Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for ProScan Proscan 40" Class 1080P 60Hz LCD HDTV, Piano Black, 40LD45Q

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

ProScan Proscan 40" Class 1080P 60Hz LCD HDTV, Piano Black, 40LD45Q

The Proscan 40" LCD HDTV delivers true high-definition quality. With 1080p Full HD resolution, a high contrast ratio and high brightness level, you'll be blown away at the picture quality that HD has to offer. The perfect size for your bedroom or child's play room, the Proscan 40" LCD HDTV is easy to operate and—with its piano black finish — easy on the eyes. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Proscan 40" LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(318 Reviews) 251
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
199
4 stars
66
3 stars
21
2 stars
9
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation87%276 out of 318reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
199
4 stars
66
3 stars
21
2 stars
9
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Proscan 40" Class 1080P 60Hz LCD HDTV, Piano Black, 40LD45Q

AWESOME LCD!!!

03/27/2010
By ,
Savannah, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read through every review on this TV prior to me purchasing it. I was pretty confident that the product would be a good one, but was still a little hesitant. One thing specifically was that the ratio was only 2,000:1. That is not very good. BUT when I received it along with the wall mount (Level Mount DC37SJ for $36 bucks. Holds this TV NO PROBLEM!!!) I purchased for it, I turned it on and was shockingly amazed. I've always been one of those kinds of people that says "you get what you pay for" and so I was hoping for the best given the price of the tv. So far it is GREAT and this TV has exceeded my expectations. I am glad I didn't have to spend $800.00 or more for the same thing. Last thing I need to do is hide the cords, but that will come later. For now, I just used twist ties left over from the packaging. FANTASTIC TV and hope someone will read this with confidence!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Proscan 40" Class 1080P 60Hz LCD HDTV, Piano Black, 40LD45Q

Great TV, Good Picture, Great Price

03/26/2010
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have several LCD TV's. I purchased this TV for an upscale vacation rental that I own. The TV was just fine! Picture quality was good and everything worked well, right out of the box. No complaints! This was the BEST LCD TV that I could find for the money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Proscan 40" Class 1080P 60Hz LCD HDTV, Piano Black, 40LD45Q

Great Product

02/23/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bedroom TV, mounted on wall you must have HD cable for best picture. HD Cable 25.00 but worth it. I have a HD reciever and used just the cable cord and picture wasn't very good then used the HDMI cable and WOW big differents. I also am using 5.1 surround sound on it, but have to connect 5.1 SS to cable box for real surround sound. You can't beat the price for a 40 inch. Total cost with TV, Warr, HDMI cable, and wall mount 647.00
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Review 4 for Proscan 40" Class 1080P 60Hz LCD HDTV, Piano Black, 40LD45Q

Love Love Love

03/13/2010
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical at first when I purchased this, I even thought I made a mistake because the price was to low and figured the more expensive one's were the best but after we got it and tried on a movie I was in LOVE!!! This TV is waaaayyyy better than brand name tv's! The picture and sound quality is PERFECT! You definitley need to get HD though because regular cable doesnt cut it and luckily it was on ly $6.00 more a month for HD!! Im planning on getting the 32" for my room asap!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 5 for Proscan 40" Class 1080P 60Hz LCD HDTV, Piano Black, 40LD45Q

Excellent product

06/15/2010
By ,
Winnfield, La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product. Color and HD perfect. Price very good. Highly recommend.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 6 for Proscan 40" Class 1080P 60Hz LCD HDTV, Piano Black, 40LD45Q

Gamer from the South

04/16/2010
By ,
Madison, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all the price is what sold this T.V. for me. I was needing a cheap 1080p display that could double as a PC monitor. I have been able to play Left4Dead2 and GTA4 at 1920x1080(via DVI to HDMI cable) with great results. Took a while playing around with the nvidia and Windows 7 display setting to get the picture to a near "pixel perfect" image. Blurays and HD Cable look as good as it can on this display. Screen size is a perfect 40" viewable.
The sound from this T.V. is on the poor side. So plan on using/buying another audio source if needed.
I used Free Site to Store that took 14 days to arrive at store. I would have spent the extra $10 if i had known it would take so long.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Proscan 40" Class 1080P 60Hz LCD HDTV, Piano Black, 40LD45Q

good product

04/21/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a good product of quality and price
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Proscan 40" Class 1080P 60Hz LCD HDTV, Piano Black, 40LD45Q

Better than expected.

07/14/2010
By ,
Coeur d'Alene
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been searching for a decent priced tv for quite some time. The name branded tv's were all too expensive and I never really got what was so much better about them then any other off-brand. I've never heard of Proscan before, but I always saw myself coming back to look at the reviews. I saw a lot of helpful ones, and some that stood out. Some said that there was bound to be a lost pixel and I would be okay with that, but on a brand new tv? I also read that the remote was delayed and that the sound wasn't exactly clear. To be honest I have not had any of these occur to me. The 40" looks massive in my living room and the finish makes it look so fancy. For $440 you cannot beat this deal. Sure, it's off-brand but every brand has to start it's mark somewhere, right? I got this from site to store and the shipping was faster than it said it would be and they were very helpful at Walmart getting it into my car. If anything I could change was that it have a USB connection. I am so thankfully please with this product. I am hoping to see how well the brand does in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+45points
Review 9 for Proscan 40" Class 1080P 60Hz LCD HDTV, Piano Black, 40LD45Q
02/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this T.V. with a lot of trepedations at first, but I figured, if it does what it says it does then it's a keeper, otherwise it'll be returned. Well folks, SURPRISE OF THE CENTURY! This T.V. is wonderful, price is affordable, and in performance it stays toe-to-toe with big brand names. I recommend this T.V.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+110points
Review 10 for Proscan 40" Class 1080P 60Hz LCD HDTV, Piano Black, 40LD45Q

Buy it, You won't be sorry

06/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hesitant at first but I bought it. The picture quality is just as good or better than my 32 in Samsung. I am blown away by this TV. I see no reason to spend the extra money on a Samsung or Sony again. Some people were complaining about sound quality. I found it to be good. Not as good as a home theatre system but good for coming out of the TV speakers. If you are hesitant, buy it and enjoy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+68points
Review 11 for Proscan 40" Class 1080P 60Hz LCD HDTV, Piano Black, 40LD45Q

Great TV but sound not so good

03/24/2010
By ,
Dallas, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this TV for a month. This was a great buy for the money. The 1080 picture quality compares good with the higher brand names. The sound quality is the biggest drawback. If you hook it up to surround sound system, then you don't even notice the sound quality. Overall a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
+48points
Review 12 for Proscan 40" Class 1080P 60Hz LCD HDTV, Piano Black, 40LD45Q

Best Deal on a LCD Flat Screen in USA

08/10/2010
By ,
Yuma, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Proscan is a brand that is not well known but I'm glad I gave it a chance because this tv is worth every penny. I've owned a Sony Bravia 1080p lcd flat sceen and a Phillips 720p lcd flat screen, both 32 inches. I loved them both but had to sell them because I moved to the west coast. Believe me, don't judge a tv by the brand name... this 40 inch Proscan will be a purchase you will not regret. The color is vivid, the screen is bright, and it's easy to setup and operate. Very easy to hook up your PS3, XBox, Wii, DVD, Blu Ray, etc. Surround sound speakers are easy to hook up too. Only thing that I would change if I could is to make the tv lighter bc its pretty heavy compared to alot of other flat screens. Somewhere between 40-50 lbs. Other than that, I love my new Proscan and I love the super low price I paid for it! Don't hesitate!!! I'd advise everyone to jump on this bangin deal!!! 40 inch 1080p lcd flat screen for $399 !!! I'm feeling REALLY good about this purchase :) I love my new tv!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Proscan 40" Class 1080P 60Hz LCD HDTV, Piano Black, 40LD45Q

exceptional tv for the low cost

08/06/2010
By ,
Southeastern WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are debating whether or not to buy this Proscan 40 inch tv, please let me help you with that decision. BUY IT!!! It is a great product for the money. Assembly was very easy, hook up also easy. A beauitful picture, beauitful sound just all around a great product. You will not regret it if you do buy it. Wal-mart return center was also easy and customer friendly. The fedex delivery man must have dropped or bumped my tv so when I hooked it up to cable, tv was damaged. I contacted walmart and the next morning, my tv was at my door step. No cost to me for next day shipping or anything. Also they are giving me 2 months to pack up and return the damaged one. Walmart even contacted fedex to come pick up my package at MY convenience. I am very inpressed with Walmart.com and the over all product. I give both companies 5 stars all the way across the board. Thank you walmart for making my shopping experience so pleasant. I will definatly by from your company again and again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Proscan 40" Class 1080P 60Hz LCD HDTV, Piano Black, 40LD45Q

Get what you pay for.

02/04/2010
By ,
Baldwyn, MS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Since the price was this low we thought we would try it out. Well we kept it for a day and a half then took it back and exchanged it. For bright colors it does a pretty good job, but when it comes to distinguishing between dark colors, it is really bad. Some scenes were dark scenes in a cave and we couldnt even tell where one thing ended and another began. If you just want a big screen to play games and watch sports, then it is not a bad buy at all. But for a everyday watching tv you might want to save your money and get one a little better.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Review 15 for Proscan 40" Class 1080P 60Hz LCD HDTV, Piano Black, 40LD45Q

Dead Pixels!!!

04/02/2010
By ,
San Diego, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was shopping for a new lcd tv and this seemed to fit the bill, specially when I did a side by side comparison with other top brad lcd's. When the tv arrived it took me less than five minutes to get it set up, the only hard part was that all the input connections seem to be hidden (No side inputs!) and its really hard to get to them! The picture quality was great! but ONLY with HD channels, regular channels look really bad. The sound was decent but could be better and the remote looked kind of limited. After a bit of channel surfing I noticed a dead pixel in the middle of the screen! This was a big bummer because a green dot in the middle of the tv really hurts the picture quality! It would also turn off by it self with no apparent reason. I called the number in the manual to get help but it turned out to be a complete waste of time, 45 minutes to be exact! I finally called walmart.com and they quickly took care of my problem, they sent me another tv which came 2 days latter. I got it set up and this time there where about 7 dead pixels all over the screen! Bummer! I really wanted this to work because its such a great deal and tv is beautiful. Again I called walmart.com and they told me that they had recently placed this product under review since I was no the only one with the problem! I feel bad that this didn't work out for me and the fact that Proscan's costumer service was really bad didn't help either, I would not recommend this product! By the way, walmart.com's costumer service is the best!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+36points
Review 16 for Proscan 40" Class 1080P 60Hz LCD HDTV, Piano Black, 40LD45Q

40" ProScan LCD TV

05/22/2010
By ,
Denver, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So im a little behind on the times...im just now buying an LCD/HDTV and knowing little about this type of stuff...i would have to say that im not as happy with the overall quality of this product as thought that i would be. I kind of expected more...but you truly do get what you pay for. The size for the price is def unbeatable...but the overall pic quality and sound quality really isnt the best. I was able to tweak the pic to a satisfactory level...but the sound has a fuzz in the background that i cant seem to get rid of. Its not horrible or terribly noticable, but it does bother me. This TV is great for a bedroom or fun room...but def wouldnt recommend this product as a main attraction in your home. I will probably put this in the bedroom and upgrade to something more approrpiate for my living room. Overall though...i would give this 3 out of 5 stars. It really is a good deal!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 17 for Proscan 40" Class 1080P 60Hz LCD HDTV, Piano Black, 40LD45Q

Good Buy

02/22/2010
By ,
Northern Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a spot where I wanted a TV and this was the exact size I was looking for. Never would have bought such a small 1080P HDTV otherwise. But it has an excellent picture and I am very happy with it. And the price was awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 18 for Proscan 40" Class 1080P 60Hz LCD HDTV, Piano Black, 40LD45Q

AWESOME TV

07/25/2010
By ,
GLENDALE, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VERY SHARP PICTURE. GREAT SIZE FOR THE PRICE. A TRUE BARGAIN.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 19 for Proscan 40" Class 1080P 60Hz LCD HDTV, Piano Black, 40LD45Q

Good but be wary

05/23/2010
By ,
NJ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great buy, could not pass it up for the price. After reading all the reviews and buying it myself , I would say you have a pretty good chance of getting a TV with at least 1 dead pixel. If this doesn't bother you, then by all means go for it. Otherwise look elsewhere.
I've had the tv for about a month now , one dead pixel (bottom center) also the unit gets very hot, and has an uneven backlight that shows in the corners when the screen is black. But still it's a good tv for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 20 for Proscan 40" Class 1080P 60Hz LCD HDTV, Piano Black, 40LD45Q

Great Bang for your Buck!!

04/14/2010
By ,
Clinton Twp MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Obviously not the best TV you will find, BUT...for the price and size you can't beat the quality. Ship to Store was outstanding, friendly, and convienent!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
1-20 of 252 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next