Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Handycam SX63 Silver 16GB Flash Memory Camcorder w/ 60x Optical Zoom

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony Handycam SX63 Silver 16GB Flash Memory Camcorder w/ 60x Optical Zoom

The ultra-compact Sony Handycam SX63 Silver 16GB Flash Memory Camcorder features 16GB of embedded flash memory, which can record up to 12 hours of video, plus a built-in LED video light and a professional-quality Carl Zeiss Vario Tessar lens. You'll get sharp, high-resolution images every time you shoot. Plus, with the powerful 60X optical zoom, you can capture extremely tight shots, even from far away.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation79%22 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony Handycam SX63 Silver 16GB Flash Memory Camcorder w/ 60x Optical Zoom

Love it!

01/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love, Love, Love this camcorder. Also the program that comes with it is awesome and easy to use. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 2 for Sony Handycam SX63 Silver 16GB Flash Memory Camcorder w/ 60x Optical Zoom
09/30/2011
By ,
Missouri
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have not had this very long. I purchased a JVC (GZHM30) with HD at the same time. I returned the JVC becasue it had no internal memory and the zoom was 40 optical versus 60 on the Sony. These are key features on this Sony. The Sony does not have HD but I filmed with both it and the JVC and really could not see a difference. I think both shoot a little dark. The Sony has a light but when I used it in a dark room, it really did not improve the video. The JVC did not have a light but the Sony light was not worth the feature. The JVC does not have a touch screen. I thought this would be ok but it is not like the old models that allowed you to use easy controls to move through the menu. The JVC was annoying to try to look back and forth between the screen and buttons. The menu features were also basic. I am concerned about the Sony touch screen eventually wearing out. The Sony will serve the purpose of having a light, compact and easy way to video. Nothing fancy here.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Review 3 for Sony Handycam SX63 Silver 16GB Flash Memory Camcorder w/ 60x Optical Zoom

Just what I expected

05/21/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is very easy to record and save.
The 16GB of room is GREAT.
All I wanted was a small little camera to capture memories and moments, and if you want a camera to do just that, this is the one for you.
All you really have to do is open the screen and press record. It's awesome and I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+75points
Review 4 for Sony Handycam SX63 Silver 16GB Flash Memory Camcorder w/ 60x Optical Zoom

Great Camcorder easy and fun to use

06/22/2011
By ,
New Bern NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is so lighweight and easy to use. With this said I was amazed at the high quality video it produced. Uploading the video was so easy I was able to do it without assistance. I ordered this one day before my son's pre-school graduation. I was hopful but doubtful we would get it in time. Much to my satisfaction we received it and was able to create a beautiful video of his ceremony that will last a life time. Thank you for making this process so easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Review 5 for Sony Handycam SX63 Silver 16GB Flash Memory Camcorder w/ 60x Optical Zoom

Great Camera

12/07/2010
By ,
Osceola, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this camera is easy to use and records great movies easy to use with your computer
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 6 for Sony Handycam SX63 Silver 16GB Flash Memory Camcorder w/ 60x Optical Zoom

It is okay.

06/14/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This camera is not a good value in my opinion. What is the point of a 60x Optical Zoom when there is no image stabilization feature? It is very shaky when you zoom just a few feet ahead. I really wish I would have noticed the lack of Image Stabilizaiton before I bought it. Also, this won't matter to most people, but you CAN hear the zooming when you play back your video. I was recording something silent and when I played it back, it had a mechanical noise everytime I zoomed in or out. It doesn't have any fun features and it cuts my videos into clips which I can't figure out how to connect. In other words, if you are filming something, it cuts a new clip everytime you close the LCD screen instead of just continuing where you left off. I guess that is supposed to be convenient but I can't figure out how to connect them, so I have a bunch of 30 second clips instead of one 5 minute video. annoying. The positives are that it is tiny and lightweight, kind of easy to use, and the videos seem pretty clear. I can't comment on battery life because I leave it on the charger most of the time. Overall, if you want a basic camera and you aren't picky about shakiness (hopefully this isn't for recording your child's soccer game or for trying to film animals on a safari or something bc you need to be very close to whatever your filming), then this camera will be okay, but you should probably find something better for your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Has Your Opinion Changed?
Posted 10/28/2011
The features section of this item on Walmart indicates that this camera has Image Stabiliztion and an LED light feature for dark "encounters."
1. Is that not the case?
2. Since purchasing this camcorder and using it over a period of time, have you been better able to utilize the features in qquestion? Would really like an answer to this question as my mom is advancing in age and would really love to capture future "moments" as well as vocals (i.e., recording indoors - at home!
3. If you had it to do over again (for you, the purchaser and others who viewed this camera but decided to purchase another one instead, which camcorder would you choose (again, would really like to capture video of my mom - she has cancer although in remission - as well as other health issues)?
Eagerly awaiting responses!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Sony Handycam SX63 Silver 16GB Flash Memory Camcorder w/ 60x Optical Zoom

Great camera for a coach doing game film

09/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am in my second year coaching high school volleyball. The camera the program had was from 1998 and used cassette tapes. This camera is very small and super lightweight. It's easy to run, and in my experience the battery lasts about two hours. It has a nice zoom on it. It's a really good camera for the price and perfect if you're wanting to burn DVDs for athletes or colleges.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 8 for Sony Handycam SX63 Silver 16GB Flash Memory Camcorder w/ 60x Optical Zoom

size was just right

01/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really like my new little handycam. Can transfer to dvd on computer. unlike old camera. We have piles of high 8 that need to be transfered and can only do through that camera. Great clear pictures, great sound. have new granddaughter coming and love to have lots of pictures of the family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Sony Handycam SX63 Silver 16GB Flash Memory Camcorder w/ 60x Optical Zoom

Easy to Use

06/15/2011
By ,
Wills Point, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple to use, good movie quality
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 10 for Sony Handycam SX63 Silver 16GB Flash Memory Camcorder w/ 60x Optical Zoom

Nice camera for my first ever camcorder

10/01/2011
By ,
Upstate NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am still in the process of learning how to operate this little gem. So far so good! I have never owned a video camera before so it is all new to me and I'm learning on my own. Have taped my dog doing Lure Coursing and it taped beautifully. I will be taking it on a vacation with me in a few wks. and that will me my next big test.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 11 for Sony Handycam SX63 Silver 16GB Flash Memory Camcorder w/ 60x Optical Zoom

Too pricey, less features

10/29/2011
By ,
Cudahy, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Same item in Sam's club is at least $20 less. This isn't hd so I passed and got a Toshiba camilo instead
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
How do you like the Toshiba Camileo
Posted 11/01/2011
Which toshiba did you buy and how dide you like it?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Sony Handycam SX63 Silver 16GB Flash Memory Camcorder w/ 60x Optical Zoom

given as a gift

10/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the video camera exceeds expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 13 for Sony Handycam SX63 Silver 16GB Flash Memory Camcorder w/ 60x Optical Zoom

Excelent.

09/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excelent.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sony Handycam SX63 Silver 16GB Flash Memory Camcorder w/ 60x Optical Zoom
Based on the average of (15) ratings-only reviews
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5