Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sun Joe Sun Joe - Sharper Blade Stringless 12" 4.9-amp Electric Trimmer and Edger

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sun Joe Sun Joe - Sharper Blade Stringless 12" 4.9-amp Electric Trimmer and Edger

The Sun Joe SharperBlade SB600E Electric Grass Trimmer/Edger is ideal for homeowners or professionals who want a clean, streamlined look to their outdoor space. This powerful grass trimmer features a sharp, maintenance-free blade that lets you trim weeds and edge your lawn without stopping. Unlike traditional string trimmers that require constant string adjustment and replacement, the SharperBlade lets you complete the job more easily. Plus, the grass trimmer has a telescopic shaft and ergonomic handle that adjusts easily to your height for a comfortable grip. This electric lawn edger is ETL inspected/approved, and comes with a full two-year warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
3.279 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation53%23 out of 43reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sun Joe - Sharper Blade Stringless 12" 4.9-amp Electric Trimmer and Edger

THE GREATEST!

07/09/2010
By ,
CINCINNATI, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS TRIMMER IS JUST WHAT I NEEDED. I WAS TOO FRUSTRATED USING THE STRING TRIMMER. YOU SHOULD HAVE THIS IN YOUR STORE. SEVERAL PEOPLE STOPPED ME AND THE WAY OUT OF THE STORE AND ASKED WHERE I GOT IT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+42points
Review 2 for Sun Joe - Sharper Blade Stringless 12" 4.9-amp Electric Trimmer and Edger

Save Your Money

08/23/2011
By ,
Fort Hood, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just cut the grass today with the product for the third and last time hopefully. The blade that comes with it will wear out after 2-3 uses. I live on a military base and the yard is not that big people. The blade just gets smaller and smaller. The blade does not cut the grass cleanly. The grass looks like it was ripped to shreds! Not visiually appealing and very bad for the grass. (see picture) This is a plug in electrical device. The pro is it starts easily. Con, the blade rotate fast for a while once you turn it off. I cut through my sneaker while the blade was still rotating slowly. I am already shopping for something else.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 3 for Sun Joe - Sharper Blade Stringless 12" 4.9-amp Electric Trimmer and Edger

Great Trimmer!

08/16/2010
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We just bought our first house and are new to lawn care. All I remember growing up when helping my parents care for the yard was the troubles they had with the wire in the trimmers/weed wackers. I recall trying to help out many times and got so frustrated with having to deal with the string. We decided to go with this stringless trimmer. We were very reluctant since it is the ONLY stringless trimmer available. We really couldn't compare it to any others out there. But, after talking to many people that deal with stringed trimmers that end up either returning the one they bought or buying a new one after 6mo - a year, we bought it. Great price and knew Walmart is great with returns if we weren't happy with it. I've used it 2 times so far and I love it! We had about 7-8 inch grass in the corners of our lot and it cut through it without any problems. The blade isn't showing any wear, just looks dirty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+24points
Review 4 for Sun Joe - Sharper Blade Stringless 12" 4.9-amp Electric Trimmer and Edger

Get an extra blade

04/05/2011
By ,
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This trimmer does a really nice neat job. What I accomplished was attractive. But I hit a small rock the first time I used it and broke the tip of the blade off. That in itself was unfortunate. When I shopped to get a replacement blade, Walmart did not carry them and the manufacturer said they were currently out of stock and instructed me to return the trimmer to Walmart for a refund. So I am guessing they are well aware of the breaking blade. I wish they could have had an extra blade in the origional box, or replacement blades readily avaliable for purchase.
I returned the trimmer. Now I have to look about a new trimmer, and I would like this one, it extra blades were included.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+18points
Review 5 for Sun Joe - Sharper Blade Stringless 12" 4.9-amp Electric Trimmer and Edger

Exactly what expected

08/24/2010
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was excited to purchase this product because of the stringless aspect and that it was an edger and a trimmer. I would suggest ordering a replacement blade as another person suggested. You really need it after you learn how to use it, you may grind down the plastic blade like I did on the first time. It's pretty awesome that it trims and edges. Easy to put together, took me about 10-15 minutes.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+30points
Review 6 for Sun Joe - Sharper Blade Stringless 12" 4.9-amp Electric Trimmer and Edger

Very good product BUT.....

03/21/2011
By ,
Gulfport MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good product, assembles easily, good power. Cuts grass and weeds well but do not try to use as edger against paved walkway or street. The first use was great until using as edger. Blade will quickly wear and I have already ordered a replacement. There is the SHOCKER - $19.95 for a synthetic (plastic, nylon, or whatever) blade. Very overpriced but then they have no competition.
If replacement blades were reasonably priced I would give it 5 stars in every category but as it is , I could not recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Review 7 for Sun Joe - Sharper Blade Stringless 12" 4.9-amp Electric Trimmer and Edger

Blade does not last long

08/02/2010
By ,
Baytown, tx
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Blade wares down after two uses. And the replacement is $20 plus shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Review 8 for Sun Joe - Sharper Blade Stringless 12" 4.9-amp Electric Trimmer and Edger

Disappointing

09/07/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It has enough power but the shaft is too short. I'm 5'6" and had to bend over to use it. The second handle should be lower on the shaft for better balance. The way it is now, it's difficult to control. I like the idea of the blade over string. But this one doesn't seem to be as durable as one I had on my old gas trimmer. I've only used this one three times and the blade has already worn down two inches on each end. I don't mind paying $30 a blade if it lasts me a season but obviously this one won't. If I hadn't already destroyed the box, I would return it to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Review 9 for Sun Joe - Sharper Blade Stringless 12" 4.9-amp Electric Trimmer and Edger

sorry-sorry

04/12/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit is very bottom heavy.
A replacement blade [plastic] is almost half the price of the entire unit. I contacted the company about this with no reply.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Review 10 for Sun Joe - Sharper Blade Stringless 12" 4.9-amp Electric Trimmer and Edger
08/27/2010
By ,
Southern Oklahoma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While it performed the trimming task fairly well it's protective cover refuses to stay on place and the cost of the replacement blade, including shipping is prohibitive.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Review 11 for Sun Joe - Sharper Blade Stringless 12" 4.9-amp Electric Trimmer and Edger

trimmer

01/30/2011
By ,
Az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
easy to put together but can't find a place to get new blades. will update after I have used it a few times
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 12 for Sun Joe - Sharper Blade Stringless 12" 4.9-amp Electric Trimmer and Edger

Very good item ... good value, too.

07/09/2010
By ,
Murrells Inlet, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very pleased with the blade instead of string on the trimmer... would have been nice to have wheels for the edger function and it should probably be sold with an extra blade instead of having to order another, after the "learning experience"!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 13 for Sun Joe - Sharper Blade Stringless 12" 4.9-amp Electric Trimmer and Edger

above average product

07/08/2010
By ,
Omaha
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The trimmer works well, I don't have to change string and it was priced well. Overall it was worth the money. It was a little more difficult to assemble that trimmers I bought in the past.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 14 for Sun Joe - Sharper Blade Stringless 12" 4.9-amp Electric Trimmer and Edger
09/07/2011
By ,
CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ended up returning after one use. Parts attached without hardware. Shield popped off every time contact made with anything.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 15 for Sun Joe - Sharper Blade Stringless 12" 4.9-amp Electric Trimmer and Edger

over-rated the blade part and

09/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the blade on this trimmer broke the first time i used it!!
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 16 for Sun Joe - Sharper Blade Stringless 12" 4.9-amp Electric Trimmer and Edger

metal blade

07/24/2011
By ,
Minnesota
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I see a lot of people complaining about the blade on this trimmer. I too have been looking for a corded electric trimmer for quite a while. They have them in Europe but for "safety" reasons, there aren't any to be found here in the USA (at least none that I have found). Has anyone thought about purchasing a cheap $5 skillsaw blade and attaching it to this trimmer? It looks like the blade has a simple hole for fastening it to the trimmer. If a blade could be found with a similar size hole, you would have the "cheap" answer to this problem! Of course the safety issue here is a red herring since they are easily available for trimmers with a gas engine.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 17 for Sun Joe - Sharper Blade Stringless 12" 4.9-amp Electric Trimmer and Edger

Not enough power, not a good design to trim edges.

05/18/2012
By ,
california
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1) Plastic blade is extremely soft and does not cut the grass edges. If you want to trim free standing grass that is not bundled together, it will sure cut it.
2) You have to constantly keep depressing the button to get more power from the trimmer since this tool purely depends on your pressing power. Of course, until you reach its maximum power. It will come to a point your finger will get tired, and the trimming work goes very very slowly.
3) The power of the tool is not enough either. The blade stops when it encounter enough resistance, contrary to even simple plastic line trimmers that keeps swinging without giving you any resistance and sliding on grass bundles that will eventually cut the grass and trim edges.
Sorry, but this tool is intended good but not designed well. I would not recommend this tool to trim the edges of a yard.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 18 for Sun Joe - Sharper Blade Stringless 12" 4.9-amp Electric Trimmer and Edger

They should go back to the drawing board

09/01/2011
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The plastic blade is a great idea, but unfortunately the minute you touch concrete the ends will break off. Since most edging is done around walks, driveways etc, I would think a little more research would have gone into the material selection. In addition, once this is used for several minutes, the motor warms up and it increasingly loses power until it just barely turns. If you purchase one of these I would advise you to save the box so you can return it the next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 19 for Sun Joe - Sharper Blade Stringless 12" 4.9-amp Electric Trimmer and Edger

Great For the Price

08/30/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I can't stand fighting with the string trimmers and my husbands gas trimmer is too heavy for me. This was just what I needed. I figured it was a great price and worth a try. I used it pretty heavy the first 3 times because my trimming was so far behind. The gas trimmer wouldn't start. And it works great. I figure Ill need a new blade by next summer but its worth the balde reolacement price to trim all summer without the hassle of string!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 20 for Sun Joe - Sharper Blade Stringless 12" 4.9-amp Electric Trimmer and Edger

Easy Operation

08/21/2010
By ,
Hubert, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to construct and put together with the instructions. Quick to use without the hassle of the line handling. Light weight and the use of the guard is handy. It does throw some green onto the eye protection, but I will manage that with experience and time. The blade will wear out fast if too much pressure is applied, but with time I will conquer that too. It would be nice to place an extra blade with the box and sell them on the shelves at the store to buy. This would sell fast if you had them on the shelves. I am definitely happy to have bought and try this out. I am pleased with the ease of operation and saving time too. Good price too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1 2 3 Next