Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Handycam SX44 Blue 4GB Flash Memory Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony Handycam SX44 Blue 4GB Flash Memory Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom

This ultra-compact blue Sony Handycam camcorder features 4GB of embedded flash memory, which can record up to 3 hours of video, plus a built-in LED video light and a professional-quality Carl Zeiss Vario Tessar lens. The Sony Handycam delivers sharp, high-resolution images every time you shoot. Plus, with the powerful 60x optical zoom, you can capture extremely tight shots, even from far away. Note: Memory card not included. Purchase of a memory card is highly recommended.
Average Customer Rating:
4.409 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
24
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation87%81 out of 93reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
24
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony Handycam SX44 Blue 4GB Flash Memory Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom

Great camcorder if you acutally know what it is!

08/20/2011
By ,
Glendale, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, this camcorder isn't HD people! Its only standard definition, also when you edit/convert/save videos, the quality is always reduced. So with that in mind, don't go hoping for HD quality out of a $200, STANDARD DEFINITION CAMCORDER! I had a digital camera before this that shot HD video in 720P. The only reason why I bought this was because it had a LED light, optical zoom, and auto focus, something my digital camera did not have or do when recording. I am a pretty picky person and I can not be happier with the price and video quality.
This camcorder is really quite small and should easily fit in a coat pocket or something like that. Its also very light weight. Both of these were nice because the last camcorder I had was from 2006, things changed a lot since then. The 60X zoom is insane, but when you are getting far out there it becomes shaky as expected. Auto focus seems to work great, and I manage to do about 120 minutes on the included battery. The touch screen works fine and is VERY responsive, you don't have to hit it spot on, so that is nice seeing as its smaller and people with large fingers may use that. The LED light is fairly bright surprisingly, no, its not stadium lamp bright, but very nice for what it is. This camcorder also has 4GB of memory built in and can take SD cards for extra. The Sony PMB is what I use to transfer the videos to my computer AND play them.
Overall I am happy with this camcorder, and definitely feel I got a good deal for what I paid, which was a bit less than the price advertised here.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Review 2 for Sony Handycam SX44 Blue 4GB Flash Memory Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom

Fine Product, GREAT Value, but...

12/29/2010
By ,
Joliet, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've got 4 kids at home, including a 2-year old and a 10-month old, so Xmas is an exciting time of year. We didn't want to spend a lot of money, and we didn't really care if we weren't getting all the "bells and whistles". We aren't planning on doing anything fancy with the videos we take.
If you're looking for a camcorder that's compact and easy to use, then this is the one for you.
The battery that's included with the product has a max life of about 1 hour when it's fully charged....which is not necessarily optimal, especially when you're trying to capture snip-its of Christmas morning or anything else that might drag on for a while.
The internal memory is similarly limited. It's handy that the 4GB internal memory fills up in about the same amount of time that the included battery lasts when it is fully charged.
You can purchase a larger battery, and of course, you can also purchase memory cards that hold a lot more data than 4GB worth.
The editing software that comes with the camera is easy to use...and includes options to upload videos directly to all of the major social networking sites (i.e. Facebook, YouTube, etc.).
If this thing would have come with a carrying case, it would be an even better deal. Oh well, beggers can't be choosers!
The video I posted for this review was shot by this camcorder and then cut from my little girl's Xmas show at school. The editing only took a few minutes.
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+145points
Review 3 for Sony Handycam SX44 Blue 4GB Flash Memory Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom
04/11/2011
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We needed a video camera to take to Las Vegas and the grand canyon. I read alot of reviews on this camera and read that still pictures were not very good on this camera. Since I was taking a digital camera with me also I was not too concerned with how the still pictures would look on the video camera. We took alot of video and still pictures. when we got home we transferred the pictures to our computer. the videos turned out very good and I was pleasantly surprised at how the still pictures turned out. Very crisp and clear, although as with any camera, night pictures are difficult to take. I am so happy with the pictures I no longer need to take my still camera with me on vacation. This camera is a very good value and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to take everyday photos and video.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Review 4 for Sony Handycam SX44 Blue 4GB Flash Memory Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom

disappointed

01/23/2011
By ,
bloomfield,ne
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It took good video's. It did not take good stills. the pictures were pixeled. they were fuzzy. i'm sick and very disappointed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Sony Handycam SX44 Blue 4GB Flash Memory Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom

Effective & Tiny

06/01/2010
By ,
Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This video camera is much smaller than I expected but certainly gets the job done. I have not used the still images feature so I cannot rate that; however, the video quality and ease of use is fantastic. I have previously used mini-DVD cameras and found them to be bulky and sometimes difficult to download & edit. This new camera is small and light and I can simply remove the memory card, stick it into my PC and it automatically uploads to wherever I want the footage.
I definitely recommend getting one or two memory cards if you plan to use the camera alot; the internal memory hold only about one hour to 1.5 hours. I would also get a second battery as it last only about the same length, less if its hot and sunny.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+79points
Review 6 for Sony Handycam SX44 Blue 4GB Flash Memory Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom

handy

04/12/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far I have found this camera to be pretty handy. I use it in the woods for wildlife, and bought it primarily for the 60x zoom. The sony records in mpeg format and I find that much easier to work with than the proprietary format the comparable JVC uses. The zoom is great, the picture quality is decent. It is a SMALL camera. To small for my hands. The photo quality is not near as good as the video quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+57points
Review 7 for Sony Handycam SX44 Blue 4GB Flash Memory Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom

Video Camera great for what i needed.

12/20/2010
By ,
Livermore, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just had my 2nd baby in July and my video camera stopped working. I decided to take advantage of the Black friday Sales and searched high and low for a new video camera. I compared all stores and styles. This camera was the best deal for its price range.
It is so tiny, it fits in the palm of my hand. It has a touch screen that is easy to use, along with some buttons on the actual camera. it has a slider to close the lens, so no losing the lens cap. The quality and clarity of the screen is amazing. Everyone I show comments on how clear the screen is and how crisp the video looks.
The internal memory holds quite a bit, I have yet to add my memory card on it and have taped about an hour.
Playback on the screen is easy and you can find each separate taping, its not all on a tape, so you can pick which one you want to watch.
I have yet to upload and watch anything on the computer. I will need to install the program it came with and do that next.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Sony Handycam SX44 Blue 4GB Flash Memory Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom
04/20/2010
By ,
Albany, Ky.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great camcorder, small, compact and very easy to use. Has a very clear picture and captures sound beautifully. Am very satisfied with the purchase of this camcorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Review 9 for Sony Handycam SX44 Blue 4GB Flash Memory Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom

Great product!!!

04/12/2011
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My hubby & I bought this primarily to take along to our honeymoon but we played with it for quite some time. The pic quality is good & the video quality is better. You definitely need to be in good lighting to get the best results. Overall we love the compact size and ease of use. Get it folks!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Review 10 for Sony Handycam SX44 Blue 4GB Flash Memory Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom

WORKS AWESOME FOR ME!!!!!

02/27/2011
By ,
CENTERAL,MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS IS A GREAT CAM FOR IN THE WOODS FILMING DEER. ALSO IN OPEN FIELD IT REALY ZOOMS IN FAR BUT NEED TO HOLD IT STILL.
I WANT TO MOUNT IT TO MY BOW BUT AM AFRAID IT MIGHT NOCK THINGS LOOSE INSIDE THE CAMERA...LET ME IF IT WORKS IF SOMEONE TRIED IT ALREADY.
I WOULD RECOMEND THIS CAM FOR ANYONE INDOOR OR OUTDOORS.
THERE IS A VIDEO ATTATCHED BELOW. IT MIGHT BE A LITTLE BLERRY CUZ I HAD TO DOWNSIZE IT FOR ATTATCHMENTS OR SENDING EMAILS.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 11 for Sony Handycam SX44 Blue 4GB Flash Memory Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom

Great little camera

07/14/2010
By ,
Manchester, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this camera is great for hard to tape areas, the zoom is great and the picture is crystal clear. Have yet install it on the computer but not worried.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Review 12 for Sony Handycam SX44 Blue 4GB Flash Memory Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom

Poor video quality

12/17/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was not happy with this camera's video quality. Our test shots were grainy and poorly focused. The led light did not improve the video, and was too bright for the video subjects to look towards the camera. We decided to return this camera, and for an extra $100, upgraded to a high-def camcorder, which provided a remarkably better video.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Review 13 for Sony Handycam SX44 Blue 4GB Flash Memory Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom
12/16/2010
By ,
Dexter, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this camera. It is so easy to use. I started using it without reading the instructions. I left it sitting on a table at a christmas party and my friend used it without any instructions at all. Of course, it was very helpful to have the instructions, to determine all of the features. Open the view finder and press the button and you are recording. Great camera. so lightweight and small. I can put it in my coat pocket and take it everywhere. I bought this on black friday 2010 and got it for a really great price, about $70. cheaper than its regular price. I haven't found anything that I don't like about this camera. It fell out of my pocket from a sitting position onto the floor(not recommended) but it was just fine. This is a tough little camera too, thankfully. It has a great zoom lens, it bring objects far away, up close and clear. I zoomed in on a "12 font" document from approx 15 feet away and could read it clearly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Sony Handycam SX44 Blue 4GB Flash Memory Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom

Excellent

06/16/2010
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was surprise at all it delivers. The pictures and videos are very clear. Smaller than expected, but ok. I love it. It has both internal memory, and memory card (separate purchase)
Overall, it's worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 15 for Sony Handycam SX44 Blue 4GB Flash Memory Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom

excellent product

12/17/2010
By ,
staten island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very happy with it, great in lighting very good in dim lighting with the video camera light on , would highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 16 for Sony Handycam SX44 Blue 4GB Flash Memory Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom

Poor Quality

06/12/2010
By ,
Hopkinsville, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Do Not Buy!!! The video recording quality of it is ridiculous. I bought this for my daughters 1st birthday and I am not impressed. This seriously has the quality of a 15$ webcam. Sure it looks nice and pretty on the viewscreen and during playback on the device itself. However, when you get your media to the computer it is terrible. I'm so ashamed of the video quality that I wouldn't put it on dvd's for my family.. Seriously, it is that bad. Like other posts, I have tried several different scenarios to try and improve the quality but it is a no go. Such as switching the device to 'HQ' or toggling contrast, image stabilization etc... However, if you are making video's for youtube or for playback on smaller video devices then go for it!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-6points
Review 17 for Sony Handycam SX44 Blue 4GB Flash Memory Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom

Good Product / Good Value

07/03/2010
By ,
Fred-rock, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We wanted a small but usable video camera for vacation and home use ... nothing too expensive, versitile and easy to use. This camera filled that need almost perfectly. The on screen menu and touch screen operation make it a breeze to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Sony Handycam SX44 Blue 4GB Flash Memory Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom

Great Product

01/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tried another brand - it was no good - it had a slow start up and no light and no flash for the still shots even though it advertised it online. This camera does start recording right away, has a led light, flash for still shots and works great. It did not cost too much more either. In addition, this camera comes with built in memory and great optical zoom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 19 for Sony Handycam SX44 Blue 4GB Flash Memory Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom

Small and great price!

03/10/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was surprised when I opened the box and saw how small it was. Great for fitting in a purse! Flash drive is what allows it to be so small. The value and the size are pros. The only con is that it does not look like HiDef. If you want HD with it's better clarity then you need to buy a HD. However, the camera is great as long as you aren't expecting that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 20 for Sony Handycam SX44 Blue 4GB Flash Memory Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom

The best buy!!!!!

08/21/2011
By ,
Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this camera. If you are looking for an easy to use camera for the every day kind of family pictures and movies this is it! It is sooo easy to us and is priced right for the every day kind of family. I would not buy I different camera even if I had more money to spare or for a camera that offered more functions it's perfect the way it is!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next