Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Acer Acer 17.3" Aspire AS7736Z-4088 Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4400 and Windows 7 Home Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Acer Acer 17.3" Aspire AS7736Z-4088 Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4400 and Windows 7 Home Premium

The Acer 17.3" Aspire Laptop PC transforms digital entertainment. Features include a cinematic 17.3-inch HD LED-backlit display, Intel dual-core processing performance, Windows 7, Dolby audio enhancement and amazing media features. The Acer 17.3" Aspire Laptop PC lets you fly through demanding applications and enjoy more of your multimedia in true elegance wherever you go.
Average Customer Rating:
4.69 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(268 Reviews) 235
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
206
4 stars
49
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation97%261 out of 268reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
206
4 stars
49
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Acer 17.3" Aspire AS7736Z-4088 Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4400 and Windows 7 Home Premium

ok

07/20/2010
By ,
ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
seems to work great haven't tried all the features yet. email friends like the web cam videos that i send them. not as fast as i would like
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 62 for Acer 17.3" Aspire AS7736Z-4088 Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4400 and Windows 7 Home Premium

Memory

06/24/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interesting note, The specs say DDR2, but mine has 3gb of PC3-8500S which is DDR3-1066. performs very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 63 for Acer 17.3" Aspire AS7736Z-4088 Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4400 and Windows 7 Home Premium

definitely not what i expected

02/25/2010
By ,
Sewell, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been looking at new laptops for quite a while now, and i always overlooked all the Acers because i'm a name brand-er when it comes to electronics (for all the obvious reasons).
recently, though, 2 of my good friends bought Acers (different models) and i got to play around with them... setting them up, working on them, etc. it began to sink into my head that these might not be bad computers. boy was i right!
for the size and what's packed inside, this laptop is a steal! i paid $498+tax for this laptop when it could easily be a $700+ laptop. of all the competition, none of them compare to this one. you always end up sacrificing SOMETHING...size, ram, HDD space, or some other feature. the Aspire 7736z-4088 definitely has them all included.
it also FEELS sturdy, LOOKS great, is streamlined (doesn't look bulkier than it is, like some other brands), and is extremely user friendly. you dont have to go digging through menus and options to turn on bluetooth (hardly any other laptop comes with bluetooth installed), or to turn off the touchpad, or even to create a backup (has a dedicated backup button right above the keyboard).
if you're like me, you're sitting there thinking "but it's an acer..." and you've probably got about 10-15 diffrerent laptops that you're reviewing and thinking about...and you're getting overwhelmed. If this model is one that meets your requirements, then definitely purchase is...you won't be sorry. BUT, even if you regret it for whatever reason, you have a 15 day "buyers remorse" period...take it back to your walmart and get the whole price paid back, bo questions (just bring your receipt).
I've had a lot of problems with my last 2 laptops over the years, and sacrificed a lot when it came to buying them...i always had to "settle" for less this and no that, but with this one, i got everything i wanted and then some. you won't be disappointed
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 64 for Acer 17.3" Aspire AS7736Z-4088 Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4400 and Windows 7 Home Premium

decent computer so far

04/28/2010
By ,
wisconsin rapids, wi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
no problems yet, fast if you only need it for work or internet, not a gaming computer
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 65 for Acer 17.3" Aspire AS7736Z-4088 Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4400 and Windows 7 Home Premium

Surpassed My Expectations...

03/17/2010
By ,
Seabrook, Md.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a new laptop & wanted to up grade from my 7 year old laptop that I've used every day since I've purchased it. Been waiting to find a good deal on one with out hurting my wallet. Been pricing laptops for about 6 months & nothing really got my attention. When I checked Walmart for laptops, I kept coming across this 17.3 screen Acer brand laptop. The day came when I decided to go & buy one. The last one that they had, $527. later & about 1 hour after I got home with my new laptop thought why did I wait so long. This laptop just keeps on amazing me everyday since. Compared to my 7 year old Compaq Presario, this Acer just blows it away. I would recommend one to anyone who is looking to buy at a reasonable price. Thumbs up for this Laptop & Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 66 for Acer 17.3" Aspire AS7736Z-4088 Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4400 and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great laptop!

08/02/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 2nd laptop and dramatically better than my 5 year old HP laptop and my even older Dell desktop. Has all the increased speed I was looking for and starts up in seconds instead of minutes.
Windows 7 is OK even though the last few versions of windows try to remove the user from exactly what is going on with file storage so can be confusing at times - but works OK.
Comes packaged with all the software needed although some is unlicensed and has to be purchased for continued use.
The new Windows Media Center is convenient and has all the basics. Windows explorer continues to improve but I still prefer (and loaded) the free Firefox browser which is at least as fast and has more features.
Overall I consider this product a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 67 for Acer 17.3" Aspire AS7736Z-4088 Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4400 and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Laptop!

02/25/2010
By ,
Chattanooga, tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Acer computer. The first one still works just fine despite the fact that it has a Vista operating sytem that I find is often not very easy to work with. My new 17.3 inch Acer laptop has Windows 7 and I love it! I've had several laptops over the years and this one is great! I like the big screen and the quality of the screen resolution is second to none. The laptop is also quite fast on start-up and in surfing the net in general. The touch pad seemed very sensitive at first. But I fixed this by adjusting the mouse speed in the control panel. I absolutely love this computer and highly recommend it. It compares to the more expensive brands in terms of performance and is a whole lot cheaper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 68 for Acer 17.3" Aspire AS7736Z-4088 Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4400 and Windows 7 Home Premium
08/05/2010
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This model Acer has been out about a year (as of July 2010), and offers good performance from a dual-core CPU, ample RAM memory, fair sized 320GB hard drive storage, good quality CD/DVD burner/player, very fast excellent range built-in 100/1000 WiFi, excellent bright and razor-sharp 17.3" HD display, built-in web-cam of good quality, and a usable keyboard larger than that on 15.6" laptops. Appears fairly rugged built. System can output to external VGA and HDMI video, and to external keyboard or external mouse via the four USB ports.
Battery life is average and can be extended with a more potent optional Li battery, system can add more RAM memory up to 4GB. Overall, a VERY good, solid, proven value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 69 for Acer 17.3" Aspire AS7736Z-4088 Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4400 and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great laptop at a GREAT price !

03/01/2010
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love everything about this laptop. We use it for basic computing and internet purposes. We previously owned a HP laptop and when it died we got this one.
This Acer is fast, easy to set up and use, the new version of Windows is great !
No problems connecting to wireless internet.
LOVE LOVE LOVE the HUGE screen !
Great webcam, good battery life, good layout of keys and features, cooling fan opening, mouse, etc. Love the scroll feature on the mouse and the seperate number key pad. It also has a special key to program for whatever you want to use it for.
It's very pretty.
Great laptop. I would recommend to anybody. Did I mention that it's fast ? Booting up and shutting down is a breeze !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 70 for Acer 17.3" Aspire AS7736Z-4088 Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4400 and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great laptop

06/02/2010
By ,
Vermont
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third Acer that I have purchased and each one has either met or way exceeded my expectations. I love the numeric keypad on this laptop, the sound is great, etc., etc., etc....great deal.
In addition, Walmart continues to exceed my expectations when it comes to delivery.
It is very refreshing to see that Customer Service is still a top priority for them....too many companies put that too low on theirs.
Nicely done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 71 for Acer 17.3" Aspire AS7736Z-4088 Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4400 and Windows 7 Home Premium

Not Perfect but worth the money so far

08/12/2010
By ,
cleveland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a few problems with the internet connections at first, not sure if it was my setup at home or the laptop. The screen looks nice but the graphics sometimes arent good enough to keep up with high movement films that are on the larger file size. The speed of the computer is pretty quick otherwise. The acer customer service is sub-par, you have to email them and wait about 2 hours for a initial response from a human and they are usually no help until the 2nd or 3rd email. The security software is annoying with popups, i would recommend uninstalling it all and buying a program from a store. has a lot of useless software that comes on it. The outside shell gets fingerprints very easily but when its clean it looks great. Screen is very nice with the lcd hd but the computer itself isnt good enough to keep up with the high demands of new games. overall for basic use its great, for gaming a 3 out of 5 video playback a 4. customer support a 2.5 bang for the buck 4. its a good product, id have to try out other laptops first before saying this one is better or worse. But if you are looking for a quick buy under 500 and are using it for basic use its awesome. huge screen, pretty quick internet, great for dvds but if you download movies it might have some hard time with the hd large files and stuff like that.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 72 for Acer 17.3" Aspire AS7736Z-4088 Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4400 and Windows 7 Home Premium

Love My Laptop!

02/25/2010
By ,
Birmingham, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was looking for a laptop with an integrated keypad, that would work as my main home computer. I did a lot of online shopping - TigerDirect, Dell, Best Buys, eBay, etc, and found that this was the best buy for my money. I have loved it since I got it!
The keys are very responsive, and fit well with my fingers. The screen is incredibly sharp and detailed. The speed is so impressively faster than my old dinosaur that it takes my breath away. (Of course, a lot of that has to do with how slow my old computer was!) I have been very impressed with everything about it, and feel that it was a great buy for the money. I have to give myself a fist pump for choosing this computer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 73 for Acer 17.3" Aspire AS7736Z-4088 Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4400 and Windows 7 Home Premium

NICE!

03/09/2010
By ,
Killeen Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this laptop about 2 weeks ago and it is verrrry nice. Build in crystal clear webcam, big hard drive..ohh and the large and very clear screen...icing on the cake.
I have to say tho that windows 7 is not my fav. I have a lot of softwar conflicts like with older software (it has an optin to fix compatibility but it does not always solve the problem), my printer nor 3g modem will work. But thats the software not the computer. I recomend this as a great buy both for home office, entertainment and students. It has sourround sound theater feature and is really great, slim tho a little heavier then Id like.
All in all 4.5 of 5 stars!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 74 for Acer 17.3" Aspire AS7736Z-4088 Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4400 and Windows 7 Home Premium

Nice Laptop

04/01/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had this laptop for three weeks, but so far I am very happy with it. I like watching tv shows and movies on my computer, and I have had no performance issues whatsoever. The picture and sound quality are exceptional, and I love the big screen. I also bought a logitech laptop cooling pad with this product, and I can comfortably use the laptop on my lap. The laptop does not feel too heavy or too hot. Other reviewers have commented on the sensitivity of the mouse, but I have had no problems with the multi-gesture touchpad. But I was used to using a touchpad on my old computer. Overall, I am very satisfied with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 75 for Acer 17.3" Aspire AS7736Z-4088 Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4400 and Windows 7 Home Premium

Okay maybe even good but not great

06/01/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you are looking for a middle of the line laptop, this is it. Actually, it may be a little below middle but for the price and the features, it isnt bad. I bought it for my daughter for graduation. She doesnt nothing but listen to music, surf the internet, and do Facebook so it didnt need to be overly powerful. The monitor is great and has nice color and is 17 inches so she will love that. It is a dual core proc so not bad but everything is going to the Intel i series or 6 core amd's now. Only has 3gig of memory. 4 gig would have been nice. All in all not bad but not great. Good laptop for your teenager who isnt a gamer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Review 76 for Acer 17.3" Aspire AS7736Z-4088 Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4400 and Windows 7 Home Premium

A Great Product

03/23/2010
By ,
louisville, ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my Acer laptop!! I have a home computer and this is my first laptop and I absolutely love it!! It is reasonably priced...I only paid around $530 after tax. I really wanted a laptop with a large screen and this laptop has a 17 inch screen. I priced other laptops with that screen size and they ran $700 or higher and most of them didnt have as much memory either!! This is a wonderful deal and the laptop itself is wonderful. Set up was a breeze and within 10 mins I was able to use it. I would recommend this laptop to anyone who is looking for a laptop with good memory and a large screen!! Great job Acer!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 77 for Acer 17.3" Aspire AS7736Z-4088 Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4400 and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Value

03/02/2010
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually purchased the laptop at my local walmart store, but did research on walmart.com. After reading a lot of the reviews and within my price range, decided on this computer. So far, I like it. It is fast (a lot faster than my HP), and so far have not lost my internet connection. The screen is great. To me, it us hugh, I had a smaller laptop and this screen is awsome. I still have not done a whole lot with it, but so far I am happy! The only thing that so far I don't like is the mouse, it is very sensitive. But, hopefully, I will get used to it quick, otherwise I will get a cordless mouse.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 78 for Acer 17.3" Aspire AS7736Z-4088 Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4400 and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Value!

03/05/2010
By ,
Philly Burbs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For $500 this is a winner. As others have stated, nice looking, fast, and solid. Unfortunately, I had to return it because I do a lot of HD video editing with Sony Vegas Pro 9 and this CPU/memory/video card configuration simply can't do the job adequately. If I didn't neeed high-end performance, I would have kept it. I especially like the "hot button" feature to turn on your favorite program and also the the textured palm-rest area that hides finger prints. The multi-gesture mouse pad is also nice once you get used to it. Oh well, looks like I need a computer with an expensive i7 processor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 79 for Acer 17.3" Aspire AS7736Z-4088 Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4400 and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great computer for the price!

04/30/2010
By ,
Tempe, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to replace a 5 yr old Sony Vaio laptop that has been acting up, and doesn't have much longer to go. Here is what has impressed me so far. The screen looks great, it's pretty light-weight for a 17.3" laptop, the battery life is about 3 hrs and 15 minutes, it doesn't get hot after prolonged use, and it's pretty quick to come back on after the lid has been closed. The only issue I have is that sometimes the screen size changes by surprise because the track pad has multi-touch, and it's a little too sensitive. Once I get a wireless mouse, this won't be a problem any longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 80 for Acer 17.3" Aspire AS7736Z-4088 Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4400 and Windows 7 Home Premium

Loaded, great screen quality

04/08/2010
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the 17" screen for movie viewing and the loads of features. The keyboard is touchy - if I miss a letter and accidentally hit a command key, it throws me a curve. The touch pad is so touchy I had to turn it off and use a wireless mouse. It does not always give me the cursor when I am replying to an email (that's weird). I can't find a router that works with it yet.
It was super easy to set up. The manual is 74 pages to print out, though there's a quick guide as well. There's lots of memory, it's fast and has been reliable to this point. Overall, it's a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
61-80 of 236 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  12 Next