy to assemble. Took some tweeking in the shifting. Excellent bike for the price! Looks good too! If you want to break into 29er's, this is the bike! I love it! I'm 6'4" and this bike is the first that fits me since I can remember. Comfortable ride, good leg extension, responds to your body well. I can't say enough about it! Don't spend thousands...start here and work up! Here's a couple photos...I changed the seat...for more comfort...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for 29'' Men's Mongoose Impasse Bike

like this bike

06/21/2010
By ,
Clawson, MI 48017
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this bike because of previous good reviews. It was indeed a very good purchase choice....changed the seat post to the suspension m wave spring loaded model available at www.Walmart.com Takes some of the jar out of the ride.... Keep this bike in my 3rd floor apt. roll it down the stairwell using a pulsing steady grip on the front disc brake and pressing down on the handlebars. too nose it down the stairwell mountain bike trail..ha-ha Take the elevator up loaded with heavy groceries on this big frame bike.. low wheel chair traffic in the evening. I'm only 5'10" tall so I have too mount the bike swing my right leg over when the bike is about on a 35 degree incline to the ground or risk toppling over. Sometimes it's easier to stand or get off on the higher curb area when the bike stays on the lower road bed. It shifts gears real good all be it sometimes they clank quite loud. I had to tape around the cable slits where the rear brake cable was popping out because I wound the 8 ft long locking steel cable around the tube but I have that same problem with my 26 inch bike. All in all It's a very good purchase and easily holds it's own against bikes that are several times as expensive! Oh almost forgot this bike really doesn't really fit well on some off the older front child size Smart bus bike racks..?
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for 29'' Men's Mongoose Impasse Bike

Great Bike After Parts and Adjustments

08/08/2010
By ,
Myrtle Beach, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am 6'1" 260 and my 26" bike wasn't cutting it for me. This beautiful bike was a steal for $199 with front and back disk brakes, 29" wheels, and it was a Mongoose to boot. I rode it a week and a gear broke off. I returned the bike for another after looking for anything even close to the bargain of this bike. Even if I had to buy a replacement free wheel (gear stack) it was still a super bargain. The second bike got a flat tire after inflating the tires to ~60 psi. I replaced the tire with a thorn resistant tire. The day after that I got a sand bur in the second tire and had to replace it with a thorn resistant tire as well. After a week of riding the second bike a gear broke off again and I replaced it with a Shimano free wheel, tuned up the brakes and gears, lubricated, and I havent had a problem since. I ride this bike 20 miles a day to work and back. I ride it on the beach and all over the place in rain or shine. Even after investing a bit of work and an additional $75 in quality tubes and freewheel (and tool to replace freewheel) this bike is one of if not the best bargain out there.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 6 for 29'' Men's Mongoose Impasse Bike

Lasted 3 Days, then had to exchange.

06/21/2010
By ,
Eagle River, AK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looks:
Fantastic>love the matte blue, frame looks beast.
Dual Disc Brakes:
Great>stops well everytime.
Seat:
Semi comfortable>first thing I bought was a gel seat.
Shifters:
Unfavorable>I personally prefer finger shift 2 twist
Handlebars:
Loved them>high enough that I'm not hunched.
Overall I like the bike. When riding it I stand higher than most stock trucks.
Rear Gear Cogs:
HORRID>I only rode about 15 miles a day to work and to friends houses. I went to take off from work, and the 7th gear completely sheared off, gone. This would not be possible if all the gear cogs were welded together like most bikes. Each gear cog is just sitting separated by a plastic spacer and the cogs are weak. Once one of the cogs shears off, all of the cogs are free to move about the axle, making the bike unridable.
I'm hoping that for everyone's sake that I just ended up with a dud, but that is probably not the case. Be careful when coosing this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for 29'' Men's Mongoose Impasse Bike

Great Bike

06/14/2010
By ,
Buffalo,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this Bike for the price.
Front and Back Disk Brake.
I am 240 pounds , 6'2" Tall.
Great for my size.
Got it shipped Home and assembled myself.
Took 15 Minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 8 for 29'' Men's Mongoose Impasse Bike

29er Fan Now!!!

06/03/2010
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just assembled this bike and I am impressed!! This thing is a monster...I'm gonna let it eat whatever it wants!! I'm 6'4" tall and weigh 238 lbs. This bike laughs at hills. It's smooth and lets me stretch out. I could not extend the seat all the way...It was too tall for me...lol. After I backed it off a little I went for some short cruises. It shifts smoothly and rolls over things that I would cringe at before. It's a great looking ride. The color is a matted royal blue with gloss-white forks. It has Innova tires and Cross29 rims. The frame is beefy and the welds look very nice. Free shipping to my door. Easy to put together. This is an awesome bike!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 9 for 29'' Men's Mongoose Impasse Bike

great ROAD Bike too!

05/25/2010
By ,
long beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son is 6'2 and had his $800 road bike stolen while at school (SDSU), so I wanted to get him something less likely to be stolen but serves his on-campus transportation needs.
He definitely didn't want any suspension because of the lost power with the shocks (San Diego is all hills and that is where you notice the loss), and he wanted the low-friction ROAD tires (being older I call them 10-speed tires ;-).
So last night I got him to drive us to Torrance (online makes FINDING this bike nearly imposible, their 'search' is within 50 miles of the location you give, and then you have to put in another location 50+ miles away to try again. Doing this I found Palmdale and called them, THEY found four in Torrance near me (online DIDN'T!).
With the bike we bought two 700C tires and four 700C tubes (2 extra for flats), 2 Kryptonite 'U' locks (they cut cables so why bother just use locks), a set of two tire liners to stop small thorns etc. (60-70 lb tires are notorius for flats), and a set of lights for night riding.
We removed the knobby 29" tires and tubes and replaced them with the 700C ROAD tires (perfect fit). I was afraid of what they might look like on the wider forks, but they look like they were made for the bike!
Now he has a ROAD bike that cost $199 with $49 in ROAD tires/tubes/liners so for $250 plus tax (1/3 his stolen TREK bike cost), he has 29" (700C) bike rather than 26" and DUAL DISC BRAKES! Find another DUAL DISK brake bike for less than $1K!
Now I know what to get my other son for HS graduation!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 10 for 29'' Men's Mongoose Impasse Bike

wailin

05/07/2010
By ,
southern california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must say i'm totally stoked by the way this bike handles the gnar. The wheels are the pest thing this side of western colorado and the paint is sprectrum like. It is so dialed, the build is great. The brakes work with one finger only. I'd definately recommend this bike, it shows well at the trailhead if you have matching kit. I wish I could provide a picture with me posing on it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+12points
Review 11 for 29'' Men's Mongoose Impasse Bike

Nice Bike

05/16/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this bicycle. I'm 6'2" and 195lb and really wanted to try out a 29er - but they're generally very expensive - then I found this one. I also prefer bikes without suspension - but I did swap the seat. I had to make a few tweaks to the gears, and tighten a few bolts. The components are pretty basic, but I'm sure they'll last well if properly maintained. I don't race, or do much trail riding - mainly just cycle around with the family. In my opinion this is an amazing deal for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 12 for 29'' Men's Mongoose Impasse Bike

Looks great, quality ok

07/30/2010
By ,
San Marcos
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this bike because of the reviews. I had the bike for 3 weeks before returning it. Issues I had, the handle bars are narrower than other mountain bikes 25" instead of 27" this made me feel unstable on the bike when trying to go off a curb or standing up when riding. The seat is uncomfortable, I bought a new seat after week one. The brakes were weak and the derailer would shift on it's own and other times would not shift. The components are a good name just low end of the brand. I bought a seat mounted rack for this bike at walmart it was made by schwinn, the rack mount was to large for the seat post, I returned that also. I went to get new wider handle bars and found that most handle bars are longer 27" and thicker. That was when I figured it would be cheaper to return the bike. I didn't mind giving a low price bike a try, since Walmarts return poilcy is fair, to bad the bike didn't work out.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 13 for 29'' Men's Mongoose Impasse Bike

Not worth it!!!

07/15/2010
By ,
SAN JOSE , CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i bought this bike to ride with my wife and kid. when i first got the bike it gave me a few problems , in which i could hanndle it my self. Things like brakes and gear shiting. but after that the back sprocket broke off. that was the last straw. this all happend after having the bike for 10 days....... DO NOT BUY THIS BIKE!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 14 for 29'' Men's Mongoose Impasse Bike
04/29/2010
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is awesome! The 29" wheels roll over anything and everything! I was even able to roll over a 3" curb in my front yard with no problem! I think by riding this bike chicks will really start to dig me!
Thanks Mom!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 15 for 29'' Men's Mongoose Impasse Bike

Mongoose Impasse 29-Made for Big Guys

08/18/2010
By ,
Gardnerville, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having an expensive bike stolen from our home, I surfed the net and found the Impasse 29. Previous bike was a Mongoose I had owned for 20yrs. I am 6'2" and 235lbs and need a big bike. This is the only bike that fit the bill that I could get from a big chain retail store. I had to make some adjustments for the shifting (not a high dollar setup). Recommend buying the Bell memory foam seat, Bell tire pump, Schwinn digital speedometer, and replace tires with Continental Comfort Contact in 28x1.75. This is a perfect setup for street use and makes street rides effortless. I also recommend buying the Bell strap on rear view mirror which works very well. For the money, this is a great get-a-round bike for exercise. The wheel base is long which is good. The large tires help soften street imperfections. A front shock fork would be excellent but the low price would at least double. This is not a serious off road bike so don't try. You will need a $1000+ bike if you want to hit the serious trails. If you want an impressive looking bike, made for people around the 6ft range, at a very reasonable price, this is the one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for 29'' Men's Mongoose Impasse Bike

Pleasantly surprised.

06/25/2010
By ,
Windsor Mill, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm 6'2'' and 300lbs. So I was skeptical that a regular price bike would do the trick for me. Assembly was easy, smooth ride, love the disc brakes.
I changed the seat and adjusted the derailleur, but other than that I feel like I'm riding the more expensive models I test drove at pricey bike shops. This is a 29'' road runner!
Beep Beep!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for 29'' Men's Mongoose Impasse Bike

Had to return:(

07/02/2010
By ,
Highland Mills, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this bike for my boyfriend, and he was so excited about the size. The Walmart store by us built the bike, but the gears would not change smoothly and the brakes were out of wack. We brought the bike to have a professional tune up and after just one ride, it was all out of tune again, and the chain broke. It just seems like this bike would've been a money pit if we kept it, so it got returned to Walmart...and the search for a new bike began again...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for 29'' Men's Mongoose Impasse Bike

You get what you pay for....

08/28/2010
By ,
Western Slope of Colorado
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ride this bike to and from work daily about 2-3 miles, and I take a 15-20mile rough trail every day I don't work.
I purchased this for a temp/try out of the 29er. It has very low quality parts and is breaking down quickly and needs aligned about every other ride. I admit I am rough on a mountain bike, and Colorado is rough terrain but I would expect a little better from Mongoose, but I did only pay $199 and figured that if it did not hold up it does have 90 day money back that I will be most likely using. I have less than 100 miles on the bike and already have play in the crank shaft, bearing going out.
If you are at all serious about riding, don’t consider this bike. If you are a novice and are looking for a cheap 29er, you need look no further, but you will need to replace the saddle a rock on a stick is more comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for 29'' Men's Mongoose Impasse Bike

worth buying

09/11/2010
By ,
Peoria, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, this bike is definitely worth the money. That is, if you're willing to invest more to upgrade the components. It's probably perfect as it is if you're just a casual rider. Me, I like to hit the trails. So, I upgraded to front shocks, upgraded the brake calipers, brake levers, and am next going to put on trigger shifters. All in all, I'll have about $500-600 wrapped up in it when it's all said and done. Which, if you go out pricing descent 29er's, is a steal. I'm not a comp rider, just a weekend warrior so this will be more than ample for me. The only negative thing I can say is that it is a pretty heavy bike. But, it's obviously going to be heavier than a 26" due to the bigger size. This bike is now a beast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for 29'' Men's Mongoose Impasse Bike

Good Product For Your $$

08/12/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased my bike about a month ago via Walmart.com and was very impress with how quick they shipped it (2 days). I have been looking for a bike that would fit me (6-3 / 265) and was a little skeptical given the price but I must say I am very impressed. I looked at several high dollar ($1000 plus) bikes and I would match this bike against any of them. Assembly is a snap! The only thing I did was replaced the front derailleur and opted for a new seat. I absolutely love this bike; the huge tires, disc brakes and solid frame makes for a great biking experience on just about any terrain. If you’re a big guy and are looking for a bike that will fit you, I would highly recommend the Mongoose Impasse.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1 2 3 Next