Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Weed Eater Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Weed Eater Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

The Weed Eater One riding lawn mower features a Briggs & Stratton 875 OHV engine with a LawnScaper deck system and single blade with height adjustment.
Average Customer Rating:
3.451 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
26
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation66%75 out of 113reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
26
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

Mower Welds Broke-Warranty Service Impossible

06/10/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was mowing for the first time and noticed the mower was tipping a little. Upon further inspection I noticed the frame welds had broke off the mower housing. I tried to get warranty service but they only deal with service centers so Weed Eater One was NO help, they just passed the buck. So, I checked into the "service centers" and they are a joke! no warranty work for Weed Eater One is available. Furthermore, the parts are on back order till Sept.! Yea Hah! So, I fixed it myself and not more than ten minutes later the other side of the frame welds had broke.
It gets better, I needed a front tire too but guess what? You can't get the front tire any where except their parts center because they are the only ones in the world who have a 10x4.00-4 tire size. So, if you want a new tire get ready to shell out $40 for the tire and $10 in handling for a grand total of $50 for the little front tire.
They may have a low purchase price but they are even lower in quality and impossible to deal with and the only way to get replacement parts is through them. THEY GET YOU IN THE END...$$$$ SAVE YOUR MONEY AND A HEADACHE AND BUY SOMETHING BETTER!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 2 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

Service Problems

05/21/2010
By ,
Wisconsin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this WE261 new in February. After using it four times to mow less than 1/5 acre of grass, the friction drive rubber ring came apart.
I called the supplier, and found they absolutely required the unit be taken to an authorized dealer to repair it. They would not even send me the replacement part at my cost ($99.00) to my house, they only send parts to the authorized dealers.
After finally getting through (3 1/2 hours on hold on the phones), one supplier would send me the parts, but they were backordered at least 3 weeks.
And, four out of the five recommended dealers did not even work on this unit.
I finally found that Sears has the parts in stock, and I will install it my self.
This unit would not climb even the slightest hill, the friction drive system just slipped.
On a scale of one to five, I give this a zero, due to the very poor customer service. The service guy even hung up on me. After being on hold for 26 minutes.
I like how this unit works. It remains to be seen how well the replacement friction drive works.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 3 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

What a piece of junk

03/25/2011
By ,
Greenville, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this mower based on the reviews and the price. DON'T BUY THIS MOWER! I got it two weeks ago and used it for the first time today. My yard is only about a third of an acre so it's really not that big. I started in the back yard and made two passes when it started screeching. It happened so fast that I did not have time to turn off the mower when the belt that drives the blade exploded. There were pieces of belt and nylon shrapnel all in the chain drive, on the top of the engine shroud, and on the blade guard. I checked the blade for an obstruction, but there was not one. I was going to drive it back on the porch, but the ultra loud CLANK CLANK CLANK... made me think twice about doing that. I'm getting my money back so I'm not too upset, just really disappointed with this mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 4 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

Product Quality & Customer service

08/30/2011
By ,
Medina, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought a WE 261 riding mower in April 2010. Was good for about a year. Steering problem a month ago or so and now a cracked frame. Dealer told me that Weedeater will replace the mower with a new one (that's good) but has no idea when (that's bad). No one I've spoken with at the WeedEater phone numbers can give me any information. In the meantime, I have no mower and the grass keeps growing. Will cost me $ to have someone mow for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
+2points
Review 5 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY

06/14/2013
By ,
Louisville, Ky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this lawn mower for my bother-n-law who has a small yard. He has one leg and was spending hours cutting with a push mower in his power chair. The lawnmower would not go in reverse the first time he rode it which was the day I purchased it. I was able to trade for another one. This one lasted for about 3 years when it stopped going into reverse. I took it to a mower shop and found that in order to fix it I would have to purchase a kit, not just the part that was broke which was 350 dollars. The labor would be another 350 dollars. You do the math. I should mention that it takes me 30 minutes to mow his yard with a push mower. It is a shame. I guess you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 6 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

stay away from weedeater one

09/23/2010
By ,
Tulsa Ok
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this mower three months ago the day I got it home the drive linkage for the left wheel was broken. I called warranty they gave me the ph# of three different service centers none had ever heard of this mower. I managed to fix it myself enough that I could use it but then the steering wheel connector to the wheels broke so the steering wheel turns 360 degrees but the wheels do not turn at all. Again I called the warranty center they again me the number of a local repair center Oklahoma outdoor power equipment ans told me if I give them a repair auth # they would come pick up the unit repair it and get it back to me I need the pick up and deliver service because I am a disabled vet and I have no vehicle big enough to load the mower up and take it to them the repair shop refuses to pick up the mower so it is dead in the water and I have spent the money on it and am out of luck
STAY AWAY FROM THIS MOWER UNLESS YOU WANT A HEADACHE!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 7 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

i wish i had set the money on fire

08/11/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst lawn mower i have ever owned.,
it has never started with the battery from day one.
the brakes have never worked.
it stopped starting due to the poor design of the starting system hired an independent to fix it cuts unevenly biggest waste of m oney i have ever owned
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 8 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

BAD DESIGN FOR SLOPES OR GRADES

04/07/2010
By ,
Scott City MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would not recommend the mower if your yard has any kind of a incline such as a small slope, street curve, grade to the storage shead or even a slope in the driveway. The mower will not make the grade. Wheels do not spin but the clutch slips. I believe Wal-Mart should have made this power problem clearer to buyers that the mower is designed for perfectly level lawns before selling it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Review 9 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

And I was so excited

08/17/2013
By ,
Boise Id
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Brought it home and unloaded it. The little battery was dead. Fortunately, it has a pull start too. Made my first pass and ran into a spot that's a bit uneven. That was enough to stop this little guy. Turned across the front of the yard where there is a very slight slope, perhaps 2 degrees. That stopped it dead. Nothing at all. Shifted to medium speed, and got it going. Made three or four more passes and the battery fell off the mower. Figured out what and how and got it put back on. Made a couple more passes and it would no longer run in reverse if the blade was still running. A couple more passes and the blade housing started shaking and shimmying badly. Twenty minutes or so of ownership, and I give up.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 10 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

dreaming

08/03/2010
By ,
Empire, al
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The mower has been frustrating to me. Simple thorns flattened three of the tires. The steering is difficult. And now the drive wheels will lock up on one or the other side and it makes a sound like the chain is trying to come off. I have not had two good back to back weeks of happy mowing. I would not recommend this product at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 11 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

Weedeater One Junk

10/04/2011
By ,
Tulsa, Ok
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a new Weedeater One at Walmart on July 7, 2011. The first time I tried to use it, I was only able to mow two strips and it wouldn't got forward or backward. An authorized dealer picked it up and it has been in the shop until today, October 4. The transmission was out on it. Still had the price tags on it. I feel really cheated since the warranty started the day I bought it and hopefullly it will work next spring when I get it out to use. I've had to pay a lawn man to mow my yard. I would love to get a refund since I've never used it but Walmart policy is no return after thirty days. I even bought an extended warranty but mower probably won't last that long. Live and learn! Don't buy this piece of junk!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 12 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

Weedeater NONE

09/09/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased the Weedeater One mower in April, used it twice, and the steering broke. We contacted the manufacturer and was told to take it to an authorized repair center for repair. It has been sitting at the repair center all summer waiting on a backordered part that has never materialized! The bagger attatchment also never showed up as advertized.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Review 13 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

parts

09/17/2010
By ,
LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i brought mine back around march 2010, august 2010 it broke. the brake cable, no one had one. do not buy. there are no parts available no where. most of the replacement part are back ordered, and no date for receiving. what a shame. hopefully this helps someone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+26points
Review 14 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

Weedeater One Mower- CAUTION!

03/30/2013
By ,
McDonough,Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the Weedeater One from Walmart and after 3 cuts the steering spline broke and the Mower could not be steered. I got a new one and I dont use this mower very often and only have a 1/4 acre lot. I would say I probably mowed with this mower a total of 25 times. On the first mowing of this season, the friction wheel assembly has failed. This part cost $300, half the cost of the mower! Read online and you will find that both of these problems are common to all owners. This is a VERY poorly built mower. Weedeater and Walmart both know of the many common problems with this mower and neither company is standing behind the product to make it right with the customer. Stay very far away from The Weedeater ONE! Use caution also when buying from Walmart or buying a Weadeater product....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 15 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

Not durable product

03/29/2010
By ,
Baton Rouge LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I agree with the other person about hills. This machine won't handle the slightest hill.
Really the only good thing is the motor. It starts and runs good but that is about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 16 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

Weed Eater (not the ) One

05/13/2011
By ,
Zanesville, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had I known the Weed Eater One was a "One-Season Wonder," I would NOT have purchased it. We bought it in May 2010. It did a fine job all summer.
Our yard is not large. It is mostly flat.
This spring, the steering mechanism (plastic) broke the first time out of the garage. The yard did not get mowed. It went to the shop for repair. It seems you cannot turn the wheels unless the mower is moving. Otherwise there is too much strain on the plastic piece that holds it together. It came back in fine shape - until the second mowing. The right wheel did not turn. It has come back from the shop again. Now, the steering wheel on top of the metal rod moves back and forth. I think the One is about to be the None. We spent a lot of money for a throw-away tool.
It seems to me that somethng could and should be done about our situation. I would suggest a product replacement or a total refund.
Needless to say, you have one unhappy consumer.
The ONLY reason you received one star on the above ratings is that there was NOT something lower. I would probably have rated the mower at a ZERO or NEGATIVE NUMBER.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
52556
Sterring don't work
Posted 06/03/2011
There is a plastic sterring wheel adapter that is junk,to make things worse you cant find a replacement part,#532186737
-1point
Customer Avatar
Michigan
Weed Eater One
Posted 06/02/2011
After reading all the negative comments about steering breakage and other problems. I wonder, "Why does Walmart sell this poorly manufactured piece of garbage"?. I would have bought one becasue my grandfather used an older version (70's) for many years mowing his 2+ acres with no problems....not after I read the reviews.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 17 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

Sorry that I didn't wait

07/13/2011
By ,
Johnstown, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just saw the new version of the Weedeater One at Home Depot
looks like they fixed all the problems of the original model
It hasa 30" cut, 10.5 HP motor and a few other changes
My year and a half old model has had a new rear end (transmission) replacement and is currently in the shop for major steering problems
From reading other reweiws I guess that the plastic steering gear is stripped and has to be replaced.
I've been out of a lawn mower and waiting for parts for weeks
The mechanic at the repair shop told me that he has been replacing transmissions regularly on this model.
Fortunately for me that it has a two year warranty. But what am I to do 6 months from now when it runs out?
I feel like Weed Eater used me as a sounding board to test their new product and now they are making the needed modifications at my expense. If you already purchased this 26" model, YOU WILL HAVE TRANSMISSION AND STEERING PROBLEMS! It's just a matter of time. Too bad, it was a good idea to create a small riding lawn mower for people that have large yards that are just not big enough for a tractor.
Weedeater should offer to either upgrade the 26" models or give us some kind of credit toward the purchase of the newer 30" model.
There is also a Poulan model that is the exact duplicate of the 30" Weedeater model that sells for a couple of hundred dollars more. Since Poulan owns Weedeater it's no surprise. I really regret not waiting for Weedeater to work the bugs out of the original model before I purshased it. Now I'm stuck with a real lemon that I am probably going to either invest more money or junk it and cut my losses.
I purchased this product at Wal Mart and would like to return it
Is that still possible?
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 18 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

Weed Eater Tractor Flop

05/16/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this little lawn tractor from the Covington, La store. After picking through most of them with assembly issues, I found one that seemed tight. The associates came and all 3 of us loaded it in the truck very easily. I brought it to my mother-in-law the next day.
I noticed that the motor cover was cracked, but this was only cosmetic, so I didnt worry about it.
The tractor started right up, but that was the end of the good news. It immediately threw the belt the first time she used it. When it did it cracked some plastic. She returned it and replaced it with a traditional tractor.
Most of the ones that I observed at the covington store had some sort of assembly issue(s). I dont know if they have an absent minded employee there doing the assembly, but I suggest you dont buy any from that location.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 19 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

really disapointed

06/30/2010
By ,
TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the mower looked really good at the store. like a knock off of a snapper, with a nice price. got it home, it cranked easy, made a few clean cuts, DOES NOT MOW IN REVERSE!!!!! a minute later the BATTERY FELL OUT , after i REPLACED THE BOLT, i mowed 10 more minutes, disengaged it ,crossed the driveway, reengaged it, then THE STARTER BROKE! put it back in the truck and had it back to the walmart 45 min after i bought it. DO NOT BUY!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 20 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

WARNING!!!!

06/30/2010
By ,
Sharpsville, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Thought this would make it easier. Cuts bad (doesn't float) if the yard is uneven at all you can tell. Bought it May 9th returning June 30th because the steering broke. Cut the grass only 3 times with it. BEWARE BAD BUY!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
1-20 of 110 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next